Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #14 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great city course

1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really fun course to play with some great hole designs in the middle part of the course. The course have a nice variety of open "field" throws, wooded tunnels, and ones in between as well as water that comes into play a few times. Hole 16 with the basket on the hill, 14 with its laser tee shot, 6 with the "over the water then the trees" tee shot, and 9 with its big uphill curve all stood out to me. The course had excellent shot variety and options.

Course was well maintained, with tee pads and signs in good shape, and made good use of the space. The course had a good layout and probably could be followed without any markers. That being said, the next tee direction was always marked.

I played this course with a group, all our first time and all advanced players, and everyone loved it. Good beginner course as well, especially if played from the shorter tees.
Cons: None of the holes here are particularly long, so the course challenge comes from the lines and course features rather than throwing a bomb. It would be nice to have at least one bear of a hole though.

New Cut Rd seems to be fairly well traveled and a couple of the holes it is possible to put a disc onto it. Walking trails go through and along the course, though it seemed that most walkers were aware of what disc golf entails.
Other Thoughts: Iroquois has multiple entrances, so it may be hard to find on first attempt. Course is by the large amphitheater (and parking lot) right off New Cut. The other entrance off New Cut will be a road that takes you up a hill almost immediately, this is the wrong one!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasently surprised

1    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I arrived at Iroquois net sure what to expect, but after finishing the course I had a lot of fun. I thought the first third of the course was not overly difficult and was a good chance to warm up your arm. You do not have to worry about hitting a line that has only a 10-15 foot window in your first 15 minutes. The wooded part of the course was very nice and added another challenge with many trees. There were no holes that felt like you had to throw down a 400 foot grocery aisle in the woods. There was a good variety, many holes had lines for both lefties and righties. Plus, the majority of the middle of the course felt dedicated to just the disc golf course. The signs were new and very helpful. There were also concrete blocks on the wooded holes pointing to the next tee, which came in handy since we played throught the group we had been following. The park was also very nice.
Cons: The beginning of the course was a little repetitive, drive, putt and many times 2nd putt, but again this is nice to warm up. The course does not have any holes, with the exception of possibly hole #9, that could be considered more than a par 3. On hole #6, I liked the layout of the hole over the pond, however there seemed to be some random trees on the shoreline. That scared me to the am tee because I have lost a disc of a riccochet on another course into a pond. The course could possibly use a little more variety involving distances.
Other Thoughts: I definately feel the positives out weigh the negatives on this course. With a lot of leaves down in the Fall, some discs were harder to find than normal in the woods, but other times of the year that would not be an issue. My favorite hole was definately #16. It is very simplistic, short, and a good chance for an ace, but it just made me smile from the tee pad. Picture the game King of the Hill, and put a pin on the top, which makes the chances of discs rolling off really high, but a lot of fun. Both courses in Louisville are worth playing, and I will be happy to play here again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch L-ville course

1    9/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is simply amazing. I never got to play the old layout, but this new one stands alone. The beginning of the course is a nice open field throw before you hit the back nine and delve into the best part of this course, the wooded and technical section. The teepads are fantastic! Navigation was easy for a first timer, and they haven't even finished the course yet. My two favorite holes were #14 and #16. I guess by the locals they are dubbed the Tiger Woods hole and the Nipple hole respectively, but to me they were the signature holes. #14's straight and narrow fairway forced my RHBH throw to slam a tomahawk through it, and it came out so-so. #16's hole is all about the pin placement. Parked on top of a hill with steep slopes on all sides of it, it's an unforgiving putting hole, and for that reason alone I love it. Louisville, you have a good course here. I haven't played Vettiner yet, but I doubt Vettiner can match the fun quality that this course has going for it.
Cons: The course still isn't completely finished yet, so there are a few places were things seem rough. Signs are not all there, there's still some clearing of trees to be removed, and the old tee pads from the previous course still linger. However still spotting the old tee pads was nice to remind myself that this was a classic course. Being only one of two courses in a HUGE city, it is crowded. People were all over the place playing. I played at 1pm on a Friday, and I can just imagine how busy it is on Sat or Sunday. Just be prepared, you will NEVER be the only one there..there will be hordes of people all around you.
Other Thoughts: I will be back to see this course again. I want to see it mature even more than what it apparently already has done. It sucks that I never got to play the old layout just so I could see how much it has changed or grown, but I left loving this course. Most of my family still lives in Louisville, so when I come back for family gatherings I now know of a place to get the hell away from them for awhile and love doing it. Haha

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

5+    6/21/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: jgraham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: BRAND NEW LAYOUT! All holes are completely different. ALOT more challenging then old iroquois. The 1st half of the course is the less challenging and can easily come out under par.. but there are a couple tricky holes in there.. #2 will soon have water in play as soon as the new pond holds water... #6 your throwin over water and on top of that you gotta get your disc over the tree line or your disc could easily hit a tree and end up in the pond. #9 is a tricky long hole that can easily add strokes to your score. The 2nd half is the more challenging with the tight wooded fairways. #14 the signature Tiger Woods hole is a 400+ perfectly straight tight fairway which is VERY unforgiving. #16 is the shortest hole BUT the pin is on top of a mound and can make even the more advanced players putting from one side of the hill to the other. Very impressed with the new layout over the old. Also the new course has 6 Amateur tee-pads for the new players or young players. ALSO all teepads are ready except #1 due to the parking lot being extended. also the pin on #18 will be moved soon as the parking lot is finished. Also temporary signs have been placed up.
Cons: a little rougher on the new players to where the older course was very forgiving..heavy traffic is also a down fall.. you can go out there on any given day and u'll see a group of 3 or more on every hole.. so you will end up waiting around a bit BUT it gives you the opportunity to meet other disc golf fans in the process of playing.
Other Thoughts: New Layout, New Pads, New Signs, New fun, BUT its still only about 25% finished. ALLSTAR disc golf club is goin all out on the new course and once finished should be very appreciated unlike how people treated the old course.. HAVE RESPECT AND THROW UR TRASH AWAY

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!

2-4    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just played Iroquois new layout this weekend for the first time, and I gotta say I love it!

Every single basket has been moved, and every tee position is new. No "recycling" going on here! Several times I stepped up to the new tee, looked at the new basket, and thought to myself "man...what a great hole!".

I think #6 might be my favorite, over the water AND over the treeline! great stuff! Several other holes unlike anything I regularly play such as the punishing "Tiger Woods" #14, or the double-bogey-possible "Nipple Hole" #16.

All in all, I'm just very impressed with the care and thought that has gone into each hole's new design. I can only think of 1 hole on the whole course that's just sort of boring, and that's #3. (...don't have much flexibility here to move the basket, but I'd like to see the tee moved farther back, perhaps just on the other side of the creek, with a window cleared out to tee off through?)
Cons: The biggest negative would be the traffic that this course gets. It's ludicrous that a city of a million people has 2 disc golf courses, but that just illustrates the level of disconnect between local government and the this community. On a pretty day, you'll often find a group on every hole, and it's generally a VERY casual type of player that you'll see. I'm talking dad and his kids playing with Wham-Os, or a group of 8 people who have 5 discs total between the lot of them.

The only other real negative I can come up with is that the new course is significantly tougher than the old layout. Now, to many people, that will be a plus rather than a minus. I think the best thing about "Old Iroquois" was that it was a nice and forgiving course for beginners and/or younger players. The new layout is less generous and could be frustrating for some players.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: as of this review, there are no signs and no teepads poured. Some holes have teepads framed with 2x4s, and they look to be nice and large. There is still heavy construction going on around the holes nearest the ampitheater.

I have to give props to Allstars Disc Golf Club for the job they've done with this restructuring. I played the old course many times just because it was in town. This new course is one that I would actually drive some distance to play. Luckily for me, it's still in town!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.