Disc Golf Store
Cookeville, TN 
Cane Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: kennymac Hole #11
4 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Really Decent, with 3 Bad Holes

2-4    2/21/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Mostly Decent Shots. Most of the holes at Cane Creek were pretty decent. Even the seemingly-open boring holes had good things going for them (tree blocking the hyzer line, blind basket, use of elevation, length, etc…).
- Some Great Holes! When I walked up to Hole 1 I was thinking, "if all the holes are like this, I'm going to have some fun." Well, not all of the holes were as great as Hole 1, but several others were… and better. Holes 1, 5, 8, 10, 14, 16 were really great holes and worth the trip off the I-40 to play.
- Tees and Signs. Cane Creek had awesome concrete tee-pads, definitely large enough to get a good run-up and do your thing. And, the tee-signs used a "bolt system" to identify the pin position… and, the bolts seemed to be in their accurate positions as only one bolt was wrong in the wrong position.
- That it's There. It's a long stretch between Knoxville and Nashville, and this is one of the only courses along the entire route. And, a lot of locals were out there playing, proving that it's a good thing for the community.
Cons:
- A Couple Wacked Out Holes. Holes 3, 12 and 13 have extremely ridiculous fairways that don't appear to have ever had a chainsaw near them. They have NO gap, although Hole 13 does have a nice tomahawk route, but that's only because the main fairway is jacked. These holes seriously take away from the course's quality and overall experience.
- The Concept of Par. It just seems like they called all the holes Par 3's no matter what. They had a 600+ foot hole labeled as a "Par 3", and 2 holes that are longish enough to be considered 4's when you consider their fairway FAIRness (Hole 3 right, Hole 12 long).
- Potential Safety Issues. There are a few holes that play near the park's road, walking path, places where fishermen are fishing, and a play area. I've seen worse multi-use safety infractions before (Aquatic Park in Berkeley comes to mind), but if people aren't accurate, or considerate, people/cars may get hit.
I actually saw a car get hit. I was on the green of Hole 2 when a guy on 4 threw a big hyzer that stayed over the road… while the disc was in the air, a car drove around the corner and BLAM… skip shot off the windshield.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cane Creek is a really nice city park style course that offers a little extra length and a chance to score some birdies. There are a few holes that take away from the overall experience, but if you can somehow manage to get past them without taking too many extra strokes you have a good chance to have a lot of fun and score well. It was fun enough that I went around twice.
My Score: -5

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Two very different courses

1    5/12/2009   1/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has great variety, better than most courses I've played. Most of the front half plays across open rolling fields, with some scattered trees. The back half has more elevation, and is a mix of well defined fairways with trees alongside, and some dense woods shots. The lake comes into play on one hole on the back half, adding a great risk/reward element especially when the wind is blowing.

There were two pin positions on most holes, and many completely changed which way the hole played. They were set up in a mix of positions when I played that meant a good balance of left and right turning shots in the woods, and long and short shots in the more open holes. The tee signs had maps showing both positions and distances, and were in good shape. The tees were nice large concrete pads with a good brushed finish.

The park is very scenic, with nice trees, and great views around the lake. I really enjoyed the walk at this course, especially on the back nine. Two holes stuck out to me, the one with the forced water carry to a landing on a peninsula, and one where you have to play up and over a hill, and you still have a long shot around several trees to find the basket.
Cons: There were a few places on the course where the navigation was not obvious, and there were long walks to the next hole. There were some vague signs pointing the way on a couple of these spots, but they weren't enough to make navigation easy.

I love multiple pin positions, but I really like to see some marking of which positions the pins are currently in, especially when there is a mix of A and B placements.

The other park users seemed completely oblivious to the course and disc golfers, often stopping right in the middle of fairways, or setting up fishing or picnics right near baskets. This was made worse by how close to the park road and walking paths the course played in several places.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is definitely worth the stop if you're in the area. It's a nice park that has been used pretty well to make a challenging and fun course.

Beginners will find some of this course pretty challenging, especially in the woods on the back 9. More experienced players will find a lot of fun and different holes with good challenges for many levels of players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Variety

1    6/15/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long and wide concrete teepads. Multiple pin positions per hole. Signs at teepads showing current pin position. Smattering of benches, more so on the back nine.

Between on-line map and a few signs at the course, this was a relatively simple course for me as a first-time visitor to follow.

Multi-use park, so options for non-playing people with you. Bathrooms, water fountains, and vending machines on-site, and food/petrol stations only five minutes away.

Some nice views at some holes which play towards/along water.
Cons:
A few holes play along the entrance road and walking paths.

The ravine you throw across on #18 could be quite treacherous in wet weather.
Other Thoughts:
This course offers a nice combination of wide-open holes, completely wooded holes, holes with well-defined fairways but the baskets being somewhat guarded by trees.

The day I played the course, it was in a rather neutral set-up, position-wise - not all long, not all short, not all lefty-oriented, not all righty-advantaged.

The holes I found most interesting were:
- #16 A 300' water-on-three-sides hole, the dry approach being from the right. The most threatening water is in front, beginning about 175' from the tee and ending about 30' short of the basket.
- #14 One of the longer holes on the course, woods to your left, uphill throw with a smattering of trees at about the 275' mark/crest of the hill. The basket, guarded by a couple large trees, was another 250' from there, down then back up a small hill.
- #11 This hole will typically be a wooded, down-then-up, narrow lane hole, requiring a slight turn left or right after 200+'. The day I played a large tree along the side had broken about halfway up, and was suspended perpendicular to the ground, putting an array of branches in the desired flight path. This left you with a choice of throwing very high, usually not a good idea with so many trees, or low, somehow hoping to run up the hill. I threw a low shot with the edge down which hit at the base of the valley, then flattened out and skipped up the hill another 100' - reminded me of skipping frisbees on asphalt thirty years ago. Hope they can keep the tree there for awhile! :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyl and Hyde

5+    9/4/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Continually improved.
Clean, well kept park.
Cons: Innova DISCatcher
Some terrain on the back 9 (10, 17, 18) a bit technical-- especially if you should make an errant throw (which I *never* do).
Other Thoughts: A true Jekyl and Hyde course. Front 9 mostly wide open and somewhat beginner friendly. Back 9 mostly tightly wooded with #16 going over water.
Multiple pin positions are wonderful, but it is nicer when the tee signs agree with the pin placement (13, 14, 15, and 17), seems every round I play one of those pins is not where the tee sign says it is.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.