Reno, NV
Reno Adventure Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: Malachyte Hole #8 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Red Course (Billy Goat Course)

1    8/2/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: tomdmartin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough course but it is not overwhelming.
Good placement of baskets
Very good use of terrain
Great views of Reno area
Great workout
Cons: Tough to get there - having a 4x4 is a must
Tough terrain to go looking for stray discs
Other Thoughts: You know it's going to be a good course when you have to sign a release form!

Great job Tom on your course!

Too bad more people don't know about this - this should be on everybody's list to play!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tom's Cliff

1    4/18/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow! Where can I start... This course was phenomenal! I have played many private courses and this one takes the cake. It has definitely made its way into my top 5. I really like the challenging terrain, good mix of shots, ELEVATION, lack of crowd, and scenery. This is extreme disc golf!
Cons: The signage and hole description on each tee sign could be improved. Also, the mandos are not very apparent.
Other Thoughts: Alone this course is around a 4.2 for me, but in conjunction with the other two courses it is a 4.5. I really enjoyed my round here. Not for the faint of heart. Bring water and good hiking boots. I would recommend this for anyone in the Tahoe/Reno area. Get an early start to play all 45. Takes about 25min from the main road. I got there in a camry through it bottomed out a few times. Great times!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

RED Course

1    12/3/2011   1/30/2012
Review By: Skullpunisher
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well laidout with distance markers to the next tee
INSANE FOR CHAINS This is THE most challenging course I ever played
Cons: NOT FOR THE WEAK
This course is @ 6000' and includes the most intense hiking of any course anywhere
I lost a disc as it followed the hill contour for 600 feet right out of sight
Other Thoughts: Extra water was not needed on 12/3/11 because it was 21 degrees that day the wind was calm

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Reno Adventure Park red

1    12/3/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: billfish1990
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of Reno. Great use of the natural landscape. The most enjoyable course i have ever played. Owner was very helpful, even called us an hour in to make sure everything was ok. Already planning another trip back to play all 3 courses.
Cons: Very physically demanding. Took 4.5 hours to play. Between 3 of us 1 disk lost. Recommend to play toward hillside or you might be hiking 200 feet down a hillside to find a disk which we did a few times. It was so worth it though.
Other Thoughts: Get direction from the owner not Google maps. Best to have a 4wd. Good idea to have a scope to spot some of the baskets. Long walks to some tee boxes but clearly marked. Definately an adventure.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.