Orefield, PA 
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole # 6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great beginner course

5+    11/13/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: Norm38
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has shots that are necessary to learn to be a well rounded golfer. There are holes to empty your bag and crank drives. There are also tight but short holes that get you establish your midrange and putter.
Cons: It needs better signage and teepad markings on holes 13-17. If you have a camera phone, snap a picture of the map on the sign of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of people walking along the trail that runs behind hole 12 (bridge), 14, and parallel with 15.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners!

5+    6/1/2014   10/9/2010
Review By: Majik0327
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2014
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has been the course where i've introduced a lot of people to the sport! It's shorter than most of the oers in the area, so it's nice to start out on or work on your short game.

It's also a great course for a little friendly competition, and (other than South Mountain in Bethlehem), levels off the playing field for both bigger arms and those who can't throw quite as far.

Overall excellent course wit a lot of varying shots.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Although I play most of it without even using a driver, it provides a great challenge and fun competition between friends who all throw very different distances.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Finally!!!

5+    8/11/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: edtrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 9 and 10 are back, but in different locations. I like.
Cons: I really don't have much bad to say other than not all tees are concrete, but that never really bothers me. Could use more seating and trash receptacles. Oh, and by the way, it's really disturbing to see all the trash people throw around tee boxes and around the courses in the lehigh valley...come on people we have such a plush park system here, let's keep it clean!!!!
Other Thoughts: I/m tired of playing rounds at Parkway, Jordan, Wehr's and every other course in the valley and picking up everyones empty beer, soda and water containers and carrying them to the next trash can!!!!! We are lucky to have such beautiful resources here!!!! Smarten up people!!! People cry about the oil spill, then toss a plastic bottle in the woods!!! Be responsible for our children's future, don't litter...not even a cig. butt, I don't. Oh, by the way, I aced the 8th here on Wed. the 11th. Thought I was in the trees again, but it dropped at the last second, went right in the alley, then glided right in dead center....my first ace!!!! Erick luckily was my witness. Not bad for only playing for 4 months. I average 1 under here...best is 4 under. Eddie M.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but interesting.

5+    2/5/2012   6/21/2010
Review By: Theli420
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -> Many potential ace runs as the course is shorter. Most holes, if not all, are under 300 feet. There is one hole (#12) where you can potentially overthrow your putter as you toss on top of a cliff, steeply downhill.

-> Course itself is maintained nicely, clear lanes and paths to throw in with not much brush.

-> Mix of holes. There are a few open holes (#s 1, 2, 8, 9) as well as your wooded holes that weave a little left to right, and right to left. There is even a blind, uphill heave over a giant boulder (#6).

-> Ego booster. Due to the shortness of the course, there is strong potential for a round under par, with many birdie looks, and ace runs.

-> Almost all holes have tee signs now. However, see the cons below on their current condition.

-> Great place to work on your short game. There are few tight, technical holes in the woods.
Cons: -> Navigation - Course can get tricky to navigate once in the woods. You are looking for pieces of wood, some of which are marked with a post next to it, some not marked at all. And, while most of the tees have signs now, some of them have either been vandalized beyond recognition, or mother nature destroyed them. Once you go through the course once and write down the little nuances of it all, it will become easy.

-> Danger Level - Some holes go in one direction in the woods, then come right back in the other. The fairways are bunched tightly together. It could get dangerous if crowded.

-> Very short - The con to the ace runs is the fact that you can not just let one rip, really. There are only 2 or 3 holes that are in the 300+ feet range.

-> Holes in woods a little boring - They are very repetitive. Either a small right to left dogleg or left to right. There are at least 4 or 5 holes that i can think of that do that.

Other Thoughts: Located off the beaten path, this course would have potential for more, if allowed more land usage. With the land they had for this (which I'm sure is out of their control, as I read somewhere that this was an Eagle Scout or Boy Scout project), I feel they did a half decent job. I keep coming back due to the uniqueness of a few holes on this course, the closeness to me, and that its an easy round after playing 3 rounds in 2 days at Lehigh Parkway, Jordan, and South Mountain. But, this is not a course that has cracked my regular rotation (Jordan, South Mountain, Lehigh Parkway) as it is just not in the same league as those three in terms of distance and wow factor.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 you guys under rate this course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i love this course. it gets a bad rap for the crappy tees and signage, but its still lots of fun. it is tight woods. short technical holes that are very fun. mix of obstacles and water and open spaces and elevation.
Cons: hole 17 is nearly non existent. i cant find it. but i love the rest. some benches would be nice. and a few holes need o be revamped pads and signs. but who cares if the course is interesting and fun?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is pretty standard first hole, open space, and one tree in the way. just fine to warm up on, and if you have a good right hand BH nice to try for an ace. thats my new goal

#2 farther and on a slight hill in the woods. this hole is a little harder because there seems to always be wind blowing from your right that messes you up. but still not much more than a warm up.

#3it gets a lil tricky here cuz the basket is on a very steep hill. this one annoys me because you need to take a hard last min turn to the right at only 170 ft. the fact that its close makes it harder

#4 pretty straight-foreward. through some trees and your there this is a good one to try for a birdie.

#5 The trees are denser here. and the hole is further. a careful FA will do the trick, if your right handed. but this one gives me a lil trouble. the right side is a steep hill with a lot of brush to get stuck in and the hole is raised up and extra 2 1/2 feet on a rock platform.

#6 This one is unique fun and tricky. the hole is a short distance up a very steep hill on the right behind big ass boulders. this is a rare treat of a hole.

#7 i like this one alot. you are in a field throwing down a gradual slope. the basket is on the left in the woods just over the crest. the hardest thing bout this one is getting over the crest without over throwing on the drive once it drops off past the tee. Me gusta

#8 i like this one alot too. throwing from one small hill over a dip where theres a road and the basket is on another hill. in a relatively narrow opening for a drive watch for rollers.

#9 another great one. throwing from 30 or so feet up off a bit if a cliff, the basket is behind an island of trees on the left. fun fun.

#10 throwing out of woods into a clearing, your drive is blocked by 3 or so trees 100 to 175 feet ahead. it looks like one of them was added after the fact, in exactly the spot where you want to throw. a good RH FA that breaks into an S and you can have a birdie here. just dont get cocky and miss an easy 15 foot putt like I did here.

#11 Pretty standard, 1 tree in front of the basket so you have to go around. but your on a hill so if you slip up, your rolling .

#12 this one bugs me. but its interesting. you throw down a steep cliff at a basket that is only 120 feet away. even with a putter im overthrowing or banking too far to be close enough for a putt. theres a water trap behind it to make a bigger pain. i dont like it but ehh thats just me.

#13 - #17 are pretty standard short technical wooded holes, the elevation is gone. so your just trying to avoid the trees. i like these holes but there is not alot to say about them. the tee for 17 is gone so you just throw from somewhere near where you end 16.

#18 finally back on a concrete pad. you are in a field with the woods on your left. the hole is in the woods at 250 feet. a good RH BH puts you right on it. easy birdie.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course not for Beginners

1    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The covered bridges make a nice scenic backdrop for a disc golf course, as does Jordan Creek in the background (the actual body of water, not the fantastic disc golf course of the same name 5 miles down stream). The baskets were in very good condition as were the (few) concrete tee pads.

Overall, there is a little variety to the holes and elevation changes. Some holes are ace worthy while others require a more well-thought approach and a thoroughly refined skill set. There were a few holes that were very unique and posed solid challenge. So much so that a more seasoned player would be scratching their head regarding how to approach.
Cons: Course navigation is an absolute nightmare. There is a map by the first tee box and that's it. At the time of this review, no known published map was available, creating frustration. Further, tee boxes are marked occasionally with an actual tee sign, a 4x4, or nothing at all. This made it difficult to figure out where the next tee was, which basket to throw toward, or if you were even pointing in the right direction. Actually getting from tee to basket to the next tee is difficult due to unmarked, unmaintained, or non-existent paths. The baskets on their own are in good shape, but are poorly labeled, making it difficult to know which basket is which. Some attempt had been made to spray paint the baskets, but without indicating what the paint actually meant, it appeared to be more vandalism than useful.

The flow of the course is also a mess. Instead of a natural flow from hole to hole, this course has a zig-zag of bounces up and down steep and muddy hills and cris-crosses other fairways. Baskets for certain holes are directly in the drive path for other holes. This included a few spots where the tee box is so close to another basket that, given enough people on the course, it could get dangerous.

Other than the 4 or so concrete tee boxes, the tees were a rough, muddy mess. Not a hint of mulch or gravel to be seen. The tees for 16 and 17 can be very easily confused and you could start your drive for 16 from the wrong tee box.

While elevation change is nice for the sake of variety, some of the basket positions at Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges are situated in unreasonable spots and create approach and putting situations that are unnecessarily punishing.
Other Thoughts: I get the impression that this course was designed as a family course for beginners, but it appears that somewhere things went awry. There are some very technically challenging aspects to this course that would be a turn off for a noob and might prompt a "WTF?" from an experienced player.

For me to ever consider playing this course again over either of the other two world-class courses in the Lehigh Valley (Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh Parkway), I would recommend converting this course to nine holes to accommodate longer drives and a higher par. In so doing, some of the strange basket placements could be corrected. Further, it would be easier to maintain nine tee boxes, signs, etc. than the 18 that are currently lack-luster.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Could be sooo much better

1    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: riggsy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent ace and birdie attemps due short distances. Good challenges with a variety of different shots.
Cons: The worst signage of any course I've played so far. It is very difficult to navigate your way around the course because the baskets aren't marked and there are so many close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: The first few holes had concrete tee boxes and were marked with proper signage. Some local guys stated they just did them so maybe someone is going to put the effort into the course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: GrOoViN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots at times & bonus holes (go with someone who plays frequently)
Cons: Nothing beyond the first 5 or so is marked all that well.
Other Thoughts: Take something with you to mark the holes as you play to help yourself or others the next time through. ALOT OF POTENTIAL! Also a quick pic of the map at the beginning with your goes a long way once you get into the wooded areas.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my most played courses

5+    6/22/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Covered Bridge is a hidden gem in South Whitehall Township. While certainly not as challenging as other courses in the area, it is still a great course. Hole #9 and #10 were just changed and now play a little easier. There are always people playing at Covered Bridge, and for good reason. It is a great course for someone to learn the sport. It is great for new players as the course's layout will allow even a first time player to make a couple good shots during their round. It is a great confidence booster and is one of my favorite places to play at.
Cons: Sometimes a little buggy. Hole 17 is hard to find if you have not played there before.
Other Thoughts: If you want a nice course to play disc golf at, here is the place to go. It's a little woodsy, so remember to bring your bug spray, but on a hot day it is very cool in the shade.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underwhelmed

1    3/24/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in a nice big park, off the beaten path. Multiple ace run opportunities on this shortish course. A few holes have nice elevation challenges, either up or down hill. A lot of wooded holes, so there is plenty of shade for hot sunny summer days. A lot of open unused space in the park for field practice.
Cons: It is very hard to navigate without a map. The first tee offers the overall course layout, but if you don't write it down, it's gets kind of confusing around holes 6, 7 and 8. Hole 7 tee is confusing, you can see three baskets, wasn't sure which one to throw too.

Since there is a lot of trees on the course, it takes a while to dry out, so it can be muddy in spots, not fun trying to walk without slipping on the side of a hill.

Hole 3 is too close to the baseball field, an errant show could come dangerously close to hitting someone if the field is in use. Some long walks between holes near the end.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't too impressed with this course, particularly comparing it with the other nice 18 hole courses in the area. It felt like the course was given a slivery of land in the worse part of the park and had to make do with what they had. Holes seemed to be squeezed in just to get 18. There was a little stream on the back nine, that could have been better utilized. Some next tee signs couldn't hurt.

There is a cool covered bridge that you drive over on your way into the park.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.