Orefield, PA 
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 you guys under rate this course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i love this course. it gets a bad rap for the crappy tees and signage, but its still lots of fun. it is tight woods. short technical holes that are very fun. mix of obstacles and water and open spaces and elevation.
Cons: hole 17 is nearly non existent. i cant find it. but i love the rest. some benches would be nice. and a few holes need o be revamped pads and signs. but who cares if the course is interesting and fun?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is pretty standard first hole, open space, and one tree in the way. just fine to warm up on, and if you have a good right hand BH nice to try for an ace. thats my new goal

#2 farther and on a slight hill in the woods. this hole is a little harder because there seems to always be wind blowing from your right that messes you up. but still not much more than a warm up.

#3it gets a lil tricky here cuz the basket is on a very steep hill. this one annoys me because you need to take a hard last min turn to the right at only 170 ft. the fact that its close makes it harder

#4 pretty straight-foreward. through some trees and your there this is a good one to try for a birdie.

#5 The trees are denser here. and the hole is further. a careful FA will do the trick, if your right handed. but this one gives me a lil trouble. the right side is a steep hill with a lot of brush to get stuck in and the hole is raised up and extra 2 1/2 feet on a rock platform.

#6 This one is unique fun and tricky. the hole is a short distance up a very steep hill on the right behind big ass boulders. this is a rare treat of a hole.

#7 i like this one alot. you are in a field throwing down a gradual slope. the basket is on the left in the woods just over the crest. the hardest thing bout this one is getting over the crest without over throwing on the drive once it drops off past the tee. Me gusta

#8 i like this one alot too. throwing from one small hill over a dip where theres a road and the basket is on another hill. in a relatively narrow opening for a drive watch for rollers.

#9 another great one. throwing from 30 or so feet up off a bit if a cliff, the basket is behind an island of trees on the left. fun fun.

#10 throwing out of woods into a clearing, your drive is blocked by 3 or so trees 100 to 175 feet ahead. it looks like one of them was added after the fact, in exactly the spot where you want to throw. a good RH FA that breaks into an S and you can have a birdie here. just dont get cocky and miss an easy 15 foot putt like I did here.

#11 Pretty standard, 1 tree in front of the basket so you have to go around. but your on a hill so if you slip up, your rolling .

#12 this one bugs me. but its interesting. you throw down a steep cliff at a basket that is only 120 feet away. even with a putter im overthrowing or banking too far to be close enough for a putt. theres a water trap behind it to make a bigger pain. i dont like it but ehh thats just me.

#13 - #17 are pretty standard short technical wooded holes, the elevation is gone. so your just trying to avoid the trees. i like these holes but there is not alot to say about them. the tee for 17 is gone so you just throw from somewhere near where you end 16.

#18 finally back on a concrete pad. you are in a field with the woods on your left. the hole is in the woods at 250 feet. a good RH BH puts you right on it. easy birdie.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course not for Beginners

1    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The covered bridges make a nice scenic backdrop for a disc golf course, as does Jordan Creek in the background (the actual body of water, not the fantastic disc golf course of the same name 5 miles down stream). The baskets were in very good condition as were the (few) concrete tee pads.

Overall, there is a little variety to the holes and elevation changes. Some holes are ace worthy while others require a more well-thought approach and a thoroughly refined skill set. There were a few holes that were very unique and posed solid challenge. So much so that a more seasoned player would be scratching their head regarding how to approach.
Cons: Course navigation is an absolute nightmare. There is a map by the first tee box and that's it. At the time of this review, no known published map was available, creating frustration. Further, tee boxes are marked occasionally with an actual tee sign, a 4x4, or nothing at all. This made it difficult to figure out where the next tee was, which basket to throw toward, or if you were even pointing in the right direction. Actually getting from tee to basket to the next tee is difficult due to unmarked, unmaintained, or non-existent paths. The baskets on their own are in good shape, but are poorly labeled, making it difficult to know which basket is which. Some attempt had been made to spray paint the baskets, but without indicating what the paint actually meant, it appeared to be more vandalism than useful.

The flow of the course is also a mess. Instead of a natural flow from hole to hole, this course has a zig-zag of bounces up and down steep and muddy hills and cris-crosses other fairways. Baskets for certain holes are directly in the drive path for other holes. This included a few spots where the tee box is so close to another basket that, given enough people on the course, it could get dangerous.

Other than the 4 or so concrete tee boxes, the tees were a rough, muddy mess. Not a hint of mulch or gravel to be seen. The tees for 16 and 17 can be very easily confused and you could start your drive for 16 from the wrong tee box.

While elevation change is nice for the sake of variety, some of the basket positions at Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges are situated in unreasonable spots and create approach and putting situations that are unnecessarily punishing.
Other Thoughts: I get the impression that this course was designed as a family course for beginners, but it appears that somewhere things went awry. There are some very technically challenging aspects to this course that would be a turn off for a noob and might prompt a "WTF?" from an experienced player.

For me to ever consider playing this course again over either of the other two world-class courses in the Lehigh Valley (Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh Parkway), I would recommend converting this course to nine holes to accommodate longer drives and a higher par. In so doing, some of the strange basket placements could be corrected. Further, it would be easier to maintain nine tee boxes, signs, etc. than the 18 that are currently lack-luster.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Could be sooo much better

1    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: riggsy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent ace and birdie attemps due short distances. Good challenges with a variety of different shots.
Cons: The worst signage of any course I've played so far. It is very difficult to navigate your way around the course because the baskets aren't marked and there are so many close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: The first few holes had concrete tee boxes and were marked with proper signage. Some local guys stated they just did them so maybe someone is going to put the effort into the course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: GrOoViN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots at times & bonus holes (go with someone who plays frequently)
Cons: Nothing beyond the first 5 or so is marked all that well.
Other Thoughts: Take something with you to mark the holes as you play to help yourself or others the next time through. ALOT OF POTENTIAL! Also a quick pic of the map at the beginning with your goes a long way once you get into the wooded areas.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my most played courses

5+    6/22/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Covered Bridge is a hidden gem in South Whitehall Township. While certainly not as challenging as other courses in the area, it is still a great course. Hole #9 and #10 were just changed and now play a little easier. There are always people playing at Covered Bridge, and for good reason. It is a great course for someone to learn the sport. It is great for new players as the course's layout will allow even a first time player to make a couple good shots during their round. It is a great confidence booster and is one of my favorite places to play at.
Cons: Sometimes a little buggy. Hole 17 is hard to find if you have not played there before.
Other Thoughts: If you want a nice course to play disc golf at, here is the place to go. It's a little woodsy, so remember to bring your bug spray, but on a hot day it is very cool in the shade.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    3/24/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 38.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2016
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in a nice big park, off the beaten path. Multiple ace run opportunities on this shortish course. A few holes have nice elevation challenges, either up or down hill. A lot of wooded holes, so there is plenty of shade for hot sunny summer days. A lot of open unused space in the park for field practice.
Cons: It is very hard to navigate without a map. The first tee offers the overall course layout, but if you don't write it down, it's gets kind of confusing around holes 6, 7 and 8. Hole 7 tee is confusing, you can see three baskets, wasn't sure which one to throw too.

Since there is a lot of trees on the course, it takes a while to dry out, so it can be muddy in spots, not fun trying to walk without slipping on the side of a hill.

Hole 3 is too close to the baseball field, an errant throw could come dangerously close to hitting someone if the field is in use. Some long walks between holes near the end.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't too impressed with this course, particularly comparing it with the other nice 18 hole courses in the area. It felt like the course was given a slivery of land in the worse part of the park and had to make do with what they had. Holes seemed to be squeezed in just to get 18. There was a little stream on the back nine, that could have been better utilized. Some next tee signs couldn't hurt.

There is a cool covered bridge that you drive over on your way into the park.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Strange Course

2-4    10/16/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite the oddness of this course I have to admit I kind of like some of the holes. All the holes are very short. But a few of them force everyone to attempt a strange shot. Kind of like shooting darts, #8 across a recycling area to a guarded basket on a steep hillside. #9Throwing a big Hyzer off a cliff to a basket snugly behind a treeline. #6 You are forced to throw a tomahawk or a thumber up a steep ravine over a big boulder. #12 a forced drop off a cliff straight down. None are particularly challenging but I have to admit it is fun to have everyone in the group have to attempt these silly unique shots. Its kind of like a really good executive golf course maybe, all the holes are simple but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Boringly Short, some of the holes are just short and really kind of dumb. At times I was considering just going safari or creating my own tee off area to spice up some of the super short/super dull holes....pavillion and ballfield hazzard risk possible harm...Hard to find first tee....I'm sure depending on season there are more people in park. The creek is more of a river and could take some discs downstream to a much better course...Jordan Creek-haha
Other Thoughts: Due to the fact I could not find the first tee I wandered around the park a bit. I was thinking as I always do. Wow that would be a cool fairway and then look at that hill, what a cool river and that weird formation over there. I guess I don t know what the course designers were limited too. I am sure they maybe had the same thoughts but were shot down by the township. Just seems a bit more could be done with some permission from the Park and some love from someone who has some vision. But overall I had fun there. Don't go out of your way to play here but if youre in the Lehigh Valley and want to introduce a youngster or a girlfriend/wife or your looking to score a hole in one come on out and have a blast.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great warm up for the day

1    11/11/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 197  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 23.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was better than I had expected. It is a small course with many 150 - 250 foot shots. For what they had to work with, they designed a nice beginner course. You really only need 1 or 2 discs to play this course as most holes are reachable with a putter. It is a nice little park with a creek and some cool rocks. For being so short, they made some cool holes with the hills and trees. It is very wooded, and requires accurate shots. I shot a -7 with no 4's. This is definitely worth playing if you are in the area. It is not the best course in the area, but it is THE BEST course in the area if you are with people who do not play disc golf often or at all. This course will be fun for new timers, and won't frustrate the new playes with booming holes.
Cons: Needs better signs, but you can definitely navigate your way around the course with no problems. 1 or 2 holes are kind of dangerous with tees/ fairways being placed too close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because it is only 5 minutes from my friends house. We had a good time playing, and I really liked the way the course tested my short game. IF you like shorter courses, this is the one to play while in the area. All-in-all, it was worth the hour it took me to play the course, and I would play it again if in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps on improving!

5+    9/3/2011   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with baskets in excellent shape. All tees either fully concrete or with concrete blocks, which are in fair to great shape. Mixture of some open holes and tighter wooden ones. A little elevation and some rolling greens add to the challenge. Wooden holes have tight fairways but nothing pinballesque. Almost every hole under 300 but holes 2 and 9 get up to 350-400 feet.
Cons: Rain will make wooden holes tougher and slippery, especially 3; and the pathway from 8 to 9 and 10 to 11 will be a lot tougher and muddy. Some wooden holes seem a little repetitive. Sadly, some of the signs here have been vandalized. A little work and money to replace these would improve the course.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course years ago when it was a little boy scout project that would certainly never amount to anything. Then, the locals have taken over and have really hit a grand slam, and a few small improvements will put this course up there with some of the other ones the Lehigh Valley has to offer.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.