Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #15 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Redesigned Classic!

2-4    11/4/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Iroquois DGC in Louisville is obviously a popular 18 hole course, because the last time I visited, I had to hopscotch around the crowds on an early Tuesday afternoon (!), in order to complete my road trip. This has positives in that you'll always find a well-weathered path to the next tee. Combine that with the map on here, and first timers can't get lost. Based on the old tee pads strewn here and there, it's clearly an established course that has undergone some changes over the years.

The course has huge, level, flush concrete tee pads (long and short on 1/3rd of the holes), and a mix of older, but quality baskets (I saw 24 chain DGA, and the old triple chained spiderweb type with the deep baskets). They have number plates for clarity. With the additional long tees, there's plenty of opportunity for the bigger arms to air out a few, and the shorter tees usually put some deuces in range for Rec to Intermediate arms. Half the holes play fairly level and decently open, while the other half play amongst the trees (and sometimes fairly tightly so!) in the more hilly, southwestern end of the course. There is a marshy pond area and an actual pond in play on two of the opening holes. There's even a ridgetop green to hit on hole 16 that will test your mettle. Tons of parking add to the fact that the disc golf course has its own space (for the most part) in this huge nature preserve setting to make this an ideal setup for our sport.
Cons: While there are lines of flight shaping in both directions, the preferred lines (especially in the flat areas, when considering the mandos and sidewalk, if used as OB) tend to favor RHBH throws off the tee. There is some potential conflict with folks walking the paths alongside holes 1,3,17 & 18. And the 'proper' flight line to the 4th basket could easily see hyzers coming in fast on the 5th tee.

The signs are nice, but don't always match up in distance with the map on here. And the map shows a practice hole, which isn't there right now. Knowing they hold some tournaments here, I thought it worth noting that the course design doesn't loop back to parking, meaning there might be a bit of a walk for shotgun starters to get out to, say, hole 13!
Other Thoughts: Having visited here twice over a 20 month span, and both times during less than perfect seasons/weather, I was impressed with how much play this course gets. It's clearly the closest good course for a large group of disc golf addicts (like me!) in Louisville, and combines with the other quality courses (Charlie Vettiner, Seviren Lang, and now Coyote Trace…plus a set of courses near Ft. Knox) to make the Louisville area worthy of consideration for your next DG road trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course, quick play

1    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: revans1009
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It plays short. Which is perfect if you don't have a ton of time. I've played many other par 3s that are way spread out in comparison. This was actually refreshing for a change of pace.

"Next" w/arrow at many baskets helps navigating which is welcome for first timers. I wish other courses had such good markings.

It was "fun". That's as simple a way to put it. Nice balance of open versus tight wooded holes. Just simple, fun.
Cons: Several tee boxes were missing the hole layouts which would be a big problem for a first-time outing. Thankfully I met a local early on and we walked the course together.

Swampy due to seasonal change. Definitely not as serene as others I've played as surroundings and park itself are very busy. This is what you make of it and personally didn't bother me.

I believe it was 14 where a very large black snake (non-venomous) crossed the path about 20 ft from the tee box. I personally love this as I enjoy all wildlife and got a picture on my phone for my daughter.
Other Thoughts: I am a PA native and we are out here visiting my wife's family. It was nice to meet another solo player and do a round together. I am heading back to play again in 2 days. Thoroughly enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    3/20/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: Will Burke
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with tons of oppurtunities for birdies.
Probably the nicest teepads I've ever played on.
The computer says I need a more descriptive review.
Cons: A little repetitive in the front 9.
Also can get pretty swampy.
Other Thoughts: Good for a quick round or two.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A very fun challenge,for my noodle arm.

1    8/8/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Expanded Eco-Friendly Parking Lot. Meaning it's designed for rain to run into the center,planted with cat tails,to catch oil run-off. Any over flow is then directed to a "pond". This pond comes into play on the first few holes. Rarely will this be holding water? (I'm not a local I don't know if this is a flood area) Large 5'x12' concrete tee pads with Amateur tees on #1,4,6,9,14,17. First 5 holes are flat and mostly open,great for warming up my noodle arm,baskets are surrounded by trees. #6 is over the water,atleast the pro tee. Then head into the woods with rolling terrian that has all types of hole designs. Fairly open to tight,Hyzers,Anyzers,Multiple flight paths on a few holes. Roll-A-Way greens.
Cons: Perm. Tee signs are needed. #1 needs concrete tee(s). Bulletin board would be nice. Needs mulch in areas for erosion control.
Other Thoughts: On the date I played,8/8, the "cons" list could be fixed by now. After playing a round with Allstars club member David,he informed me that the course was only 25% finished. Overall I believe the course was farther along than that,but he knows better than me. I'm looking forward to playing here again,next summer,when everything should be finished. As we played,I took the pictures posted,talked about how the course was being played to the point that the new fairways already are showing erosion problems. I hope the club uses this fact to show the Parks Dept. The need for more courses. Pro length is equal to Vettiner's Amatuer tees. If you feel like playing a course with more wooded,tougher (narrow fairways) holes than Vettiner than this course is for you.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would like to begin my review by giving two thumbs up to all involved in the redesign of this course. In my opinion, the new design helps to bring the course up to a more modern and challenging layout while still retaining some of the similar characteristics of the original Iroquois disc golf course. The new design utilizes more of the natural resources of the land to create a more technical, visually appealing layout which plays several strokes higher than the original design.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: MachIII baskets are in good shape, single placement per hole.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate length on all holes. Am pads are located on 1, 4, 6, 9, 14 and 18.
-Tee signs: Present on all tee boxes, the signs show hole layout, distance and direction to the next tee.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Par: 55
-Length: Pro, 5411ft (300ft/hole avg); Am, 4863ft (270ft/hole avg).
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate throughout the course
-Fairway Variety: Right to left (7), Straight (6), Left to right (3), Split lines (2)
-Hazards: Water on 1, 2, 5, 6, 7; Road/Walking Trail plays O.B. on several holes.
-Practice Hole: A practice basket located near the first hole allows ample room throwing short to mid-range approach shots and long putts. Nice feature.

Iroquois offers a smooth, flowing layout that is comprised of a continuous loop from start to finish (hole 9 does not end near the parking area) and is straight-forward and simple to navigate. The fairways are clean and well-defined with no crossing fairways or danger zones. Maintenance seems to be very good with little to no excess foliage to contend with on the course. There is a great mix between open holes, technical holes, and semi-technical holes. The first 5 holes in general are relatively open with few obstacles to contend with. Holes 1 and 2 are listed as having water hazards, but the time that I played the course, there was no water present. It does look like an area has been created for a small pond in this area. It will be nice to see the pond fully functional as it will greatly increase the aesthetics and challenge of the opening holes.

The course begins to take on more character as you approach the tee for hole 6. From this point on, the course becomes progressively more technical and challenging. The minimum to moderate elevations are used to create a nice variety in uphill/downhill fairways. Pin placements located near some steeper elevations on a few key holes on the back nine employ great risk/reward strategies. I feel like the overall challenge and aesthetics of the course have been greatly improved with the new design.

Nice improvements and upgrades unique to the new layout:
-Mulch around the tees add great appeal and help to eliminate the very sloppy conditions around the tee areas when the course is wet.
-The addition of Am tee pads helps to preserve the simplistic nature of the original layout for newer and less experienced players.
-The use of the wooded areas (10-16) provide a more technical and challenging layout.
-The existing pond is better utilized and much more in play i/n the new layout

Epic Holes:
-Hole 6: I love this hole! Relatively simple right to left shot around 340ft in length, but offers great visual appeal. The tee shot requires enough height to clear a row of mature trees on the far edge of the pond, once you clear these hazards, there is a large, safe landing area making for a simple putt and good chance for a deuce.

-Hole 9: The only par 4 on the course. The tee shot starts in the open field and requires a left to right shot into some thick trees a couple hundred feet off the box. Nice, challenging layout.

-Hole 11: A simple hole with a split fairway design. I really like the fact that you have 2 defined semi-technical routes to chose from, nice use of the trees.

-Hole 12: A sweeping right to left fairway with an increasing downhill slope. Very tight line off the tee, but with good distance control and the right amount of hyzer, the disc will ride the slope right under the basket.

-Hole 14: Deemed the Tiger Woods hole. This hole has a straight, narrow fairway and plays just over 370ft. A fantastic hole that will only be deuced by the most skilled players, or a good amount of luck from the less experienced players. The fairway is roughly 15-20ft wide the entire length of the hole with trees and slopes on either side.

-Hole 16: Very short hole at under 200ft, but the pin is placed on top of a severe elevation. You can throw a little short and have and easy deuce, but go for this pin and you could turn an easy 2 or 3 into a 4 or worse.
Cons:
-Missing signs/info: At the time I played the course, there were a couple of missing signs, and some of the signs with missing information (distance,etc.) This may have been corrected by now, but wanted to mention it.
-Some areas of the course tend to hold water and can be a little difficult to navigate after a heavy rain.
-Walking Trail/Road comes into play on several holes. This park is VERY busy so be aware of whats going on around you before you throw.
-Work in progress: There is still construction going on in the park and on the course. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the new design was well thought out and well executed. The original layout was your classic semi-technical par54 layout that was fun to play, but relatively simple by today's standards. The new layout provides a longer, more technical par55 layout that requires better execution and more creative shot-making to score well. It is still a work in progress, but it is evident that the hard work and effort that has been put into the new layout has yielded positive changes to the course. It's good to see the Louisville area with 2 great courses to choose from, great job on the new course!!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 3.5 for the AllStars

5+    7/30/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout of Iroquois Park offers variety and challenge, incorporating left, right and arrow straight shots. Utilizing distance, obstacle, OB and elevation there's a good mix of open to very technical holes. Plentiful birdie ops throughout with a few very challenging holes: #9 (hyzer flip? forehand flick? roller?) and #14 (372' arrow straight with narrow 8'-10' treelined fairway and steep slopes to the left) are the standouts. #16, the "nipple" shot, is a particularly fun challenge: layup for the 2, risking steep slope behind the basket, or run for the 1 risking steep uphill putt? Fun for all skill levels!
The course is well maintained; clearly marked and easily followed. The concrete tees are excellent (long and wide, non skid) with good signs and benches throughout.
Cons: The first 8 holes are but hyzers with mainly distance and walking-path OB as challenge. Birdie ops every time for advanced players. A few strategically placed trees amidst the first 4 holes would increase the challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course needed the redesign, especially in the shadow of Charlie Vettiner across town. The AllStars did a good job though, and I'll continue to enjoy this course for some time; it's certainly worthwhile. Holes 9 through 16 are what make this new Iroquois a much better course and more challenging DG experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, redesign is great!

5+    6/3/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New layout is awesome! Also it seems that course maintenance is far beyond what it has been in the past!

Great access to interstates, easy to find, and not often crowded.

All new concrete tee pads, which have plenty of length and great texture. Old baskets have been reused, but are still in pretty good shape (mixture of basket types). Fairways stay clear of one another.

Compared to the old layout, the traffic wear is almost gone, and the course utilizes a lot of the park that was previously of no benefit to anyone.

What is very nice over the old layout is how the wooded holes now really pose a serious challenge. This has gone from a 3 par only course to some holes being an honest par 4.

My memorable holes:
6 - Over the water and have to clear a line of trees going left to right, takes some big sky to clear the trees.
8 - Really cool tee, you throw out from behind fallen trees arranged like a kind of bunker. Not a complicated holes, but neat looking.
9 - The first real challenge on the course. The first 100 feet or so is open, then you go into semi-thick woods, up a hill, and the basket is on the side of the far end of the hill. A three here is good.
10 - A winding tunnel in the trees, first right, then left, if you hit the line just right you might be able to ace it..
14 - I believe they call it the "Tiger Woods" hole. Fairway is an existing path, but dead straight and just shy of 400 feet long. My hat's off to you if you can park this one. There is a fairly treacherous dropoff to the left (but manageable), and a slight slope up on the right, both with trees abounding..
16 - This is perhaps shorter than most of the short holes on the old layout. But don't let that fool you. Throw down a hill and back up an man-made mound, about 10 feet wide, and about 15 feet tall at the top. An errant throw will give you an almost vertical putt up at the pin. Talk about an elevated green!!
Cons: Not that it could really be helped, but the first 8 holes are still fairly plain, with the exception of hole 6. Not that you can help too much that half of the land you have available for designing the course is flat and open.

I list this as a con for now, but am not factoring it into my rating, but there were still no tee signs when I played last, and only the baskets were marked with the hole number. Adequate navigation with the map for now, and I'm sure it will be rectified very soon.

Unfortunately the course still plays through the field that used to be holes 16 and 17, which holds water indefinitely, and gets very nasty. At least only hole 17 plays in this area now, and does not play directly through it.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the new course is very fun, and as well laid out as it could be. I LOVE the new wooded holes, they are a great challenge. Even though the front 9 is a little slow comparatively, they are a welcome change from the original layout. I know the original Iroquois was laid out by a legend, but the new one is nice and refreshing.

One of only two courses actually in Louisville, it cannot compete with the real estate that Vettiner has to offer, but is a must play in the area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 New renovations!

2-4    3/24/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: racer93
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Newly renovated with some nice tunnel shots and good use of the available land. Wooded holes are challenging, much more so than the more open ones. "Tiger Woods" hole (#14) is the signature hole (~400' tight shot with fall away land on the L with road OB at the bottom, 20' below) and is just tough.
Cons: It's Iroquois. No matter how much you do to it, it's still old Iroquois. Lots of local yokels who will throw in on you, so watch behind you.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes add a lot to the final course. Just a great use of the resources available.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The original Louisville course...

5+    12/3/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a course that all comer's from novice/recreational to pro's will find something to like. Being a 3 decades plus aged course (Although all holes have been changed/redesigned in 2010), most of the roughage that would typically be assocated with such a woody course has been trampled down; so losing a disc is not likely. The old configuration really did not have a 'signature' hole; although this new incarnation has 2 of that variety. There is one 'nipple' hole where the basket is set on the top of a grassy knoll. It's not very long (perhaps 150 feet); however if you don't land on the fairly decent slope approaching the hole, you can end up in serious jeopardy! The guys I played with today had both dragon's (7's) & snowmen (8's). Personally I have thrown an Aerobie Arrow putter (Rarely rolls you know!) each time I play and have been able to get a bird each time; so it pays to 'lay up'; although an ace is certainly possible, if you fly by; you'll be in a pickle! Another hole reminds me of Bank Lick (Lincoln Ridge in Cincy) in that it is loooooog (especially from the pro tee 372 feet with a fairway only 10-15 feet wide the entire distance!) and narrow with a pretty good drop off to the left the entire fairway with tree's lining both sides. Plenty of nearby eateries, camping, etceteras as this course is right in the middle of the city, just about 5 miles from downtown Louisville Kentucky.
Cons: The only real con currently is that although the tee pads have all been poured, the signage is generally an 8 1/2 X 11 picture that has been laminated and nailed to a little pole (and a couple of those are already missing!); but I'm confident the club will address this issue once funding is available as everything else is looking pretty much first class.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course about once a month this year (2010); and have watched the evolution. When I played it most recently (June 23rd); I was pleasantly surprised to find all of the tee pads poured; and most nicely landscaped.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.