Orefield, PA
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Over the Road and Through the Woods

2-4    11/12/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Philsey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners (like me). Many of the holes are shorter and can be reached by those without a cannon for an arm. A mix of open grass and wooded holes. All tees are concrete; either a poured pad or large pavers.
Cons: Many of the tee signs have been damaged and are unreadable. Course layout is confusing the first time or two because of this. (I've created an aerial photo map/scorecard. I'll upload it once I've reduced the resolution a bit to meet the 2MB requirement.)
Other Thoughts: Some trails from hole-to-hole cross over fairways or come very close. Pay attention, be courteous and have patience on busy days. Newbies like me appreciate the patience part!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice and Short

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Booray73
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a nice course for starters. I took out a first timer and he had a blast. Fun for a bunch of birdie chances.
Cons: We had kids along for the first few wide open holes which was nice but after that there was a lot of broken glass on the ground.
Other Thoughts: You really could play this with just a putter and a mid range. You only need your driver for a couple of shots. There are 18 holes now, they just finished putting in a couple.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

5+    6/30/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Field shots, tight wooded shots, elevation change on a few holes, baskets are well positioned, most holes 300ft or less. Awesome short technical game with a few strong arm tee offs. Every hole can be a birdie for an experienced player and MANY Ace opportunities. UPDATE: They have put in concrete tee pads!
Cons: Need updated signs next to tee pads with correct distance to pins. Holes 12-17 can get congested as players need to back track through certain holes which can cause accidents with people being hit by discs.
Other Thoughts: EXCELLENT course for anyone who is just getting into the sport of disc golf. Also, every time I go to play recently there has been updates/additions to the course. Someone or a group of people are working hard on improving the course which is awesome to see. One of my personal favorite courses to work on short technical shots! Thanks Everyone!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

5+    11/13/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: Norm38
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has shots that are necessary to learn to be a well rounded golfer. There are holes to empty your bag and crank drives. There are also tight but short holes that get you establish your midrange and putter.
Cons: It needs better signage and teepad markings on holes 13-17. If you have a camera phone, snap a picture of the map on the sign of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of people walking along the trail that runs behind hole 12 (bridge), 14, and parallel with 15.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Short, but interesting.

5+    2/5/2012   6/21/2010
Review By: Theli420
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -> Many potential ace runs as the course is shorter. Most holes, if not all, are under 300 feet. There is one hole (#12) where you can potentially overthrow your putter as you toss on top of a cliff, steeply downhill.

-> Course itself is maintained nicely, clear lanes and paths to throw in with not much brush.

-> Mix of holes. There are a few open holes (#s 1, 2, 8, 9) as well as your wooded holes that weave a little left to right, and right to left. There is even a blind, uphill heave over a giant boulder (#6).

-> Ego booster. Due to the shortness of the course, there is strong potential for a round under par, with many birdie looks, and ace runs.

-> Almost all holes have tee signs now. However, see the cons below on their current condition.

-> Great place to work on your short game. There are few tight, technical holes in the woods.
Cons: -> Navigation - Course can get tricky to navigate once in the woods. You are looking for pieces of wood, some of which are marked with a post next to it, some not marked at all. And, while most of the tees have signs now, some of them have either been vandalized beyond recognition, or mother nature destroyed them. Once you go through the course once and write down the little nuances of it all, it will become easy.

-> Danger Level - Some holes go in one direction in the woods, then come right back in the other. The fairways are bunched tightly together. It could get dangerous if crowded.

-> Very short - The con to the ace runs is the fact that you can not just let one rip, really. There are only 2 or 3 holes that are in the 300+ feet range.

-> Holes in woods a little boring - They are very repetitive. Either a small right to left dogleg or left to right. There are at least 4 or 5 holes that i can think of that do that.

Other Thoughts: Located off the beaten path, this course would have potential for more, if allowed more land usage. With the land they had for this (which I'm sure is out of their control, as I read somewhere that this was an Eagle Scout or Boy Scout project), I feel they did a half decent job. I keep coming back due to the uniqueness of a few holes on this course, the closeness to me, and that its an easy round after playing 3 rounds in 2 days at Lehigh Parkway, Jordan, and South Mountain. But, this is not a course that has cracked my regular rotation (Jordan, South Mountain, Lehigh Parkway) as it is just not in the same league as those three in terms of distance and wow factor.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be sooo much better

1    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: riggsy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent ace and birdie attemps due short distances. Good challenges with a variety of different shots.
Cons: The worst signage of any course I've played so far. It is very difficult to navigate your way around the course because the baskets aren't marked and there are so many close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: The first few holes had concrete tee boxes and were marked with proper signage. Some local guys stated they just did them so maybe someone is going to put the effort into the course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: GrOoViN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots at times & bonus holes (go with someone who plays frequently)
Cons: Nothing beyond the first 5 or so is marked all that well.
Other Thoughts: Take something with you to mark the holes as you play to help yourself or others the next time through. ALOT OF POTENTIAL! Also a quick pic of the map at the beginning with your goes a long way once you get into the wooded areas.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great warm up for the day

1    11/11/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 182  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 19.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was better than I had expected. It is a small course with many 150 - 250 foot shots. For what they had to work with, they designed a nice beginner course. You really only need 1 or 2 discs to play this course as most holes are reachable with a putter. It is a nice little park with a creek and some cool rocks. For being so short, they made some cool holes with the hills and trees. It is very wooded, and requires accurate shots. I shot a -7 with no 4's. This is definitely worth playing if you are in the area. It is not the best course in the area, but it is THE BEST course in the area if you are with people who do not play disc golf often or at all. This course will be fun for new timers, and won't frustrate the new playes with booming holes.
Cons: Needs better signs, but you can definitely navigate your way around the course with no problems. 1 or 2 holes are kind of dangerous with tees/ fairways being placed too close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because it is only 5 minutes from my friends house. We had a good time playing, and I really liked the way the course tested my short game. IF you like shorter courses, this is the one to play while in the area. All-in-all, it was worth the hour it took me to play the course, and I would play it again if in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.