Smyrna, TN
Sharp Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #17 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 265ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Variety in Nashville

5+    4/5/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - I feel like every hole is so unique at this course. There are only two or three that felt similar. I love the different feel of every hole. I also enjoy that they have a lot of the trademark holes of a good course, the long bomber, the tight woods, the water hole, the downhill hole, a hole where you have to go over the top.

Woods - I love wooded courses and this one seemed to have just the right amount of woods. I really enjoyed holes 16-18 and I felt they had true fairways but they were still tight. This course does a good job of having long challenging holes, (1&2 in the longs, 16&17).

Location - Part of why this course is awesome is because they picked an awesome place to put it. This course is at a multi-purpose park but I can't think of any holes where there is any interference. Very well designed. Teepads/signs are all very good. The land the course is built on is just beautiful.

Difficulty - The difficulty on this course is varying, and I really appreciate that. A perfect example is hole 3. There is an alternate that plays over water that is a fairly short shot, but you have to make a gap or your disc will fall in the water. 3a however is probably only a 200-225 shot but it has such a tight fairway, albeit a very clear one, that it is a challenging 3. There are also plenty of holes that are long, wooded, and even a hole that forces you to go over the top. It has it all, woods, water, tight fairways, doglegs, distance, elevation.
Cons: Traffic - I don't know if this is fair to list as a con, but this course is always packed. There is only one other course within about an hour and this one is always slammed.

These are the differences I'd need to see to give this a 4.5-5, I think this is an incredible course.

Distance - I'd like to see a few wooded holes that were a little bit longer. I really liked the wooded holes but I wish they had a few more long tight tunnels.

Alternate pins - There were a few, but I wish they had more alternate pins that changed the hole completely. For example, hole 1 has alternate pins but it just makes it a little bit harder with the same starting shot. I enjoy the alternate pins they do have but I'd like a few more that were a little creative.

Mosquitoes - There is literally nothing the course can do about this. I'm leaving this purely as a warning.

Other Thoughts: My cons are very nit picky. I would give this course a 4.25, I wish it was a little bit longer and had a few changes, but I love this course. Very good course, second best in the Nashville area in my opinion (Cedar is #1 in my book). I think the local club has done an amazing job with this course. Very very good course. I also agree that it could have a little more elevation, but I think they do a great job with what they have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must play course

2-4    2/1/2014   2/11/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parking area is good. The course is well maintained. Tees are some of the best in the area. Holes are adapted to most skill levels offering some short and some long throws to be made. Multiple basket placements makes it more fun to play.
Cons: Popularity of this course means that it can be very busy especially on weekends. Signs some are good and some are just not good. Can be a bit confusing to find the next hole. Some areas are almost too thick to wade through if you land in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Target 1: Throwing a decent anhyzer here will get you set up nice for the next throw where you could birdie.

Target 2: Though it is pretty much a straight inline throw if you hyzer here it can get you into trouble and make the disc hard to locate.

Target 3: Over water requires a decent hyzer throw some canopy can interfere you'll need waders if your throw don't make it. There's an alternate target non-water here too.

Target 4: Open throw here but as the seasons progress and foliage thickens hyzers will send you into a field of mess. Anhyzer too.much and your into rough wooded area. Distance driver is good to throw on this one.

Target 5: Target B requires a well placed anhyzer to reach it. If you makea bad throw here the rough isn't what punishes you as much as the trees blocking the way. Fairway driver or good midrange throw can set you up for a birdie.

Target 6: Allows you to throw long but much like #5 a hyzer will land you in the field which isn't a good place to be as the weather warms. Anhyzer can put youover a fenced area which make disc recovery a memorial experience. Distance driver good choice here.

Target 7: Begins open and abruptly funnels into woods with the target placed just inside the wooded area. Distance driver or faiway driver can reach this one but has the disc spins down trees come into play too.

Target 8: Well wooded targets although basically two paths to both target placements if you are going for the shorter distance then use an understable midrange and take the same path for the longer target.

Target 9: Big over the water throw likely the most challenging target on this course. Large rocks guard the face of the target. It gives an appearance of being.fairly open but there is enough wood and canopy hazards to interfere. Some times the deep sink hole here is without water other times its like a pond of mud. A flat stable throw with a distance driver will get you there but expect a birdie at best or use alternate tee.

Target 10: Distance or Fairway driver will reach here. Targets require holding a slight hyzer line. Just enough wood to deflect a disc that strays of line.

Target 11: Mostly open dog leg right with target unguarded as well. Off the tee to the right is woods and runs opposite and parallel to #10. Gravel access road is part of the fairway here too. Some use rollers here others keep throwing. Either way an anhyzer is needed to reach the target.

Target 12: An island of trees and rough guard the shorter distance target. The longer target is more open. Distance drivers work well here. Setting the throw to hyzer or follow the line of a gravel access road which curves along the right side of this target will help you get to the shorter target. Using a driver going left of the island with an slight anhyzer throw is a better choice for the long range target.

Target 13: Thirteen has a sharp dog leg right which requires a throw through a funnel of woods on each side of the fairway. The trees are tall so going over them is not really an option. Add to this that the.distance to the funnel area requires a disc to break early into an anhyzer. Some choose to try to cut over the edge of the right most trees. Others try to place the disc at the mouth of the funnel the use the second throw as a birdie attempt. Yet many try to work through with an anhyzer. The best throw I've witnessed here was using a slight anhyzer but throwing higher towards the left side of the funnel. This allowed the disc to slow and breal early into an anhyzer which glided through the funnel and onto the fairway on the otherside. It left the thrower with about a 50 ft. Putt to the target.

Target 14: Mostly open and straight. Distance or FW driver can reach.

Target 15: This is a favorite of many. An elevated tee offers a great throwing view to a wide open to the shorter target. You really get a graphic look athow your disc reacts when you throw as the complete unobstructed glide can be observed. The longer target offers a par 4 is only obstructed by the small island of tree in the middle of the fairway and just behind the shorter target. Use your snipper disc and let loose on 15.

Target 16: Narrow fairway that begins open then doglegs right and the target becomes more wooded. Requires a good throw with an anhyzer to get you in range of the target. Using the first throw to set up for a better approach throw is a.safe bet.

Target 17:
Straight and narrow fairway that is well wooded. Use of a distance driver with slow hyzer should land the disc close to the target.

Target 18: The final target again is well wooded and using an understable driver that glides late into a hyzer can find it's way home.

Really there are too many good points to this course to even focus on the negative ones. Overall it is an excellent course to play and offers a fair enough challenge to keep you coming back for even more fun and depending on how your throw is the day you play it can issue some punishment as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Forgot how great this course is

5+    10/23/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements w/ great signage, well maintained, great variety, benches on every hole.
Cons: Located in a swamp so it can be soggy at times, and the mosquitoes in the summer keeps me from coming here all the time. I actually think they're attracted to deet.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I rank it #2 in the Nashville area to Cedar Hill. There as been a lot of work done since I last played a year or so ago, and its really improved footing and appearance. Its a challenge, but its fair.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

1    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 25.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes
multiple pin placements
Long warm up hole/practice basket
Well maintained
Great lay out and landscape, mix up, open to woods, to hills, to water, great design
privacy
great scenery!
Water hazards
Cons: Not much to say, I guess on the first hole, there were some large vines that looked like they were being preserved, but, I feel that it could be eliminated... its killing the trees, and eventually will die too..
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite in Nashville, still no Mt. Airy!
I know that some people(where I live) don't like the reviews I give.... Well, take a trip to Nashville. I compare courses to the whole world, not just my locality. Obviously, with Nashville's 3 to 4 different disc golf clubs, plethora of great courses... Its sad to say but Cincinnati is lacking behind

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Big Brother of Rutherford Counties Barfield Course

2-4    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Long yardage holes, Mach 5 baskets in good condition, well maintained, great mix of long, short, wooded, open, and difficulty.
Cons: Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos. Unfortunately its been bad the 2 times I have played but apparently is better in the fall or early spring.
Other Thoughts: I tossed some plastic in a tree that required me to use about 20 mins to get down and I was overwhelmed with bug bites and it ended my round as soon as it started. I'll be back.

A Model Course

5+    1/7/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bring the whole bag folks because this course will require it! It's a model course because of all the variety. Wooded holes, water holes, ace runs, tight technical roller lovers, open crank-it holes, "privacy" rest benches, & a beautiful landscape that's well maintained by the great folks of Smyrna & the Middle Tennessee Disc Golf Association. 2 holes #3 & #9 over water (with alts) will make or break you. The corn fields & dog legs add some beauty & challenge to the open holes. It's also a model course because of its flow. You start out technical, keep it low moderately wooded 1-3a. After that, a shot over a pond #3 opens up to an open cornfield area #4 & #6. Hole 5 is a tightly wooded make your line count that's hard to park but easy to par. Hole 7 brings you back into the woods & an ace run on #9 over a sink hole. #10 was designed for rollers and will punish you. Relief comes at hole 11 & 12 before #13 brings you back to Earth, requiring a big anhyzer RHBH or tomahawk. By the time you arrive at #15 with a smile or a shaking head, you'll be glad for the downhill ace run where everybody will try to throw out their bags. #16 provides serenity & rest before finishing up in the woods. This course is incredibly well maintained & designed. Even the benches are artistic & custom-made by volunteers. It is well mulched even for a pay course even though it's free!
Cons: They don't call the annual tournament Skeeter Heater for nothing! Bring Deep Woods Off & you'll be fine. It's gonna upset most beginners because of the difficulty if you have a home course that's for babies. The rough is rough lol.
Other Thoughts: Play this course often & watch your score at other courses shoot up! Because of the versatility of the holes & different lines/light elevation changes, you'll find a smorgasbord of different ways to attack each hole. Depending on what season & month you play, Sharp Springs will show a different character. The basket placement changes many times throughout the year, keeping the flow unique, relevant & fresh. NO MATTER WHAT SEASON, YOU'LL LOVE THE CHARACTER OF THIS COURSE!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Real sharp course!

1    10/10/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course (plus 2 "alternate" holes) through a mostly dedicated section of a county park
- Terrific variety of hole settings ranging from short ones in the woods (200 ft or so), some medium ones and some longer open ones (up to 600 ft)
- Mix of straight, left, right, gradual or sharp turns, etc. - you need a wide arsenal of shots to score well here
- Nice concrete tee pads on each hole
- Multiple basket locations on the majority of the holes should allow for variety for regular players - significant distance can be added to some if the basket is in the long position
- Tee signs have hole map, distance, par and show each basket position - pole is marked with current location
- A lot of different types of obstacles - water/ponds, trees, cornfield, rocks, etc. create a nice-looking course
- The 2 holes that have water carries (3 and 9) have complete alternate holes (3a and 9a) that are easy to find and provide a nice option for young/new players or if you're just not in the mood to flirt with a lost disc
- Some real cool holes - #1 is a medium length wooded tunnel with a neat tiered/stepped area at the end, #3 is a scary hyzer over a pond, #4 and #5 has a cornfield as a boundary on the left for most of the fairway, #15 is a big, open downhill shot from atop a mound
- Planks/boards in some of the wooded areas appear to help if the course gets messy (it was pretty dry when I played)
- Practice basket in the middle of a "practice field" allows for warm-up
- Benches and trash cans found throughout the course
- Finish on #18 puts you right back at the parking lot
- Big bulletin board/kiosk for posting flyers, tournaments, etc.
- Set way back in the park, but signs guide you right to the parking lot next to the practice basket and hole #1
Cons: - Baskets are solid, but easily blend in on the wooded holes - had to walk up close to find them on a few holes
- The rough was pretty "sharp" (har-de-har) making for some not-so-fun retrievals of discs gone astray
- Not much elevation change, which would add some challenges, especially on the open holes
- Navigation was a bit tough in a couple spots (I think going from 2 to 3 and 3 to 4 had me hunting a bit)
Other Thoughts: - Tee signs in course pictures have been replaced by better, more accurate full color signs
- Course map available online is not on the kiosk - it does have an older, less accurate/descriptive map, so bring a copy of the online one or have it up on your phone to help with navigation
- Out near holes 14 and 15 were a couple historical/informative signs about the region and agriculture

This was another terrific course that added to my awesome opinion of the Nashville DG scene. This one will really test your skills, as there is not much room for error. I'll definitely be back to this one if I can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Neat Course with interesting Obstacles

2-4    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: mobilemurphy96
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love how the course has several different obstacles and hazards. Love the use of the water obstacles, use of large boulders and rocks around the course, and literally love the corn fields and open areas.
Cons: Not many cons except for the few inacurate markings of baskets.
Other Thoughts: Really good course one of my favorites. Love to play over and over again. The hazards in a few of the holes are fun and interesting. Definitely enjoyable course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best I've played

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Anthony
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed, well thought out course. Lots of varied terrain and a lot of shade, only a few open holes where the sun can be a killer.
Cons: Needs a few more signs marking the way, some baskets have 4 or 5 little trails running off of them and since if was my first time playing the course I didn't know which way to go.
Tee pad signs on 5 and 6 were missing.
Other Thoughts: I like the multiple basket locations for each hole but it would be nice if they had a way of letting you know which location a basket is in at the tee box.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Discin'

1    5/3/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: This course has an awesome layout. Easy navagation. Plenty of risk/reward. Decent signage. Well manicured. Nice and quiet area of the park with little to no interaction with other park patrons. I had heard plenty of good things about the course and was not disappointed at all.
Cons: I am a big fan of water shots. Unfortunetly on this day, the water was almost completely dried up. Other than that, there was a lot of spider webs. I probably walked through a couple dozen of them.lol
Other Thoughts: All though I lost the very first disc that I had ever found, I still had a most excellent time.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.