Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #17 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Wow, redesign is great!

5+    6/3/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New layout is awesome! Also it seems that course maintenance is far beyond what it has been in the past!

Great access to interstates, easy to find, and not often crowded.

All new concrete tee pads, which have plenty of length and great texture. Old baskets have been reused, but are still in pretty good shape (mixture of basket types). Fairways stay clear of one another.

Compared to the old layout, the traffic wear is almost gone, and the course utilizes a lot of the park that was previously of no benefit to anyone.

What is very nice over the old layout is how the wooded holes now really pose a serious challenge. This has gone from a 3 par only course to some holes being an honest par 4.

My memorable holes:
6 - Over the water and have to clear a line of trees going left to right, takes some big sky to clear the trees.
8 - Really cool tee, you throw out from behind fallen trees arranged like a kind of bunker. Not a complicated holes, but neat looking.
9 - The first real challenge on the course. The first 100 feet or so is open, then you go into semi-thick woods, up a hill, and the basket is on the side of the far end of the hill. A three here is good.
10 - A winding tunnel in the trees, first right, then left, if you hit the line just right you might be able to ace it..
14 - I believe they call it the "Tiger Woods" hole. Fairway is an existing path, but dead straight and just shy of 400 feet long. My hat's off to you if you can park this one. There is a fairly treacherous dropoff to the left (but manageable), and a slight slope up on the right, both with trees abounding..
16 - This is perhaps shorter than most of the short holes on the old layout. But don't let that fool you. Throw down a hill and back up an man-made mound, about 10 feet wide, and about 15 feet tall at the top. An errant throw will give you an almost vertical putt up at the pin. Talk about an elevated green!!
Cons: Not that it could really be helped, but the first 8 holes are still fairly plain, with the exception of hole 6. Not that you can help too much that half of the land you have available for designing the course is flat and open.

I list this as a con for now, but am not factoring it into my rating, but there were still no tee signs when I played last, and only the baskets were marked with the hole number. Adequate navigation with the map for now, and I'm sure it will be rectified very soon.

Unfortunately the course still plays through the field that used to be holes 16 and 17, which holds water indefinitely, and gets very nasty. At least only hole 17 plays in this area now, and does not play directly through it.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the new course is very fun, and as well laid out as it could be. I LOVE the new wooded holes, they are a great challenge. Even though the front 9 is a little slow comparatively, they are a welcome change from the original layout. I know the original Iroquois was laid out by a legend, but the new one is nice and refreshing.

One of only two courses actually in Louisville, it cannot compete with the real estate that Vettiner has to offer, but is a must play in the area.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!

2-4    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just played Iroquois new layout this weekend for the first time, and I gotta say I love it!

Every single basket has been moved, and every tee position is new. No "recycling" going on here! Several times I stepped up to the new tee, looked at the new basket, and thought to myself "man...what a great hole!".

I think #6 might be my favorite, over the water AND over the treeline! great stuff! Several other holes unlike anything I regularly play such as the punishing "Tiger Woods" #14, or the double-bogey-possible "Nipple Hole" #16.

All in all, I'm just very impressed with the care and thought that has gone into each hole's new design. I can only think of 1 hole on the whole course that's just sort of boring, and that's #3. (...don't have much flexibility here to move the basket, but I'd like to see the tee moved farther back, perhaps just on the other side of the creek, with a window cleared out to tee off through?)
Cons: The biggest negative would be the traffic that this course gets. It's ludicrous that a city of a million people has 2 disc golf courses, but that just illustrates the level of disconnect between local government and the this community. On a pretty day, you'll often find a group on every hole, and it's generally a VERY casual type of player that you'll see. I'm talking dad and his kids playing with Wham-Os, or a group of 8 people who have 5 discs total between the lot of them.

The only other real negative I can come up with is that the new course is significantly tougher than the old layout. Now, to many people, that will be a plus rather than a minus. I think the best thing about "Old Iroquois" was that it was a nice and forgiving course for beginners and/or younger players. The new layout is less generous and could be frustrating for some players.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: as of this review, there are no signs and no teepads poured. Some holes have teepads framed with 2x4s, and they look to be nice and large. There is still heavy construction going on around the holes nearest the ampitheater.

I have to give props to Allstars Disc Golf Club for the job they've done with this restructuring. I played the old course many times just because it was in town. This new course is one that I would actually drive some distance to play. Luckily for me, it's still in town!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 New renovations!

2-4    3/24/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: racer93
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Newly renovated with some nice tunnel shots and good use of the available land. Wooded holes are challenging, much more so than the more open ones. "Tiger Woods" hole (#14) is the signature hole (~400' tight shot with fall away land on the L with road OB at the bottom, 20' below) and is just tough.
Cons: It's Iroquois. No matter how much you do to it, it's still old Iroquois. Lots of local yokels who will throw in on you, so watch behind you.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes add a lot to the final course. Just a great use of the resources available.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/2/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new course at Iroquois has a lot to offer, for starters all holes have new concrete pads and new tee signs that look great. The first 4 holes play in a mostly wide open field, but sidewalk OB is in play on three of them. About a third of the holes are heavily wooded requiring a good accurate shot to do well on them. The rest of the course is partially wooded including one shot where the lake comes into play. Holes 14, 15 and 16 have very cool, tough putting greens.

There are short pads on 6 of the holes to keep it beginner friendly. Overall I think this course has something for everyone from beginner to pro.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety, only a couple holes force a turnover shot for RHBH players.

The first and last few holes play very close to or over the sidewalk. It doesn't get much traffic and it's easy to spot walkers from a distance so this isn't much of an issue.

Hole 1 is very close to the road allowing poorly thrown shots to hyzer into traffic.

While there is sidewalk OB and water on one hole, most of the first six holes are kinda uneventful. Thankfully the wooded holes are great so that helps to make up for it.

***UPDATE 10/5/10***
A few thoughts after playing a tournament here. Holes 2 and 3 are both hyzer shots with parallel fairways so you're essentially throwing at the other tee. I saw number of drives on hole 4 go right towards hole 5's tee. Walk on the road when traveling from hole 16 to 17, otherwise you'll be walking close to hole 6's basket which is a blind shot.
Other Thoughts: It's sad to see the old layout go. The course was originally designed by the father of disc golf, Steady Ed. But after about 30 years, erosion had really taken a heavy toll and lots of trees had fallen making the course a birdie fest.

The new layout is a refreshing change with some fun, challenging holes.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The original Louisville course...

5+    12/3/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a course that all comer's from novice/recreational to pro's will find something to like. Being a 3 decades plus aged course (Although all holes have been changed/redesigned in 2010), most of the roughage that would typically be assocated with such a woody course has been trampled down; so losing a disc is not likely. The old configuration really did not have a 'signature' hole; although this new incarnation has 2 of that variety. There is one 'nipple' hole where the basket is set on the top of a grassy knoll. It's not very long (perhaps 150 feet); however if you don't land on the fairly decent slope approaching the hole, you can end up in serious jeopardy! The guys I played with today had both dragon's (7's) & snowmen (8's). Personally I have thrown an Aerobie Arrow putter (Rarely rolls you know!) each time I play and have been able to get a bird each time; so it pays to 'lay up'; although an ace is certainly possible, if you fly by; you'll be in a pickle! Another hole reminds me of Bank Lick (Lincoln Ridge in Cincy) in that it is loooooog (especially from the pro tee 372 feet with a fairway only 10-15 feet wide the entire distance!) and narrow with a pretty good drop off to the left the entire fairway with tree's lining both sides. Plenty of nearby eateries, camping, etceteras as this course is right in the middle of the city, just about 5 miles from downtown Louisville Kentucky.
Cons: The only real con currently is that although the tee pads have all been poured, the signage is generally an 8 1/2 X 11 picture that has been laminated and nailed to a little pole (and a couple of those are already missing!); but I'm confident the club will address this issue once funding is available as everything else is looking pretty much first class.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course about once a month this year (2010); and have watched the evolution. When I played it most recently (June 23rd); I was pleasantly surprised to find all of the tee pads poured; and most nicely landscaped.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.