Cookeville, TN 
Cane Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: kennymac Hole #3
4 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 A fun challenge for any disc golfer

5+    7/18/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: dempsey
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads on each hole with appropriate run-up space available.
- Signs near each tee pad showing approximate distance to the hole as well as markers to show current pin location.
- Alternate hole locations on nearly every hole.
- Well-kept park with frequently mowed fairways.
- Good mix of open holes (front 9) and wooded holes (back 9) to appeal to any type of player.
- A few very challenging holes to keep you on your toes (particularly holes 14 and 16).
- Great use of hilly elevation which comes into play on nearly every hole.
- Difficult to lose any discs unless you completely shank a throw.
- Landscaping has been done on some back 9 holes to aid in being able to see your disc better (hole 13 comes to mind).
- The park is frequently inhabited with other disc golfers, which is good for the community and for the sport's growth.
Cons: - Hole layout has not been changed in at least a month. Out-of-towners probably wouldn't know the difference, but for someone like me who plays 2-3 times a week, it does get a bit monotonous playing the same hole locations over and over.
- Some holes stay a little bit muddy, such as 7, early part of 8, and around the weeds on 9.
- There is a difference between a "challenging" hole, and a hole that is completely "jail". There are a few holes here that have no realistic path or fairway due to trees (the worst offenders being holes 3, 11, and 13) and unless you get very lucky, you're likely to lose a stroke or two on these holes.
- The navigation from hole 11 to hole 12 is not entirely clear and if you're not a local or playing with a local, there's a good chance you'll miss it. You have to walk across the parking lot where the playground and shelter is in order to reach hole 12.
- I've heard all holes have to play as Par 3 at Cane Creek, despite some signs labeling holes as Par 4. Well, when hole 14 is in the long position (well over 600 feet with multiple elevations to tackle), it's extremely difficult to get a par. Not necessarily a complaint, as it is a fun hole, but making it Par 4 would be much more realistic when the placement is in that position.
- My biggest con: Hole 16 is the "melting pot" of Cane Creek Park. People will frequently be walking, sitting, biking, or fishing in and around this hole where you need to throw. And unfortunately, most of these people are quite oblivious of their surroundings and don't notice when you're trying to throw. There have been many times where I have had to skip this hole altogether because there were too many people around. Nothing can really be done about this, but when you're constantly having to dodge oblivious patrons who don't know what "FORE" means, or simply refuse to move, it detracts a bit from the quality of the course. The hole itself is great, the location not so much.
Other Thoughts: Basic Description of Holes:
#1 - A good warmup hole with an overhanging tree, hill, and the road on the right side, with multiple trees/weeds/muckyness on the left side. The fairway is a bit narrow, but the hole is perfect for those who utilize the RHFH (flick) throw. The basket is typically right under the large tree that has hole 2's tee pad right behind it, but it has also been up the hill and to the right of said tree, although less frequently.
#2 - This hole is, again, a good hole for RHFH throwers. You have to navigate several healthy trees on all sides, and the basket is either in a little cove to the immediate right (a very short distance), or straight in front of you near the road. A solid forehand to the left side of the basket will put you in position for a birdee.
#3 - One of a few "jail" holes on the course. This is an uphill-in-the-woods hole with the basket just slightly outside these woods over the hill, or, when they feel like torturing you, up the hill very far away. It's basically a throw-and-pray shot but if you make it out and your disc doesn't roll down the hill, you're in good position for birdee.
#4 - Finally, a hole that favors RHBH throwers! The basket is always located in a little cove tucked into the left side of the hill. It is not visible from the tee pad, but you can see it while on the tee pad for hole 3. It is an open hole and a good RHBH (avoid the tree near the road, though!) will put you in position for birdee.
#5 - The best hole to unleash all your power on. This is an open hole with trees that you'll only hit if you throw it very far. The basket can be short (just over the hill) or long (past all the trees), but it's the ultimate hole to just go crazy on.
#6 - This hole is a fun challenge. There's a tree that's no more than 75 feet past the tee pad that will eat your shots if you don't avoid it. The basket is usually on the apex of the hill straight in front of you, but can also be very far down the hill. Wind plays a huge role on this hole due to elevation, especially when putting.
#7 - Another blind hole. The hill obstructs your view of the basket, but it's about 250 feet straightaway. With as much elevation that comes into play, bombing a driver will likely put you near the fence line. I throw a midrange that puts me basket-high most every time. Good opportunity for a birdie here.
#8 - A low-hanging tree here right off the tee-pad can destroy RHFH throwers, but if you can navigate the tight window, you'll typically be in position for no worse than a par. The hole favors those who RHBH a sky-bomb to the right side and let it drift back left, but it's navigable for anyone if played right.
#9 - This hole has two identities, one being the prototypical "ace-run" hole when short (a little over 200 feet, flat, straightaway with virtually no obstructions), the other being a difficult but fun hole where you have to navigate the huge line of trees and find your way to the hill near the tee pad for holes 7 and 8. Saving par when it is long is more fulfilling than getting a birdee when it's short.
#10 - The back 9 starts with a fun hole where you've gotta throw through a decent sized gap of trees and hope you are in position for a solid 2nd shot. There are 3 hole locations here, one being on the left hand side close to the trees, the other 2 being up the hill to the left which favors RHFH throwers.
#11 - This hole is the jailest of the jail holes on the course. There's no fairway, dozens of trees, and a high score with your name on it. Right off the tee pad, there's a tree that's fallen over and is laying on other trees for support. It practically looks like a slash mark. There are 3 hole locations and they're all equally as impossible to get to. I've gotten lucky a few times and somehow managed to avoid all the trees, but it's very very very rare for that to happen. It's nothing but a throw-and-pray hole.
#12 - This wooded hole doglegs to the right and leads you to an open pathway near the bottom of the hill. It's good for RHFH throwers or those who can backhand with right-turning discs. It's fairly short and a good throw can put you in position for birdee or no worse than par.
#13 - Another jail-ish hole. 3 hole locations make this one very different depending on where it is. One location is left, one middle, one right. It's surrounded by trees on all sides. Not much else to say. Just another throw-and-pray hole.
#14 - This is another Jekyll-and-Hyde hole, where location is everything. You've got gaps to get through, one on the right side and one straightaway. It's a difficult enough task to get it to the apex of the hill, but if the basket is long (over 600 feet in a very small wooded cove), you're getting no better than a 4 on this hole anyway. Sometimes it's placed short where a throw to the top of the hill can easily land you a birdee or par, the middle location can be par'd with a solid 2nd shot, but the long location is death. Nonetheless, it's a fun hole.
#15 - A break from the long holes, this fun little hole has you surrounded by trees on your right side, and a watery grave to your left past the walking trail. Those who do not have control of their shots beware! I've witnessed many people lose discs in the water by shanking a throw. But anyway, the hole is protected by a cove of trees where you throw in and let it drift left. It's very short and as long as you get into the cove in some manner, you've got a good chance for birdee.
#16 - Reminiscent of Hole 16 at Augusta (regular golf). The basket lies on an island that is well guarded by a large willow tree, other trees, and obviously, the lake. If you're going to lose a disc at Cane Creek, it's likely that you lose it here. Unless you're confident you can sky one over the trees and onto the small island, then it's a layup hole all the way. Those who are willing to take on the challenge, this will probably be your favorite hole and most rewarding if you land on that island.
#17 - Another hole that's different based on pin placement. There is a cove to the left that favors sharp turning discs thrown by RHBH throwers. Another location is straightaway guarded by some trees and brush. The third location is up the hill on the right side, which is the most difficult location to reach of the 3. It's uphill all the way, though.
#18 - The courses finishes with another signature hole. Immediately below the tee pad is a ravine that goes straight down and comes straight up, with many trees in your way on both sides. There are two hole locations here, one on the left and one on the right. They are about equal distance from the tee pad, so location will determine what disc/method you throw with. I have witnessed an ace here, but the baskets are virtually completely obstructed by trees, so all we got was the sound of chains! It is a fun hole to end on.

Overall, Cane Creek is a great course for beginners and seasoned veterans alike, with multiple pin placements that can make or break a round depending on how you tackle them! It's not easy, but it's not overly difficult either. I've been playing this course for years and I've played many others in Tennessee. This one is my favorite and is always worth playing. If you're in the area, give it a go!

(Typical score: -2 to -5)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid course, well done

1    1/19/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a park with a large lake, playground walking trails and other activities, this is a very nicely laid out course for the most part. Both the front and back 9's make a loop to end at the parking lot by tee pad 1. Signage pointing to next tee when needed were easy to find and helpful.

Tee signs were accurate, showed the multiple pin placements (some had as many as 3, every one had 2) and a bolt in the sign showed which pin was in play. Concrete tee pads were all of generous size and were all in good shape. Some tee pads had benches which were in good repair as well. Could find no faults with the baskets which caught well and were not rusted.

Elevation came into play on almost every hole but not many side slopes. I would argue that the course slightly favors LHBH/RHFH but too terribly. This is a course that requires FH and BH to shoot well. Distances vary from under 200' to well over 600' depending on which baskets are in play. One water carry hole at a reasonable distance is a nice addition too.

The first half of the course is mostly open, with the wind from the lake being a big factor on most shots. The second half of the course is mostly wooded but brush/schule is at a minimum and the entire course is fairly clean.

Paved parking lot is nice and restrooms are on site with a variety of other activities to do so you can bring the whole family.
Cons: A few places where the ground was a little muddy but that could just be chalked up to the recent wet weather.

2 holes I felt were too much like a pitch and pray type hole, the worst offender being hole 11 and to a lesser extend, 13.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes are probably 14 & 16 and while some of the par "4" holes are probably 3 realistically it's nothing to address in the cons section.

Drove here from Chattanooga to play a round and was not disappointed. Shot a -2 course par with a sunken disc. Would come back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the short drive

2-4    7/20/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed everything about this course. The signage is clear, the holes are creatively laid out and allow for multiple drive/approach options. I always enjoy knowing other disc-golfers are around and this course had plenty. This course has a variety of holes that incorporate elevation changes, wooded fairways, water hazards (one reminded me of hole 16 in Augusta -for you ball golfers out there) wide open holes on occasion that will give you a chance to let it rip and even the occasional temptation to "tomahawk" from the tee box. I had a chance to play a round with one of the guys that runs the course and you can see how his passion for making the course a top notch course has had its mark. I'm excited for my next trip to Cookeville so I can play another few rounds at this course.
Cons: Hardly any cons at all, but there was some "evidence" on holes 7,8,9 that there are a lot of geese around the area. Not a big deal, just watch your step on those holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are playing later in the day and want to get as many holes in as you can, play the back 9 first because they are mostly wooded and the front 9 is mostly in the open (which gives you a little more daylight to work with).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Pretty Course

1    4/9/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice people good course pretty holes pretty clean or and nicely mowed lots of people at park and nobody was in the way of course play. Challenging wooded holes and wide opens holes. Had fun fun course with restrooms. Padel boat rentals park for young kids and older ones. Pavailions walking trails this place has alot to offer with space. Hope to come back soon and play again :)
Cons: Been thinking here for a few and just can't seem to find any cons.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to come back very enjoyable. Awesome!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really Decent, with 3 Bad Holes

2-4    2/21/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
- Mostly Decent Shots. Most of the holes at Cane Creek were pretty decent. Even the seemingly-open boring holes had good things going for them (tree blocking the hyzer line, blind basket, use of elevation, length, etc...).
- Some Great Holes! When I walked up to Hole 1 I was thinking, "if all the holes are like this, I'm going to have some fun." Well, not all of the holes were as great as Hole 1, but several others were... and better. Holes 1, 5, 8, 10, 14, 16 were really great holes and worth the trip off the I-40 to play.
- Tees and Signs. Cane Creek had awesome concrete tee-pads, definitely large enough to get a good run-up and do your thing. And, the tee-signs used a "bolt system" to identify the pin position... and, the bolts seemed to be in their accurate positions as only one bolt was wrong in the wrong position.
- That it's There. It's a long stretch between Knoxville and Nashville, and this is one of the only courses along the entire route. And, a lot of locals were out there playing, proving that it's a good thing for the community.
- A Couple Wacked Out Holes. Holes 3, 12 and 13 have extremely ridiculous fairways that don't appear to have ever had a chainsaw near them. They have NO gap, although Hole 13 does have a nice tomahawk route, but that's only because the main fairway is jacked. These holes seriously take away from the course's quality and overall experience.
- The Concept of Par. It just seems like they called all the holes Par 3's no matter what. They had a 600+ foot hole labeled as a "Par 3", and 2 holes that are longish enough to be considered 4's when you consider their fairway FAIRness (Hole 3 right, Hole 12 long).
- Potential Safety Issues. There are a few holes that play near the park's road, walking path, places where fishermen are fishing, and a play area. I've seen worse multi-use safety infractions before (Aquatic Park in Berkeley comes to mind), but if people aren't accurate, or considerate, people/cars may get hit.
I actually saw a car get hit. I was on the green of Hole 2 when a guy on 4 threw a big hyzer that stayed over the road... while the disc was in the air, a car drove around the corner and BLAM... skip shot off the windshield.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cane Creek is a really nice city park style course that offers a little extra length and a chance to score some birdies. There are a few holes that take away from the overall experience, but if you can somehow manage to get past them without taking too many extra strokes you have a good chance to have a lot of fun and score well. It was fun enough that I went around twice.
My Score: -5

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the front nine discourage you

1    3/17/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 201  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs and tee pads on every hole.
Multiple pin positions for most of the holes.
Good use of elevation on the course.
Signature hole #16 is basically an Island hole.
Cons: Front 9 is boring, no really it sucks.
got lost going from 11 to 12
Could not find #14 basket for a long time (it was in the long position and I could not even see it from my 1st drive
Other Thoughts: This course is in a very beautiful park that surprised me when I pulled in.
The course starts off OK with holes #1 and 2 being OK disc golf holes.
then you get to #3 which is jail.
4 to 9 are all boring open shots. (actually #4 is not a bad hole)
I was about to quit my round because the holes were all in the open with nothing in the way.
But then I went ahead and started the back 9.
WOW, there are some really good holes.
I loved #10, it was in the far right position and was a fun hole to play.
#11 to 13 are throw and pray shots.
but then you get to the back holes starting with #14.
#14 was in the long position, this is a 600ft shot throwing over a hill and up over the crest of the next hill in the shull. It took me a while to find the basket, but once I did, I was like wow. (I got my 3 btw)
#15 is a nice little birdie hole
then comes #16. Not for the faint of heart. It is an island hole with the basket on a peninsula of the lake. (I just missed my birdie putt dang it) There were several people swimming for there discs.
#17 was a good hole and I loved #18 throwing from one hill to the next in the woods. (it has a fairway unlike throw and pray shots)
I would play here again, however I may just skip the front nine and play the back nine over and over.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in 1

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads on every hole. Multiple basket positions. Good signs for each hole with a screw and nut system to mark the current location. Easy navigation with helpful signs at the 2 places where there is a long walk. A really well balanced mix of open holes and heavily wooded holes. If you like all open or all wooded this is not the place for you.
Cons: Not really any cons. Nothing bad about this course. Sure you could make some more unique holes, or some more challenging holes in a few places, but there is really nothing terrible here. Hole 13 was in the A position and offered what I would truly call a WTF fairway. No real line or obvious shot. Just let it fly and pray.
Other Thoughts: As stated elsewhere the front 9 is fairly open, and allows you to let it rip with little risk in most cases. There are some mature trees to work around, but an experienced player should have no trouble hitting par or better on most of those holes. The back 9 enters the woods and adds some tight fairways and elevation to the challenge. 16 forces you over a small cove of the water, and 18 tees off a hill and over a ravine to another hill. There is also a fairly tight line you need to hit to make the correct shot. There is even a nice 561-616 hole on the back 9 that plays over a small hole and into some woods. Just a nice solid, all-around course. If you are cruising along I-40 in the area make sure you stop here to play a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    3/16/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: slmcdonald21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My home course. I am spoiled by this course being so close to my home. It has a great variety of every type of hole and shot selection. It has several tight holes and several bomb-the-mess-out-of-your-disc holes. It is still one of the most pretty courses I have ever played. Double tournaments twice a month on Saturdays are great.
Cons: Not enough tournaments. It can be a tough course for beginners, but I learned there and it has made me a better player. There are too many trees on hole #13.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Two very different courses

1    5/12/2009   1/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has great variety, better than most courses I've played. Most of the front half plays across open rolling fields, with some scattered trees. The back half has more elevation, and is a mix of well defined fairways with trees alongside, and some dense woods shots. The lake comes into play on one hole on the back half, adding a great risk/reward element especially when the wind is blowing.

There were two pin positions on most holes, and many completely changed which way the hole played. They were set up in a mix of positions when I played that meant a good balance of left and right turning shots in the woods, and long and short shots in the more open holes. The tee signs had maps showing both positions and distances, and were in good shape. The tees were nice large concrete pads with a good brushed finish.

The park is very scenic, with nice trees, and great views around the lake. I really enjoyed the walk at this course, especially on the back nine. Two holes stuck out to me, the one with the forced water carry to a landing on a peninsula, and one where you have to play up and over a hill, and you still have a long shot around several trees to find the basket.
Cons: There were a few places on the course where the navigation was not obvious, and there were long walks to the next hole. There were some vague signs pointing the way on a couple of these spots, but they weren't enough to make navigation easy.

I love multiple pin positions, but I really like to see some marking of which positions the pins are currently in, especially when there is a mix of A and B placements.

The other park users seemed completely oblivious to the course and disc golfers, often stopping right in the middle of fairways, or setting up fishing or picnics right near baskets. This was made worse by how close to the park road and walking paths the course played in several places.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is definitely worth the stop if you're in the area. It's a nice park that has been used pretty well to make a challenging and fun course.

Beginners will find some of this course pretty challenging, especially in the woods on the back 9. More experienced players will find a lot of fun and different holes with good challenges for many levels of players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup and really takes advantage of the landscape. Close to campus only 18 hole course for miles.
Cons: A couple holes don't drain water well mostly the backside of the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This course has a special place in my heart. Played more disc golf while in college here then should have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center