Cookeville, TN
Cane Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: kennymac Hole #6
4 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid course, well done

1    1/19/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a park with a large lake, playground walking trails and other activities, this is a very nicely laid out course for the most part. Both the front and back 9's make a loop to end at the parking lot by tee pad 1. Signage pointing to next tee when needed were easy to find and helpful.

Tee signs were accurate, showed the multiple pin placements (some had as many as 3, every one had 2) and a bolt in the sign showed which pin was in play. Concrete tee pads were all of generous size and were all in good shape. Some tee pads had benches which were in good repair as well. Could find no faults with the baskets which caught well and were not rusted.

Elevation came into play on almost every hole but not many side slopes. I would argue that the course slightly favors LHBH/RHFH but too terribly. This is a course that requires FH and BH to shoot well. Distances vary from under 200' to well over 600' depending on which baskets are in play. One water carry hole at a reasonable distance is a nice addition too.

The first half of the course is mostly open, with the wind from the lake being a big factor on most shots. The second half of the course is mostly wooded but brush/schule is at a minimum and the entire course is fairly clean.

Paved parking lot is nice and restrooms are on site with a variety of other activities to do so you can bring the whole family.
Cons: A few places where the ground was a little muddy but that could just be chalked up to the recent wet weather.

2 holes I felt were too much like a pitch and pray type hole, the worst offender being hole 11 and to a lesser extend, 13.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes are probably 14 & 16 and while some of the par "4" holes are probably 3 realistically it's nothing to address in the cons section.

Drove here from Chattanooga to play a round and was not disappointed. Shot a -2 course par with a sunken disc. Would come back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the short drive

2-4    7/20/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed everything about this course. The signage is clear, the holes are creatively laid out and allow for multiple drive/approach options. I always enjoy knowing other disc-golfers are around and this course had plenty. This course has a variety of holes that incorporate elevation changes, wooded fairways, water hazards (one reminded me of hole 16 in Augusta -for you ball golfers out there) wide open holes on occasion that will give you a chance to let it rip and even the occasional temptation to "tomahawk" from the tee box. I had a chance to play a round with one of the guys that runs the course and you can see how his passion for making the course a top notch course has had its mark. I'm excited for my next trip to Cookeville so I can play another few rounds at this course.
Cons: Hardly any cons at all, but there was some "evidence" on holes 7,8,9 that there are a lot of geese around the area. Not a big deal, just watch your step on those holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are playing later in the day and want to get as many holes in as you can, play the back 9 first because they are mostly wooded and the front 9 is mostly in the open (which gives you a little more daylight to work with).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Pretty Course

1    4/9/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice people good course pretty holes pretty clean or and nicely mowed lots of people at park and nobody was in the way of course play. Challenging wooded holes and wide opens holes. Had fun fun course with restrooms. Padel boat rentals park for young kids and older ones. Pavailions walking trails this place has alot to offer with space. Hope to come back soon and play again :)
Cons: Been thinking here for a few and just can't seem to find any cons.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to come back very enjoyable. Awesome!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really Decent, with 3 Bad Holes

2-4    2/21/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 246  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Mostly Decent Shots. Most of the holes at Cane Creek were pretty decent. Even the seemingly-open boring holes had good things going for them (tree blocking the hyzer line, blind basket, use of elevation, length, etc…).
- Some Great Holes! When I walked up to Hole 1 I was thinking, "if all the holes are like this, I'm going to have some fun." Well, not all of the holes were as great as Hole 1, but several others were… and better. Holes 1, 5, 8, 10, 14, 16 were really great holes and worth the trip off the I-40 to play.
- Tees and Signs. Cane Creek had awesome concrete tee-pads, definitely large enough to get a good run-up and do your thing. And, the tee-signs used a "bolt system" to identify the pin position… and, the bolts seemed to be in their accurate positions as only one bolt was wrong in the wrong position.
- That it's There. It's a long stretch between Knoxville and Nashville, and this is one of the only courses along the entire route. And, a lot of locals were out there playing, proving that it's a good thing for the community.
Cons:
- A Couple Wacked Out Holes. Holes 3, 12 and 13 have extremely ridiculous fairways that don't appear to have ever had a chainsaw near them. They have NO gap, although Hole 13 does have a nice tomahawk route, but that's only because the main fairway is jacked. These holes seriously take away from the course's quality and overall experience.
- The Concept of Par. It just seems like they called all the holes Par 3's no matter what. They had a 600+ foot hole labeled as a "Par 3", and 2 holes that are longish enough to be considered 4's when you consider their fairway FAIRness (Hole 3 right, Hole 12 long).
- Potential Safety Issues. There are a few holes that play near the park's road, walking path, places where fishermen are fishing, and a play area. I've seen worse multi-use safety infractions before (Aquatic Park in Berkeley comes to mind), but if people aren't accurate, or considerate, people/cars may get hit.
I actually saw a car get hit. I was on the green of Hole 2 when a guy on 4 threw a big hyzer that stayed over the road… while the disc was in the air, a car drove around the corner and BLAM… skip shot off the windshield.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cane Creek is a really nice city park style course that offers a little extra length and a chance to score some birdies. There are a few holes that take away from the overall experience, but if you can somehow manage to get past them without taking too many extra strokes you have a good chance to have a lot of fun and score well. It was fun enough that I went around twice.
My Score: -5

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the front nine discourage you

1    3/17/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs and tee pads on every hole.
Multiple pin positions for most of the holes.
Good use of elevation on the course.
Signature hole #16 is basically an Island hole.
Cons: Front 9 is boring, no really it sucks.
got lost going from 11 to 12
Could not find #14 basket for a long time (it was in the long position and I could not even see it from my 1st drive
Other Thoughts: This course is in a very beautiful park that surprised me when I pulled in.
The course starts off OK with holes #1 and 2 being OK disc golf holes.
then you get to #3 which is jail.
4 to 9 are all boring open shots. (actually #4 is not a bad hole)
I was about to quit my round because the holes were all in the open with nothing in the way.
But then I went ahead and started the back 9.
WOW, there are some really good holes.
I loved #10, it was in the far right position and was a fun hole to play.
#11 to 13 are throw and pray shots.
but then you get to the back holes starting with #14.
#14 was in the long position, this is a 600ft shot throwing over a hill and up over the crest of the next hill in the shull. It took me a while to find the basket, but once I did, I was like wow. (I got my 3 btw)
#15 is a nice little birdie hole
then comes #16. Not for the faint of heart. It is an island hole with the basket on a peninsula of the lake. (I just missed my birdie putt dang it) There were several people swimming for there discs.
#17 was a good hole and I loved #18 throwing from one hill to the next in the woods. (it has a fairway unlike throw and pray shots)
I would play here again, however I may just skip the front nine and play the back nine over and over.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in 1

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads on every hole. Multiple basket positions. Good signs for each hole with a screw and nut system to mark the current location. Easy navigation with helpful signs at the 2 places where there is a long walk. A really well balanced mix of open holes and heavily wooded holes. If you like all open or all wooded this is not the place for you.
Cons: Not really any cons. Nothing bad about this course. Sure you could make some more unique holes, or some more challenging holes in a few places, but there is really nothing terrible here. Hole 13 was in the A position and offered what I would truly call a WTF fairway. No real line or obvious shot. Just let it fly and pray.
Other Thoughts: As stated elsewhere the front 9 is fairly open, and allows you to let it rip with little risk in most cases. There are some mature trees to work around, but an experienced player should have no trouble hitting par or better on most of those holes. The back 9 enters the woods and adds some tight fairways and elevation to the challenge. 16 forces you over a small cove of the water, and 18 tees off a hill and over a ravine to another hill. There is also a fairly tight line you need to hit to make the correct shot. There is even a nice 561-616 hole on the back 9 that plays over a small hole and into some woods. Just a nice solid, all-around course. If you are cruising along I-40 in the area make sure you stop here to play a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    3/16/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: slmcdonald21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My home course. I am spoiled by this course being so close to my home. It has a great variety of every type of hole and shot selection. It has several tight holes and several bomb-the-mess-out-of-your-disc holes. It is still one of the most pretty courses I have ever played. Double tournaments twice a month on Saturdays are great.
Cons: Not enough tournaments. It can be a tough course for beginners, but I learned there and it has made me a better player. There are too many trees on hole #13.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Two very different courses

1    5/12/2009   1/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has great variety, better than most courses I've played. Most of the front half plays across open rolling fields, with some scattered trees. The back half has more elevation, and is a mix of well defined fairways with trees alongside, and some dense woods shots. The lake comes into play on one hole on the back half, adding a great risk/reward element especially when the wind is blowing.

There were two pin positions on most holes, and many completely changed which way the hole played. They were set up in a mix of positions when I played that meant a good balance of left and right turning shots in the woods, and long and short shots in the more open holes. The tee signs had maps showing both positions and distances, and were in good shape. The tees were nice large concrete pads with a good brushed finish.

The park is very scenic, with nice trees, and great views around the lake. I really enjoyed the walk at this course, especially on the back nine. Two holes stuck out to me, the one with the forced water carry to a landing on a peninsula, and one where you have to play up and over a hill, and you still have a long shot around several trees to find the basket.
Cons: There were a few places on the course where the navigation was not obvious, and there were long walks to the next hole. There were some vague signs pointing the way on a couple of these spots, but they weren't enough to make navigation easy.

I love multiple pin positions, but I really like to see some marking of which positions the pins are currently in, especially when there is a mix of A and B placements.

The other park users seemed completely oblivious to the course and disc golfers, often stopping right in the middle of fairways, or setting up fishing or picnics right near baskets. This was made worse by how close to the park road and walking paths the course played in several places.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is definitely worth the stop if you're in the area. It's a nice park that has been used pretty well to make a challenging and fun course.

Beginners will find some of this course pretty challenging, especially in the woods on the back 9. More experienced players will find a lot of fun and different holes with good challenges for many levels of players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup and really takes advantage of the landscape. Close to campus only 18 hole course for miles.
Cons: A couple holes don't drain water well mostly the backside of the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This course has a special place in my heart. Played more disc golf while in college here then should have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Variety

1    6/15/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long and wide concrete teepads. Multiple pin positions per hole. Signs at teepads showing current pin position. Smattering of benches, more so on the back nine.

Between on-line map and a few signs at the course, this was a relatively simple course for me as a first-time visitor to follow.

Multi-use park, so options for non-playing people with you. Bathrooms, water fountains, and vending machines on-site, and food/petrol stations only five minutes away.

Some nice views at some holes which play towards/along water.
Cons:
A few holes play along the entrance road and walking paths.

The ravine you throw across on #18 could be quite treacherous in wet weather.
Other Thoughts:
This course offers a nice combination of wide-open holes, completely wooded holes, holes with well-defined fairways but the baskets being somewhat guarded by trees.

The day I played the course, it was in a rather neutral set-up, position-wise - not all long, not all short, not all lefty-oriented, not all righty-advantaged.

The holes I found most interesting were:
- #16 A 300' water-on-three-sides hole, the dry approach being from the right. The most threatening water is in front, beginning about 175' from the tee and ending about 30' short of the basket.
- #14 One of the longer holes on the course, woods to your left, uphill throw with a smattering of trees at about the 275' mark/crest of the hill. The basket, guarded by a couple large trees, was another 250' from there, down then back up a small hill.
- #11 This hole will typically be a wooded, down-then-up, narrow lane hole, requiring a slight turn left or right after 200+'. The day I played a large tree along the side had broken about halfway up, and was suspended perpendicular to the ground, putting an array of branches in the desired flight path. This left you with a choice of throwing very high, usually not a good idea with so many trees, or low, somehow hoping to run up the hill. I threw a low shot with the edge down which hit at the base of the valley, then flattened out and skipped up the hill another 100' - reminded me of skipping frisbees on asphalt thirty years ago. Hope they can keep the tree there for awhile! :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.