Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sloterpark Share
Uploaded By: Leroy   (Taken 10/2011)
Custom basket tops



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Sloterpark Rejuvenated

5+    8/20/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: DeanStAmsterdam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sloterpark is thankfully no longer under construction - the grounds crew and tournament people have been clearing some of the nettles, etc as well, making it more accessible and comfortable.
Cons: Can be difficult to wait for walkers to get out of the way! But this is true for lots of courses.
Other Thoughts: All 18 tee boxes are back their original state and there are PDGA events being played here now, positive future for this course - Goed Zo.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad Day To go.

1    8/2/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 77  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tee signs these are good, everyone is pretty easy to tell where to go and they tell you where the next tee pad is.

Shot Verity - there is a ton of stuff all round to shot, and play different, Hole seven has a U shape hole, water, trees, open.

Park - The Park is beautiful and easy to find if the bridge isn't closed off for it.

baskets- They have baskets and are in pretty good condition.
Cons: Construction - It seems construction is always happening here. When I went the bridge you would normally cross was closed, an I missed hole 1-3 and 17-18 as they were unable to get to without swimming.

The Park - it seems people just chill in the fairways here and don't really like it if you ask them to move. So I had to skip a few holes because of this.
Other Thoughts: Honestly it was super hard for me to find this place, I took tram 14 to the Sloterpark exit, and when i started walking towards the sport center the bridge afterwords (which I think is where you go) was closed to construction, so I had to keep walking and get to hole 4 where I started.

It seems like construction is always happening here, and also if it's a nice sunny day people will be hanging out in the fairway.

If you are with a non disc golfer, there is a swimming area off the exit and what seemed to be a petting zoo across the street, which will help.

I think I would of rated this course a little bit higher if there weren't so many people sitting in the fairways un willing to move, and construction always there as it seems to be by other reviews. The course is great, I would say the best bet is to get there early to avoid people.

I was staying in central Amsterdam and it was about a 28 minute tram ride.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me what I can improve to help. Thanks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Variety and nice use of space

1    6/5/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative layout (e.g.#2 is like an island with paths OB)
Variety of shots given terrain
Water holes (3, 17)
Nice park aesthetics (not just because there's a DG course therefor signage
Intuitive layout
Nice custom baskets
People in park very friendly when they figured out what we were doing with the discs.
A hill in Holland #9!!
Cute bunnies on several holes
Clearly thought out design
Cons: It's a multi-use park so many fairways and throwing lanes overlap with pedestrian and bike paths as well as grassy areas here people are lying around. One basket had a bike leaning against it.

Two of the baskets had single trash items in them. It was clear people didn't know what these things were. While we saw three other folders there during our round, I imagine it does not have a lot of DG traffic.

Construction during waterlogged areas on 11, 13.
Other Thoughts: Maybe there are some efforts already, but I would recommend some public clinics or demonstrations to invite park goers to learn about the sport.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wish I had more time!!

1    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course! I wish I had more time to play another round.

My favorite thing about this course is the risk/reward it offers. Holes 3 & 17 over the water are tremendously fun. While #3 really isn't that long, you have to trust that your disc will hyzer back and it's adrenaline pumping. It's pretty easy to get your disc back as long as you're semi-close to the side.

There's a great diversity of shots. There's long and short, right/left, up and down.

The park is in good condition and the home made baskets are fantastic.
Cons: This course shares the park with many other things...so there is a lot of foot traffic. When I was there, I couldn't play a few of the holes because there was a carnival/fair going on on one side and two of the later holes were under construction.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Netherlands, hands down. Unfortunately I only had time to play one round here, but I would definitely had played another had a had the chance. The signs are great and the tees are adequate. It's a very challenging and enjoyable round. I recommend it!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A lot of potential, but an ultimate disappointment

1    2/4/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sloterpark is a beautiful park located about 3.5 miles from Amsterdam Centraal station on the Slotermeer lake. The park is easy to get to via public transit (tram 7 or 14), and would also be an easy bike ride thanks to Amsterdam's bike infrastructure. There is also ample parking in the Sloterparkbad sports complex which is right next to the park.

The baskets here are mostly in great shape and the custom basket tops give the course a unique flair. Tees are 3 slabs of concrete or marked on the walking path. Tee signs are comprehensive showing a map of the hole, par info, distance in meters, marked OB and mando, and also a smaller map that shows where surrounding tees/baskets are in relation to the present hole. There are also at least two complete course maps; one at the front of course and one by the 12th basket. The park is kept very clean and the grass is kept short.

This course was very well-designed. It describes a complete loop that will take you right back to where you started. The distances are varied, the front and back 9 are well balanced, and there was a nice balance between open field and more wooded holes. There is a lot of challenge here due to crazy OBs, mandos on 6 and 9, mature trees, tough curves and two terrifying throws across a small section of the lake (3 and 17). Other stand out holes include 9, a 700 ft+ bomb off of a large hill with a very cool sculpture on it, 10, which is a very challenging tunnel shot through the trees, 2 which is probably the tightest in/out of bounds situation you'll ever play, and the blind curve on 7. The locals seemed to at least tolerate the fact that I was playing there.
Cons: OK, now for the bad stuff. The biggest disappointment for me here was that many holes were not playable when I was there (4 February 2013). A tree had fallen on the tee box for 3, which meant that too much could have gone wrong throwing across the water. 9 was an absolute disaster as the first 300-400 feet of fairway were completely flooded. While this is probably only an issue during the winter, the summer may provide a different set of problems since heavy park use may also make this hole unplayable. Park construction took holes 11-14 out of commission as well.

The course also was very much in conflict with activities of other users of the park. There were throws over park benches, lots of danger to joggers and walkers on the paths, and I can imagine that many fairways are also optimal BBQ locations.

The course map was also a bit confusing and probably not 100% accurate. The water holes could be cons, especially for beginners because they are very risky and there is virtually no possibility of retrieving your disc if it goes in the drink. The tees also don't afford much in the way of a good run-up, especially the ones on the path as well as 9, which is the longest hole on the course. This is especially a problem because most of the holes here are on the longer side of things.
Other Thoughts: Amsterdam's very damp climate will probably mean that you're playing on wet, muddy grass most of the time. Waterproof shoes are highly recommended and if you have a waterproof disc bag it's probably great especially if you play with a camera, phone, or other electronic devices in your bag.

This is definitely a course worth seeking out (a quick skim through all the Dutch courses on this site likely make it the best course in the Netherlands), but you shouldn't come with very high expectations. It would likely make for a great tournament course if the park was closed to the public and conditions were perfect. It has all the elements of a great course with a few very unfortunate circumstantial elements that made my experience less than enjoyable. I would definitely come back hoping for a better experience if I'm ever in Amsterdam again, but my first time was quite disappointing here. Should I return, this review will certainly get an update.

NB: This review is solely based on my own objective experience. Just because I had a bad experience here doesn't mean you will. 1.5 = Passable and I'm sticking to it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A quality course

1    3/15/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety all way around. Long and wide open to short and technical. Lots of OB and water to add to the challenge and the fun. Be careful of the old fisherman to the right of basket number 3.

2 kiosks, 1 at each end of the park so you could start anywhere. The layout is intuitive and utilizes the park's features well.

Every hole had a well marked tee area except we never found one for number 9. The tee signs had excellent hole info. Some teepads are large concrete pavers, some are asphalt.

The baskets are homemade, very sturdy and the chains had a distinctive loud ring when you banged the chains.

Although only a permanent course for only a couple years many of the people in this multi use park had an idea of what we were doing. Sitting at park benches near baskets people were nonplussed when some plastic came their way.

Easy to get to. Tram 7 & 14 stop there as their last stop. Only 20 minutes from the Leidseplein, the heart of Amsterdam if you ask me.

You can get a scorecard and buy a disc or 2 from the large aquatic center just outside the park and not far from the first tee. They only have a 4 different Discraft discs in D plastic and they aren't cheap.
Cons: Play early, this park gets a lot of use. You may have to wait for dog walkers, stroller pushers, bike riders and meandering old folks.

There is some vandalism. The chains on number 13's and 14's baskets were stolen. However the rest of the basket was there making the holes playable.
Other Thoughts: This is fine a course as any I've played.

There are nesting herons in the pines at number 10 at this time of year. These normally silent birds are quite loud and are quite reminiscent of pterodactyls. Don't stand pondering your throw at the 10th teebox; there is a heron nest right above and you could get a huge unwelcome surprise.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park with solid equipment, cursed by mediocre course design and vandalism

5+    2/20/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is really pretty with a great variety of flora and fauna, and it is easily reachable from central Amsterdam by public transport. The course equipment is top-notch, with rugged custom built baskets and concrete tees marked with descriptive, graphical signs. There are a decent mix of open and wooded holes, with a couple hard right-to-left (#3)and left-to-right (#7) hyzers required. The big downhill hole (#9) is a nice bonus for the flat land of Holland. The water around the course is quite menacing, but can be avoided with conservative play.
Cons: Frankly, some holes are very poorly laid out: some that play over park benches, shots over crowded bike paths, even one through the middle of a mini soccer field. At times when the park will be crowded, the course will not be playable as marked. Many fairways and greens are far too small; hole number 2 stands out as a particular example of a disc golf hole jammed into an area where there is simply not enough real-estate for it.

The terrain is torn up in places, with the #11 fairway a messy mound with weeds resulting in a blind shot over the bike path. The #13 fairway is riddled with holes from burrowing animals. Humans have also defaced the course, stealing the chains from the #13 and #14 baskets and vandalizing some of the signs.
Other Thoughts: 1. Avoid times when the park will be crowded if you want to get your round in.
2. Ignore the O.B. that is posted; make up your own rules.
3. If you want to play a better course, you have to travel far from here...

Keep these things in mind, and you can have an alright time disc golfing here in Amsterdam.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in Amsterdam, need I say more?

1    4/20/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: jasonc
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably not, but here goes...This is a beautiful park. Concrete tee pads except for #4,#6 & #14, which use the asphalt bike/walking path. #9's tee now plays from the top of the hill next to the sign for a nice elevated tee. For a flat place like Amsterdam, this is a nice touch.

Good mix of wooded and open holes with a variety of distance. I would call #4 and #9 par 4's.

#3 and #17 force you to throw over water. Further, water also comes into play on #11 and #14.

There were good signs on most holes, although some had been vandalized.

Course flow allows you to see most of the park while 18 finishes close to #1 and the park entrance. Course map/sign provided at the park entrance.
Cons: On #5, #10, & #12, watch out for the birds. These tee pads were covered in bird droppings.

Be careful with the stinging nettles on #11, #13, and #17. My legs were still stinging 2 days later.

Chains were missing from #14's basket. While there, we met a local disc golfer who said that the neighborhood residents are not fans of the sport.

This was evident by the vandalized tee signs and missing chains along with several portable BBQ grills and picnics that were set up too close to some baskets.
Other Thoughts: The Amsterdam tram system makes this an easy course to visit if you are staying in the downtown area, as tram #7's last stop is in the park.

With sunlight till 9:00-9:30 pm in the spring and summer months, this park and course provide an excellent disc golf experience.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 truth or dare

5+    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Port Arthur
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: >another basket course in the country
>lot of different types of shots required
>tough course
Cons: >fairways over walking paths
>some insane mandatories
>very crowded on a sunny day>>unplayable
Other Thoughts: Played there 8 rounds now. all in competition. Best round so far 62
Longest wait on hole 15>>20 minutes.
That 1 round we had to wait at least 40 minutes for people moving out of the way. Luckily they did.
It is a tough course.
Par can easily get into bogey or d.bogeys.
Hole 3 is the easiest and the scariest.
Less than 150 feet but all water. I had 6 birdies, 1 par and 1 bogey on it :-)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dutch disc golf!

5+    9/18/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, good tee signs, excellent virtual map on the internet. Good variety of shot types, although there are really only 2 holes which it is possible to 2 if you can't throw ~350 feet (hard to do the exact conversion, all of the distances are in meters, but even the shorter holes are usually over 100 meters, which is almost 330 ft. The course has a bunch of water in play and a bunch of OB, which is a pro for me since I am more of a placement player than a bomber. This course sort of reminds me of Winthrop in its difficulty and use of OB to make the course much harder. If you happen to see any locals while playing they tend to be pretty friendly. Drinking and smoking on the course are okay, and there are plenty of trash cans, although the Dutch don't seem to use them. Nice scenery with the course situated next to a lake.
Cons: *UPDATE* Lots of stinging nettles in the summer months. Almost half of the course is unplayable on a nice summer day because of picnicers. Chains missing on #13 and #14, and half gone on #11. Some fairways are overgrown, and #16 is now a big dirt/mud field because of a recent concert.* Almost no elevation change, just one hole you throw from the top of a hill with some pretty phallic sculptures on it. Very muddy, and standing water in some places depending on how much rain and how little sun there has been. The park is pretty crowded and the course plays right through walking paths, so you have to be careful. Most of the pedestrians are friendly though and tend to be interested in the sport. Some people have no idea what it is so sometimes they get in the way, for example a fisherman had parked his scooter on one of the teepads and didn't seem inclined to move it. If you can't throw 350+ there are very few birdie chances, but the ubiquitous OB keeps the middle distance holes from being "tweeners."
Other Thoughts: *UPDATE* I had to lower my score to a 3.5, mostly due to lack of maintenance (see cons). Despite what another reviewer said, I find most of the park-goers are cool and even sometimes interested about DG, but if you throw near someone's children or something silly like that you could see why some might get mad (I have seen it happen). Still a good course, but could use some love from the parks department and local DGers (shame on us).* This course is very fun to play, and as the first course in Amsterdam it does a good job of getting the public curious about the sport, I even had a couple of old ladies ask me about DG when I was playing once. The duck flies at midnight, obviously. It is pretty easy to get to the course by tram but a little difficult to find the first hole once you get there, so if you plan on playing send me a message and I can meet you there or at least give you some pointers. All in all, I am happy to call this my new home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.