Stockton, CA 
Dorotha Mae Pitts Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 255ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Let's be real, this is a practice area

1    12/1/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: For a three hole PRACTICE AREA, this is actually pretty fun. Baskets are widely spaced and there is some interesting terrain around to work with!
Cons: The bottom of the flat below some of the baskets can be extremely wet, even during a long period of dry weather.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Worlds Are ...Definitely Not Coming To Stockton!

1    8/25/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dave Feldberg just called. The Worlds have cancelled. They won't be using Dorothy Mae Pitts and Michael Faklis for the upcoming 2013 Worlds Disc Golf Championships.

Now that we're totally clear on that. Dorothy Mae Pitts has three baskets scattered around a drainage bowl. There is a sign at the beginning but it's more like a "Rules of Disc Golf" sign. You're going to have to use your imagination here. Because of the bowl and it's elevation and the distance, these three holes could and do actually contain three decent disc golf holes.
Cons: The basket's are a little strange looking because they're set about 6" too high. Putting on them is a little disconcerting. Mr. Feldberg would surely throw a major tantrum the first time he missed a pressure putt on these baskets.
Other Thoughts: Pretty park. If you live closeby, bring your kid over to swing, shoot a few hoops, walk a few laps on the walking trail. Enjoy it. Just don't drive any distance getting here for the disc golf expereince.

***NOTE TO COURSE BAGGERS***
This course can be bagged and tagged in less than 10 minutes!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well…it’s better than nothing.

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
• There are 3 baskets
• There are grassy fields around the baskets
• I think there are restrooms and water
Cons:
• There are tee signs with no directions
• One of the baskets is remarkably close to the picnic area
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Skip it unless you need a practice area

Random Thoughts:
Well, what can you say that hasn't been said? It's a community park where they put three baskets up, so it's like having a play area in your backyard with no real obstacles to speak of. But hey, if I lived in that subdivision, I'd use it.

Bottom Line:
Skip it unless you live nearby and need a place to work on shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not totally the Pitts

1    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Terrain is actually quite condusive for DG. With a little imagination & planning, one could make quite a decent & challenging 9-hole layout with the 3 baskets given & plenty land available, especially with OB options abound.
Cons: No usable signage, zero teepads & yes, only 3 baskets. Bringing some baskets over from Faklis & Garrigan would be a good reallocation of Stockton resources.
Other Thoughts: I actually created some pretty long holes & fun tee shots here. However, I don't plan on returning unless they complete the course. Why are the baskets positioned so tall?
====================
Uniqueness: C- (nice topography; incomplete)
Difficulty: C+ (potential for some distance & OB)
Fun Factor: C- (needs vision & effort to play out)
Aesthetics: C (teepads, signs & more tees would yield a B+ here)
--------------------
Overall: C-

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 *Blink-Blink* Ah, we missed it.

1    8/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well this permanent three-hole, yes, three-hole course was a must see for me, as I felt the reviewer before me just dared me to go see this for myself. It is true, that this is a nice little park has some great terrain, the hole lengths are respectable, and the baskets are very nice. There is a picnic area and playground for kids. It does have a decent size field in a bowl-like section of the park to practice you throws in. OK, I am really stretching these pros out.
Cons: Yeah, if you blink you will miss it. This is no place to really go to play. There is one tee sign for the first tee and then nothing else. Oh, and the tee sign says nothing except it is a tee sign for Disc Golf, not that it has any good information on it. The baskets may be in cool locations, but their areas are not maintained or are in the range of people sitting or playing. The lower bowl area can get soggy easily. No tee pads or teeing locations except for the first hole and parking is not great (street side only).
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is not happening. Sure the first hole might be a nice shot over a lower bowl area of the park, but that is not worth a drive out here. There is no point in even coming here as mentioned in the previous review. If this has any weight at all…I spoke to a local who is big in to DG and helps maintain some courses, and he said he has never even taken the time to see the place from what others have told him.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Baskets

1    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Natedog565
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three practice baskets with some elevation change and plenty of grass for long throws.
Cons: No obstructions...
Other Thoughts: Maybe this will be a three basket course in a few years when the trees grow some more.

The only reason I wrote this review is so that people will not go out of their way to go here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.