Smyrna, TN 
Sharp Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Real sharp course!

1    10/10/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course (plus 2 "alternate" holes) through a mostly dedicated section of a county park
- Terrific variety of hole settings ranging from short ones in the woods (200 ft or so), some medium ones and some longer open ones (up to 600 ft)
- Mix of straight, left, right, gradual or sharp turns, etc. - you need a wide arsenal of shots to score well here
- Nice concrete tee pads on each hole
- Multiple basket locations on the majority of the holes should allow for variety for regular players - significant distance can be added to some if the basket is in the long position
- Tee signs have hole map, distance, par and show each basket position - pole is marked with current location
- A lot of different types of obstacles - water/ponds, trees, cornfield, rocks, etc. create a nice-looking course
- The 2 holes that have water carries (3 and 9) have complete alternate holes (3a and 9a) that are easy to find and provide a nice option for young/new players or if you're just not in the mood to flirt with a lost disc
- Some real cool holes - #1 is a medium length wooded tunnel with a neat tiered/stepped area at the end, #3 is a scary hyzer over a pond, #4 and #5 has a cornfield as a boundary on the left for most of the fairway, #15 is a big, open downhill shot from atop a mound
- Planks/boards in some of the wooded areas appear to help if the course gets messy (it was pretty dry when I played)
- Practice basket in the middle of a "practice field" allows for warm-up
- Benches and trash cans found throughout the course
- Finish on #18 puts you right back at the parking lot
- Big bulletin board/kiosk for posting flyers, tournaments, etc.
- Set way back in the park, but signs guide you right to the parking lot next to the practice basket and hole #1
Cons: - Baskets are solid, but easily blend in on the wooded holes - had to walk up close to find them on a few holes
- The rough was pretty "sharp" (har-de-har) making for some not-so-fun retrievals of discs gone astray
- Not much elevation change, which would add some challenges, especially on the open holes
- Navigation was a bit tough in a couple spots (I think going from 2 to 3 and 3 to 4 had me hunting a bit)
Other Thoughts: - Tee signs in course pictures have been replaced by better, more accurate full color signs
- Course map available online is not on the kiosk - it does have an older, less accurate/descriptive map, so bring a copy of the online one or have it up on your phone to help with navigation
- Out near holes 14 and 15 were a couple historical/informative signs about the region and agriculture

This was another terrific course that added to my awesome opinion of the Nashville DG scene. This one will really test your skills, as there is not much room for error. I'll definitely be back to this one if I can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Neat Course with interesting Obstacles

2-4    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: mobilemurphy96
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love how the course has several different obstacles and hazards. Love the use of the water obstacles, use of large boulders and rocks around the course, and literally love the corn fields and open areas.
Cons: Not many cons except for the few inacurate markings of baskets.
Other Thoughts: Really good course one of my favorites. Love to play over and over again. The hazards in a few of the holes are fun and interesting. Definitely enjoyable course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best I've played

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Anthony
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed, well thought out course. Lots of varied terrain and a lot of shade, only a few open holes where the sun can be a killer.
Cons: Needs a few more signs marking the way, some baskets have 4 or 5 little trails running off of them and since if was my first time playing the course I didn't know which way to go.
Tee pad signs on 5 and 6 were missing.
Other Thoughts: I like the multiple basket locations for each hole but it would be nice if they had a way of letting you know which location a basket is in at the tee box.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Discin'

1    5/3/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: This course has an awesome layout. Easy navagation. Plenty of risk/reward. Decent signage. Well manicured. Nice and quiet area of the park with little to no interaction with other park patrons. I had heard plenty of good things about the course and was not disappointed at all.
Cons: I am a big fan of water shots. Unfortunetly on this day, the water was almost completely dried up. Other than that, there was a lot of spider webs. I probably walked through a couple dozen of
Other Thoughts: All though I lost the very first disc that I had ever found, I still had a most excellent time.


1    4/28/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Sharp Springs is a solid all-around course with a fun layout and great variation in design features. The course has Mach baskets with multiple positions on 12 of the holes, single position concrete tee pads that are in good shape, and nice, new color tee signs that depict hole locations and distance along with an indicator for current pin position.

The variation of the layout is one of my favorite things about Sharp Springs. The course takes you in and out of the woods providing both open and technical lines, gives you a good mix of left/right/straight fairways, and offers a good variety in distance ranging from 193ft to 600+ft. The course flows well from hole to hole but navigation can be tricky in a couple of spots if you aren't familiar with the layout (detailed map is available on the links tab, would recommend for first timers). The wooded holes have fair fairways, and the more open holes have fairways that are shaped by cornfields, fencing , tree lines, and out-of-bounds, which helps add to the aesthetic appeal and challenge of the open areas. The terrain is mostly flat with minimal elevations located throughout the course.

The stair-stepped green/approach on the first hole is a nice feature, and utilization of the water on 3 and 9 makes a couple of really neat golf holes. Hole 13 was very interesting as well, especially the small clearing in the trees for visibility of the basket location, very tempting (but high risk) to shoot for the tiny gap. There is a practice area/basket for warming up before your round, and the course appears to be kept up very well. The extra holes/tees on #3 and #9 are a great feature for beginners and unseasoned players who may not be able to make the shots from the long pads.
-The rough is very thick in some parts of the course, easy to lose discs.
-Mosquitos were terrible, even with spray.
-A couple of flat/low areas retain water.
-Minor navigation issues-Use map.
Other Thoughts:
The course is fun and offers a variety of challenges for players of all skill levels. I would consider this course to be one of the top 3 in the Nashville area, definitely worth the stop if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained Course

1    4/28/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I loved this course. It is very well maintained and lots of ground work done to make it nice on the eyes. Compared to many of the other middle TN courses it is very well done.
Cons: I hear there are lots of bugs in the summer but I didn't have any problem with them so, I don't have any cons.
Other Thoughts: Seven Oaks and Cedar Hill are my two favorite in Middle TN and after playing Sharp Springs it is now right up there, if not the best.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in Middle TN

5+    3/31/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a outstanding layout compared to Barfield Crescent down the road. Very good mixture of wooded holes and open holes. Some holes have beautiful scenery that makes you just sit back and enjoy sometimes. The wooded holes are tricky but not impossible. Seems like they take very good care of the course as far as cutting away tree limbs, maintenance of holes and tees, etc. Will be challenging for the beginner and even the pro's. Benches at every other hole and also trash cans.
Cons: Not many cons except kids usually blare their music when coming into the parking area so its hard to tune it out on hole #1 and #12 but those are very small problems. Bugs are heavy during spring and summer so spray some OFF on you.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in TN so far and its 10 minutes from my house. I love to come here just about every other day and let 'er rip! I would recommend this course to anyone if your in the area or even a out of towner. You wont be disappointed at all!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Must.

5+    2/26/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. NIce blend of long distance drives and short tight woodsy shots.
Beautiful clean course that is fun with challenges. Excellent water shots with alternates for scaredy cats. The pads and signs are pretty good and there are some benches and trash cans.
Cons: Being the only place to play in Smyrna this place is usually packed on a good nice day, so be prepared for patience. You also have your typical Tennessee course issues like nature and weather. It gets very hot and sticky here in the Summer and the ticks, mosquitoes and other critters are definitely a factor. Fall and late winter are perfect though.
Other Thoughts: My first ace was on number 9 over the swamp thing, which was my favorite hole that I would tell people about all the time. Lord of the Rings looking shot. It congratulated me for complimenting and promoting it with so much high praise I think.
I live very close to Cedar Hill and frequent all of the great courses in the area and this one sticks out as my favorite. I love Seven Oaks but there are too many woods and you don't get to pull out the drivers enough for my liking. I call this place Seven Oaks on steroids.

List of my favorite MIddle TN. courses:
1. Sharp Springs has everything all of our courses offer in one course.
2. Cedar Hill-.
3. Crockett Park-
4. Seven Oaks-
5. Barfield-

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tennessee Swamp

1    5/14/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the practice range. The first hole is extremely fun. The park is massive, but the course is in the back away from everything. Good Variety.
Cons: I'm from Florida and grew up playing baseball. Night after night I would go home with at least 20 mosquito bites (even when caked in repellent). This course was a mosquito pit (thus my subpar review). I can stand one or two mosquito bites, but after I killed one that had just landed on me and got blood all over my leg, I was out. This course is only five minutes away from me, but I refuse to play it until it cools off. Also, I refuse to play over the water on this course. I found an alternate for 9, but not the first water hole.
Other Thoughts: I ran into some nice folks, but I went out to use the practice range one day, and a couple pulled up and sat in their car, making out. It was a little awkward.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another TN gem

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of challenge and variety. Good concrete tee pads. Signs showing hole layout and multiple basket positions. There are heavily wooded holes, and holes with wide open fairways so you can really air it out. Most of the open hole have basket placements that are in wooded areas to add to the challenge. There are a few ace possibilities, but for the most part you need to earn everything you get. Course is located in a huge park. Lots of running, walking and biking opportunities. Course is separated from the rest of the park activities.
Cons: Shule can be thick and nasty in spots. Signs are old and could use an upgrade. Baskets are also older and could use some colors to help them stand out.
Other Thoughts: There are some really good holes on this course. 4 stands out to me as it is about a 200' shot over a large pond. The wind caught my Roc today and caused a nice splash down. Damn! I'm sure some pond-rat will enjoy the lightly beaten KC Pro donation. Hole 10 tees off from a hill, goes through the trees, over a small pond and into some large rocks at about 220'. Just a sweet ace run with some risk added in if you nail a tree or miss your line. There is also some risk if you hit the rocks and roll towards the water.

Overall this is just a real strong, varied course. Lots of woods, lefts and rights. Typical of the very good courses in the Nashville area. If you live in the South and rate the Charlotte area as the best there is, then don't sleep on Nashville courses. This course is typical of the quality you can expect.

March 2012 Update - Played this course again finally. Some very nice work has been done. Some drainage and erosion issues have been fixed with a very nice landscaping job on the #1 hole. They still have huge concrete pads, but it looks like some improved signs have been added. Everything is very clean and well kept. Still some nasty rough that can eat discs, but this course is tough and fair all the way around. Great mix of tight, fun wooded holes and longer open holes. But even the open holes play around heavily wooded areas so you are forced to hit lines and make shots.

The pond shot is actually about 275' or so to the pin. You need to clear about 200' of water and make it through a few trees to get to the basket. A really fun shot.

A few of the holes seem like they've added some longer, tougher alternate basket positions. Nice change if you want to see what you're really made of. I'd highly recommend this course to anyone lucky enough to be in the Nashville area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.