San Marcos, CA 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty Little Park, Unique Tee Pads & Signage!

1    4/1/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
Pros: Sunset Park is a small, very clean neighborhood park. It has a children's play area, sand volleyball pit, lights for evening play, a walking path, BB courts and ample parking.
The designers somehow squeezed 6 holes in this very small area. The baskets are brand new Mach IIIs. The pads are round concrete circles with the hole #, par , distance and an arrow engraved into the concrete. Very cool! The distances and pars are designed for children and the most beginner of beginners, like a 275' Par 5, downhill no less. I did get my first official double eagle ever on it and I'm damn proud!

There are great views up on top from the # 2 tee pad of the surrounding area clear to the Pacific.
Cons: Only six holes.
You have to be very careful of other park patrons.
Children's distances.
Other Thoughts: What a great little course to bring the kiddies to or that newbie. It's well designed, it's extremely clean. You can play at night. Great views. Just be careful of other park users.

Sunrise at Sunset

1    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific use of elevation & landscape for such a limited area. The park itself is host to a plethora of activities including roller hockey and sand volleyball. Great intro/gateway course for beginners. Couse layout does a nice job of isolating shots from busier areas.
Cons: Can't they fit another 3 holes/baskets in there somewhere? Even starting before sunrise, there were a good number of pedestrians and dog walkers.
Other Thoughts: This is a great DGC for youngsters, women & newbies. Holes 1, 3-5 are actually pretty interesting & nicely laid out. A 6-hole round only takes 20 minutes to complete. Would be a fun picnic or lunch time spot.
=====================
Uniqueness: B+ (for such a short course, there is a surprising amount of elevation & landscape features)
Difficulty: C+ (elements of elevation; trees will eventually grow up; better players should be shamed if any bogey is recorded)
Fun Factor: B (Ace runs abound; would be a fun course to bet & slam brews with buddies)
Aesthetics: A- (cool circluar & informative tee pads; clean and manicured)
------------------------
Overall: B+

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Practice

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Clean. Not many obstacles. small for short game practice.
Cons: if populated, may be a little hard to control. Course is on top of a hill and there are frequent gusts of wind...helps develop wind skills. Small, never really get to grip n rip.
Other Thoughts: nice course. nice cement pads. a little hard to spot the pins at first but overall a nice course to workout on.

 Bring the kids

1    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course plays in a nice park that is well kept

- Navigation is easy to follow, just find the unique round tee pads.

- Baskets are in good shape.

- Great place to bring little kids to play or first timers.

- Some elevation in play.
Cons: - Safety can be an issue especially on weekends with lots of other park users in the area. A few holes play near picknick areas or walking paths.

- For anyone other than beginners or kids this course is short an boring. But it is appropriate for the intended users.
Other Thoughts: Obviously this course is not meant for the experienced disc golfer. Even as a super class course it can be pretty boring. That being said this course definitely serves a purpose in providing a fun place for people to start the game. It is a safe place to let the kids play and learn to love the course at a young age rather than give them a traumatic brain injury playing at Morley.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not for adults

2-4    4/5/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Family Course
-Baskets
-Concrete tees
-Elevations
Cons: -Short
-Busy Park
Other Thoughts: Sunset Park is a small multi-use community park that sees heavy local usage. Aside from the disc golf course, there is a children's playground, baseball diamonds, soccer, a water-play facility, and a large field for kids to run in (aka hole 6).

The park is mostly flat, but part of it is on a relatively decently graded area, and this is where the course begins. The first three holes are actually enjoyable enough, all playing with some elevation and in an area that saw little traffic when we were there. While incredibly short, they were effective disc golf holes.

I actually lost a disc here, it disappeared into the brush near hole three, never to be seen again. Totally bizarre. Anyway.... Hole 4 shoots over a fence down to the crowded part of the park. If you are throwing anything but a putter, you might want to reconsider how disc golf works.

Hole 5 is along the side of a small hill and is not blind. The pin location we encountered was about 50 feet from the alligator object that the kids were gravitating to. Hole 6 throws directly across a field about 180' with no obstructions, except for the stroller that was parked there directly between tee and pin.

Families were using the tee pads for 5 and 6 to set up their home base on, but when they saw us golfing through, they were totally nice and even moved out of the way voluntarily. It wasn't necessary because use of the entire tee pad was not necessary.

We played a couple of rounds here on a Tuesday early afternoon, and the place was pretty busy. This is the course you bring your future protege 4 year old disc golfer to to master the game. We saw a few other families give the course a round and it was totally ideal for that level of game.

We found some of the distance markings on the tee pads to be incorrect, but after reading other reviews I have no doubt that the holes were shortened for safety....which is fine....because this course is not for adults. Its for families. Great facility for that, but as far as quality disc golf courses go, you can definitely pass this one up.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small multi-use park. There are lots of nice views from the hills of the park of the surrounding hills and neighborhoods. The park is cared for very nicely, with no trash or vandalism, and nicely manicured plants and grass. The course equipment is in great shape, with new baskets and small round concrete tees. The distance and hole number are on the tee, and the course is easy to follow.

The course is clearly designed for beginners, and it's a great course for that demographic. The holes are a nice mix with some open shots and some with small trees to avoid. There are a few holes with nice elevation changes, especially hole 4 down the hill over the railing. The length is great for challenging new players without frustrating them.
Cons: For anyone other than beginners or very young kids, this course is extremely short and doesn't offer much challenge. The holes are very short, and very open, and don't force any really different shot shapes. Any player at the rec level or above should have no problem deuceing every hole on the course with a putter, and all are ace runs.

There are some serious safety issues here, and that's the main thing bringing my rating down so low. Nearly all the holes play in areas popular for picnicking, and the park can get quite busy on a nice day. There are also lots of holes that play along or over walking paths, and near play equipment with oblivious children using the baskets as an extension of the climbing apparatus.
Other Thoughts: If you want to introduce new players to the sport and run some aces yourself, this is a fantastic place to do it, and I applaud the people who got this course put in. I love how many people are exposed to the sport here, I had conversations with lots of people in the park as I played, and many were interested in trying out the sport. For more experienced players, this course won't offer much challenge or interest, but that's not the intended audience here.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Careful

1    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Situated in a really nice new park, with garbage cans, drinking fountains and plenty of parking.
-New baskets and the round concrete tee pads are easy to spot and unique (Distance info stamped in)
-Easy to navigate once you find hole one
-Some interesting holes with some elevation changes. (Dont go right on hole #4- you will end up in the brush- best hole)
-#2 is an easy ace hole- very short and straight away.
-Plum trees on the right make for a tight shot on #3, although short distance.
Cons: -Too many people. As other reviewers have said #5 & #6 are difficult to play. #5 really is blind. I drove from up the hill, but I had to wait for the kids to stop playing on the basket. Someone was picknicking on #6 tee and the field was full of kids running around.
-There is ample space across the bridge by the indoor soccer to fit more holes. Once they move #5 and #6 to that side, they should add 3 more to make it a 9 hole.
-I played all as a par 3, contrary to the distances on the marker (#5 should not be a par 5)
-Didn't have a map, had to retrace from hole #6 to find Hole #1.
Other Thoughts: -Not the type of course that I am going to play regularly. Its free and I would definately bring my nieces and nephews out here for fun on the weekend or something.
-In terms of a destination, I would go CSU SM, even Montiel would be a much better choice, haven't played Kit Carson yet.
-Kept rating out of the 1.5-2.0 range because it is unique, has some challenging holes and is in really good condition (good learning spot). Ultimately, it's too small, too few holes, too busy with kids and park patrons, and #5 and #6 (1/3 of the course) is too poorly designed for a good rating.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice but avoid when busy

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: dparcher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In a nice neighborhood park with nice views.
Cons: Baskets 4-6 can be hard to play if the park is busy since they're near play areas and/or paths. Tees are attractive and have a nice surface but are a bit short for me.
Other Thoughts: Distances are all fairly short. Park opened February 2010.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the kids

1    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice pitch-and-putt course around a park that can get busy at times. Great for the kids who are just learning out. Navigation wasn't a problem and it's easy to play. It's also free which is always a bonus.

I would suggest this course for newer players because it will suit their distance. This course seems approximate to expose people to the disc golf scene and a good stepping stone to bigger courses.
Cons: Like I said, the park can get busy at times. I played it on a weekend afternoon which wasn't the smartest thing to do. There were kids and families running around the fairways.

Hole #5 is insane because the big arms will just over shoot the basket and hit the playground.
Other Thoughts: I suggest coming to this course if its on your way to wherever you're heading. If you want to sample the San Diego disc golf scene, head down to either Montiel Park (about 5 miles east) or Morley Field near downtown San Diego.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Clean lil course

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets, all in great shape
-Neat, circular tee pads with the hole length and direction etched into them
-Family-friendly course. No smoking and a fancy play area for the young ones.
-Very clean park setting
-Good use of elevation change. Each hole has an elevation element that one has to shape their shots around.
-Free!!!
-Plenty of parking
Cons: -Dangerous. Not for golfers, but for the masses of kiddies that are playing in the play area. One of the baskets is literally 15' away from a sculpture the kids use as playground equipment, on a blind hole, no less. Serious design flaw.
- Weird pars. One 275' par 5 and another short par 4. On completely open holes. I guess they play if you hit a kid, you get a stroke, which, I'd imagine, is pretty often.:
-Lots of families wandering around the fairways. Hopefully, they'll learn.
-Hole 4 tee is right in front of a fence. Very awkward.
-Only 6 holes!:(
Other Thoughts: Sunset Park is a newer park with a very young disc golf course along the periphery. Hole 5 killed this course's rating for me. I buzzed the tower, almost nailing a wayward toddler (with a good drive), and got yelled at by her mom, never a good sign. What can ya do? it was clear when I spotted it 30 seconds prior. I expect to hear about a LOT of young ones and their parental units getting hammered with discs at this course.

This course caters strictly to beginners. High pars and danger when throwing discs hard (even with appropriate, good drives) mar this pitch-and-putt for anyone that can throw more than 200'. Good for seeking aces and the ego boost of shooting -7 on 6 holes, but that's about it.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.