Disc Golf Store
College Station, TX 
Southern Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket down gap of right front corner



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/5/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly great neighborhood course carved out of a wooded area with tight but fair lines off each tee.

The concrete tees are fair and the tee signs are big and colorful with a big course map at the beginning of the course.

Most College Station/Bryan courses are fairly wide open so this course is a good change in scenery and has a higher fun factor than most courses in the area.

Hole 9 is my favorite hole as it is a 300' straight shot through the woods with the basket outside of the trees. It is a good finishing hole that really showcases in one hole what this course is all about.
Cons: As mentioned before, all of the concrete tees are pointed in the wrong direction. It detracts from a proper run up on some holes, even though a big run up is not needed with the length of holes on the course.
Hole #4 is one of the shorter holes on the course and even a little bit of a long drive can hit the tee box on hole #5. Even if I said Hole 9 is the best hole, too long of a drive on that hole can land on a basketball court that is 30' behind the basket. Be careful of your surroundings.
Sort of a theme for CS/B courses is the lack of parking at most courses. Street parking is the only way to play this course and it probably means you will be parking in front of someone's house.
Other Thoughts: I played Southern Oaks twice and I played Hole 8 the first time all the way around the horseshoe and even if it felt a little gimmicky, I felt cheated the second time I played where I tomahawked it over the trees for an easy two. There seems to be much argument over how the hole should be played and I would say that the player should just play all the way around and get the full experience out of the hole and the course.
All in all this is a great course and not even just for a neighborhood. The course is very well designed and is not too tough but tough enough to keep experienced players engaged.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No long drives here!

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: teamtexas
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was clean and laid out well. We played just after a heavy rain and it wasn't real muddy. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Lots of trees and narrow fairways. Good course to work on your thumbers. Some tight corners that are hard to get around and stay close to par.
Other Thoughts: Great signage on this course and I liked the baskets. Quiet location with only street parking.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Technical Course for a Change!

1    9/2/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent technical course! From hole 1 to 9 its a struggle between you and the trees. Great hole design with risks and rewards. A good combination with tight fairways and few shots that start open and end narrow. A few ace opportunities if you are interested. Only technical course in College Station. Much needed diversity.
Cons: Some tee pads are a little off directionally. Distances (according to the tee-signs) are off. Difficult course. Probably not the best course for beginners but will be loved buy the average patron.
Other Thoughts: My favorite 9 hole in College Station. Definitely worth playing if you are exploring the local courses. I highly recommend this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wooded gold!!

1    10/9/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -tight, wooded design. great layout!
-the fairways are challenging but fair
-brand new DGA baskets
-concrete tee pads
-nice course map at the first tee
-variety of shots: tunnels, hyzers and huge right turns
Cons: -course is still very new so the paths are not well worn, rough is rough, tree stumps, etc.
-tee shot on 4 could hit 5's tee
-no big distance shots
-no parking lot, park on the street on Southern Plantation Dr. by the first tee
Other Thoughts: This is a great new wooded course that fills a gap in course design in College Station. This is a challenging course but the holes are fair and an accurate thrower can score well.

The course winds through a small neighborhood park and is full of very tall, fairly dense trees. The fairways are carved out of the woods and a small creeks runs through coming into play on a couple of holes (6,8, maybe more).

Most holes are straight tunnel shots with slight turns and elbows in the fairways (1,2,3,5,9). Each of these are birdie-able with a well-placed drive except probably hole 3. Holes 4 & 6 offer dogleg lefts after making an initial gap and 7 & 8 are crazy dogleg rights. 7 & 8 require short placement shots to set up your second and/or third shots. All these holes would be tough to birdie except 4.

I had so much fun playing this course I didn't even notice whether or not there were any tee signs. I thought this was the most fun of any of the CS courses I played while I was in town. This is the kind of course you could easily be drawn back to again and again, trying to hit those lines!

I'll join the chorus of other reviewers and say that I sure hope they don't do much more trimming to the fairways; the lanes are perfect as they are. Once the course is well worn it will be much easier to play.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, Technical, Technical

2-4    5/21/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: dkjhorseman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight Course, Tightest Course in area. City of College Station did a good job on not opening the course up too much. Concrete Tee Pads and newly installed tee signs.
Cons: City of College Station will continuously be monitoring this course. There are some things that need improvement, but those items are being dealt with. As one disc golfer told me, this course will get better with time and more disc golfers playing it. Everyone needs to keeps eyes open to prevent and report vandalism to College Station Parks and Rec. Course already has several baskets damaged. City of College Station Parks and Rec are aware and plan to repair or replace baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course was meant to be very tight. I believe it needs to stay this way with extremely conservative clearing on very few of the holes. The course has a variety of go for it holes and conserviative, keep you in check holes. Just needs to be played more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally, a Technical City Course

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Clark
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course brings something new to the Bryan/College Station area public courses: difficulty! Located in the midst of a clean suburb, this course takes advantage of the thick woods native to the area. Nearly every shot takes place under a canopy of trees.

Players will stay hard at work with their mids (bring durable plastic). Those lacking accuracy will find themselves discovering the art of the escape shot. The drivers will stay in the bag except on hole 9, maybe (Hole Highlights in Other Thoughts).

Concrete tee pads are another first for the College Station courses. There are no tee signs yet, but a solid metal pole stands waiting at each pad.

Play proceeds in an orderly fashion from each basket to the next tee, with little walking in between along clear trails. The course is short and plays in half an hour or so, though no length measurements have been taken at the time of writing. The last basket is near the first tee.

Overall, this course makes for a fun challenge like nothing else in the BCS area, barring Alcorn Creek DGC, which is private.
Cons: A few of the tee shots rely heavily on luck, with gaps under seven feet located far from the tee. While there is something to be said for a good challenge, the course designer must be reasonable in his expectation of player skill. As such, the beginner might be very frustrated by the end of a round at Southern Oaks Park.

There are a few dangerous situations on the course. One fairway points straight at the next teepad, with the basket off to the side in the woods. A long drive might land on the next pad. On another hole, a pedestrian sidewalk runs straight across the fairway, but that part of the hole is not visible from the tee!

The layout can be tricky at first, so tee signs and Next Tee indicators would be helpful to the first time player. This doesn't detract from the course, but it would make a nice addition.

Some of the pads point in a different direction than the basket. I'm not sure how the course was planned, but there was a disconnect on some of the holes.

As with any deep woods situation, there are plenty of small, biting insects. Bring bug spray from March to November.
Other Thoughts: The course is very new. As such, there are plenty of freshly cut stumps sticking out in the middle of fairways. Piles of underbrush haven't been fully cleared from some areas, and many places are still raw soil where grass hasn't had a chance to grow. Given a few months and lots of foot traffic, this course has lots of potential.

Hole Highlights:
Hole 1 - A shot from the playground field area into a cut in the edge of the woods. The well-placed shot might make for a birdie, but any deviation will throw the disc into the woods.

Hole 4 - The tee shot is across a small meadow in the midst of the woods. The basket is located to the left inside a gap in the trees across the clearing. There is already an Ace penned to the basket number sign (shame on you MD 3-25-09!). There is a danger situation with the tee shot on four aimed directly at the five tee.

Hole 7 - The first shot is basically a putt into a clearing to set up for a challenging second. Another danger situation exists where a walking path cuts directly across the fairway. Beware of drainage water to the right across the raised sidewalk.

Hole 8 - This is a very large U-Turn shot. The basket is 75 feet through solid forest off to the right of the tee, but the fairway plays forward about a hundred feet before turning. The suggested par on this hole will probably be four because of the multi-leg nature of the fairway. Again, the first shot will depend on luck (or great accuracy) to establish placement for the rest of the hole.

Hole 9 - The last hole is a longer shot (for the course) through the trees and out into a field. This is the only hole where a fairway driver might be necessary, but accuracy is essential to the very end of this technical course.


Future Developments:
This review will be updated as new developments occur and as the course is worn in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tree-whacking Fun!

5+    3/26/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: jonkennedyatut
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical! Tight alleys and lots of trees. The concrete tee pads are nice. Signs appear to be coming soon.
Cons: Very short. It's only a 9-hole course and it plays very quickly.
Other Thoughts: This course is still VERY green and it shows. It doesn't need to be cut, really. It just needs to be played more. Foot traffic will cure most of it's problems. Only other thought is that the teeboxes are a little close to the previous hole's basket on a couple holes. It could be dangerous if/when it's really crowded.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.