Reno, NV 
Reno Adventure Park - Green Share
Uploaded By: Malachyte Hole #7 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: marshall834
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - All holes have concrete box with clear signage, par, and even tips to find the sometimes difficult to identify baskets
- Very cool atmosphere with old trucks, parts, chains, trailers, etc scattered around the entire course.
- Excellent layout of each hole. Very well thought out
- Each basket has an extended pole with a yellow ball at the top identifying the hole, making them easier to find
- Owner is very friendly and helpful
Cons: - Road is pretty rough getting there in a car. It's doable in car but I would recommend truck or SUV
- Echo previous comments about starting sign. Would be very helpful with an introduction sign identifying the start of each course
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I've played on. It can also be very intimidating for the beginning player, even experienced players. Elevation change is crazy - you throw one errant disc it's gone. Highly recommend bringing a cooler for lunch with extra water. About a 45-50 minute drive from Reno depending on where you're coming from.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course!

1    5/9/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Malachyte
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Another great course with tons of variety - open shots, tight shots, and a lot of elevation change - my favorite element in disc golf. There are some incredibly intimidating putts on this course as well; baskets right next to cliffs and such...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/27/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Loved the theme of the course, very unique, it had an Old West feel to it
-All of the tee pads were concrete
-The homemade baskets fit into the theme of the course and each had a pole above the basket which made spoting them much easier
-Excellent views of the surrounding mountains and Reno
-Nice variety of elevation changes (some extreme)
-Good signage at each tee pad
-Excellent course for those that like a challenge
-Very nice owner, make sure to call him before heading out to the course
Cons: -The road in is pretty treacherous if you are in a car as I was, definitely would recomend a truck or SUV
-Terrain is pretty rocky, so expect to get some of your disks chewed up
-It would have been nice to have a sign pointing to the first tee box
Other Thoughts: The owner has put in a ton of work at this place. There are 27 holes although I only played the 18 on the green course. I definitely would recommend making a donation to help with making the course even better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's worth taking a day to check it out, a hidden gem for sure! Great views overlooking the city of Reno. The course itself is fantastic and the holes were a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Rough terrain, loose gravel, expect to take a few spills. Totally worth it though!
Other Thoughts: It's a long round, so plan accordingly. Bring food and water.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A great day adventure.

1    2/12/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: gtankersley11
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fabulous views of the Reno area and the surrounding mountains.
The elevation changes make for a good hike and interesting shots.
The baskets are well placed and there are white arrows on the top of each basket pointing to the next tee.
Also on the signs marking the tees there are white arrows pointing to mandos and the basket. These are accurate. You can see many of the baskets from the tee if you follow the arrows.
There are little explanations on many of the signs to help you locate the basket.
Not a lot of brush which is nice for finding your disc.
The owner is very nice.
Challenging shots. Be careful not to over shoot some of these. You may be going on a hike.
The homemade baskets are awesome.
There are yellow numbered markers high above the baskets that make them easier to spot.
Cons: The road can be difficult getting to the course. If it recently rained or snowed I wouldn't recommend playing at that time. Four wheel vehicles will make your drive much easier.
Not all the tee pads are finished but there is a rubber strip to help out.
Other Thoughts: Most baskets I didn't have a hard time finding because of the hints and arrows on the signs.
Some shots can be challenging. Be careful not to over shoot some of these. You may be going on a hike.
Spotters are a good idea on a few holes.
I didn't lose a disc and neither did the other two I played with.
It was a great day and the most fun I've had playing disc golf.
I definitely recommend this course if you have a day and a vehicle to go up there. Make sure to call first.
Print the maps, they will help. There are nice score cards too.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2010   3/12/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Secluded course, we were the only people out here
- Great Views of Reno and The surounding mountains
- Lots of elevation change, uphills and downhills ranging from allmost flat to steep, as well as cross canyon shots
- Homemade baskets help capture the feel of the area
- Poles on top of baskets with the hole # on a ball on top, so you can see them from a distance
- Signs with hole # and distance
- 3 courses on site
- Friendly owner, definatly give him a call before you go out here, and make sure to leave him a nice donation
- Cool rock formations around the course
Cons: - Alot of time spent looking for the basket after we found the tee, then ther were also baskets for the red course that were easy to confuse for the green courses baskets
- Long rough drive from Reno, I made it with my car, but my passengers were afraid we wouldn't be able to make it back out
- Some of the blind holes definatly require a spoter, as they will eat some discs if you can't see where they land
- No real maps on the tee signs, just a little cut out piece of the course map that was allready hard to read
- Not much shade around the course
- Gets very hot in summer
- Hole 10 throws directly over hole 1's tee
- Maps available onsite are in black and white and hard to figure out which holes are which
- All 3 courses cross back and forth over each other
- Not a good course for beginers, older players, or children, as it has alot of elevation change and length. Even though it's the medium course I would still recomend having some endurance and tollerence for the heat before you play out here.
- Hard to find the first tee when you get here, some signs pointing you to the start of all the courses would be good
Other Thoughts: In the hills above Reno lies this 3 course desert golf experence. You will start with a drive up into the mountains the first half of which is paved then you turn off down some gravel roads, the first couple are nice and easy to drive, but as you get closer to the course the road gets worse and worse. When you think you've gone to far just keep on going. The owner will tell you how to get in his gate when you get there. You will have to sign a contract saying that you won't sue him if you hurt on his property.

Make sure when you print up the map, that you print it in color, as a black and white copy will only be slightly helpfull.

The course plays through a high desert area with lots of sage brush around, as well as some various pine trees. As you walk around you will be treated to great views of Reno and the mountans that seperate Reno from Tahoe.

When I was there they had put in concrete tee boxes on some holes and wooden boxes where they are going to put in concrete tees in the future.

Bring water, food, anything you might need as it is a long ways back to town, and it can get realy hot out here.

This is definatly not a course to play by yourself as you need a spoter on some holes. Without a spoter you will spend lots of time looking for your disc on some of the holes and posibly even loosing your disc. I lost 2 out here, and my friend I was playing with lost 1.

A must play course for people living in the Reno / Tahoe area, this might not be a course that you would want to try to travel a long distance to. If you are traveling from outside the area you would be beter off going up to Tahoe and playing the courses up there. But if you have allready played all of the courses in the Tahoe area, it's a good way to spend a day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Reno Disc Golf Extreme

2-4    12/28/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Many elevation changes.
2) Gorgeous views of Reno and the Sierra-Nevada Mts.
3) Multi-use park - disc golf, hiking, picnicking and sightseeing.
4) Interesting geological structures throughout.
5) Concrete tees on 6 holes currently - forms for the rest are present, most with rubber pads in them.
6) Tricky blind shots with 100' cliffs behind the basket make for a good risk-reward drive. (H13 comes to mind).
Cons: 1) Access road is rough. You should not try to go during the winter unless Tom gives you the go ahead and you have him drive you or you drive a 4 wheel drive vehicle. Goes off paved roads onto dirt roads.
2) A lot of the baskets are directly in line with the tee.
3) This course is very remote. You should not play alone. You should take your cell phone with you. There is service up there.
4) The course is very physically demanding. You must be in good physical condition to play.
Other Thoughts: I have played at over 40 disc golf courses in my 7-8 years of play, and this course is the most amazing, unique, extreme, and beautiful course I've ever had the pleasure to play. It has it all. There are 2 full courses and a 9 hole course. The owner, Tom, has plans to turn this into a multi-use park, with unique features that I won't spoil for you should they be installed by the time you go.

Although there are a lot of baskets directly in line with the tees, this is tempered with the fact that sometimes you can't shoot a straight shot at the basket, which ameliorates this problem. I mentioned to Tom that he might want to install a few mandos to force people to shoot a certain way, thus reducing the straight-line problem and without having to move any baskets or tees.

Tom has great vision for this course and I am both honored and proud to have played it. If you love disc golf like I do and you are in good physical condition (no knee, hip or foot problems will be tolerated by this mountain), you must make it out to this magical course! Thanks again, Tom, for the tour!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tom's Cliff

1    10/1/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: NevadaDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been playing disc golf for over 30 years, before there were baskets, before there were tailored discs and this is one of the most unique courses I've ever played on. This is also the first review I've ever written. Probably the last, but I feel compelled to support the inspiration that creating this course.
I've often thought about how to design a course with sparse trees and a desert landscape. Well this course does an excellent job. It has great elevation changes and fantastic views of the area.
The wind can be a factor, but since the wind is usually blowing in our face, it doesn't usually carrying the disc out into noman's land.
If you're in the area you should make an effort to play this course.
Cons: Very rugged and rocky. Navigating through it can be challenging. Bring boots.
Even through there were maps at each hole, some of the chains were hard to find. We threw at the wrong pole several times. The second time through will be better.
The road to the course could use a sign or two, just for reassurance that you're on the right road.
Some of the chains can be confusing since there are three courses on the site and they are all interwoven.
I could not find the donation pole/box and I would have liked to donate something.
Other Thoughts: Give yourself plenty of time to play this course. Following the directions on the road in. I tried to second guess the map and had to back track.

There is a lot to say about this course but you really need to experience it yourself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unique destination course for the hard core player

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing topography - probably the most unique terrain of the 380+ courses I've played
Beautiful setting
Labor of love as a private course
Unique use of terrain
Very challenging
Great destination course - multiple courses on the same property
Very communicative owner
Maps available and signage at each tee
All tees are obvious
Consistent and efficient homemade baskets
Cons: Not all tee pads are finished ( I think it's a case of the owner progressing through the course creating cement tees) - each tee pad has at least a thin strip of rubber and most have a wood frame ready for cement to be poured
A little hard to follow (see my suggestions in the "other thoughts" section)
Signage at each tee should be redone as unique depictions of the hole - right now they are a highlighted section of the general map...better than nothing, but at times hard to follow
Due to terrain, it's easy to lose sight of line of a thrown disc and takes a while to find even well thrown discs at times (see my suggestions in the "other thoughts" section)
No benches (this will be an issue for some, because this is a VERY physically demanding course)
No garbage cans (you'll need to carry in sufficient water and carry out the empties)
Other Thoughts: Here are my "other thoughts" that might help you decide whether or not to make the drive up there...let me qualify my thoughts with this:
I am pretty much a DG geek..I travel for work and get to play a TON of courses...over 380 so far in 38 States and 4 Countries...that being said, I've played a lot of courses that are really boring...I tend to lean toward very technical and challenging courses...lots of trees, elevation, etc. The only thing that helps set apart a course for me if it doesn't have one of the features just mentioned is if it is a very unique type course...
This course falls into the category of VERY unique...
The setting is very cool...the desert vibe, though brutal, is awesome...I've played 12 courses in AZ and only one even comes close to using the native desert terrain like this course does...I must say, this site houses my 2 favorite desert courses

Here are a few things to know before you go:
1) If you are a casual player, beginner or can't sustain a robust hike through very rocky terrain with lots of elevation changes - I personally don't think you would enjoy this course. If you like pushing yourself, enjoy a challenge or have a group of comando DG friends, you will LOVE this place :) This course is physically easier than the RED course
2) Bring LOTS of water
3) Try to play early - the wind is BRUTAL in the afternoon (at least in the summer)
4) Wear hiking boots and long pants or at least tennis shoes with calf socks and long pants - I was in tennis shoes, ankle socks and shorts...my calves have well deserved battle scars
5) Try to print your maps in color - if you don't have a color printer, print it in black and white and then color code the two (Red and Green) courses because it can get a little confusing when they start to get close to each other...you can waste a good amount of time trying to figure out the subtle nuances of the various shades of gray.
6) Bring LOTS of water
7) WATCH your footing...VERY rocky
8) Watch for creatures...I saw tons of lizards (no big deal) but it looks like primo snake territory
9) Follow the directions of the Reno Adventure Park website (GREAT directions) - don't put the GPS coordinates on this site into your GPS...it'll try to take you the "direct" route through a mine that is not open for through traffic for the public and you have to backtrack
10) If at all possible, play with one or more other people - you will definitely want a spotter on many holes...unfortunately I had to play by myself...I didn't lose any discs, but a couple of times I almost gave up looking
11) Leave some money in the locker with your release form because the owner has really busted his butt to make this a great place to play DG...it's not all it can be (yet) but WAY better than the other option in Reno
12) Don't drive a car that is low to the ground to this course...the last mile or so is very unkept and uneven dirt road - you could do some damage to the underside of your car if it's too low

BOTTOM LINE: if you are looking for a very unique DG experience and want to really have a great time, grab some friends and take a mini road trip and get up here to enjoy this GREAT addition to the DG community

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.