Tupelo, MS 
Tombigbee State Park - Course #2 Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / --   4 / --   4 / 450ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Championship Level

2-4    5/1/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Championship. Level. Course. The Southern Nationals Am Championship was held here a few years back. You need a complete game to shoot well here. It really challenges your mental, physical, and spiritual game as well (You'll be praying. A lot. Trust me.) A day shooting par is great here. Every hole is enjoyable because of the sheer difficulty of some holes. Elevation is used to an extreme on many holes. Legitimate Par 4's, yet no easy birdies. Everything here is earned.
Cons: If you're a first timer, PLEASE STICK TO 1! You will hate the sport trying this course as your first. Snakes are out and about in the warm months. Easy to kick and go way, way, wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy off course and lose a disc. The hills are very steep, which make you tired by hole 3. As if being possibly +3 by then isn't bad enough. No pro pads, because basically every pad is the pro pad. This course has serious bite to it.
Other Thoughts: Doubles course record is -11. I know that because me and a local pro shot -9 and we asked the designer about it. That was a ridiculously good day. We have a saying here, "After playing Bigbee 1, don't let it get to your ego. After playing Bigbee 2,.....don't let it get to your ego." You're bound to shoot really well at 1. But don't get a big head going to 2 because the game notices that, and the game will not be good to you. The best pros have horrible days at 2. But don't let it get you down. Learn from it. The #2 course in the Tupelo area. Only one better (and tougher if you can believe it) is Trace Gold.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem

2-4    11/2/2013   2/2/2014
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first time I played this course, my buddy and I had no idea what to expect. After playing the first course, we were not expecting what we got. The shock value on the first hole alone is a plus( A straight uphill shot)

The ravines make this course a very high risk/reward for essentially every shot, making it a very mentally grueling course.

Length is great, but more importantly, shot selection is key because an arrant throw will cost you more than one stroke due to the dense woods.

There are not a lot of filler holes at this course, it seems like every single hole is a challenge, and a little different.

The "hell hole" is the definition of a signature hole. It goes up hill for several hundred feet, then a throw across a deep ravine to a basket elevated on another hill... It is simple breathtaking.
Cons: Some of the tees are on a road, although the road is lightly used it is still a pain

Not easy to find the course from bigbee one if you are a first timer at the park
Other Thoughts: This course could be dropped into the middle of Charlotte, and it would fit right in with the likes of all those legendary courses there, seriously. If this course was located somewhere else in the nation, a lot of people would be buzzing about it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tom and His Big Bee

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 714  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs have Hole #, Par, Distance and a map in an architectural style on a yellow painted post which helps navigation.
2) Distance variation on this course is much greater than on Course #1. These range from 100's to 400's with everything in between. Some holes are tight wooded fairways, and some are slightly more open, but all in all they play very differently.
3) DGA baskets are newer and have PVC risers to help assist you in finding the basket. There are quite a few blind shots too so it definitely helps.
4) Some of the holes have carpeted tees and some have concrete tees.
5) There are some garbage cans in a few places and benches are plentiful to allow you to sit down when needed.
6) Talk about a change of pace from Tombigbee #1 . . . this course is a whole lot of up and down and extreme elevation changes. There are often times where you go up and down on one hole, some ever go up, down, then up again.
7) Not only is this course way more challenging than Course #1, it is also more fun . . . and aggravating. It is simply put a well designed course with all sorts of challenge and a whole lot of fun throws.
8) I can only refer to the most interesting feature on the course as ravines and ridges. You play along the ridges at times which allows your disc to slide down into the ravines on tree hits or errant throws. I have played courses like this in Kentucky before, but not so densely wooded! This is just sadistic and I LOVE IT.
9) While others might say this is a con, I think the fact that this course gives you a workout is great! Disc golf is typically a simple walk, but this is truly an athletic event.
10) Enjoyable to have some legitimate Par 4's in the woods. I enjoy having all sorts of shots required including upshots, second drives, recovery shots, and putts.
11) Lots of risk/reward on this course due to elevation changes and the tree kicks.
Cons: 1) There are a few safety issues on this course. Some come from the walks on the hills and some come from the proximity of a couple of tees and baskets. It is as much of an issue that discs can easily go down a sidehill and end up on other holes without even knowing it was possible. The dropping elevation is to blame and while it may not happen often, it is still possible.
2) This course is a really tough walk . . . be prepared. I cannot say it affects my rating but it is worth mentioning for those not in great shape or with poor footwear. I am not in the greatest shape but I am used to playing disc golf all the time. Besides I will do anything for good disc golf.
3) Erosion is an issue on this course too . . . almost impossible to keep it from happening without removing the disc golf . . . and even then the slopes and ravines will continue to erode.
4) I will reiterate that I wish the DGA baskets had some powder coating done on them to make them more visible in the woods.
5) This course is far from beginner friendly but it doesn't pretend to be anything but challenging. Play #1 is you want a Recreational fun course.
Other Thoughts: This is the Advanced course at Tombigbee. It is so much harder than #1 but equally fun and scenic. There are a ton of ridges and ravines throughout this section of the park and you play up and own and along the ridges the whole time. Have fun, but try hard to keep your disc in the fairway. Try to avoid your disc kicking down those ravines, not only will it cause you to have to throw a great recovery shot, it will be a long walk down and back up and fatigue you even more so you are less prepared for your next shot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

First time thoughts.

1    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: KNIGHT
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tees, some carpeted some concrete.
Trash cans and the course flows nicely and its not to hard to find your way around even if you cant see the basket for the elevation changes TDGA has added white poles to the top of most of the holes that you can not see the basket.
Cons: The sharp elevation is fun to play but tiring. I would have brought some extra water if i would have known the walk would be that stagering.
Other Thoughts: Byfar one of the hardest courses I have played to date. Tough, challenging, but still fun.
Overall nice course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2012 SNDC

1    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and signs pointing to the next tee. A previous reviewer commented about it needing tee signs with layouts; well those have been added now.

The course uses tremendous elevation changes to create a unique challenge. There is a good mix of shot types and distances required.

There are lots of benches and trash cans from what I remember.

The fairways are clearly defined and the flow of the course is very good. The baskets and tees were in good shape. Many baskets have a white pole sticking from the top to help you see them from over the hill tops.
Cons: Parking at Tombigbee2 is limited. If you park at the first course where parking is more ample, you must walk a long ways to the second course.
Other Thoughts: The course is long, challenging, and fun. I had a blast playing it.

The park has plenty of camping, cabins, another course, a play ground, pavilions, nice restrooms, and a lake.

Some tees were carpet while others concrete.

I can't explain how dramatic the elevation is. Your jaw might drop at first sight of some these hills. Bring knobby shoes or cleats to help get traction.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged finesse

1    12/23/2011   12/24/2011
Review By: 7ontheline
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an advanced course requiring a combination of finesse, power, and endurance. I was happily surpised to find sheer ridges, deep ravines, water, and distance throughout this wooded Course. It was fun and challenging for this Adv. Master so I'll give it 5 discs to offset another's 2 disc rating.

Course # 2 > Course #1 IMO... a solid 3.5+
Other Thoughts: A spotter would be nice.

Revised my original rating to 4.0. Course was a lot of fun and I would highly recommend it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a challenge!

1    5/8/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: jcburton24
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pro caliber course that will test every aspect of your game. A bad shot and you will be punished severely. Make good fairway shots and it is rewarding. Some of the craziest elevation shots you could imagine. Great use of the land. There were tee markers on each hole marking the par and distances. There were also nice benches and trashcans throughout. Believe me you will get use of those benches.
Cons: My biggest con would have to be the mach baskets. They are too hard to see in the woods on a course like this, especially when a bunch of the tee shots are blind. Wasn't so crazy about backtracking on a couple of holes to get to the next tee. A couple of the tees could also use a little more work.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is not for an amateur player. Requires precision shot placement and a bad throw can send you down some nasty hills. This course will physically and mentally wear you down. The walk goes up and down some monstrous hills. I loved it. This is an awesome course that will eat you up and spit you out. Thank God I had a really good round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare for hiking

2-4    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A real challenge. The course offers no forgiveness for errant throws. All holes require excellent shot placement, including planning a second shot as an approach, which few other courses offer.
Cons: One thing that would really improve this course, because you cannot see most of the baskets from the tess, would be layouts on the signs and arrows or distance markers on the fairways. If you are not familiar and don't have a guide or map, you may get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course was primarily constructed along a series of ridges through the woods. You will be hiking at least a mile with significantly steep uphill and downhill climbs. Placing a throw too long, short, left, right, or off a tree, you may find yourself in a deep gulley. This course is a disc eater - throw BRIGHT discs if you think you may stray. If it's wet, the hills will be very slippery. If you're a pro who wants to play a serious course, this could be the one you want.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/6/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and Wooded, Par 60.
Built to throw drivers in the woods.
Accuracy is a MUST
Cons: Long and Wooded, Par 60.
Built to throw drivers in the woods.
Survival of the fittest!!
Other Thoughts: Long and Wooded, Par 60.
Built to throw drivers in the woods.
Throw a bright disc, easier to find.
Don't hit many trees and you will score in the 60's

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.