Franklin, KY 
Franklin - Simpson DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #16 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 425ft.   4 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Pro Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Solid course when playable

2-4    3/5/2013   6/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18 hole course spread out in well-kept city park. Good variety of holes (very open to a few trees to very wooded holes) and a couple of unique/signature holes. Some of the park things (fences, playgrounds, pavillions) end up as obstacles as well. Some holes have quite a bit of elevation. There is a decent sized creek that runs right along the fairway and does come into play on a few holes. (I seem to always manage to lose a disc in it!)

There is quite a bit of diversity from hole to hole- in length and no repeition. There are 2 sets of tees for a wide range of skill level. The signs are very good and informative and there are concrete teepads. #9 also finishes back near #1 so you can stop by your car at the turn if you need to.
Cons: Some of the holes require long walks from basket to next tee, and #18 finishes nowhere near #1. #2, #6, and #11 are kind of hard to find without a map.

The biggest con is that during peak park hours (weekends and evenings) you may be unable to play some of the holes, or will at least have to constantly be aware of other park users.

A few of the holes lack enough obstacles for my taste as I play it over and over again.
Other Thoughts: Print out or draw a map to help with navigation and you will have no problems. There is a link on this site and there is a map of the course at the kiosk beside tee #1. This can be a pretty fun course to play from the shorter tees and extremely challenging from the long tees.

*Note- The last time I tried to play here I was unable to- it was a Saturday in the summer and there were multiple large family reunions as well as the normal park activities of baseball/softball leagues and other general park use. There were cars all over several of the holes despite all the signs that said not to park in the grass. Funny thing was I had no problems finding a parking spot (I guess because everybody else was in the grass!!!)

I have played here before on a weekday morning and had the park all to myself, so if you are coming from out of town I would plan accordingly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 There is a reason no one plays here!

5+    4/10/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: g1iguy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a nice piece of land.
Cons: Poorly designed course. Very first hole is unplayable most of the time because you have to throw right at a play ground? 7 & 8 throw over and at a pavilion. Hard course to follow. No signs to tell you how to get to the next hole.

The worst problem is that all the holes but two of them are tweeners. A 1000 rated player will get the same score as a 800 rated player.

All of the par threes are way to long. Imagine if Tiger woods had to hit a driver on a par three and hope to have a putt?

The short tees play much better for a 1000 rated player and the long tees play better for the 800 rated player. Just add a stroke to the par on each hole for the 800 rated player.
Other Thoughts: Basically this course is very boring to play! No way to score. You can only not mess up. This is a very typical HB design?

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Typical Walk in the Park

2-4    12/31/2008   1/3/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Franklin-Simpson DGC is situated in a large, spacious park. The course uses the space advantage to provide both challenging amateur tees and long distance pro tees. Elevation changes, water hazads, out of bounds, high grass, and trees provide a variety of obstacles. One fairway drops straight down a hill with trees on either side. At the bottom, a creek flows not too far behind the basket. I've had the pleasure of playing this course in both the summer and the winter. Both times, it was in top condition.
Cons: In the summer, the rough can eat discs. On one trip, I spent 15 minutes looking for a disc in the waist high grass of fairway #5. I have also heard stories of lost discs on the two wooded fairways. Throw a stray shot and your disc can be swept away by the creek on holes #3, #4, #14, #15, and #16. The course flows well; however, it may speed up navigation if you use the course map posted under links. There is considerable distance between basket #10 and tee #11. Just follow the power lines and the road above the soccer field to find tee #11. Use caution when throwing at #1 and #8. A stray shot can dangerously float into the playground area.
Other Thoughts: The first time that I played Franklin-Simpson DGC, my wife and I alternated shots from the amateur tees. I consider us recreational disc golfers and the course was challenging yet enjoyable for us. The last time that I played the course, I threw from the pro tees. I quickly discovered that you should play the pro tees only if you are an advanced disc golfer. From the pro tees, Franklin-Simpson DGC is one of the longest 18 hole courses in Kentucky. The course is only a 30 minute drive from Bowling Green and well worth it for the amateur or the pro disc golfer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A nice alternative

5+    11/29/2006   11/29/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Franklin Simpson course is well laid out in a fairly open park, not too far from I65. This course is a nice alternative to a lot of other courses in the area.

The course requires distance - with one of the pro tees being around 700 ft. Undulating hills make for constant elevation change. Several baskets are perched on the edge of extreme drop offs, and several more holes play along the edge of a creek.

The layout makes good use of natural obstacles. Par is possible on all of the holes. If you are able to throw over 350 feet consistently, there are a half dozen birdie opportunities.
Cons: The wind at this course is brutal. The area surrounding this course is very flat, so gusts of wind come in very strong - especially on the front 9.

Water hazards can claim your disc on 3 or 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, but typically very windy. The front and back 9 are very different, but both equally challenging. Some of the trees on this course are young, but as they mature the course will get even better. This one is worth playing if you are in the area, and is probably the most challenging in the area around Bowling Green.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: joshwtuttle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging course with some unique hazards. The front & back nine are like 2 different courses, which I like. And the park is very well maintained.
Cons: A couple of baskets are close to pavilions. On a few rare occasions I've had to skip some holes because there were so many people and cars there. But it was a Saturday in the park, what do you expect.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play. Just as good or better than most of the courses in Bowling Green.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Track!

7/6/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: tfcdawg
Played: 71  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic golf course! Using the entire footprint of this very large but still uniquely charming park, a disc golfer of any skill level will have a great time playing here. Most of the holes on the front are pretty open, however a unique hazard offers challenge on virtually every hole. The backside has several fantastic throws, utilizing rock beds, rivers, forest meadows and huge elevation changes. This course is not joking when it says long tees. I do not recommend these tees if you are out for a casual round or don't throw with a lot of power. The front tees, I believe, would be fun for just about anybody.
Cons: Be prepared to do a lot of walking. If you are playing in the middle of the day you will not find much refuge from the sun. Water is somewhat hard to come by, so be sure to pack some with you. Also, a couple of the holes play very close to the playground and other park activities. If it is a busy day, you will need to take extra caution on where you are throwing the disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely worth the short skip off the freeway! After just having played the Bowling Green courses, this one actually ended up being tied for my favorite in area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pro level course

6/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a real test. It has 2 sets of tees and is well maked with nice signs and large tee pads. It is a very long course, if you play the pro tees it's a real beast. There are several holes along a creek were water comes into play. You are not going to make very many 2's from the long tees. Most of the holes are pretty open with OB on a few by way of creeks, roads or ditches. From the long pads you are not going to be able to reach most of the holes and you have to be able to make accurate aproaches that range from 300ft and in. If you have flaws in your approach game this is a great course to work on it. If you don't approach well the wind is not going to allow you to sink very many long putts. The back nine is extremely nice with one shorter down hill tunnel shot with water right behind the basket.
Cons: A little too open on most of the holes. It could definately use a little more woods. It seems like the short tees are 2 easy and the pro tees are almost 2 hard for the average disc golfer. If you can't throw at least 350 don't even go to the pro tees. This is a long course to walk. The holes are long and there are several long walks inbetween holes.
Other Thoughts: Really challenging course to shoot low on. My goal is always to be in the 50's from the pro tees and I've never quite done it. I always seem to be 61-64 The wind just doesn't seem to ever give me a break. One of these days!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good and challenging

8/4/2007   8/7/2007
Review By: joshs2000ss
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has several options for players with big arms and players with finesse. Several holes are out in the open and also has several accuracy shot holes. Has pro and am tees for every hole.
Cons: Tees are well marked on the tee of the hole before it, but if you forget to check the location of the next hole before you tee off, you might find yourself walking back to figure out where to go next on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Very fun, very challenging course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.