Azusa, CA 
Northside Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 236ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Small course in a small park

2-4    11/26/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short but cute neighborhood course in a nice area. Great course for first time players and children. Bring the family.

It is a very small course in a very small area. Design is appropriate given the small space. Seems to bring the limited trees and terrain into play for newer players.

The park has a lot of nice signage and there are signs on every tee. The number plates on the most baskets have nice custom graphics.

Since it is so small and compact it is easy to get in a few rounds. When I played, there were walkers and a only few other people in the park.

No problems using a cart or stroller here.

There are longer local layouts I did not get to play. If there are no other folks on the course, alternate layouts would provide better challenge for experienced players.

Fully equipped restrooms are next to parking area.




Cons: The holes are short and it the regular layout would not be worth the drive.

Would be difficult to play with any more walkers or park users.

Not easy to follow on first time if you don't have a map or local player.

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this cute little neighborhood park. It was in a nice area. I felt safe playing alone.

The regular nine hole layout is not really worth a drive from anywhere. However, if you are already in the area, stop by for a quick round and add another course to your "Played" list.

I rated this course by comparing it to other nine hole courses I have played in small neighborhood parks.

Even though it is nothing special, I do plan to go back to play the longer layouts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice for First time

5+    10/5/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: to find. Flat and no hiking. In the middle of a small park. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Very short. This is only because of the small amount of land to work with.
Other Thoughts: Great for when i take some one for thier first time or for a family!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice small, tight course

2-4    8/13/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: 65volks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice maintained course.Basket placement is good. Nice quiet neighborhood. We wer the only ones playing on a friday morning.
Cons: Park is small. Hole 7 is a little to close to the tee. Baskets seem to be a little on the small side and tend to spit the disc out.
Other Thoughts: I took my wife Nina with me and she really enjoyed the course. It is perfect for someone learning to play or just to practice your technique.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Creative holes on a small amount of land.

2-4    3/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course designers did a good job of using, at least, one key obstacle on each hole that keeps the course from being a wide-open pitch and putt.
Good for players working on their approach game and learners.
Terrain is flat and easy to walk through.
Lots of opportunities to create your own safari course
Cons: Very short. This is only because of the small amount of land to work with.
Lots of non-golfers on adjacent walking paths. They did seem to understand what was going on though and didn't blindly walk through fairways.
Some tee-signs were outdated and did not reflect new pin placements or if they were updated the signs didn't clearly show where the basket was. The close proximity of all the fairways did make this a problem on my first visit.
Other Thoughts: While this isn't a destination course there was thought put into Northside. It's a decent little neighborhood park and I hope it gets new players to crave more.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One Clean, Safe DG Course

2-4    2/13/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Fun tee signs that have random little hole-specific strategy blurbs on them (albeit no hole map or directions to next tee)
-Interesting use of the trees on the land. Each hole makes significant use of at least one tree, whether it's eliminating a hyzer line or giving golfers a low ceiling to work with. The trees make this course.
-Extremely quiet, clean park. The locals set up camp near hole 1 and leave their stuff there as they play. It is always visible with the flat layout of the park and gives the course a very sheltered vibe.
-Course is DG exclusive, but underused. Makes it a great place for mob golf and ace contests.
-Alternate tees delineated by spray paint on the "Sidewalk Course" make for a much tougher and more rewarding round. Apparently there is a "Gorilla Course" as well. Ask a local. They won't bite. ;)
Cons: -Flat flat flat. As a pancake.
-Short Short Short. Longest hole is something like 250'. The rest are between 105' and 220'.
-A couple crossover shots could lead to safety issues.
-Baskets are on the shallow side. Aim for the pole!
-Tricky to navigate to. We got a little lost from the bad google directions it spat out and then spent about ten minutes trying to find the 210. One way streets suck.
-I could see some shanks going into the back yards of some of the houses next to the course. The way the course is set up, though, makes it a pretty slim possibility.
Other Thoughts: This is a quiet, shady beginner course in Azusa. While my biggest complaint about the course is the flat terrain, the alternative tees in particular use the trees to shape some fun lines. The place is as spotless a course as I have reviewed. The locals must really cherish the place. They sure seemed at home, helping us noobs navigate and giving us the scoop about the two alternate course layouts. I won't be rushing back, but I would like to make it back there at some point and try to line up a game shooting the longest configuration.

Great course to learn at and something for the more seasoned golfer as well. :)

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.