Orefield, PA 
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole # 6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Quality short play

1    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 37  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts open and then transitions into the woods. Nice mix over the first 12 holes. Hole 6 is very unique, with its location uphill behind a huge bolder right off the tee. Hole 12 is also enjoyable with a large downhill elevation change to a short tee with the creek behind. The tee pads are concrete (either slab or large pavers), which appears to be a recent update compared to previous reviews. The baskets were in nice shape and the overall park is very clean and well maintained, sans a few pieces of glass. I played this entire course with my 5 year old son in tow, and we both had a good time. The rough isn't too rough, so chasing an errant disc shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: Tee signs. They start off fine, but as you move along, most of them have been vandalized beyond recognition. Luckily, most of the holes are short, but some of the baskets are still hard to locate the first time out. I found myself pulling out the smart phone to reference the DGCR website to get an idea of pin distance. It's unfortunate this stuff happens because it really took away from my overall ability to enjoy the course. The baskets would also benefit from being labeled with numbers, since some are so close together, it's unclear which one to aim at initially

Holes 13 through 17 are very similar and are located in close proximity, so there is potential to walk through someone else's shot on a different hole if not careful. 17 in particular really seems to have been shoehorned in. The same goes for holes 9/10 which play parallel to one another in close proximity. I had to wait off to the side on 9 after my tee shot to ensure I didn't get plunked by another group playing hole 10.

There is also a lot of poison ivy here, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course for a quick run through 18 holes. Some of the issues I mention will only impact a first time golfer. The holes are all short, which made par possible even with an errant tee shot. Success on this course should be measured in birdies, where other courses in the area I feel great accomplishment in getting par. This was the first time since playing the sport I felt an entire round under par was possible. There are some nice ace run opportunities here for people who don't have big arms. Not easy runs, mind you, just potentials based on distance. Really experienced players may not enjoy the course (go to Jordan Creek instead). Take the online map, I found it useful. I only live 30 mins away, so I will be back in the future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good for the ego

5+    8/27/2013   10/20/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Left to right, right to left, uphill, downhill, open, narrow......you will get to play alot of shots.

The baskets placements add character and challenge to a lot of the holes.

Good tees, most have diagrams.

The overall layout makes nice use of the available space. They put together a course that just about all levels of skill can play, yet most everyone should enjoy.

Cons: Could use updated tee signs in spots, and maybe a few arrows to point you around.

Other Thoughts: They did a good job laying out this track. There are some challenging basket placements and narrow alleys with demanding approaches and the shortest of the holes have the baskets placed as not to make things too easy. Still, there are bunches of birdie out there.

Number 12 is a very short hole, but if you go for it and miss just a bit long, you are in the drink. Nice example of risk/reward.


If your accuracy is off and you are missing fairways, birdie...and sometimes par quickly vanishes. Once you start banging trees, you may wish you were on a simpler "grip it and rip it" course. However, even the narrower alleys are fair.





1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

5+    7/23/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads, nice mix of left and right and up and down. Aced hole 1 that was completely awesome. Back 9 is shaded and can be pretty technical and crowded
Cons: Average amount of people usually see a few groups when I play. Some move faster then others and can make some traffic to play through.
Other Thoughts: Wish I can make my discs go left a few holes would benefit grately from it. But I usually average +5 on this couse

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Short

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Booray73
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a nice course for starters. I took out a first timer and he had a blast. Fun for a bunch of birdie chances.
Cons: We had kids along for the first few wide open holes which was nice but after that there was a lot of broken glass on the ground.
Other Thoughts: You really could play this with just a putter and a mid range. You only need your driver for a couple of shots. There are 18 holes now, they just finished putting in a couple.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

5+    6/30/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 83  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Field shots, tight wooded shots, elevation change on a few holes, baskets are well positioned, most holes 300ft or less. Awesome short technical game with a few strong arm tee offs. Every hole can be a birdie for an experienced player and MANY Ace opportunities. UPDATE: They have put in concrete tee pads!
Cons: Need updated signs next to tee pads with correct distance to pins. Holes 12-17 can get congested as players need to back track through certain holes which can cause accidents with people being hit by discs.
Other Thoughts: EXCELLENT course for anyone who is just getting into the sport of disc golf. Also, every time I go to play recently there has been updates/additions to the course. Someone or a group of people are working hard on improving the course which is awesome to see. One of my personal favorite courses to work on short technical shots! Thanks Everyone!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

5+    11/13/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: Norm38
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has shots that are necessary to learn to be a well rounded golfer. There are holes to empty your bag and crank drives. There are also tight but short holes that get you establish your midrange and putter.
Cons: It needs better signage and teepad markings on holes 13-17. If you have a camera phone, snap a picture of the map on the sign of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of people walking along the trail that runs behind hole 12 (bridge), 14, and parallel with 15.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners!

5+    6/1/2014   10/9/2010
Review By: Majik0327
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2014
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has been the course where i've introduced a lot of people to the sport! It's shorter than most of the oers in the area, so it's nice to start out on or work on your short game.

It's also a great course for a little friendly competition, and (other than South Mountain in Bethlehem), levels off the playing field for both bigger arms and those who can't throw quite as far.

Overall excellent course wit a lot of varying shots.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Although I play most of it without even using a driver, it provides a great challenge and fun competition between friends who all throw very different distances.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Finally!!!

5+    8/11/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: edtrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 9 and 10 are back, but in different locations. I like.
Cons: I really don't have much bad to say other than not all tees are concrete, but that never really bothers me. Could use more seating and trash receptacles. Oh, and by the way, it's really disturbing to see all the trash people throw around tee boxes and around the courses in the lehigh valley...come on people we have such a plush park system here, let's keep it clean!!!!
Other Thoughts: I/m tired of playing rounds at Parkway, Jordan, Wehr's and every other course in the valley and picking up everyones empty beer, soda and water containers and carrying them to the next trash can!!!!! We are lucky to have such beautiful resources here!!!! Smarten up people!!! People cry about the oil spill, then toss a plastic bottle in the woods!!! Be responsible for our children's future, don't litter...not even a cig. butt, I don't. Oh, by the way, I aced the 8th here on Wed. the 11th. Thought I was in the trees again, but it dropped at the last second, went right in the alley, then glided right in dead center....my first ace!!!! Erick luckily was my witness. Not bad for only playing for 4 months. I average 1 under here...best is 4 under. Eddie M.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but interesting.

5+    2/5/2012   6/21/2010
Review By: Theli420
Played: 66  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -> Many potential ace runs as the course is shorter. Most holes, if not all, are under 300 feet. There is one hole (#12) where you can potentially overthrow your putter as you toss on top of a cliff, steeply downhill.

-> Course itself is maintained nicely, clear lanes and paths to throw in with not much brush.

-> Mix of holes. There are a few open holes (#s 1, 2, 8, 9) as well as your wooded holes that weave a little left to right, and right to left. There is even a blind, uphill heave over a giant boulder (#6).

-> Ego booster. Due to the shortness of the course, there is strong potential for a round under par, with many birdie looks, and ace runs.

-> Almost all holes have tee signs now. However, see the cons below on their current condition.

-> Great place to work on your short game. There are few tight, technical holes in the woods.
Cons: -> Navigation - Course can get tricky to navigate once in the woods. You are looking for pieces of wood, some of which are marked with a post next to it, some not marked at all. And, while most of the tees have signs now, some of them have either been vandalized beyond recognition, or mother nature destroyed them. Once you go through the course once and write down the little nuances of it all, it will become easy.

-> Danger Level - Some holes go in one direction in the woods, then come right back in the other. The fairways are bunched tightly together. It could get dangerous if crowded.

-> Very short - The con to the ace runs is the fact that you can not just let one rip, really. There are only 2 or 3 holes that are in the 300+ feet range.

-> Holes in woods a little boring - They are very repetitive. Either a small right to left dogleg or left to right. There are at least 4 or 5 holes that i can think of that do that.

Other Thoughts: Located off the beaten path, this course would have potential for more, if allowed more land usage. With the land they had for this (which I'm sure is out of their control, as I read somewhere that this was an Eagle Scout or Boy Scout project), I feel they did a half decent job. I keep coming back due to the uniqueness of a few holes on this course, the closeness to me, and that its an easy round after playing 3 rounds in 2 days at Lehigh Parkway, Jordan, and South Mountain. But, this is not a course that has cracked my regular rotation (Jordan, South Mountain, Lehigh Parkway) as it is just not in the same league as those three in terms of distance and wow factor.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 you guys under rate this course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i love this course. it gets a bad rap for the crappy tees and signage, but its still lots of fun. it is tight woods. short technical holes that are very fun. mix of obstacles and water and open spaces and elevation.
Cons: hole 17 is nearly non existent. i cant find it. but i love the rest. some benches would be nice. and a few holes need o be revamped pads and signs. but who cares if the course is interesting and fun?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is pretty standard first hole, open space, and one tree in the way. just fine to warm up on, and if you have a good right hand BH nice to try for an ace. thats my new goal

#2 farther and on a slight hill in the woods. this hole is a little harder because there seems to always be wind blowing from your right that messes you up. but still not much more than a warm up.

#3it gets a lil tricky here cuz the basket is on a very steep hill. this one annoys me because you need to take a hard last min turn to the right at only 170 ft. the fact that its close makes it harder

#4 pretty straight-foreward. through some trees and your there this is a good one to try for a birdie.

#5 The trees are denser here. and the hole is further. a careful FA will do the trick, if your right handed. but this one gives me a lil trouble. the right side is a steep hill with a lot of brush to get stuck in and the hole is raised up and extra 2 1/2 feet on a rock platform.

#6 This one is unique fun and tricky. the hole is a short distance up a very steep hill on the right behind big ass boulders. this is a rare treat of a hole.

#7 i like this one alot. you are in a field throwing down a gradual slope. the basket is on the left in the woods just over the crest. the hardest thing bout this one is getting over the crest without over throwing on the drive once it drops off past the tee. Me gusta

#8 i like this one alot too. throwing from one small hill over a dip where theres a road and the basket is on another hill. in a relatively narrow opening for a drive watch for rollers.

#9 another great one. throwing from 30 or so feet up off a bit if a cliff, the basket is behind an island of trees on the left. fun fun.

#10 throwing out of woods into a clearing, your drive is blocked by 3 or so trees 100 to 175 feet ahead. it looks like one of them was added after the fact, in exactly the spot where you want to throw. a good RH FA that breaks into an S and you can have a birdie here. just dont get cocky and miss an easy 15 foot putt like I did here.

#11 Pretty standard, 1 tree in front of the basket so you have to go around. but your on a hill so if you slip up, your rolling .

#12 this one bugs me. but its interesting. you throw down a steep cliff at a basket that is only 120 feet away. even with a putter im overthrowing or banking too far to be close enough for a putt. theres a water trap behind it to make a bigger pain. i dont like it but ehh thats just me.

#13 - #17 are pretty standard short technical wooded holes, the elevation is gone. so your just trying to avoid the trees. i like these holes but there is not alot to say about them. the tee for 17 is gone so you just throw from somewhere near where you end 16.

#18 finally back on a concrete pad. you are in a field with the woods on your left. the hole is in the woods at 250 feet. a good RH BH puts you right on it. easy birdie.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.