Azusa, CA 
Northside Park Share
Uploaded By: mikelimas61  



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Northside

5+    8/3/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: T_Birdman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 42.7 Years
Pros: Easy access, good parking, seldom crowded, great for beginners and family outings, close by (For me anyway!), folks pick up their dogs poop!
Cons: Small park layout but not a bad practice course.
Other Thoughts: When my friend and I take our kids, we all refer to Northside as the "Feel-good" course. Have met many great people to join up with and the atmosphere is extremely friendly!

 New Baskets

1    2/24/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: brettjoel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Northside Park Disc Golf Facebook page and the City of Azusa partnered on the purchase and installation of new Mach III baskets. New and alternate basket locations have been added. A practice basket has been added. A to Z liquor, located only a few blocks from the course is selling Disc Golf supplies. Also don't forget Discovering the World, located in Fullerton, sells anything a disc golfer could think of.

There are plenty of great lines and further improvements to come to the park. It is a great course to bring children to learn the game. Most non-golfers understand the park is mostly used by disc golfers.
Cons: This course is not for long arms. It's great for up shots, putting, and practicing specific lines.
Other Thoughts: I put a 4.0 rating based on the fact the course is really well maintained for a short city course. The course has new baskets, alternate basket locations, new and plentiful signage (thank you Diego), bathroom facilities, water fountains, local disc shop, a course specific and a landscaping program.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Small course in a small park

2-4    11/26/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short but cute neighborhood course in a nice area. Great course for first time players and children. Bring the family.

It is a very small course in a very small area. Design is appropriate given the small space. Seems to bring the limited trees and terrain into play for newer players.

The park has a lot of nice signage and there are signs on every tee. The number plates on the most baskets have nice custom graphics.

Since it is so small and compact it is easy to get in a few rounds. When I played, there were walkers and a only few other people in the park.

No problems using a cart or stroller here.

There are longer local layouts I did not get to play. If there are no other folks on the course, alternate layouts would provide better challenge for experienced players.

Fully equipped restrooms are next to parking area.




Cons: The holes are short and it the regular layout would not be worth the drive.

Would be difficult to play with any more walkers or park users.

Not easy to follow on first time if you don't have a map or local player.

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this cute little neighborhood park. It was in a nice area. I felt safe playing alone.

The regular nine hole layout is not really worth a drive from anywhere. However, if you are already in the area, stop by for a quick round and add another course to your "Played" list.

I rated this course by comparing it to other nine hole courses I have played in small neighborhood parks.

Even though it is nothing special, I do plan to go back to play the longer layouts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice for First time

5+    10/5/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: to find. Flat and no hiking. In the middle of a small park. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Very short. This is only because of the small amount of land to work with.
Other Thoughts: Great for when i take some one for thier first time or for a family!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees
easy walking
Cons: some of the tees are rite next to the street
not very aesthetically pleasing
we were very confused as to which hole was next, maybe were just dumb.
crowded
Other Thoughts: Wasnt the nicest park ive been to. it was packed with people. the street was rite next to it...needless to say i dont think we are going back to this park. probably the worst of the 5 or 6 courses ive been to

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  SoCal DG @ itz best!

5+    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: DG4LFE
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park setting with green grass and shady trees.
Cons: Short but sweet...read on...
Other Thoughts: I'll start out by saying hole number 9 in Apothecary's pics directs you to the incorrect basket. In the pic, it's the closer basket just right of the 2nd large tree (pic points to basket 2). Next, I'm going to provide instructions for the four other courses that have been created at Northside Park. They are called the Sidewalk, Gorilla, Progressive and Executive Courses. You must know which baskets are which and the tee pad numbers from the Original Course in order to figure out these other courses. We'll start with the Sidewalk Course since I use some of these tee pads in the course I designed, the Executive.

The Sidewalk Course uses the same baskets as the Original Course, the tees are the only change. Tee 1 is in the parking lot, next to the s/e tennis court fence corner. You will see a striped out parking space and a 1 painted on a stripe at the top, tee off behind this. An alternate tee pad for 1 (if kids are on the playground) is located in the ball golf course. Shimmy thru the hole in the fence behind Original tee pad 1; the tee pad is on the hill at your 1 o'clock by the pine tree. You will see a small opening to shoot through the pine trees that line the fence between the ball g.c. and disc g.c. The rest of the tee's are located on the sidewalk/walking path with exception to #8. They give a little extra length to the holes, so just look accordingly on the sidewalk for the tee numbers and a couple upside down 'L' shapes to indicate the tee pad. The tee for 3 is on the sidewalk southwest of the original tee pad for 3 and it's been sandblasted so it can be a little hard to find. As far as tee pad 8, it's a few paces behind the actual tee pad for 8…use the big tree as your reference. Tee pad: in the grass, the big tree will be on your right so you're teeing off about 10 feet south the tree.

So that lays the groundwork for the other courses. On the rest of these courses I'm just going to give you the tee pad numbers and what basket to shoot to…got it?

Gorilla Course (also called the back 9)

1. 1 to 8
2. 3 to 6
3. 8 to 5 (tee off from either side of sign post)
4. 6 to 3
5. 8 to 1
6. 2 to 7
7. 9 to 4
8. 5 to 3
9. 8 to 9

Progressive Course (also called Numbers; easy to remember)

1. 1 to 2
2. 3 to 4
3. 5 to 6
4. 7 to 8
5. 9 to 1
6. 2 to 3
7. 4 to 5
8. 6 to 7
9. 8 to 9

Executive Course (s/w=Sidewalk Course tee pad; contains three par 4's that some of the long armed locals like to play as par 3)

1. 1 to 9
2. s/w 3 to 7 (mandy left of the park sign; to keep frolfers from hitting sidewalk users)
3. s/w 9 to 4
4. s/w 5 to 8
5. 2 to 3
6. s/w 4 to 5 - 490' - par 4
7. 6 to 1 - 592' - par 4
8. s/w 2 to 7
9. 7 to 2 - 425' - par 4

**Update: here are some other courses that we've been playing:

Green monster
1. 1 to 3
2. 4 to 2
3. s/w 3 to 7
4. s/w 9 to 5
5. s/w 6 to 4
6. 5 to 8
7. 2 to 6
8. 7 to 1
9. s/w 2 to 9

Reverse numbers:
1. 1 to 9
2. 2 to 8
3. 3 to 7
4. 4 to 6
5. 5 to 5
6. 6 to 4
7. 7 to 3
8. 8 to 2
9. 9 to 1

Also some hybrid courses have popped up. Use the sidewalk tees instead of whatever the normal tee pad would be and either shoot the Gorilla or Progressive. Enjoy ;)

--->Edit: Came up with a new course to test how long you think you are. These are all par 3's and will challenge even the longest arms. Only a couple are birdable and most are very difficult to par. Cheers!

Alt sixes (aka Bomber; aka Manly)

1. 1 to 4
2. *alt s/w 6 to 8
3. 9 to 5
4. s/w 7 to 1
5. 3 to 4
6. s/w 5 to 2
7. s/w 3 to 1
8. s/w 2 to 4
9. *alt s/w 6 to 1

*the alternate s/w 6 tee pad is located at the North Eastern end of the park. It was originally placed there by Dave as an alternate tee pad for #6 on the Sidewalk Course (which he designed).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, flat and dangerous

1    8/16/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small city park with nicely groomed grass. The park is well maintained, and free of trash and vandalism. The tee signs and baskets are in good shape, and there is decent concrete to throw from on all holes, and a nice course map by the parking lot. The design makes good use of the trees available in the park to force some different shot shapes and keep it from being completely wide open.
Cons: This is an extremely poor design from a safety standpoint. Many fairways cross and play right next to each other, a couple holes throw directly over other tees, and two holes literally throw directly at each other for almost their entire length. On top of this, locals play other layouts, so there are even more discs crossing fairways from unexpected directions. When we played there were a couple large groups playing, and that makes the course really slow as you have to spend a lot of time waiting for them to clear the crossing fairways.

The course is short, with no holes over 250' and some well under 200'. Despite the trees, the shots have very generous lines and no punishment for errant shots, so it's a very easy course.
Other Thoughts: This is one that I would only recommend if you're in the area and want to check it off your list. The holes are appropriate for beginners, but unfortunately the poor design makes it even more dangerous with newer players who have less control. More experienced players won't find any challenges here, even playing with just a putter.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice small, tight course

2-4    8/13/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: 65volks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice maintained course.Basket placement is good. Nice quiet neighborhood. We wer the only ones playing on a friday morning.
Cons: Park is small. Hole 7 is a little to close to the tee. Baskets seem to be a little on the small side and tend to spit the disc out.
Other Thoughts: I took my wife Nina with me and she really enjoyed the course. It is perfect for someone learning to play or just to practice your technique.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Texan appreciates So Cal course

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: MacGyver214
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautifully situated below the mountains. Perfectly manicured little park & course.
Quick play - takes 15-30 minutes to play.
A recommended place to introduce disc golf to someone. Great warm-up for serious players even though you can't really unload drives here (hence shorter tee pads).
Cons: Walking track around the course - beware of errant throws. Overlapping and uncomfortably close fairways on a few holes. It did take me a few seconds to orient myself to the baskets, primarily hole 4, but the tees give good general direction.
Other Thoughts: Never saw a little course look so professional! A nice jewel for the locals! The wind does make for challenging putts if the drive isn't spot on.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creative holes on a small amount of land.

2-4    3/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • The course designers did a good job of using, at least, one key obstacle on each hole that keeps the course from being a wide-open pitch and putt.
• Good for players working on their approach game and learners.
• Terrain is flat and easy to walk through.
• Lots of opportunities to create your own safari course
Cons: • Very short. This is only because of the small amount of land to work with.
• Lots of non-golfers on adjacent walking paths. They did seem to understand what was going on though and didn't blindly walk through fairways.
• Some tee-signs were outdated and did not reflect new pin placements or if they were updated the signs didn't clearly show where the basket was. The close proximity of all the fairways did make this a problem on my first visit.
Other Thoughts: While this isn't a destination course there was thought put into Northside. It's a decent little neighborhood park and I hope it gets new players to crave more.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.