Disc Golf Store
Schenectady, NY 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: JHoff Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Challenging City Park Course

1    6/17/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic city park layout that mixes manicured lawn & trees with some all-wooded holes. A small creek winds through and creates a lush wetland area on a few holes.

Dual tees (white & blue) on every hole, great signage AND next tee arrows of the same colors on trees will guide you well.

This design allowed a nice variety of shot making with decent elevation on about 4 holes and just enough trees to punish errant throws and cause bogeys. Some of the pins are cleverly placed to cause nasty rollaways also.

Memorable Holes:
#10 - a low ceiling, narrow corridor RHBH shot that needs to turn left late to get over the creek and have a decent birdy run. To me, it seems like a real difficult shot to clear that trouble. Maybe the smart play is to lay up with a FH into the field on the right of the creek and pitch over. I really wanna try it again (and better my 5), which makes it a memorable risk/reward hole.

The rose garden late in the course was just gorgeous and really added to the experience.
Cons: From the blue tees, this course was a bit righty dominant - not a deal breaker, but noticeable enough to mention.

The rough was a bit nasty around the creek beds, so be prepared to spot your discs.
Other Thoughts: The tees had old carpet on them. Less than ideal, but on the dry day I played on, did not present any problems.

An earlier comment about the ghetto seemed unfounded from my POV. The neighborhood seemed pretty nice, actually! The park was well maintained, and although the tennis courts & old stadium seemed to no longer be in use, they did not look ghetto or trashy to me - just old. The people I saw playing, walking dogs, and enjoying the rose garden were not sketchy looking in the least.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Terrific Course

5+    10/27/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course set throughout a well-used city park. I would consider this my "home" course as I play much more frequently than any other.
- Ample parking right next to tee #1 and pin #18
- Large welcome kiosk with huge, detailed course map (includes elevation contour lines), flyers/info, scorecards (with course map and hole info on them)
- Multiple tees on 15 holes (the other 3 use the same box for blue and white), each marked with colored wooden boards - the different tees give you new look at the hole, not just a shorter version of the same lines
- Terrific signs with hole map and blue/white hole distances located at each blue tee
- "Next tee" markers (separate colored signs for blue and white) found near each basket to guide you to the next hole
- New DisCatchers are in great shape and stand out nicely against some of the wooded backdrops
- Excellent variety of holes - some open, some wooded, some grove, uphille, downhill, left, right, etc. - mainly a technical course, which I prefer
- I love how the holes give you options off the tee and let you see a variety of mindsets - Hole #1 - I've seen RHFH flex shots and RHBH frozen ropes; Hole #3 - some hyzer flip, some power hyzer, some FH; Hole #4 - some BH, some OH and one guy does a FH roller; Hole #9 - some spike hyzer, some FH, some RHBH anny, some thumbers; Hole #10 - some safe layups, some "go-for-it" low celing hyzer; Hole #12 - some FH, some BH, some uphill rollers; Hole #15 - some FH, some huge downhill anny
- OB and/or water makes you play careful on 5 or 6 holes
- Very few spots where you can get away with a bad throw without dropping a stroke or 2 - the course is definitely fair, though - I don't think there are any holes where you have no chance of being rewarded for a good shot and no real "poke and hope" drives
- Some picturesque holes - #18 is a beauty
Cons: - Since it's in a city park, there are sometimes some "interesting" people interfering or distracting
- A couple tee signs have been vandalized and I think one basket marked, but all have been taken care of and fixed
- A few blind tee shots can make it tough to track your disc if you're playing solo (#12 and #15 mainly)
- Tee pads could still use improvement - they are slowly getting better over time as the course liasons work with the city for various approvals - 2 holes have pavers (blue/white share a tee on both), the other blue tees are all carpet now and the other white tees remain dirt/natural, I think
- Bridge over the small creek on hole #5 has probably been through 6 incarnations by now but keeps getting washed out - the team is working with city on installation of a permanent bridge
- Some cranky dog walkers
Other Thoughts: Some things that I wouldn't say are clearly pros or cons:
- benches on half the holes
- getting a lot more popular (which is a good thing), but can lead to crowded periods and backups
- A lot of people think hole #4 is unfairly difficult - don't get me wrong, it's the toughest on the course, but with consecutive well-placed shots, you can get a long birdie chance or a solid par
- Walks from holes 5 to 6, 9 to 10, 11 to 12 and 17 to 18 are not exactly fool-proof or right next to each other, but just use the tee signs and you're fine

The cons don't deter me at all from playing this course frequently. This is a wonderful course that introduced me to the game and the designers did a wonderful job on this course (thanks to the Hoffman clan plus all of us DisCappers who maintain and improve it).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Once upon a time

2-4    6/26/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: treenied
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: With the exception of a couple holes I really enjoyed this course. At one time this park must have been amazing. The pond, stone bridges and gardens are still beautiful. All the people we meet where delightful and proud of their park.
Cons: Just a few wacky holes.
Other Thoughts: I will be back to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Ghetto Golf

2-4    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: beguiles
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent Course. Both Blue and White Tees are fairly easy to find. There were SCORECARD in the box...amazing!!! They were smart to get corporate sponsors - hopefully this will result in a well kept-up course over the years.
Cons: This course is straight-up in the G-H-E-T-T-O. There are bullet holes in the Welcome sign. Avoid engaging the locals at all costs. At a minimum this will be a distraction to your game. Tees need to be re-painted.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play in the Capital region, good luck finding another course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Central Park Schenectady

5+    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: nykdman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of techniques can be used. Great way to use most of your discs.
Cons: A variety of techniques can be used. Control will be important and some wooded areas could discourage. Having a friend watch you drive will help when the sun is low.
Other Thoughts: A great way to relax and have fun or challenge your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course

5+    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 43.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. The tee signs are top rate professional ones, the fairways are mainly grass and are always mowed close for people who love rollers, and the pins are nice. I love playing there, it's a really nice park. Some of the holes are world class.
Cons: Hole 4. Give me a break. Also hole 10 because the creek is quicksand down there so you will ruin your shoes trying to retrieve a disc. This creek, because it is so marshy and mucky, does not belong as part of a sporting venue except maybe women's bikini mud wresting.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the making

5+    7/24/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety, variety VARIETY.
2. Two sets of tees with two different problems to be solved on each hole. The amateur tees are not just short "throw and putt" locations; they push the beginner to learn how to play the game.
3. Good risk/reward opportunities
4. All baskets well marked, all tees well marked
5. Score cards available
6. Bathrooms available
7. Lots of picnic tables, playgrounds, ball courts, etc. for non-disc golfing family members
8. Weekly doubles league 5 PM Thursdays
9. Good mix of long and short.
10. Close to food, gas, shopping (check out Play it Again Sports in Niskyuna for discs)
11. Nationally famous rose garden near hole #12 :-)
Cons: 1. LOCK YOUR CAR, especially in the summer and on weekends
2. lots of dog #2 on the woods trails. Watch your step.
3. natural tee pads are sketchy at times.
4. I hate hole #4. Real b*tch of a long fugly hole from the blues with a landing zone where it's a crap shoot if you are going to be able to throw it down the narrow second shot alley.
5. Must be aware of other users at all times.
Other Thoughts: I usually rate the challenge and fun factor of a course by the number of discs I had to take out of my bag and the number of different types of shots I had to throw. At this course I use all 14 of my discs every time i play it, I've had to use every throw I know, and have even learned a few new ones "on the fly" like rolling around a 90 degree corner with a forehand, skipping a tomahawk under a pine tree, and turbo-putting over a shrub. And when it gets windy, watch out, this course can eat you for breakfast. When they get funding for paving for the tee pads, this will be a 4.5 star course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Average at Best

1    5/28/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent course for being as young as it is. Back 9 has some good elevation change and the course does require an array of shot types
Cons: Plays through a city park, so you will likely encounter pedestrians on the course. I had a pedestrian throw my drive back at me on one hole. Tees are subpar, most are natural. Aside from hole 15, most of the holes are pretty unimaginative and lots of them are simply poke and hope.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would play the other nearby course, Jorleman Park, before I would play this one again.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't go back

1    5/21/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: skier
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: This is an okay course. It has a variety of holes and there are a decent number if obstacles. The design of the course is actually pretty decent.

My favorite hole was on the back 9 and had a 100 foot straight section followed by a 90 degree right turn and a couple hundred foot drive. I think it was somewhere around 500 feet.
Cons: The park is very trashy. It has graffiti everywhere, run down buildings, and tennis courts that are trashed. Some of the courts you pass have dilapidated signs from around 10 years ago advertising a tournament.

There are also a lot of beginners and little kids around. Many people are there playing with ultimate discs and not disc golf discs. The kids somehow managed to combine Ultimate and Disc golf into a mess of a game that gets in the way of people who are really playing the course.

There are people walking through the park, but they were one of the least objectionable problems with the course.
Other Thoughts: The park gave me and the person I this course with the feel of a zombie apocalypse movie. The only saving grace was the placement of the holes. The only reason to play this course is if you live close by. I would much rather drive and extra 20-30 minutes and go to one of the other much nicer courses in the area.


4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 A lot to like

1    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course built through a city park. Plenty of parking and other park amenities close by. Long a short pads offer good flexibility for players of different abilities. Good variety in shots needed. There are straight tight shots, lefts, rights, up and downs. course keeps you interested all the way through.

Course plays mostly through woods, requiring good disc control and accuracy. A few holes are a little more open, but even those holes have a few mature trees around to keep you honest. Uses available elevation well, as well as the small creeks that run through the park. Basket positions are mostly used well to add difficulty or different lines of approach to the basket.

All in all, this is a pretty darn well designed course. No major flaws or mistakes to complain about. White and blue signs were even posted throughout the course directing you to the next pad.
Cons: Course is in a city park so in a few cases it plays near areas where you might have to deal with other park users. For my taste #7 plays a little too close to the tennis court and fence. Not a huge turn off, but it could be a problem once in a while.

Some transitions between holes are not ideal. It's a walk back across the road from 5 to 6. The walk from 11 to 12 is also a little long. Bring a map to make sure you don't waste too much time wandering around. This is not unusual when you build a new course into a pre-existing park.

Natural tee pads. They were in decent shape given all the rain that had fallen, but hopefully they can get some concrete pads down the line.
Other Thoughts: Central Park had a nice variety of hole desgins to keep things interesting. #4 is a 525' hole that weaves tightly through the woods. The design is really nice as it has a more than fair landing area about halfway down the fairway for a person to aim for.

#6 is a basic little 285' ace run, but has a good line of tree defense to make it a nice challenge. It looks like a great ace run, but doesn't play super easy.

#10 is a pretty tough 330' hole that has an OB creek on the left and a line of trees to the right. Then your disc must find a way over the creek, and up a short hill to the basket. Just a really nice hole.

#12 is a blind shot up a steep hill and then finishing into the woods. A real errant approach could wind up down the other side of the hole as the basket sits close enough to the edge of the hill to make you think twice on the approach. Good risk/reward shot.

I really liked the fact that this course mixes in very challenging holes, and a few shorter birdie and ace opportunities. It offers a nice balance of shots to keep everybody happy. Go play it when you are in the Albany area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.