Franklin, KY 
Franklin - Simpson DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great landscaping

1    4/11/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think that this park has gotten a bad rap. I really enjoyed it. The course was very well manicured. One of the cleanest parks I've been to.Nice layout. Nice variety. Nice risk/reward holes. I really liked it.
Cons: I do agree with some of the others on walking, but it wasn't all that bad. I also agree that a couple of the holes are too close to the playground. Hole 8 throws off of a hill, almost straight towards the playground. I skipped it due to heavy winds and not wanting to take a chance at smacking a kid.
Other Thoughts: This course is not extremely challenging, but is a great course if you just love to disc it up.It would be great for beginners. Not much chance at losing discs and most holes are easy to hit par.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get out your big guns

5+    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Fun to bomb on most holes
- Some good golf shots with OB and tricky pin placements
- Course is clean, pretty with a clear layout
Cons: - Could be frustrating to Rec player or (gran)masters player
- Easy to lose disc off of cliff (2, 3, 4) or river (14, 15, 16)
Other Thoughts: The course is all about length. The holes are open but diverse and most the pins are guarded. From Am or Pro tees the course pushes the limits of your throw by tacking on 100 feet of distance to shot that needs to be fairly accurate.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Typical Walk in the Park

2-4    12/31/2008   1/3/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Franklin-Simpson DGC is situated in a large, spacious park. The course uses the space advantage to provide both challenging amateur tees and long distance pro tees. Elevation changes, water hazads, out of bounds, high grass, and trees provide a variety of obstacles. One fairway drops straight down a hill with trees on either side. At the bottom, a creek flows not too far behind the basket. I've had the pleasure of playing this course in both the summer and the winter. Both times, it was in top condition.
Cons: In the summer, the rough can eat discs. On one trip, I spent 15 minutes looking for a disc in the waist high grass of fairway #5. I have also heard stories of lost discs on the two wooded fairways. Throw a stray shot and your disc can be swept away by the creek on holes #3, #4, #14, #15, and #16. The course flows well; however, it may speed up navigation if you use the course map posted under links. There is considerable distance between basket #10 and tee #11. Just follow the power lines and the road above the soccer field to find tee #11. Use caution when throwing at #1 and #8. A stray shot can dangerously float into the playground area.
Other Thoughts: The first time that I played Franklin-Simpson DGC, my wife and I alternated shots from the amateur tees. I consider us recreational disc golfers and the course was challenging yet enjoyable for us. The last time that I played the course, I threw from the pro tees. I quickly discovered that you should play the pro tees only if you are an advanced disc golfer. From the pro tees, Franklin-Simpson DGC is one of the longest 18 hole courses in Kentucky. The course is only a 30 minute drive from Bowling Green and well worth it for the amateur or the pro disc golfer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: joshwtuttle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging course with some unique hazards. The front & back nine are like 2 different courses, which I like. And the park is very well maintained.
Cons: A couple of baskets are close to pavilions. On a few rare occasions I've had to skip some holes because there were so many people and cars there. But it was a Saturday in the park, what do you expect.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play. Just as good or better than most of the courses in Bowling Green.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pro level course

6/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a real test. It has 2 sets of tees and is well maked with nice signs and large tee pads. It is a very long course, if you play the pro tees it's a real beast. There are several holes along a creek were water comes into play. You are not going to make very many 2's from the long tees. Most of the holes are pretty open with OB on a few by way of creeks, roads or ditches. From the long pads you are not going to be able to reach most of the holes and you have to be able to make accurate aproaches that range from 300ft and in. If you have flaws in your approach game this is a great course to work on it. If you don't approach well the wind is not going to allow you to sink very many long putts. The back nine is extremely nice with one shorter down hill tunnel shot with water right behind the basket.
Cons: A little too open on most of the holes. It could definately use a little more woods. It seems like the short tees are 2 easy and the pro tees are almost 2 hard for the average disc golfer. If you can't throw at least 350 don't even go to the pro tees. This is a long course to walk. The holes are long and there are several long walks inbetween holes.
Other Thoughts: Really challenging course to shoot low on. My goal is always to be in the 50's from the pro tees and I've never quite done it. I always seem to be 61-64 The wind just doesn't seem to ever give me a break. One of these days!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good and challenging

8/4/2007   8/7/2007
Review By: joshs2000ss
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has several options for players with big arms and players with finesse. Several holes are out in the open and also has several accuracy shot holes. Has pro and am tees for every hole.
Cons: Tees are well marked on the tee of the hole before it, but if you forget to check the location of the next hole before you tee off, you might find yourself walking back to figure out where to go next on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Very fun, very challenging course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.