Darlington, SC
Pim Farms Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 300ft.   4 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Blue Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
En Route

1    10/30/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I almost don't want to review this course, because it's in a bit on transition phase right now. That's not exactly true, I love to rate and rank things. It might be my predominant character trait.I feel like this course was a 3.5 and it will at some point be even better, but right now, it's not complete. The old back nine has been replaced with a nine-hole novelty course. There are lots of obstacles and its being lit for night play, by it does somewhat jar with the more traditional front nine. Once the back nine is reinstated, the novelty course will be a separate nine-hole outing. Of course, it could be played as twenty-seven consecutive holes as well.

Anyways, back to what is there now. The first nine is mostly in the open, with a few wooded holes mixed in. There is some solid distance, and the first few holes will allow most golfers to grip and rip a few drives.

The wooded holes, six through nine, are my favorites. They wind through a small patch of light orest in between the first holes and the area that formerly held the back nine. While they are short and offer opportunities or aces/deuces, the trees make most shots a risky proposition, and parking a tee shot feels genuinely rewarding.

The new back nine is all short and the obstacles are much more varied. There are some fun shots here as the course winds around the pavilion and the many other amenities of the farm. These holes could be played by someone who has never picked up a disc before but at the same time, a veteran could find them to be quirky and enjoyable. There is a hanging basket, and a few protected greens, but the real is on the last two holes. Seventeen's basket is in a gazebo. For eighteen, the tee is inside the pavilion. It's a short ace run, but throwing out the window is a unique experience.
Cons: The con is really he current state. I can't wait to return once the back nine is back. As it is now, it's a bit of a hodgepodge with the front and back nine at odds with each other.

Additionally, the early holes are very open and may not be to everyone's taste. While they are all fine, none of them are standout holes. A single bomb, possible upshot and a putt should do well on the first six holes. None of them have any real obstacles in the flight path.

Basically, it isn't that challenging in its present state. It's not a destination, as I believe the temporary course here would be. It's a fun stop, or a quick round after you play a tournament here, and it's a really nice beginner course which I bet gets a lot of use from people who gather at the farm for non disc golf reasons.

I don't mind natural tees but I know that some don't care for them. A set of painted pipes indicate launch zones here. They are flat and serviceable but they aren't concrete.

Lastly, some of the baskets are tough to spot if they are set against the trees. They could do with a flag or a bit of yellow paint.
Other Thoughts: I felt very welcome as a mid-day visitor, stopping in the middle of a long day of travel. I would highly recommend anyone to stop by. It's not a destination course yet but you will have fun. And eventually it might just be a true destination. In addition to the standard eighteen and the mini-nine that will exist in the near future, it is possible that the temporary course, set up for tournaments, will become a permanent installation.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Farm-Good Tyme

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova Discatcher Sports in great shape.
*All tee's are marked with numbered post.
*Navigation was the easiest I've seen on any 18 hole course.
*Farm obstacles made the course more challenging and fun.
*The front nine had a great variety of change in distances and open to wooded holes.
*They rent discs, sell drinks and have clean restrooms.
*Beginner friendly.
Cons: *Because the goals are all sports they will spit disc out a little more than a pro.
*In the excessive heat, the back nine is wide open and can become a bother.
The back nine holes were all too similar in the regards of distances and all being very open.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $5 bucks to play. I found this course to be one of my favorites. The layout was good with a beginner to intermediate appeal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 9 hole courses in one fun place.

1    1/2/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes most with two tee locations and all baskets in good shape.
Good course maintenance with visiable improvements are being made, I saw new tee markers being created while I was there.
A letter at the front gate welcomes you with the owner's phone number and gives you permission to enter even if the gate is closed.
unique obsticles in the back 9 make the most of a large open feild and give the course a fun novelty feel. 11 has chicken wire "bushes" around the basket, 12's basket is behind a solitary peice of fence, 14 uses large plastic drums, several baskets use hay bales, and hole 18 uses 2 large tires.
variety of distance, although the first 3 are all 250 feet the holes range from hole 6's 155 ace run to 18 long, which is 510 feet straight if you want to air out your drivers.
Discs for rent
5 bathrooms over by the horse pen
Mini golf and several other activities to keep the family occupied for a round or two
I really liked hole 8 and 9, 8 was only 214, but the trees were used well and 9 was a dog leg left through a tunnel of trees, they were a welcomed break from straight open shots.
Cons: Pay to play is always a con, but someone has to pay for those baskets.
grass and ocasionally muddy tees
hole distances did not seem accurate, on hole 10 the short and long were both labeled 300, but the short is 20 feet closer.
some redundency, especially in the back 9 . 13, 15, 16, and 17 were all straight shots with bales of hay blocking the basket.
Other Thoughts: No longer any shared baskets. Baskets are DISCatcher sports, not permanent discatcher baskets.
Holes 1-9 were more traditional while 10-18 were novelty holes with unique obsticles.
I would like to see more unique obsticles take the place of some of the hay bale holes, maybe some of the orange snow fencing on posts at various heights, or an elevated basket perched on a small mount to give the back 9 more uniqueness and variety.
For locals this must be THE course to play, the two closest courses are 9 hole kiddie courses, the closest 18 holes are one and two disc rated course 40 miles away.
On a long drive on 95, this is a little out of the way, but there is alot of family friendly activities so everyone can stretch their legs

MORE PHOTOS COMING

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf and a Corn Maze

1    8/6/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Family Recreational Course, with a farm theme. Keeping in sync with the Corn Maze and other farm activities.
-The owners were extremely nice and very friendly.
-Disc Rentals
-Shelter house that sells food & drinks (limited hours open)
-Scorecards in Mailbox next to shelter house
-Multiple Tee's (Blue & Gold)
-DISCatcher Sport Baskets
-Introductory Course: Designed to introduce the sport to new players, Excellent for beginner or casual players.
-Private Pay to Play 5$ (Uses the honor system)
-Located on Farm Land, and is spread out
-Distances range from 250-350
-Guarded baskets with Hay bales, Fences, and barrels. This adds a challenge to a the drives.
-Clean and well maintained
FWIW: There are 2 Corn field mazes here, and a soon to be installed Miniature golf course. Pim Farm's initially caters to family outings, and Church Groups. But it is always open to the Disc Golfers.
Cons: I'm merely listing these to make people aware of these factors. Considering the fact that this is a Family Recreational course, I'm not holding any of these items against it.
-1 and 9 share a basket
-The holes are pretty much the same straight forward shot. A few holes go through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Here is the deal; this is a Family oriented recreational course. It's designed as another activity for the two Corn Mazes that are on the property. The idea here is that fun is greater than the challenge. So keep that in mind if you decide to come out and play a round here. Mr. Booth likes introducing people to the sport, by giving them a course that will be fun and challenging to new players. I really enjoy the experience of being on a farm, and that really made this a pleasant experience.
*This is a family course, so no alcohol and no pot!

If you live in the area, then it is worth checking out and playing around. Just remember that this isn't a "Flip City" or "Idlewild". It's a family recreational course that is designed to be enjoyed by all. (non-players and regular players alike). The obstacles aren't as gimmicky as they may sound. They offer up a little bit of a challenge, but they help keep the feel of the "Farm Theme" running. They aren't obnoxious, but I feel they are rather appropriate. I wasn't affected by them. Enjoy it for what it's worth.

My experience here was interrupted by a dangerous lightning storm, and heavy rain. The owner offered to drive me around and show me his course. (after the lightning stopped, of course) This allowed me to photograph the course. He was a pleasure to talk to, as we waited out the never ending rain. He talked about expanding his course, and giving some holes a redesign. I had a good experience here, and if I'm in the neighborhood again, I'll stop by and play another round. Next time, I'm hitting the corn maze as well. :)

FYI: If you are a church leader, and are looking for outings or day trips, then this place would be an ideal spot. Also if you are traveling to Myrtle Beach and would like a side stop, then Pim Farms could make for a nice stop along the way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.