Orefield, PA 
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #11 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Shots you normally wont take

1    7/3/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 47  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun! There were so many shots that I have never taken before, which makes you think "how do I do this and what disc should I use". I really enjoyed 6 you could either go over, left or right around a huge bolder. As well as 12 its just down hill and if throw it over you will go into a riven.
Cons: I really did not like 16, directrly left of the fairway is a hidden river with a very small chance of getting your disc back. And if I was not with a person that had played this course before, who warned me about the water. I would have never known it dropped off that fast and it was that close! It is really hidden so watch out!
Other Thoughts: This course was a high risk / high reward kind of course which I really enjoy. There were a bunch of throws where you could go for it all which is risky or go safe. Overall this was a great course that takes a couple times through to fully understand what the best shot is for each hole! I cant wait to go back again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    7/16/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: Crooow
Played: 180  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 28.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Excellent tee signs (see photos). Baskets catch very well. A couple of unique holes (6, 12). Nice park. Navigation mostly easy. Good drainage - played the day after it rained and the course had little water on it. Nice mix of holes. Single basket but multiple pin positions so it can play a little differently each time. Has a practice basket. Can get some birdies to help your confidence; a local told us that one guy has aced #12 six times (not that surprising).
Cons: All holes are short (see hole info here). Some of the fairways play close to each other (more of a problem for inexperienced players but this type of course is appropriate for them). Some of the baskets are hard to see from the tee even though they are in the open. Non-obvious long walk from 17 to 18. A few of the wooded holes do not have any clear lines - some people might consider that a 'Pro'.
Other Thoughts: Use the aerial map from this site (the first map provided is worthless). My favorite hole is #6 where the basket is at the top of a hill behind a boulder; it's a blind heave but I liked it. Hole 12 is a very short downhill hole - classic risk/reward. I liked a few of the others as well (3, 10, 15). It definitely has a fun factor. It will not challenge the experienced player but if you go i knowing that, you can still have a good time. Played with a local which made navigation easy. They are moving the tee (and perhaps the basket on 16) because of a bike path.
Tee signs must have imp[roved after many of the reviews here. Next enhancement I would do is to make the baskets more visible (color, flags, something). "Birdie Alley" could get old - too many short holes in a row.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short Stack

2-4    7/30/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Nice variety of holes as some are in the open and some are in the woods.
Cons: Needs new signs as it could be hard to figure out where to go your first time here. It is a little short overall with only a few longer holes. Seems like a birdie on most of the holes here is like getting a par most other places.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing here. Was lucky enough to be following a group ahead of me the first time I was here so i was able to get around easily.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

easy and fun

5+    7/12/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: cmjar
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: some of the things about this course is there is a lot of variety from throwing over a rock to throwing off a cliff. another one of my favorites is the ability to launch your disc and my last one is they have some tight shots. covered bridges is a good warm up type place if you want to play Jordan or other hard courses in the area. my last reason is sixteen has a new tee because the old one kept getting flooded so now it is directly behind seventeen's tee.
Cons: I have two problems with this course. my first complaint the holes are not spaced out good enough so there is a chance of getting hit. my second complaint is people don't have the right etiquette meaning too many people in a group and they don't let you play through.
Other Thoughts: my other thoughts are the course needs to have directions telling you where to go I played it enough to know now but my first time it was a little difficult navigating.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Quick Course

5+    5/20/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Smf5125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short fun course that allows for low scores for intermediate players and great course to practice your finesse shots.

Every hole allows for a birdie with a decent drive.

A nice change of pace from many of the other courses around the area.

Not much traffic after the first two holes (and that is only if a youth baseball game is being played)
Cons: This course is not extremely challenging to players who may play regularly.

The back nine can get confusing with the layout of the holes and, if there is a group in front of you, sometime you are waiting as to not throw into them.
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite second course of the day. If I have played another course earlier and didn't think I had enough energy to play either a Jordan Park course or similar, I will go to this course with a friend and be done with a full 18 in little more than an hour.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/26/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun! Rec and infrequent players will enjoy themselves on this mostly short course. Many of the holes are potential birdies, but there is enough of a challenge not to take them for granted. A mix of open and closed holes.
Cons: Needs a little attention from a navigation and info standpoint. Footing was slippery in some spots. No nearby bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Near an area that has some tough to very tough courses, this place is a change of pace that was a blast to play. You have to avoid alot of trees to cash in, but the lines are there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Over the Road and Through the Woods

2-4    11/12/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Philsey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners (like me). Many of the holes are shorter and can be reached by those without a cannon for an arm. A mix of open grass and wooded holes. All tees are concrete; either a poured pad or large pavers.
Cons: Many of the tee signs have been damaged and are unreadable. Course layout is confusing the first time or two because of this. (I've created an aerial photo map/scorecard. I'll upload it once I've reduced the resolution a bit to meet the 2MB requirement.)
Other Thoughts: Some trails from hole-to-hole cross over fairways or come very close. Pay attention, be courteous and have patience on busy days. Newbies like me appreciate the patience part!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Executive Course

1    5/31/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting mix of holes with a good use of the natural obstacles and available land. Course has good flow and nice scenery for the most part. This is a great course if you are looking to play a quick 18. You wont find many holes where you risk losing discs as the course is well maintained.
Cons: i doubt most serious players would find this course challenging, it is designed for the novice player. The directional signage is in poor repair and not accurate, but the course is so short it often is not needed. We just happened to play this as a stop off on a road trip which was great as you only need 2 hours max to play it. The starting point is not in the main park which made it a little difficult to find at first, trust your GPS there is a seperate parking lot for the beginning of this course.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again in a heartbeat, the greater allentown area has a number of nice courses and this would be a great warm up course to play in the morning prior to taking on my favorite course in this area Nocamixon which is a beast! This course has potential though and could easily be adjusted by moving the tee boxes back on some holes to offer more length; especially on some of the open holes. As a young child I grew up fishing the creek that winds through this park so it is great to see 25+ years later that they added my favorite sport to this childhood memory.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quality short play

1    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts open and then transitions into the woods. Nice mix over the first 12 holes. Hole 6 is very unique, with its location uphill behind a huge bolder right off the tee. Hole 12 is also enjoyable with a large downhill elevation change to a short tee with the creek behind. The tee pads are concrete (either slab or large pavers), which appears to be a recent update compared to previous reviews. The baskets were in nice shape and the overall park is very clean and well maintained, sans a few pieces of glass. I played this entire course with my 5 year old son in tow, and we both had a good time. The rough isn't too rough, so chasing an errant disc shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: Tee signs. They start off fine, but as you move along, most of them have been vandalized beyond recognition. Luckily, most of the holes are short, but some of the baskets are still hard to locate the first time out. I found myself pulling out the smart phone to reference the DGCR website to get an idea of pin distance. It's unfortunate this stuff happens because it really took away from my overall ability to enjoy the course. The baskets would also benefit from being labeled with numbers, since some are so close together, it's unclear which one to aim at initially

Holes 13 through 17 are very similar and are located in close proximity, so there is potential to walk through someone else's shot on a different hole if not careful. 17 in particular really seems to have been shoehorned in. The same goes for holes 9/10 which play parallel to one another in close proximity. I had to wait off to the side on 9 after my tee shot to ensure I didn't get plunked by another group playing hole 10.

There is also a lot of poison ivy here, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course for a quick run through 18 holes. Some of the issues I mention will only impact a first time golfer. The holes are all short, which made par possible even with an errant tee shot. Success on this course should be measured in birdies, where other courses in the area I feel great accomplishment in getting par. This was the first time since playing the sport I felt an entire round under par was possible. There are some nice ace run opportunities here for people who don't have big arms. Not easy runs, mind you, just potentials based on distance. Really experienced players may not enjoy the course (go to Jordan Creek instead). Take the online map, I found it useful. I only live 30 mins away, so I will be back in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good for the ego

5+    8/27/2013   10/20/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Left to right, right to left, uphill, downhill, open, narrow......you will get to play alot of shots.

The baskets placements add character and challenge to a lot of the holes.

Good tees, most have diagrams.

The overall layout makes nice use of the available space. They put together a course that just about all levels of skill can play, yet most everyone should enjoy.

Cons: Could use updated tee signs in spots, and maybe a few arrows to point you around.

Other Thoughts: They did a good job laying out this track. There are some challenging basket placements and narrow alleys with demanding approaches and the shortest of the holes have the baskets placed as not to make things too easy. Still, there are bunches of birdie out there.

Number 12 is a very short hole, but if you go for it and miss just a bit long, you are in the drink. Nice example of risk/reward.

If your accuracy is off and you are missing fairways, birdie...and sometimes par quickly vanishes. Once you start banging trees, you may wish you were on a simpler "grip it and rip it" course. However, even the narrower alleys are fair.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.