Orefield, PA 
Wehr's Dam/Covered Bridges Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Underwhelmed

1    3/24/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in a nice big park, off the beaten path. Multiple ace run opportunities on this shortish course. A few holes have nice elevation challenges, either up or down hill. A lot of wooded holes, so there is plenty of shade for hot sunny summer days. A lot of open unused space in the park for field practice.
Cons: It is very hard to navigate without a map. The first tee offers the overall course layout, but if you don't write it down, it's gets kind of confusing around holes 6, 7 and 8. Hole 7 tee is confusing, you can see three baskets, wasn't sure which one to throw too.

Since there is a lot of trees on the course, it takes a while to dry out, so it can be muddy in spots, not fun trying to walk without slipping on the side of a hill.

Hole 3 is too close to the baseball field, an errant show could come dangerously close to hitting someone if the field is in use. Some long walks between holes near the end.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't too impressed with this course, particularly comparing it with the other nice 18 hole courses in the area. It felt like the course was given a slivery of land in the worse part of the park and had to make do with what they had. Holes seemed to be squeezed in just to get 18. There was a little stream on the back nine, that could have been better utilized. Some next tee signs couldn't hurt.

There is a cool covered bridge that you drive over on your way into the park.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Strange Course

2-4    10/16/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite the oddness of this course I have to admit I kind of like some of the holes. All the holes are very short. But a few of them force everyone to attempt a strange shot. Kind of like shooting darts, #8 across a recycling area to a guarded basket on a steep hillside. #9Throwing a big Hyzer off a cliff to a basket snugly behind a treeline. #6 You are forced to throw a tomahawk or a thumber up a steep ravine over a big boulder. #12 a forced drop off a cliff straight down. None are particularly challenging but I have to admit it is fun to have everyone in the group have to attempt these silly unique shots. Its kind of like a really good executive golf course maybe, all the holes are simple but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Boringly Short, some of the holes are just short and really kind of dumb. At times I was considering just going safari or creating my own tee off area to spice up some of the super short/super dull holes....pavillion and ballfield hazzard risk possible harm...Hard to find first tee....I'm sure depending on season there are more people in park. The creek is more of a river and could take some discs downstream to a much better course...Jordan Creek-haha
Other Thoughts: Due to the fact I could not find the first tee I wandered around the park a bit. I was thinking as I always do. Wow that would be a cool fairway and then look at that hill, what a cool river and that weird formation over there. I guess I don t know what the course designers were limited too. I am sure they maybe had the same thoughts but were shot down by the township. Just seems a bit more could be done with some permission from the Park and some love from someone who has some vision. But overall I had fun there. Don't go out of your way to play here but if youre in the Lehigh Valley and want to introduce a youngster or a girlfriend/wife or your looking to score a hole in one come on out and have a blast.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great warm up for the day

1    11/11/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was better than I had expected. It is a small course with many 150 - 250 foot shots. For what they had to work with, they designed a nice beginner course. You really only need 1 or 2 discs to play this course as most holes are reachable with a putter. It is a nice little park with a creek and some cool rocks. For being so short, they made some cool holes with the hills and trees. It is very wooded, and requires accurate shots. I shot a -7 with no 4's. This is definitely worth playing if you are in the area. It is not the best course in the area, but it is THE BEST course in the area if you are with people who do not play disc golf often or at all. This course will be fun for new timers, and won't frustrate the new playes with booming holes.
Cons: Needs better signs, but you can definitely navigate your way around the course with no problems. 1 or 2 holes are kind of dangerous with tees/ fairways being placed too close together. So keep your eyes open and watch for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because it is only 5 minutes from my friends house. We had a good time playing, and I really liked the way the course tested my short game. IF you like shorter courses, this is the one to play while in the area. All-in-all, it was worth the hour it took me to play the course, and I would play it again if in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps on improving!

5+    9/3/2011   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with baskets in excellent shape. All tees either fully concrete or with concrete blocks, which are in fair to great shape. Mixture of some open holes and tighter wooden ones. A little elevation and some rolling greens add to the challenge. Wooden holes have tight fairways but nothing pinballesque. Almost every hole under 300 but holes 2 and 9 get up to 350-400 feet.
Cons: Rain will make wooden holes tougher and slippery, especially 3; and the pathway from 8 to 9 and 10 to 11 will be a lot tougher and muddy. Some wooden holes seem a little repetitive. Sadly, some of the signs here have been vandalized. A little work and money to replace these would improve the course.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course years ago when it was a little boy scout project that would certainly never amount to anything. Then, the locals have taken over and have really hit a grand slam, and a few small improvements will put this course up there with some of the other ones the Lehigh Valley has to offer.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.