Schenectady, NY 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: JHoff Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  One of the Best

1    12/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: dhoff10
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. It is well maintained and runs through a beautiful park. It is relatively challenging and produced some high scores at a recent tournament, but each hole is fair and has at least one clear lane or approach. But probably the best aspect of this course is the balance and variety it has as it runs through groves, thickly wooded areas, across streams, uphill, downhill, and in doing so requires a wide variety of shots. To help show this I've tried to categorize each hole across several factors and have provided the summary below: (Longer holes can get two categories in some factors)

THROW DIRECTION (assuming righty backhand)
Anhyzer - 4
Hyzer - 5
Straight - 11
THROW TYPE
Technical - 7
Distance - 13

HOLE TYPE
Woods - 6
Grove - 8
Open - 4

ELEVATION
Steep Uphill - 2
Steep Downhill - 1
Mild Uphill - 4
Mild Downhill - 2

DIFFICULTY
Frequent Birdie (~10%) - 8
Frequent Bogey (~50%) - 10

OB FACTOR
High OB Risk (good throw needed to avoid OB) - 2
OB possible on errant throw - 5
Other Thoughts: The course has a little bit of everything and is truly a gem for those living near Schenectady. It is difficult and will help you get better - most holes have a low room for error(see the bogey rates below!). Even the longer holes have tighter fairways than you would normally find on other courses, with the exception of 15 which ends up being fairly open, but this adds to its value in my opinion. The Capital District doesn't have a lot of courses, but the 3 it has with Central Park, Hyzer Creek and Joralemon are among the best. I live in Chicago and have played many courses across several states and multiple countries, and Central Park is the best one I've played.

Category details. (Thanks to SDGC for providing bogey and birdie information)
hole 1 - long straight; grove; bogey: 50%, birdie: 1%
hole 2 - long straight; grove; bogey: 22%, birdie: 10%
hole 3 - technical hyzer; woods; bogey: 24%, birdie: 10%
hole 4 - long straight, 2nd throw technical hyzer; woods; bogey: 84%, birdie: 1%
hole 5 - anhyzer; High OB Risk; woods, bogey: 65%, birdie: 0%
hole 6 - medium/long hyzer; OB possible on bad drive; grove; bogey: 32%, birdie: 17%
hole 7 - medium straight; woods; OB possible on bad throw; bogey: 49%, birdie: 5%
hole 8 - technical straight; mild uphill; open; OB possible on bad throw; bogey: 24%, birdie: 28%
hole 9 - technical hyzer; mild uphill; grove; bogey: 15%, birdie: 33%
hole 10 - straight technical; grove; High OB risk; bogey: 74%, birdie: 0%
hole 11 - long straight; mild uphill; grove; bogey: 0%, birdie: 76%
hole 12 - anhyzer; open; uphill; bogey: 64%, birdie: 0%
hole 13 - medium hyzer; woods; mild uphill; bogey: 49%, birdie: 6%
hole 14 - long straight; mild downhill; woods; bogey: 37%, birdie: 13.4%
hole 15 - technical anhyzer; Downhill; 2nd throw long straight; OB possible on bad throw; open; bogey: 73%, birdie: 2.5%
hole 16 - long straight; uphill; grove; OB possible on bad throw; bogey: 66%, birdie: 0%
hole 17 - technical anhyzer; grove; bogey: 24%, birdie: 12%
hole 18 - medium/long straight; OB possible on bad throw; open; bogey: 18%, birdie: 24%

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent course!

5+    11/27/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple tees. This is outstanding. Though I personally haven't played the blues yet, I've watched others. What a difference. This is what makes this course so outstanding as it makes it nice for players of all levels to play. Both tees can be challenging, however, from distance to tricky shots. Just because you are closer doesn't always make things easy!

- Diversity. The course has so many types of holes and shots you must make. It's a wonderful layout through a pretty park. Uphill shots, downhill shots, short and long. There are narrow fairways through the woods and shots where you have to avoid some obstacles. A little water, too, can make things interesting. It has something for everyone.

- Layout. The layout is strong and takes you to different parts of the park. There are times you might have to avoid people walking or hiking, but it's not that bad. You get to see different spots, which is nice. It's a nice and easy layout to follow with good tee signs and boxes.

- Baskets. Top-of-the-line Innova baskets are really nice and stand out. The yellow makes you know where you are shooting. The rattle of those chains, too, is so nice!

- First tee area. It's a cornucopia of information! A board keeps you up to date on the area for disc golf, there's a map and scorecards and it's a really nice spot to open.

- Upkeep. The course is in great shape and it kept well. You can tell the players in the area take pride in the course and do what they can to make things good for all.

- Hole signs. There are signs at the blue tees to show you a layout, par etc. Also, there's signs showing you arrows to which tees you are playing.

- Multi-seasonal. Though I've not made it to a winter season, this course seems like it would be good in all weather (well, maybe not several feet of snow, but still…). The front 9 layout is flat enough where tromping through some snow wouldn't be too bad and the yellow tops of the baskets would stand out nicely.
Cons: - Crossing water on the one hole (No. 5). You have to hope a few cinder blocks. It will be nice if there's a more stable bridge added there.

- Hole signs for both tees would be nice. As it is, there are signs at the blues. But it would be nice if the layout was shown at the whites, too.
Other Thoughts: This course is really made for all levels of players. The beginner can learn easily here (as I have done) and the expert must be able to do some wonders here with the longer tees and challenging shots.

This is one of the first courses I played when I started to dig deeper into my game. I love it and plan on playing it many more times. The people you might run into here are good people and helpful.

I look forward to watching this course continue to grow and improve. I think it will only get better.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: RMSavage
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: AM and Pro tees to help rookies get started and pros to keep their chops up. Some holes are really challenging if you have trouble throwing far and straight, particularly 4 and 14. I love the baskets they are easy to find because of their color. All around great course very fun to play.
Cons: Dog walkers tend to leave "presents" behind. 5 could use a bridge to cross the creek. Better markers around to park to help out of towners to find the first hole and parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Found people playing this course one day taking a walk through the park and feel in love with the game. Really glad they built one in the area and can't wait until they build more of them.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the terrain to its advantage. The holes all have signs and are very well marked. The park is a very nice park to go spend the day at with a pool and picnic areas. Its still a very new course.
Cons: The paths are not worn in fully yet but give it time and this wont be a problem. The parking lot is tough to find if your an out of towner like I am but the directions on this site will solve any GPS problems you might run into.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed with this course the area around it is all very beautiful which makes the course very relaxing to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 central park

1    6/25/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: elpool009
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -those beautifully new baskets.
-proximity to a high traffic area.
-the varying distances. (best ive ever played)
Cons: -the signage is really poor (not for long)
-no signage for the amateur tees. my girlfriend played blind for the most part
Other Thoughts: i was so psyched to see a course so near my childhood home, and i can say that give this course a couple years and it will probably be my all time favorite. the distance variants are simply fantastic, no hole plays the same way, its really great. however, the signage is basically art paper laminated then bolted to a tree somewhere. if this course is to receive the attention it deserves it NEEDS stand up hard posted signs.
otherwise, its a great addition to an already beautiful park. kudos to the guys who got the funding, and kudos to the city for helping it along.

edit-just found out the guys got the funding for new signs. looks like ill have to go home to see my family more often.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Before the Crowds

2-4    5/18/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many lightly used woods areas in this public park are now a disc golf course. A few holes are mostly lawn. A few long holes. Great signs at every tee. Pro and amateur tee boxes on every hole. Wide yellow bands on baskets are easy to see. Bathroom. Garbage cans.
Cons: The front 9 is mostly through the woods, I'd suggest that beginners start on #10. Lots of non-disc golfers around: BE SURE TO LOCK YOUR CAR. Some of the dog walkers are still not used to "carry in, carry out" despite newly provided bags. Had to wait a few times for other park users.
Other Thoughts: Play CPS Disc Golf course soon as it is generating lots of local excitement and I expect it to draw big crowds at some point. Doubles on Thursday at 5:30 is fun, but lots of new people make the pairings difficult. Ace Race 10/30/10.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Schenectricity, Catch it!

2-4    4/30/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: Shadwrack
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 brand new, top of the line Innova baskets.
Good design flow to the course, takes you all over the park for a nice long walk. Two or three very long and challenging par 4 holes.
Cons: Tee positions and stability questionable, and in need of additional reworking. One hole too close to a tennis court and if your disc goes in you may not get it back. Note: The back of the tennis courts are open so you can go in and retrive your disc there's no need to climb any fences.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great new course! It's really exciting to have 3 playable 18 hole courses in the Capital District right now. Everyone involved getting this course put in place has done an outstanding job. All of the DisCappers will continue to work together on this course to make it the best it can be. It is still afterall a work in progress but that shouldn't stop anyone from checking it out now!


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The electric city gets some chains

5+    4/28/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Too early to give you all any key "pros" of this course except that there are 18 brand new DISCatchers with two sets of tees. Bathrooms are between 8 & 9. A big playground and swimming pool are also on site for any non-golfers that may accompany you.
The course starts out in a less used, wooded area but eventually winds around the majority of the park near tennis courts, ballfields, and playgrounds. Not much elevation thru the front nine but the back nine makes up for that. Grassy, rolling hills and long, technical holes with mature trees will require a variety of shots.
Cons: The wooded holes are yet to be worn in properly. This will undoubtly change in time(soon) because of the growing player base and lack of courses in the area. The multi-use park aspect will mean you may have to be patient with other park goers.
Other Thoughts: I've been a part of this course for the better part of it's conception and the designers have worked with the park personnel and local residents to try to co-exist with all who use the park. I plan to update this review in the fall of 2010 once I've gotten a better "feel" for the course and it's surroundings. The centerpiece of the park is a 50 year old rose garden with 300+ varieties of roses. See http://www.schenectadyrose.com / for more details.

Local club website is http://discap.net

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.