Disc Golf Store
San Marcos, CA 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
5 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
For casual play and beginners only

1    11/29/2014   11/30/2014
Review By: orchdork1986
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Really short course, which is a pro depending on how you look at it. To me this is a pro if that's what you're looking for. I like having time commitment options.

This course is beautifully maintained. The tees are all concrete with distances and arrows marked in them. So aside from the challenge of trying to find hole one (by the street, on top of the hill), the course is easy to follow.

While the distances are easy, the elevation presents an interesting challenge even for those that have experience. There's a high risk of rollers or having your disc kicked around by wind.
Cons: The only real con about this course is the location. And by this I mean that it wraps around a playground/picnic field/baseball/outdoor family area. So unless you go early in the morning or while kids are in school you're going to have dozens of kids running around by the baskets, making them essentially unplayable.

One could argue that the size of the course is also a con. If you enjoy the sport 6 holes is not enough to make you drive out of your way. But, again, the design is clearly not targeting this hard core audience and should be treated as such.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course did an excellent job catering to its target audience. By just having it in a highly populated park, disc golf itself is going to get a lot of exposure with beginners wanting to try it out.

My two star rating mainly stems from the fact that this course is not playable during "normal" hours due to the crowds.

Pretty Little Park, Unique Tee Pads & Signage!

1    4/1/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
Pros: Sunset Park is a small, very clean neighborhood park. It has a children's play area, sand volleyball pit, lights for evening play, a walking path, BB courts and ample parking.
The designers somehow squeezed 6 holes in this very small area. The baskets are brand new Mach IIIs. The pads are round concrete circles with the hole #, par , distance and an arrow engraved into the concrete. Very cool! The distances and pars are designed for children and the most beginner of beginners, like a 275' Par 5, downhill no less. I did get my first official double eagle ever on it and I'm damn proud!

There are great views up on top from the # 2 tee pad of the surrounding area clear to the Pacific.
Cons: Only six holes.
You have to be very careful of other park patrons.
Children's distances.
Other Thoughts: What a great little course to bring the kiddies to or that newbie. It's well designed, it's extremely clean. You can play at night. Great views. Just be careful of other park users.

Practice

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Clean. Not many obstacles. small for short game practice.
Cons: if populated, may be a little hard to control. Course is on top of a hill and there are frequent gusts of wind...helps develop wind skills. Small, never really get to grip n rip.
Other Thoughts: nice course. nice cement pads. a little hard to spot the pins at first but overall a nice course to workout on.

 Kids Course

2-4    3/5/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation is easy. Nice circular tee pads with hole number, distance to basket and par engraved in the concrete. Brand new Mach III baskets. Very nicely landscaped and maintained with plenty of trash and recycling bins. Decent amount of elevation in play. This park seems like it is brand new. There is a state of the art playground that is completely shaded with a fountain feature. The park also offers two half-court basketbal courts, sand volleyball, a view of the ocean, drinking fountains, restrooms, walking paths, picnic benches, soccer fields, and more. Seemed like enough lights to allow for night play.
Cons: Very short with few obstacles. Only six holes with one tee and one basket each. Hole 5 is unplayable in its current position due to the fact that the basket is within 15 feet of a popular playground feature. This hole is a blind tee shot over a rise and I am glad I chose not to throw because when I walked up over the hill I saw a toddler hanging on to the bottom of the basket. Park is heavily used by non-golfers. No practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners and kids. A normal catch and throw disc could be used here. Bring the putters. Not a destination for the serious disc golfer, but fun nonetheless. The 1st tee is on the hillside beind the basketball courts. Go by the volleyball court and up the concrete path. Look for the circular tee pad on the grass.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.