Orefield, PA
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #13 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 145ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Enjoyable.

2-4    10/26/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun! Rec and infrequent players will enjoy themselves on this mostly short course. Many of the holes are potential birdies, but there is enough of a challenge not to take them for granted. A mix of open and closed holes.
Cons: Needs a little attention from a navigation and info standpoint. Footing was slippery in some spots. No nearby bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Near an area that has some tough to very tough courses, this place is a change of pace that was a blast to play. You have to avoid alot of trees to cash in, but the lines are there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Over the Road and Through the Woods

2-4    11/12/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Philsey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners (like me). Many of the holes are shorter and can be reached by those without a cannon for an arm. A mix of open grass and wooded holes. All tees are concrete; either a poured pad or large pavers.
Cons: Many of the tee signs have been damaged and are unreadable. Course layout is confusing the first time or two because of this. (I've created an aerial photo map/scorecard. I'll upload it once I've reduced the resolution a bit to meet the 2MB requirement.)
Other Thoughts: Some trails from hole-to-hole cross over fairways or come very close. Pay attention, be courteous and have patience on busy days. Newbies like me appreciate the patience part!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Executive Course

1    5/31/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting mix of holes with a good use of the natural obstacles and available land. Course has good flow and nice scenery for the most part. This is a great course if you are looking to play a quick 18. You wont find many holes where you risk losing discs as the course is well maintained.
Cons: i doubt most serious players would find this course challenging, it is designed for the novice player. The directional signage is in poor repair and not accurate, but the course is so short it often is not needed. We just happened to play this as a stop off on a road trip which was great as you only need 2 hours max to play it. The starting point is not in the main park which made it a little difficult to find at first, trust your GPS there is a seperate parking lot for the beginning of this course.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again in a heartbeat, the greater allentown area has a number of nice courses and this would be a great warm up course to play in the morning prior to taking on my favorite course in this area Nocamixon which is a beast! This course has potential though and could easily be adjusted by moving the tee boxes back on some holes to offer more length; especially on some of the open holes. As a young child I grew up fishing the creek that winds through this park so it is great to see 25+ years later that they added my favorite sport to this childhood memory.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quality short play

1    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 25  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts open and then transitions into the woods. Nice mix over the first 12 holes. Hole 6 is very unique, with its location uphill behind a huge bolder right off the tee. Hole 12 is also enjoyable with a large downhill elevation change to a short tee with the creek behind. The tee pads are concrete (either slab or large pavers), which appears to be a recent update compared to previous reviews. The baskets were in nice shape and the overall park is very clean and well maintained, sans a few pieces of glass. I played this entire course with my 5 year old son in tow, and we both had a good time. The rough isn't too rough, so chasing an errant disc shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: Tee signs. They start off fine, but as you move along, most of them have been vandalized beyond recognition. Luckily, most of the holes are short, but some of the baskets are still hard to locate the first time out. I found myself pulling out the smart phone to reference the DGCR website to get an idea of pin distance. It's unfortunate this stuff happens because it really took away from my overall ability to enjoy the course. The baskets would also benefit from being labeled with numbers, since some are so close together, it's unclear which one to aim at initially

Holes 13 through 17 are very similar and are located in close proximity, so there is potential to walk through someone else's shot on a different hole if not careful. 17 in particular really seems to have been shoehorned in. The same goes for holes 9/10 which play parallel to one another in close proximity. I had to wait off to the side on 9 after my tee shot to ensure I didn't get plunked by another group playing hole 10.

There is also a lot of poison ivy here, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course for a quick run through 18 holes. Some of the issues I mention will only impact a first time golfer. The holes are all short, which made par possible even with an errant tee shot. Success on this course should be measured in birdies, where other courses in the area I feel great accomplishment in getting par. This was the first time since playing the sport I felt an entire round under par was possible. There are some nice ace run opportunities here for people who don't have big arms. Not easy runs, mind you, just potentials based on distance. Really experienced players may not enjoy the course (go to Jordan Creek instead). Take the online map, I found it useful. I only live 30 mins away, so I will be back in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good for the ego

5+    8/27/2013   10/20/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Left to right, right to left, uphill, downhill, open, narrow……you will get to play alot of shots.

The baskets placements add character and challenge to a lot of the holes.

Good tees, most have diagrams.

The overall layout makes nice use of the available space. They put together a course that just about all levels of skill can play, yet most everyone should enjoy.

Cons: Could use updated tee signs in spots, and maybe a few arrows to point you around.

Other Thoughts: They did a good job laying out this track. There are some challenging basket placements and narrow alleys with demanding approaches and the shortest of the holes have the baskets placed as not to make things too easy. Still, there are bunches of birdie out there.

Number 12 is a very short hole, but if you go for it and miss just a bit long, you are in the drink. Nice example of risk/reward.


If your accuracy is off and you are missing fairways, birdie...and sometimes par quickly vanishes. Once you start banging trees, you may wish you were on a simpler "grip it and rip it" course. However, even the narrower alleys are fair.





1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

5+    7/23/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads, nice mix of left and right and up and down. Aced hole 1 that was completely awesome. Back 9 is shaded and can be pretty technical and crowded
Cons: Average amount of people usually see a few groups when I play. Some move faster then others and can make some traffic to play through.
Other Thoughts: Wish I can make my discs go left a few holes would benefit grately from it. But I usually average +5 on this couse

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice and Short

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Booray73
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a nice course for starters. I took out a first timer and he had a blast. Fun for a bunch of birdie chances.
Cons: We had kids along for the first few wide open holes which was nice but after that there was a lot of broken glass on the ground.
Other Thoughts: You really could play this with just a putter and a mid range. You only need your driver for a couple of shots. There are 18 holes now, they just finished putting in a couple.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

5+    6/30/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Field shots, tight wooded shots, elevation change on a few holes, baskets are well positioned, most holes 300ft or less. Awesome short technical game with a few strong arm tee offs. Every hole can be a birdie for an experienced player and MANY Ace opportunities. UPDATE: They have put in concrete tee pads!
Cons: Need updated signs next to tee pads with correct distance to pins. Holes 12-17 can get congested as players need to back track through certain holes which can cause accidents with people being hit by discs.
Other Thoughts: EXCELLENT course for anyone who is just getting into the sport of disc golf. Also, every time I go to play recently there has been updates/additions to the course. Someone or a group of people are working hard on improving the course which is awesome to see. One of my personal favorite courses to work on short technical shots! Thanks Everyone!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

5+    11/13/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: Norm38
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has shots that are necessary to learn to be a well rounded golfer. There are holes to empty your bag and crank drives. There are also tight but short holes that get you establish your midrange and putter.
Cons: It needs better signage and teepad markings on holes 13-17. If you have a camera phone, snap a picture of the map on the sign of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of people walking along the trail that runs behind hole 12 (bridge), 14, and parallel with 15.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Holes 9 & 10 removed

5+    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: Majik0327
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course; I've played it several times in the last year or so. Well laid out, great variation of holes. Holes 1-8 have nice, concrete tees and have signs. These weren't all there at the beginning of this year, so I believe it is a work currently in progress.
Cons: Only tees 1-8 (and previously 10) have concrete tees.

Note: THIS IS CURRENTLY ONLY A 16-HOLE COURSE (See below for details)
Other Thoughts: This course is currently only a 16-hole course (as of very recently), and here's why (and how I know):

Yesterday, while playing this course, a woman and her children were walking their dog and, seeing us lookign around for the pin (we went to see if they had moved it to a third location, since it wasn't in ether of the standard locations), kindly informed us that the pin had been removed. Curious, we asked her why. Her answer was quite understandable (and agreeable):
Many (male) disc golfers would turn away from the course near the tee of hole 10 and relieve themselves, not realizing that they were both doing so in her yard and facing directly toward her kitchen window. In addition to this, she was not comfortable with the excessive use of foul language (particularly strings of f-bombs).
For these reasons, she asked the township (several times) to put up a fence to separate the course/park from her yard, but they decided to remove the holes instead.

I don't know what the plans are for the future, but jsut wanted to inform everyone that there currently are no pins for holes 9 or 10.

To get from the pin for 8 to the tee for 11, walk up the hill behind the basket and turn right at the top of the hill. You'll pass the tee for 9, and shortly thereafter find the tee for 11, with a log to sit on located at the tee.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.