Hobbs, NM 
Harry McAdams Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
-- / 350ft.   -- / 480ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach: Water is OB. Fence/street is OB.



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wow! That's a LONG nine holer!

2-4    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 Tee pads per hole give you opportunity to play this as 18 holes.
-They did not try to cram 18 holes on this park, so they were able to make an interesting 9 holes.
-The baskets and pads were in excellent shape.
-Navigation was easy due to the clockwise flow of the course.
-Had some picnic areas and a nice pond.
Cons: -Really the main drawback this course has is that it is boring. Every hole was straightforward. The only obstacle was wind and distance.
-If there were bathrooms, I didn't see them.
-Signage was poor, although not especially needed.
Other Thoughts: I played this course twice while in Hobbs for Thanksgiving. Both times we basically had the course to ourselves. I was told it's not usually crowded. There was nothing noteworthy about this course - just nine long holes on open ground with a few trees and mesquite bushes. If not for the water on 8 & 9, would easily be the least challenging course I've played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

5+    6/14/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Triggerv83
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Green grass, long holes, nice marked/paved tees. New baskets. Some awesome/fun water hazards.
Cons: Needs morecourse/game information at the first hole, theres nothing there on the billboard to read. Needs beware flying disc signs for pedestrians. Lots of peds on the course on the greens get in the way due to high park traffic to beware.
Other Thoughts: Extending the course and/or putting up multiple pin placements, cheap and easy to change the course up monthly, etc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my fav's

5+    5/9/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: greybush
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for practicing airing out your discs, as most of the holes are longer.
Failure forgiveness here(no hazards, no definitive boundary lines) gives you several opportunities to practice recovery/ approach shots. Nice grass and never in three years of playing have i had to play through or been played through.
Cons: No mandy and no hazard except for a pond along 8 and 9. Bit of a walk. 4 and 5 are treated like step children, no trees, no grass, no mowing. Just a pad and a basket.
Other Thoughts: There are plenty of Rattlesnakes, but we have only seen them on 3,4,5; but if you keep your eyes open, you can see them, and then of course hear them. Kill them!! I am not kidding!! Kill them!! If you do not, you are endangering the children and people and pets that frequent this park. Also throw away the head so it doesn't inadvertantly kill any wildlife that might eat it. If you are not up to the challenge, PLEASE get a grounds keeper to call the sheriff or environmental services to take care of it. I have killed 1 adult(dangerous) and 2 babies(extremely fatal!!!!) just this spring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Hobbs Disc Golf

5+    12/20/2010   1/10/2011
Review By: mkarlovec
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the space available at the park. Very nice view(well as good as a view gets in the Hobbs area) around the pond at the park. the city does a great job with mowing( holes 4 and 5 get neglected some but still get mowed most of the time)
Cons: The Tee pads are a bit scary on some of the holes. And the hearing the snakes on holes 4 and 5 is a bit unsettling.

An update on the course: The new cement Tee Pads are in!!!
Other Thoughts: Disc golf is slowly catching on in the Hobbs area which is very nice to see.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/26/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the terrain available very well. There are holes with well manicured, grassy fairways as well as holes with wild, brushy fairways. The water comes in to play on a couple of holes, but only to keep your shots tight and technical. There is camping nearby and the park has an overall clean and safe atmosphere.
Cons: There are only nine baskets in an area that could easily handle eighteen or more. I also was frustrated with the fact that the city had installed Christmas decorations on two of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course in the summer time. I think the trees will be more of an obstacle once they are green and full.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

2-4    5/8/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: D Law
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wooden post at every hole that shows hole # and distance. very well kept park and not a lot of pedestrian traffic. very good nine hole course with good variety of short and long holes.
Cons: The caliche tee pads are a little dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Right down the street from the casino

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.