Disc Golf Store
Schenectady, NY 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
we had a ball

5+    9/19/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
Pros: lovely park around the course makes this even more enjoyable.
baskets in great shape, and marked well.
variety of distance, vertical, open, wooded, right/left, and creek.
this course will challenge most of us with its long narrow woodsy fairways.
each tee (blue tee) had a sign with all necessary info and a nice pic of the hole.
plenty of parking.
course map available on this website helped us find the tees we couldn't see from the basket.
some holes are a real technical challenge, especially if you miss the fairway.
Cons: shared park with others, so look before you toss.
only 2 tee boxes per hole, some are shared.
hole 14! stay in the fairway! don't go left! ha ha
some tee pads are concrete (good), but some are like carpeting, which did add a degree of challenge in the woods, where footing was less sure at the tee.
some tee boxes are hard to find without a map, and require a little walking.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 5 times last week. I took a number of buddies and we had a great time. By the end of the week, I had a handle on most of the holes and scored pretty close to par from the blue/long tees, which is good for my level/game. This course offers most all of us some great holes and good fun.

Terrific Course

5+    10/27/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course set throughout a well-used city park. I would consider this my "home" course as I play much more frequently than any other.
- Ample parking right next to tee #1 and pin #18
- Large welcome kiosk with huge, detailed course map (includes elevation contour lines), flyers/info, scorecards (with course map and hole info on them)
- Multiple tees on 15 holes (the other 3 use the same box for blue and white), each marked with colored wooden boards - the different tees give you new look at the hole, not just a shorter version of the same lines
- Terrific signs with hole map and blue/white hole distances located at each blue tee
- "Next tee" markers (separate colored signs for blue and white) found near each basket to guide you to the next hole
- New DisCatchers are in great shape and stand out nicely against some of the wooded backdrops
- Excellent variety of holes - some open, some wooded, some grove, uphille, downhill, left, right, etc. - mainly a technical course, which I prefer
- I love how the holes give you options off the tee and let you see a variety of mindsets - Hole #1 - I've seen RHFH flex shots and RHBH frozen ropes; Hole #3 - some hyzer flip, some power hyzer, some FH; Hole #4 - some BH, some OH and one guy does a FH roller; Hole #9 - some spike hyzer, some FH, some RHBH anny, some thumbers; Hole #10 - some safe layups, some "go-for-it" low celing hyzer; Hole #12 - some FH, some BH, some uphill rollers; Hole #15 - some FH, some huge downhill anny
- OB and/or water makes you play careful on 5 or 6 holes
- Very few spots where you can get away with a bad throw without dropping a stroke or 2 - the course is definitely fair, though - I don't think there are any holes where you have no chance of being rewarded for a good shot and no real "poke and hope" drives
- Some picturesque holes - #18 is a beauty
Cons: - Since it's in a city park, there are sometimes some "interesting" people interfering or distracting
- A couple tee signs have been vandalized and I think one basket marked, but all have been taken care of and fixed
- A few blind tee shots can make it tough to track your disc if you're playing solo (#12 and #15 mainly)
- Tee pads could still use improvement - they are slowly getting better over time as the course liasons work with the city for various approvals - 2 holes have pavers (blue/white share a tee on both), the other blue tees are all carpet now and the other white tees remain dirt/natural, I think
- Bridge over the small creek on hole #5 has probably been through 6 incarnations by now but keeps getting washed out - the team is working with city on installation of a permanent bridge
- Some cranky dog walkers
Other Thoughts: Some things that I wouldn't say are clearly pros or cons:
- benches on half the holes
- getting a lot more popular (which is a good thing), but can lead to crowded periods and backups
- A lot of people think hole #4 is unfairly difficult - don't get me wrong, it's the toughest on the course, but with consecutive well-placed shots, you can get a long birdie chance or a solid par
- Walks from holes 5 to 6, 9 to 10, 11 to 12 and 17 to 18 are not exactly fool-proof or right next to each other, but just use the tee signs and you're fine

The cons don't deter me at all from playing this course frequently. This is a wonderful course that introduced me to the game and the designers did a wonderful job on this course (thanks to the Hoffman clan plus all of us DisCappers who maintain and improve it).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Once upon a time

2-4    6/26/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: treenied
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: With the exception of a couple holes I really enjoyed this course. At one time this park must have been amazing. The pond, stone bridges and gardens are still beautiful. All the people we meet where delightful and proud of their park.
Cons: Just a few wacky holes.
Other Thoughts: I will be back to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Central Park Schenectady

5+    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: nykdman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of techniques can be used. Great way to use most of your discs.
Cons: A variety of techniques can be used. Control will be important and some wooded areas could discourage. Having a friend watch you drive will help when the sun is low.
Other Thoughts: A great way to relax and have fun or challenge your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course

5+    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 43.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. The tee signs are top rate professional ones, the fairways are mainly grass and are always mowed close for people who love rollers, and the pins are nice. I love playing there, it's a really nice park. Some of the holes are world class.
Cons: Hole 4. Give me a break. Also hole 10 because the creek is quicksand down there so you will ruin your shoes trying to retrieve a disc. This creek, because it is so marshy and mucky, does not belong as part of a sporting venue except maybe women's bikini mud wresting.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the making

5+    7/24/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety, variety VARIETY.
2. Two sets of tees with two different problems to be solved on each hole. The amateur tees are not just short "throw and putt" locations; they push the beginner to learn how to play the game.
3. Good risk/reward opportunities
4. All baskets well marked, all tees well marked
5. Score cards available
6. Bathrooms available
7. Lots of picnic tables, playgrounds, ball courts, etc. for non-disc golfing family members
8. Weekly doubles league 5 PM Thursdays
9. Good mix of long and short.
10. Close to food, gas, shopping (check out Play it Again Sports in Niskyuna for discs)
11. Nationally famous rose garden near hole #12 :-)
Cons: 1. LOCK YOUR CAR, especially in the summer and on weekends
2. lots of dog #2 on the woods trails. Watch your step.
3. natural tee pads are sketchy at times.
4. I hate hole #4. Real b*tch of a long fugly hole from the blues with a landing zone where it's a crap shoot if you are going to be able to throw it down the narrow second shot alley.
5. Must be aware of other users at all times.
Other Thoughts: I usually rate the challenge and fun factor of a course by the number of discs I had to take out of my bag and the number of different types of shots I had to throw. At this course I use all 14 of my discs every time i play it, I've had to use every throw I know, and have even learned a few new ones "on the fly" like rolling around a 90 degree corner with a forehand, skipping a tomahawk under a pine tree, and turbo-putting over a shrub. And when it gets windy, watch out, this course can eat you for breakfast. When they get funding for paving for the tee pads, this will be a 4.5 star course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the terrain to its advantage. The holes all have signs and are very well marked. The park is a very nice park to go spend the day at with a pool and picnic areas. Its still a very new course.
Cons: The paths are not worn in fully yet but give it time and this wont be a problem. The parking lot is tough to find if your an out of towner like I am but the directions on this site will solve any GPS problems you might run into.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed with this course the area around it is all very beautiful which makes the course very relaxing to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Before the Crowds

2-4    5/18/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many lightly used woods areas in this public park are now a disc golf course. A few holes are mostly lawn. A few long holes. Great signs at every tee. Pro and amateur tee boxes on every hole. Wide yellow bands on baskets are easy to see. Bathroom. Garbage cans.
Cons: The front 9 is mostly through the woods, I'd suggest that beginners start on #10. Lots of non-disc golfers around: BE SURE TO LOCK YOUR CAR. Some of the dog walkers are still not used to "carry in, carry out" despite newly provided bags. Had to wait a few times for other park users.
Other Thoughts: Play CPS Disc Golf course soon as it is generating lots of local excitement and I expect it to draw big crowds at some point. Doubles on Thursday at 5:30 is fun, but lots of new people make the pairings difficult. Ace Race 10/30/10.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Schenectricity, Catch it!

2-4    4/30/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: Shadwrack
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 brand new, top of the line Innova baskets.
Good design flow to the course, takes you all over the park for a nice long walk. Two or three very long and challenging par 4 holes.
Cons: Tee positions and stability questionable, and in need of additional reworking. One hole too close to a tennis court and if your disc goes in you may not get it back. Note: The back of the tennis courts are open so you can go in and retrive your disc there's no need to climb any fences.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great new course! It's really exciting to have 3 playable 18 hole courses in the Capital District right now. Everyone involved getting this course put in place has done an outstanding job. All of the DisCappers will continue to work together on this course to make it the best it can be. It is still afterall a work in progress but that shouldn't stop anyone from checking it out now!


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.