Smyrna, TN 
Sharp Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #6 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 

5+    3/13/2013   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Major Improvement- Color tee signs with map showing all hole locations and distance have been installed. Also on the post is an indicator for pin position. A lack of good tee signs has been a major con for a long time, so I am glad to finally see new signs.

This is my home course and I consider myself lucky to have a great course so close. It has everything: woods/open, left/straight/right, water/cornfields, short/long. You need your entire arsenal of shots. The course is challenging, but with many opportunities for birdies and aces.

The overall flow of the course is very good. Easy to find the next tee- there is always a worn path. (exception- see my note in Cons.) A link to a very nice course map is on this site.

Both water holes (3 and 9) have alternate non-water holes. #9 over the sinkhole pond is one of the coolest looking holes I have ever played!!! #15 also has 2 baskets (short and long). Course flow is set up with the alternates where you could just play 18 holes (or up to all 21) with no out of the way walking.

Also unique are the corn and soybean fields that come into play as OB on a couple of holes. So far this is the only course I have seen with this as a hazard- and you better believe they will swallow up a disc forever.
Cons: Mosquitos are awful in the early summer, bring the repellent. If you don't keep your discs in the fairway, those in the deep rough are almost impossible to find in the summer, especially in the years they plant soybeans!!!

Trickiest navigation spots are:
#3 tee is across walking trail past #2's basket in the A location beside the pond.
if you play #3a- follow the walking trail and gravel path past water-#3 to cornfield for #4.

It took years to get the nice tee signs, but unfortunately vandals have destroyed several of them already.
Other Thoughts: The course is often played, but very well maintained. The local club and parks department are constantly improving the tee areas and landscaping to make this a top notch course.

Overall, I love this course and have played it over 100 times!!!! It still continues to challenge me during every round. I highly recommend this course if you are in the Nashville area!

*I know this course about as well as anyone- feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE sharp springs!

6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the best designed course that I have ever played. Perfect mix of short, long, wooded, and open shots that will have you using every shot in your arsenal. The wooded holes are challenging but provide clear lines to the basket. There is a practice basket in a large field for warming up before a round.
Cons: The ONLY problem that I have with this course is the mosquitoes. They are terrible! Even if you coat yourself with repellent, they still fly around your face and annoy the heck out of you.
Other Thoughts: The amount of time and effort that the locals put into this course is amazing. They do a fantastic job.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Skeeter Bites

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: bogeyman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very well designed course. Has a variety of pin placements with some quite long options. Hole 9 over the pond with the pin in a rock hole is awesome, I'm glad I used my dragon. Front nine has some technical woods shots, while the back has some excellent scenery, especially in spring.
Cons: The bugs were insane. Do not even attempt this one in spring or summer without tons of bugspray. The wood tee markers were nice but the laminated maps were practically useless. Some of the underbrush was just too dense.
Other Thoughts: This course will test your ability to use every shot and disc in your arsenal.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Variety Galore

1    3/10/2008   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2008
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every shot and every disc is used. All of the holes have a different set-up or something unique. Unique hole 9 that throws over a sink-hole (often filled with water) and the pin is located in a cleft of the rock wall on the opposite side. It is only about 215 feet but seems very intimidating as trees line the first 40-50 feet of the flight path. Tee pads, and targets are in solid condition. Course flow is logical.
Cons: Hole 6 floods often due to the neighboring water plant. Not much the locals can do. They seem to have tried different methods but it makes for a soggy tromp from #6 basket to #7 tee. Signs need some work. Long walks between certain holes. The only restrooms in the park are near the entrance and that is about 1/2 mile from the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Great club of locals who really take care of the course. Recent additions include a number of wood-chipped greens, eleveated tee pads that are landscaped, (tiered with stones or wood chips), and a clearing of the undergrowth in certain areas. There has been a great improvement to the general aesthetics of the course. It is really becoming the best courses in the area. Definitely worth the stop if you are visting the Nashville area.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sharp Springs is insane!

12/12/2007   12/12/2007
Review By: Officermick
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unreal scenery, animals/wildlife everywhere. SICK water shots (I waded in 3' of muck to save my Champion Beast!), VERY well-groomed, clean. Several tight shots as well as several wide open.
Cons: More trashcans! And, the hole signs/maps were laminated 8.5x11" paper that absorbed moisture. This made it hard to see. And perhaps a FEW trees could be cut?
Other Thoughts: I am fairly new to this sport. I've played most of the Middle Tennessee courses and played Sharp Springs for the first time today. I LOVED IT and will return again and again...

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sharp Springs DGC

11/28/2007   11/28/2007
Review By: tfcdawg
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Lots of variety between holes. Course is scenic and secluded. Hole number nine is a short hole over a pond complete with picturesque rock outcroppings; one of my all time favorite holes.
Cons: This course is very difficult and usually frustrating for beginner players. It does not have amateur tee pads, making this track long treacherous for shorter throwers.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. Playing Sharp Springs has brought my game to a whole new level.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.