Layout Extinct

White Settlement, TX 
Saddle Hills DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #4
3 / 280ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great fun! High fun factor!

2-4    3/3/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: TaylorW10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rolling terrain, trees, water. This is so much fun! It's never crowded. There were only 2 other groups playing. I'm a fan of good signage at the tees. I like not having to carry a map, this course is easy to follow. There is a ball golf course in Arlington called Little Meadowbrook. It's 9 holes of greatness! Saddle Hills reminds me of Little Meadowbrook.
Cons: Only 9 holes, but play Z Boaz on the same day and get some extra throws. Concrete tee pads would be nice, but I don't mind gravel as long as it's well marked.
Other Thoughts: #5 and #9. You'll love it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole in Ft. Worth!

1    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a nice residential neighborhood and the land is perfect for Disc Golf. It seems to be very quiet here and is never crowded so you'll probably have the course mostly to yourself almost every time you play here. The park is very clean and well maintained with a few trashcans on some holes. At the beginning of hole #1 there is a nice kiosk with a nice detailed map that tells you all the information on each hole. There are some good signs that has all the hole information you need and also direct you to the next tee. The navigation of the course flows really easy and there should be no problem on finding each hole, but you still might want to bring a map if it is your first time playing this course. This is a beginner friendly course with two sets of tee pads to choose from depending on your skill level. This course offers a nice variety of different shots on most holes with well placed baskets that are protected very well with trees. There are some nice elevation changes on a few holes to make it more interesting, with a couple uphill and downhill shots. You are challenged on hole #3 with a blind shot which makes the hole challenging. The course is very fun and can be a little challenging with the creek coming into play throughout most of the course.
Cons: The tee boxes are natural dirt tees and not concrete tees. I did not see any restrooms on sight so you might want to go before you come. Bring plenty of water and sunscreen because it can get very hot in the summer because of lack of shade.
Other Thoughts: So far I think this is the best 9 hole Disc Golf Course in the area. This course is well worth the stop, and you should not be disappointed if you play a round here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  i loved it

5+    6/26/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: beerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: its nice and clean,, no crowds,, good for a novice like me lol,, i love this place i grew up in W.S. wish we had this when i was a kid.
Cons: dont really like blind shots but i have learned to deal not that bad here
Other Thoughts: could use more seatin,, other than that this place rocks

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Holer

5+    3/19/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great course design & flow
-land is well utilized
-huge variety in tee shots
-dual tees on all but two holes (5,7)
-water, elevation, blind baskets
-creek is calm and shallow
-nice neighborhood, right off the highway
-detailed signs w/ map & distances
Cons: -blind tee shot on #3 could hit #4 tee
-difficult paths and hills for those balance-challenged
-water crossings can be flooded in wet season
-a few areas prone to getting muddy/swampy
-no amenities
Other Thoughts: This is by far the most fun 9-hole course I have played. In my opinion, it's the best 9er in the area. The course makes great use of the land, which is well suited to creating a variety of unique fairways and obstacles. I especially like 4,5 and 9. The creek that runs through the park comes into play on 1, 5, 6, 9 and maybe 4 & 8 but it is easy to retrieve discs from it.

The course is on the shorter side but I think the interesting terrain features make up for the lack of variety of distance. Only 3 holes over 300' and 2 under 200'. Easy to get in 2 or 3 rounds though.
There are dirt tees with painted markers. The pathways are starting to become worn but some are still a bit treacherous, particularly the path down the hill on #4 and the path along the creek on #5. Seems work is still being done on the course; I noticed brush cleared away, recently planted trees, etc.
Course seems not to be too busy… for now. Once the word gets out about this course, I think it may divert some traffic from Z-Boaz.

*UPDATE*
Dual tees on all holes except 5 and 7. Original tees are yellow, new ones are white. The two sets are not Am and Pro as some of the whites are longer and some of the yellows are longer. Many of the new tees also offer a significantly different look at the fairway and change the way the hole plays. Great addition for even more variety!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9-hole course

1    3/19/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: aclay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Map at first tee gives you an overview of the course, and there are signs at every hole.

There are plenty of elevation changes and a variety of shots for both right- and left-handers.

Good use of the available land, particularly the creek (which is a major factor on four holes and a minor factor on several others). Except for No. 8, it's generally fairly easy to retrieve your disc if it does go in the water.

The risk-reward factor is high, particularly on Nos. 4 & 5 with the baskets near the water on these short holes. You expect to birdie, but finding a tree or water could lead to bogey or worse.
Cons: Creek crossings are iffy in nice weather. In addition, several of the up-and-downs getting to baskets were a little treacherous in dry conditions. I wouldn't want to attempt them if it had rained recently.

Most of the ground was really dry, but I had to navigate a swamp around the No. 3 tee, so drainage is clearly an issue.

Speaking of No. 3, you can't see the basket from the tee, and I could see an errant tee shot hitting someone on No. 4.

There are no facilites of any kind.

A road runs through the middle of the course, and another road (pretty busy) runs parallel to No. 8 fairway.

Dirt tee pads.

The longest hole is 360 feet.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun neighborhood course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

2-4    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course map located on hole 1.
Tee signs on all the holes.
Pretty good use of land
Some good risk reward shots
Nice variety


Cons: Dirt tee pads.
If it has been raining, skip this course.
Holes #3 and #4, you can't see when the group in front of you finishes, they are both blind shots to the basket.
#8 is along a busy road, not a good idea.
Other Thoughts: For only a 9 hole course, you have about 7/8 different tee shots. I like that in a course.

Even though only one of the holes is long, I really don't think you need that in a 9 hole neighborhood course.

I had so much fun playing the first round, I quickly played another round before I left. The holes were that fun.

I do have a problem with #3 tee, I was nearly hit by someone throwing #2.

When you are teeing off on #3 and #4, you can't see if anyone is still playing the hole.

Hole #8 throws along the road. A very busy road I must add. Even though there are tree's making the fairway stay right, the natural tendency for a right handing player is to wind up going left towards the road.

Hole #9 was a neet hole, the shot is down the creek with the hole on the other side of the creek. The basket is on top of the bank with a slope behind as well as towards the creek. Throw past it and you have a very long up hill putt, land on the right and you may wind up in the creek.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tom Sawyer’s Storybook Creek Course

5+    5/11/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If Mark Twain would have played disc golf, this is the kind of course he would have wrote about (think Tom Saywer like environment). This 9-holes course boasts some nice risk/reward choices. Water comes into play on like 6 of the holes. Saddle Hills DGC has lots of elevation and risky greens. The layout is fantastic. This is very well designed. This course has decent tee signs showing the next hole direction.
Cons: There are yellow painted cement markers for the grass/dirt tee pads. Some of the walking routes (downhill slopes & creek crossings) through the course are a bit hectic, but time should fix this. You should still take a map for your first time just to be sure you do not get lost. Trashcans and bathrooms are not available here, but gas stations are not too far from the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor at this course was really high. I think there were 6 tee shots that I really just couldn't get enough of. I loved the basket placements with some danger areas around some of them. I can't imagine traveling to this area and not playing here in the future. The course is close to the main highway so a quick stop here when short on time is easy.

UPDATE: The white tee blocks are currently in the ground and are in great spots. They are shorter than the gold tees on all but 2 holes. They are just as fun as the original set.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Saddle Hills Rundown!!!

1    2/12/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great signage.
-Frequently updating this course. One of the fastest progessing I've seen. They're now adding multiple t-boxes AND basket positions.
-Nice map at first t-pad and signs throughout
-Yellow and white pylons marking each t-box (easily can be played as 18 being that the box locations per hole are two completely different shots)
-Woodchips around the pins and on boxes. (great when it's muddy)
-Shot variety
-Elevation changes
-Water hazards (comes in to play on 6 holes)
-Terrain variety (wooded, open, wide creek, up-hills and down-hills)
-Very easy to find
-Parking lot placed right at the start and end of the course.
Cons: -Lack of concrete t-pads.
-Could run into park visitors and kids.
-Water crossings are tough when it's been raining. Looks like the water can get pretty high in the creek.
-Water "lakes" up really bad on the course.
Other Thoughts: McLeod gives a pretty good description of each hole if interested in checking out his reviews.

This course has a GREAT flow to it. New trees have been planted for more obsitcals and as disc protection on holes running parallel to eachother.

Well worth a drive to this course. It's definately the best 9-holer that I know of, but can also be played as an 18.. On the west side of Fort Worth with great location to play....say Weathorford or Z-Boaz with it.

Another very well laid out course. Big round-of-applause to the Inches of Mercury guys.

BANG-UP JOB!!!


11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole Course in Town.

5+    2/18/2010   2/12/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Wooded and open, long and short. Left and right turns.
Elevation changes.
Water hazard in play on several holes.
Well laid out.
Parking lot is being developed
Cons: Grass tee pads (but they're marked well with yellow pylons)
Getting crowded
Bridges made of drift wood
Other Thoughts: We played this for the first time in 5 inches of snow and it was absolutely beautiful.

Hole #1 is an elevated shot that has a creek as a backdrop.
Hole #2 shoots across a field to a scenic cutout that also flirts with water.
Hole #3 is an uphill dogleg right that has several ways of attacking it.
Hole #4 plays straight for over 100ft then takes a 20ft dive down to a small green that plays along the stream. Three new well placed trees have been added just before the drop.
Hole #5 uses the creek as the fairway, leaving little room for laying up. Fortunately the hole is short enough you can run for ace. Water is deep.
Hole #6 shoots over the creek and is a good big arm hole.
Hole #7 is a short window box shot that shoots off a slightly elevated tee box and the basket is on the edge of the hill.
Hole #8 is the longest on the course, blocked only by a cluster of trees on the left side of the fairway. Creek plays on right and the bank is too steep to recover discs without a retriever.
Hole #9 shoots across the creek. Basket is lightly guarded by trees, but the grading around it slopes towards the creek making roll aways very costly.

This is the coolest 9 hole course I've played to date. I like the layout better than several 18 hole courses I've played around town. I will be returning to this course often.

A big thank you to the Inches of Mercury guys for making yet another awesome local course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.