Disc Golf Store
College Station, TX 
Southern Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Dog leg right, over the path



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hole # 8

5+    1/6/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: Eluwak5447
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight lines. Emphasis on shot selection and placement. Quiet neighborhood without a lot of traffic. A very humbling course.
Cons: . THERE IS A MANDO ON HOLE 8!!! WHAT IS THE POINT OF A 500FT HORSE SHOE HOLE IF ANY NEWB CAN THROW A SLOPPY TOMAHAWK OR THUMBER OVER THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE TEE THAT LINES UP LESS THAN 75 FT AWAY FROM THR BASKET!!?? STEP YOUR GAME UP AND PLAY THR COURSE THE WAY IT WAS DESIGNED!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

technical in town

2-4    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice technical course. Small 9 hole, but layed out well for the space. Tomahawk comes in handy on hole 8 and making a double eagle or an ace is possible even though it's a par 5. There are several holes that can be aced. Really fun risk reward style of course. relatively low traffic on the course also adds to the pleasure of the game. Enjoy.
Cons: Someone created a mando on #8 that isn't true. Too see a true mando look at MetCenter course hole #10. Would love to have a larger scale technical course in town that's 18 hole. Need a practice basket.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Addictive!

2-4    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: Mason65
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great Signage
- Concrete Teepads
- Most of course is separate from the rest of the park.
- Had the course to myself the three hours I was there.
- Lots of diversity/variety for such a compact course.
- Great replay value.
Cons:
- Hole 7 plays through a blind intersection with a walking path, would be a good idea to have a spotter.
- Hole 9 finishes into the park near a basketball court and playground.
- Its a little out of the way for most in College Station.
- There is a creek running through the course that is in play on about half the holes. It is narrow and shallow, but the water is NASTY and stagnant. Bring a retrieval tool of sorts.
- Hole 8, the horseshoe hole, feels a little forced.
- Apparently there are some Mandos on the course, it would be nice if they were permanently marked.
Other Thoughts: I set out to play this course once today. After my 4th round I only left so I could make it home for dinner! This course toes the line between fun and frustration like I haven't seen before. Each time I finished the course I felt like I could have shot better, and wanted to go back and try again. The course is compact and sparsely populated so rounds are quick.

This course is very good for what it is. That said, its still a compact 9 hole course with a few holes that feel gimmicky and forced at times (6, 7, and 8 come to mind.) Its a little ways out of town, and there aren't any amenities to speak of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Wooded Course - In College Station?

1    2/19/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tight and technical wooded course in College Station, need I say more? I love this place because, as I love most wooded courses, because it uses it's environment as the great equalizer. There are concrete pads, great looking signage, and the course is very well maintained. The paths are clear with quality bridges, and the recently stolen chains on baskets have already been replaced, so you know this place is being loved.

The park is family friendly, complete with playground for the kids while you hit a round, but no bathrooms. The place can be pretty muddy after a rain but drains wells. I was there a day after they have an inch of rain, and most of the standing water was already gone. And although people who like to grip ti and rip it may not be impressed, there is a decent amount of variety in shot layout and forces you to think placement over power.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #7
Cons: To echo previous comments, this place is another perfect example of why you always pour your concrete tees last. The pads on many holes angle one direction and you'll be throwing in another. It's an annoyance, that should never happen with decent planning. A few holes border on pinball holes, and even though #8's boomerang design is unique, I though it was a bit silly. A good tomahawk should bypass the fairway straight to the pin in winter, but the thick foliage in summer will force to putt around the fairway.

The other big complaint is #4 to #5 interchange. It's easier to hit #5 tee from #4 than it is to hit the pin itself. Due to limited space, I don't know how you make a decent fix to this part. Finally, as usual, some people may not like the tight and technical, but that not a con as much as something to note before you choose to play here.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. My bias towards this style immediately placed it on top of my personal College Station/Bryan enjoyment factor, and besides Oaks Park, is the only course I really want to play again when making my way out to this area. Research Park and Wolf Pen Creek may be more diverse for the competitive player, but this place is pure fun, or purely frustrating depending on what you like. It really reminded me of a little baby version of my favorite wooded course, Dalaiwood, up on the Washington peninsula, and was a welcome change to the typical open course in this area.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Oaks Raises the Bar

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Southern Oaks DGC is a fun nine hole course with many more trees than other B/CS courses. The wooded fairways emphasize accuracy over power. Errant tee shots can leave you in thick rough, making approaches very difficult. Control is the name of the game if you want reasonable lies. The mix of left and right is balanced well. Hole 8 is almost a horseshoe shape, turning 180 degrees between the tee and the basket. In terms of equipment, everything I like to see is there. There is a complete course map next to the first tee, and signs at each tee pad with hole layouts and distances. All tees are concrete, and the baskets are Disccatchers. A fun and challenging course overall, making the most of a compact space. Pace of play is fast, with short walks between holes.
Cons: Not much to complain about here. A couple of the targets had bent rims on the baskets, and one was missing two chains, but with very little effect on putting. I thought the posted scores were generous. IMO, only number 8 would warrant higher than par 3; it was labeled par 5, but I would have a hard time giving it credit for more than a par 4. Water might come into play after rains, but that was not an issue this summer. Even if it was, there were a number of nice bridges to cross wet spots.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly my favorite 9 hole course out of many in the Bryan/College Station area. I found myself relying on midrange and sidearm throws more than I am used to, which was a nice change of pace. A nice course where scoring under the posted par value isn't too hard if you place your shots well. I would play it regularly if I lived there, and if you spend any time there, it is worth checking out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest Course in the B/CS

1    9/18/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Reasonable par 5,4, and 3's
Very Pretty course carved out of the woods
Nice course map at the first hole
After playing many courses it teaches you to understand the need for a course like this in B/CS
Cons: Very Narrow
No Room for Error
Tree stumps sticking up everywhere that you can trip on
No Parking Lot... You have to park on the street
Nine hole course
Other Thoughts: The most technical course in the B/CS definitally not for beginners at all. Not really a course that you would play on a every day or even week basis. But a good addition to the disc golf courses in the B/CS

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tricky

2-4    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: mooredynasty
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course that forces you to think out your tee and approach throws. It's the only course in town with concrete tee boxes, which are awesome. It's also nice to be in the shade when it starts to get hot.
Cons: Every hole is infested with trees. Technical is the right word, I suppose, but there's not one hole on this course where you throw for distance. Tee boxes don't have numbers and it's easy to get lost the first time out.
Other Thoughts: Live creeks run through the course, even in a period of low moisture. This course may not be playable a few weeks a year.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.