Olathe, CO 
Town of Olathe DGC Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #8 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Local crew working on course

5+    12/22/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: malton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Brand new Discraft baskets purchased through local donations were installed Fall/2014! New tee box locations as well. New island hole on 11 in the middle of cattails. Hole 13 now shoots over the pond with drop zone on right. New configuration on 16,17 designed to eliminate gimme birdies. The course is getting better with a very active local crew: MOD Squad (Montrose, Olathe, Delta). New pin placements all over the course, which plays tougher than in the past. Lots of unique holes. Signature hole 18 tee shot shooting over a large pond. Big varieties of shots. Plenty of chances to air it out- but carefully because OB is never too far away!
Cons: A few disc eating areas if you throw carelessly, including prickers, deep ditches, cattails, multiple ponds. Pretty muddy after the rain. Looking for some concrete tee pads in 2015. Lots of water hazards on back 9 so maybe chuck some Blizzards that float...JIC. A lack of vegetation on 14-16 makes for a dull experience but this is disc golf in the desert!
Other Thoughts: Plenty of upside left in this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential in the Pits

1    4/4/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 109  Reviewed: 23
Pros: -Some challenging up and down shots.
-Some challenging water shots too.
-A few interesting Pin Placements.
-A fun Do-It-Yourself feel to the PVC Baskets.
-Ample Parking and close to town.
-Not too many non-players to play around.
Cons: -The PVC baskets get old fast: the discs bounce out. -The park is mostly raw space. Mud-Dust-Bogs etc
There is a small grassy area in the middle and the 2 sides more closely resemble a construction site.
-There are too many wide open feature-less holes.
-More wind than view in this location.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to hear that the course may have been around for about 8 years and the park about 11?
There really is not a lot of love here yet.
This could be a 3 star course some day but not yet.

 Dedicated to Olathe's Finest

5+    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: wentzl
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting variety on the course
Cons: No tee pads. Too much vegetation on some holes. Cops stole my beer.
Other Thoughts: I would give this course a higher rating except for holes 11 and 12 which are pretty much a guaranteed lost disc when allowed to overgrow the way they were when I last played, 9/11/10. Oh yeah, and the cops stole a case of beer from my car for no good reason at all.

There I was, having a perfectly nice day, taking photos to upload on this site and playing a casual round. Not a soul in sight. Miles from anywhere and here comes Ms. Buzzcut local fuzz out of nowhere. "Any more beer in the car? I am gonna have to confiscate that too." And she wasn't even old enough to drink it. Damn!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Town of Olathe DGC

5+    7/20/2013   8/26/2010
Review By: FonzTYC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course overall! Lots of big distance shot opportunities. A few water holes which always make things exiting.
Cons: Homemade baskets! chains are really weak and the basket is really small so expect a lot of spit outs. Tees not marked so its hard to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate what they have done to build us another Disc Golf Course out here. And putting into those homemade baskets only make me appreciate the sport! I always have a great time playing this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.