Reno, NV 
Reno Adventure Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: Malachyte Hole #4 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Poetic & Punishing

1    4/20/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: SierraShooter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: stunning topography & views
creative basket & tee placement
diversity: short, long, forehand, backhand, etc.
easy to follow (sighting devices, trails, markers)
concrete pads
no cross-traffic
benches throughout
excellent workout
Cons: treacherous footing
needs signage for parking
Other Thoughts: A poetic and punishing layout rewards accuracy and brutally discourages error in one of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have played. Leave beginners, small children, and whiners at home--they will be miserable and will make you so, too. The paths, in most areas, are reasonably maintained, and if you are sufficiently skilled to drop your plastic directly on them, much respect. But said paths are cut through canyons--a shade to the right and you must scramble straight up loose rocks to carefully balance your next shot without rolling down the mountain--a shade to the left, you do the same in reverse. If you shank it altogether, you'll either ring your private helicopter, or just let that one go. That all being said, you absolutely cannot skip this course if you're up to the challenge. The location typifies Northern Nevada's unique beauty, with severe granite outcroppings and grandiose views of both the Truckee Meadows (the valley Reno lives in) and the Sierra Nevada mountains. Neither the pain nor the pleasure can be overstated: bring food, water, hiking boots, sunscreen, and a friend or two. Chasing plastic down these rugged, remote canyons by yourself would be no fun and a bit dangerous. Play it safe and you will have a fantastic time. Folks from out of town: remember that you are in the desert and at elevation (5000'+). Water, sunscreen, and pace yourself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Red Course (Billy Goat Course)

1    8/2/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: tomdmartin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough course but it is not overwhelming.
Good placement of baskets
Very good use of terrain
Great views of Reno area
Great workout
Cons: Tough to get there - having a 4x4 is a must
Tough terrain to go looking for stray discs
Other Thoughts: You know it's going to be a good course when you have to sign a release form!

Great job Tom on your course!

Too bad more people don't know about this - this should be on everybody's list to play!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tom's Cliff

1    4/18/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow! Where can I start... This course was phenomenal! I have played many private courses and this one takes the cake. It has definitely made its way into my top 5. I really like the challenging terrain, good mix of shots, ELEVATION, lack of crowd, and scenery. This is extreme disc golf!
Cons: The signage and hole description on each tee sign could be improved. Also, the mandos are not very apparent.
Other Thoughts: Alone this course is around a 4.2 for me, but in conjunction with the other two courses it is a 4.5. I really enjoyed my round here. Not for the faint of heart. Bring water and good hiking boots. I would recommend this for anyone in the Tahoe/Reno area. Get an early start to play all 45. Takes about 25min from the main road. I got there in a camry through it bottomed out a few times. Great times!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 RED Course

1    12/3/2011   1/30/2012
Review By: Skullpunisher
Played: 88  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well laidout with distance markers to the next tee
INSANE FOR CHAINS This is THE most challenging course I ever played
Cons: NOT FOR THE WEAK
This course is @ 6000' and includes the most intense hiking of any course anywhere
I lost a disc as it followed the hill contour for 600 feet right out of sight
Other Thoughts: Extra water was not needed on 12/3/11 because it was 21 degrees that day the wind was calm

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Reno Adventure Park red

1    12/3/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: billfish1990
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of Reno. Great use of the natural landscape. The most enjoyable course i have ever played. Owner was very helpful, even called us an hour in to make sure everything was ok. Already planning another trip back to play all 3 courses.
Cons: Very physically demanding. Took 4.5 hours to play. Between 3 of us 1 disk lost. Recommend to play toward hillside or you might be hiking 200 feet down a hillside to find a disk which we did a few times. It was so worth it though.
Other Thoughts: Get direction from the owner not Google maps. Best to have a 4wd. Good idea to have a scope to spot some of the baskets. Long walks to some tee boxes but clearly marked. Definately an adventure.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.