Amsterdam, Netherlands 
Sloterpark Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sloterpark Rejuvenated

5+    8/20/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: DeanStAmsterdam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sloterpark is thankfully no longer under construction - the grounds crew and tournament people have been clearing some of the nettles, etc as well, making it more accessible and comfortable.
Cons: Can be difficult to wait for walkers to get out of the way! But this is true for lots of courses.
Other Thoughts: All 18 tee boxes are back their original state and there are PDGA events being played here now, positive future for this course - Goed Zo.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wish I had more time!!

1    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course! I wish I had more time to play another round.

My favorite thing about this course is the risk/reward it offers. Holes 3 & 17 over the water are tremendously fun. While #3 really isn't that long, you have to trust that your disc will hyzer back and it's adrenaline pumping. It's pretty easy to get your disc back as long as you're semi-close to the side.

There's a great diversity of shots. There's long and short, right/left, up and down.

The park is in good condition and the home made baskets are fantastic.
Cons: This course shares the park with many other things...so there is a lot of foot traffic. When I was there, I couldn't play a few of the holes because there was a carnival/fair going on on one side and two of the later holes were under construction.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Netherlands, hands down. Unfortunately I only had time to play one round here, but I would definitely had played another had a had the chance. The signs are great and the tees are adequate. It's a very challenging and enjoyable round. I recommend it!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A quality course

1    3/15/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety all way around. Long and wide open to short and technical. Lots of OB and water to add to the challenge and the fun. Be careful of the old fisherman to the right of basket number 3.

2 kiosks, 1 at each end of the park so you could start anywhere. The layout is intuitive and utilizes the park's features well.

Every hole had a well marked tee area except we never found one for number 9. The tee signs had excellent hole info. Some teepads are large concrete pavers, some are asphalt.

The baskets are homemade, very sturdy and the chains had a distinctive loud ring when you banged the chains.

Although only a permanent course for only a couple years many of the people in this multi use park had an idea of what we were doing. Sitting at park benches near baskets people were nonplussed when some plastic came their way.

Easy to get to. Tram 7 & 14 stop there as their last stop. Only 20 minutes from the Leidseplein, the heart of Amsterdam if you ask me.

You can get a scorecard and buy a disc or 2 from the large aquatic center just outside the park and not far from the first tee. They only have a 4 different Discraft discs in D plastic and they aren't cheap.
Cons: Play early, this park gets a lot of use. You may have to wait for dog walkers, stroller pushers, bike riders and meandering old folks.

There is some vandalism. The chains on number 13's and 14's baskets were stolen. However the rest of the basket was there making the holes playable.
Other Thoughts: This is fine a course as any I've played.

There are nesting herons in the pines at number 10 at this time of year. These normally silent birds are quite loud and are quite reminiscent of pterodactyls. Don't stand pondering your throw at the 10th teebox; there is a heron nest right above and you could get a huge unwelcome surprise.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course / Very Diverse Holes

5+    3/23/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide Open Park - Far enough out of the City Center to avoid strolling tourists

Huge Variety of Styles from Long Bomber Fairways to Tight Wooded Drives to Tricky Water Hazards

Good Set Up - Very Clear Signage for Tee Boxes and Pins.
Cons: Good signage, but still can be tricky to navigate the first time through.. a couple rounds and its a breeze though.

A few shots have some mean water hazards!

Holland wind can be rough and adds to the challenge.

So far not too much foot traffic, but have a feeling could be a lot of pedestrians camped out in the fields during summer.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course.

The mandatory shots and out of bounds can make it a very difficult course...but play without following them too strictly and it will still be challenging but much more friendly toward the novice player.

The water on Hole 3 took TWO of my discs in a row, so beware the water!!!! (14 could get you if your not careful too)

Hole 09 is a monster at 722 feet. That and a few others you get a chance to really Bomb it, but a lot of it is a finesse course with a sold variety of styles.

Overall a really fun course, challenging for the seasoned player, and fun for the beginner as well. Play it if you get the chance!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.