Las Vegas, NV 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty bad

1    1/24/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park with a few trees and decent grass cover. There is some distance variety with some shorter holes and a couple where most players will pull out a driver. A few of the pin placements have some trees around so you have to think about where to place your drive/approach. The park was clean and well-maintained when I played.
Cons: The layout is really terrible. After every shot you have to go searching for the next tee, with no above ground tee markers and tiny useless squares of concrete for the tees they're difficult to find. Often you have to walk back the entire length of the hole or longer to get to the next tee, and that's between two mediocre holes so it's certainly not worth the extra walking.

The first 3 holes have awkward lines, there are some nice trees but they're used in odd ways rather than creating interesting and valid lines to hit. The rest of the course is wide open and doesn't present any interesting challenges. Many of the holes play over or near picnic areas, a walking path and fields that are used for various sports. On a nice day that makes this course pretty unsafe to play.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable but not very entertaining, and most beginners won't put in the effort to find all the tees out here. More experienced players won't find any interesting challenges or real variety. Don't go out of your way to play this one, even compared to the other courses in Vegas this one stands out in a bad way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Freedom to lie in the fairway

1    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The early holes have some interesting lines with the trees drooping and stretching, creating tunnels and over-the-top approaches. The later holes are more open. The holes generally were in the 250-375 range, so there are some good birdie opportunities that are not gimmes.

Navigation is okay if you use the map on here; without it you'll probably have a tough time finding your way around since the tee pads are so small and not very visible.
Cons: The tees are 3x3 squares of concrete that aren't very useful unless you are throwing with no run up. I've never seen pads like this. There are no tee signs.

The biggest con is that most of the holes had people lying (living?) underneath the trees in the shade, so they were the biggest obstacles. There were only two holes where I could throw with absolutely no worry of hitting someone; on the others I had to throw hyzers to lay up well short of the hole to avoid the people.
Other Thoughts:
If you came early in the day when no one is here, you could have a nice round with a couple fun shots. With people here it's just not a very carefree round.

This course is in the worst part of town (by far) of any of the Vegas courses. I don't mind courses in bad parts of town. In many places this is where the best courses are (because regular park users don't want to spend time there). Freedom Park is not unsafe, though, with the police station across the street. I did see a cop car or two coming through the parking lot.

If you're from out of town, this isn't really a course you need to hit, and there isn't much here you haven't seen elsewhere. If you live in Vegas, it's worth hitting to give a little variety and to play around some types of trees you won't find elsewhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Freedom to play

1    12/5/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not one other player when I played. Probably because Sunset Park is less than 10mins away off the same street. The yellowish spongy grass almost doesn't seem real, but provides a nice surface for disc golf. Nice but old kids park in the middle of the course.
Cons: Some weird tee shots with trees directly in the middle, forcing hyzers or anhyzers. Pick-up soccer game going on right in the middle of hole #4. Never did find the teebox for #5. Smallish teeboxes.
Other Thoughts: If you park in the middle of the lot, start with hole #9, and finish with hole #8. Otherwise, make sure to park at the very end of the lot for easiest access to #1.
=================
Uniqueness: C+ (average layout in an average park)
Difficulty: B- (flat; not too long; some trees)
Fun factor: B- (was OK, but won't be coming back)
Aesthetics: B (cleanish; looks older than it is)
--------------------
Overall:B-

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Flow Results from Freedom of Design

1    11/19/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 274  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A Few Good Holes. Most of the shots at Freedom Park are pretty decent. They used the limited number of trees to the max and designed a few good looking golf holes. Holes 1 and 3 were the highlight. On most of the holes you had options off the tee that required you to make a decisionů so in that respect it was a decent course.
Cons:
- Flow. Two times you have to play a Hole and then backtrack all the way back up the fairway you just played to find the next Holes tee-pad that plays in the opposite direction.
- Navigation. Way-finding was a little bit rough in a few spots. Because the tee-pads are small (3'x3'), and there were no tee-signs, and the tees aren't always within a reasonable distance or direction from the pins, the tees were sometimes hard to find. Definitely print the map in the links section and bring it with you (I forgot mine).
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Freedom is decent enough, but has some major flaws - bad flow, lack of navigational aids, lack of tee-signs, 3x3 tee-pads - that keep it from being pretty cool. Also, the course is in "what Las Vegas would call" a bad neighborhood, although there is a police station across the street.
- My Score: -2

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hated this course

1    10/2/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: None
Cons: This course is horrid. Disrepair on most every basket, homeless all over, kids playing organized soccer across 'fairways'... No courtesy or care shown by any of the other park users that there is a disc golf course present. Poorly laid out, and the police and fire stations across the street were vacant...
Other Thoughts: Why would a park need 8 foot tall wrought iron fences all the way around it??? Hint Hint

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good to see progress, but...

1    8/14/2009   9/10/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are a Plus, they were not installed when I played here last, so I made a point to look at the pictures before I reviewed. I played as best as I could the first time out
-Many ammenities at the park, yet I played drunk, broke, and at dawn, so I could only take advantage of the fountain, not the restroom
Cons: -Apparently the missing chains issue has not been resolved in the past year. This was a pain in the arse, but not as bad as the overall condition used to be without paved pads or numbers.
-When I played at dawn there was a homeless person sleeping at the foot of the basket, but I think that factor might've actually been a plus. It was a challenge, and I never saw them climb outta the sleeping bag to complain about my playing the course!
-Not really in a good part of town, and the police seemed to take notice of me, yet never bothered me.
Other Thoughts: I never got to play any of the other courses on my trip to Vegas, and I am angry that I missed out on better ones to play here. Next time I will do more research and get myself to something a little more respectable

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Freedom is a gamble

2-4    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Park / Course clean and well maintained by the City of Las Vegas.
* Flat, sparsely wooded terrain works great to practice a variety of shots.
* Good Parking / Restroom
* Not far from the Vegas Strip
* Many park amenities - Skate park, playground equipment, ball fields, basketball courts & more.
Cons: * Busy park. You will have to deal with many other park users.
* Design is fair at best. Flow is erratic and doesn't make much sense at times. Some holes don't have much of a flight path. A couple tees have trees not far in front of tee.
* No signage
* Tee pads - 4 ft X 4 ft concrete makes for a difficult run up. Some are tough to find due to so many concrete slabs on property for drains and water valves.
* Baskets are Mach I & II. Some are a bit beat up or missing chains.
* More advanced/pro players will not find this course a challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a quaint little park packed with amenities. So there are usually a good amount of other folks using the park. We played early on a Tuesday afternoon and still had to play around other park users. It was pretty easy to get to and find just a small distance off Rt. 95. I'm sure once you know the layout finding tee pads is easy. But for our 1st time, we spent a good amount of time looking for the next tee. The pads are small and are about the size of other concrete ground level structures like drains and water valve areas. No signs to help locate tees or to give any hole information. The design lacks a natural flow and I found it was my biggest frustration with the course. This website lists 5 designers for this little course. In this instance it might be a case of too many cooks spoil the soup. There were a couple holes of good length but they are mostly field type holes with not much to challenge the player. If you are new to the game, this course would be a fair place to get started. If you're an experience player, you might play this course to boost your course resume. One of the best things about Freedom Park is that it is better than not having a course at all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What happens in Vegas...

1    2/28/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very open and playable. Easy to teach someone to play. Targets have a few trees to go around or through, but nothing for an experienced player to worry about. VERY CLEAN AND FAMILY ORIENTED PARK. Cheap Ice Cream for the kiddies because several ice cream trucks in the parking lot.
Cons: There is a massive number of people at this park on the weekends. Sunday afternoon is NOT suggested to play. Lots of folk will hang out there that have no clue about how the game goes and will walk/ride bikes in the flight path of your plastic. Also not a challenging park to play. This park is to learn on or to keep your throwing arm in shape.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I were visiting family in Vegas and came to this park by default because Sunset Park was having a tournament. I was able to teach my nephews and brother-in-law in an afternoon. The result: my brother-in-law will be buying his own plastic soon.

NOTE: LOTS OF COMMUNITY SERVICE BEING PERFORMED HERE BY FOLKS THAT HAVE RECIEVED A DUI. Considering this is Vegas...there will be plenty of DUI folks to keep the park clean.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.