Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 384ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top notch L-ville course

1    9/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is simply amazing. I never got to play the old layout, but this new one stands alone. The beginning of the course is a nice open field throw before you hit the back nine and delve into the best part of this course, the wooded and technical section. The teepads are fantastic! Navigation was easy for a first timer, and they haven't even finished the course yet. My two favorite holes were #14 and #16. I guess by the locals they are dubbed the Tiger Woods hole and the Nipple hole respectively, but to me they were the signature holes. #14's straight and narrow fairway forced my RHBH throw to slam a tomahawk through it, and it came out so-so. #16's hole is all about the pin placement. Parked on top of a hill with steep slopes on all sides of it, it's an unforgiving putting hole, and for that reason alone I love it. Louisville, you have a good course here. I haven't played Vettiner yet, but I doubt Vettiner can match the fun quality that this course has going for it.
Cons: The course still isn't completely finished yet, so there are a few places were things seem rough. Signs are not all there, there's still some clearing of trees to be removed, and the old tee pads from the previous course still linger. However still spotting the old tee pads was nice to remind myself that this was a classic course. Being only one of two courses in a HUGE city, it is crowded. People were all over the place playing. I played at 1pm on a Friday, and I can just imagine how busy it is on Sat or Sunday. Just be prepared, you will NEVER be the only one there..there will be hordes of people all around you.
Other Thoughts: I will be back to see this course again. I want to see it mature even more than what it apparently already has done. It sucks that I never got to play the old layout just so I could see how much it has changed or grown, but I left loving this course. Most of my family still lives in Louisville, so when I come back for family gatherings I now know of a place to get the hell away from them for awhile and love doing it. Haha

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A very fun challenge,for my noodle arm.

1    8/8/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Expanded Eco-Friendly Parking Lot. Meaning it's designed for rain to run into the center,planted with cat tails,to catch oil run-off. Any over flow is then directed to a "pond". This pond comes into play on the first few holes. Rarely will this be holding water? (I'm not a local I don't know if this is a flood area) Large 5'x12' concrete tee pads with Amateur tees on #1,4,6,9,14,17. First 5 holes are flat and mostly open,great for warming up my noodle arm,baskets are surrounded by trees. #6 is over the water,atleast the pro tee. Then head into the woods with rolling terrian that has all types of hole designs. Fairly open to tight,Hyzers,Anyzers,Multiple flight paths on a few holes. Roll-A-Way greens.
Cons: Perm. Tee signs are needed. #1 needs concrete tee(s). Bulletin board would be nice. Needs mulch in areas for erosion control.
Other Thoughts: On the date I played,8/8, the "cons" list could be fixed by now. After playing a round with Allstars club member David,he informed me that the course was only 25% finished. Overall I believe the course was farther along than that,but he knows better than me. I'm looking forward to playing here again,next summer,when everything should be finished. As we played,I took the pictures posted,talked about how the course was being played to the point that the new fairways already are showing erosion problems. I hope the club uses this fact to show the Parks Dept. The need for more courses. Pro length is equal to Vettiner's Amatuer tees. If you feel like playing a course with more wooded,tougher (narrow fairways) holes than Vettiner than this course is for you.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would like to begin my review by giving two thumbs up to all involved in the redesign of this course. In my opinion, the new design helps to bring the course up to a more modern and challenging layout while still retaining some of the similar characteristics of the original Iroquois disc golf course. The new design utilizes more of the natural resources of the land to create a more technical, visually appealing layout which plays several strokes higher than the original design.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: MachIII baskets are in good shape, single placement per hole.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate length on all holes. Am pads are located on 1, 4, 6, 9, 14 and 18.
-Tee signs: Present on all tee boxes, the signs show hole layout, distance and direction to the next tee.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Par: 55
-Length: Pro, 5411ft (300ft/hole avg); Am, 4863ft (270ft/hole avg).
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate throughout the course
-Fairway Variety: Right to left (7), Straight (6), Left to right (3), Split lines (2)
-Hazards: Water on 1, 2, 5, 6, 7; Road/Walking Trail plays O.B. on several holes.
-Practice Hole: A practice basket located near the first hole allows ample room throwing short to mid-range approach shots and long putts. Nice feature.

Iroquois offers a smooth, flowing layout that is comprised of a continuous loop from start to finish (hole 9 does not end near the parking area) and is straight-forward and simple to navigate. The fairways are clean and well-defined with no crossing fairways or danger zones. Maintenance seems to be very good with little to no excess foliage to contend with on the course. There is a great mix between open holes, technical holes, and semi-technical holes. The first 5 holes in general are relatively open with few obstacles to contend with. Holes 1 and 2 are listed as having water hazards, but the time that I played the course, there was no water present. It does look like an area has been created for a small pond in this area. It will be nice to see the pond fully functional as it will greatly increase the aesthetics and challenge of the opening holes.

The course begins to take on more character as you approach the tee for hole 6. From this point on, the course becomes progressively more technical and challenging. The minimum to moderate elevations are used to create a nice variety in uphill/downhill fairways. Pin placements located near some steeper elevations on a few key holes on the back nine employ great risk/reward strategies. I feel like the overall challenge and aesthetics of the course have been greatly improved with the new design.

Nice improvements and upgrades unique to the new layout:
-Mulch around the tees add great appeal and help to eliminate the very sloppy conditions around the tee areas when the course is wet.
-The addition of Am tee pads helps to preserve the simplistic nature of the original layout for newer and less experienced players.
-The use of the wooded areas (10-16) provide a more technical and challenging layout.
-The existing pond is better utilized and much more in play i/n the new layout

Epic Holes:
-Hole 6: I love this hole! Relatively simple right to left shot around 340ft in length, but offers great visual appeal. The tee shot requires enough height to clear a row of mature trees on the far edge of the pond, once you clear these hazards, there is a large, safe landing area making for a simple putt and good chance for a deuce.

-Hole 9: The only par 4 on the course. The tee shot starts in the open field and requires a left to right shot into some thick trees a couple hundred feet off the box. Nice, challenging layout.

-Hole 11: A simple hole with a split fairway design. I really like the fact that you have 2 defined semi-technical routes to chose from, nice use of the trees.

-Hole 12: A sweeping right to left fairway with an increasing downhill slope. Very tight line off the tee, but with good distance control and the right amount of hyzer, the disc will ride the slope right under the basket.

-Hole 14: Deemed the Tiger Woods hole. This hole has a straight, narrow fairway and plays just over 370ft. A fantastic hole that will only be deuced by the most skilled players, or a good amount of luck from the less experienced players. The fairway is roughly 15-20ft wide the entire length of the hole with trees and slopes on either side.

-Hole 16: Very short hole at under 200ft, but the pin is placed on top of a severe elevation. You can throw a little short and have and easy deuce, but go for this pin and you could turn an easy 2 or 3 into a 4 or worse.
Cons:
-Missing signs/info: At the time I played the course, there were a couple of missing signs, and some of the signs with missing information (distance,etc.) This may have been corrected by now, but wanted to mention it.
-Some areas of the course tend to hold water and can be a little difficult to navigate after a heavy rain.
-Walking Trail/Road comes into play on several holes. This park is VERY busy so be aware of whats going on around you before you throw.
-Work in progress: There is still construction going on in the park and on the course. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the new design was well thought out and well executed. The original layout was your classic semi-technical par54 layout that was fun to play, but relatively simple by today's standards. The new layout provides a longer, more technical par55 layout that requires better execution and more creative shot-making to score well. It is still a work in progress, but it is evident that the hard work and effort that has been put into the new layout has yielded positive changes to the course. It's good to see the Louisville area with 2 great courses to choose from, great job on the new course!!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Come to Louisville and play the NEW IROQUOIS!

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: New design!! Much more challenging than the original layout.Some of the largest gripiest pads you will ever play on. New baskets coming soon.New Tee signs coming soon. New trees coming this fall. Great variety of shots. Scenic. Fun to play Course is only 30% finished and is already a gem!.
Cons: With so much more to accomplish and so little time its a shame. Other than that none to speak of.
Other Thoughts: If you ever played the old layout and said you would never come back, please do. The new design is a much needed improvment. The olmstead parks conservitory just put a great deal of money into this park, in conjuction with thousands of hours of voulunteer work performed by the AllStars Disc Golf club this new design is sure to be talked about once again.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 3.5 for the AllStars

5+    7/30/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout of Iroquois Park offers variety and challenge, incorporating left, right and arrow straight shots. Utilizing distance, obstacle, OB and elevation there's a good mix of open to very technical holes. Plentiful birdie ops throughout with a few very challenging holes: #9 (hyzer flip? forehand flick? roller?) and #14 (372' arrow straight with narrow 8'-10' treelined fairway and steep slopes to the left) are the standouts. #16, the "nipple" shot, is a particularly fun challenge: layup for the 2, risking steep slope behind the basket, or run for the 1 risking steep uphill putt? Fun for all skill levels!
The course is well maintained; clearly marked and easily followed. The concrete tees are excellent (long and wide, non skid) with good signs and benches throughout.
Cons: The first 8 holes are but hyzers with mainly distance and walking-path OB as challenge. Birdie ops every time for advanced players. A few strategically placed trees amidst the first 4 holes would increase the challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course needed the redesign, especially in the shadow of Charlie Vettiner across town. The AllStars did a good job though, and I'll continue to enjoy this course for some time; it's certainly worthwhile. Holes 9 through 16 are what make this new Iroquois a much better course and more challenging DG experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Sdodson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The course has holes for every type of throw.. Your starting holes start out fairly open for the time being. Is also challenging with the OB's in play. Course has a couple water holes, Open holes, and wooded holes. Course is no longer a birdie fest which is awesome. The tee-pad's here are best i have played on. They are level and dont raise up or lower.. They are nice and brushed to keep their grip in the rain. Great setup on the course something there for beginners and pros. The Tiger Woods and Nipple hole are great. Tiger with a 350'+ 15 foot fairway all the way to the pin all downhill on left side with the road OB. Nice and mulched so mud will not be an issue. The nipple hole ive seen easy 2's turn into 4's and 5's. GREAT work on the course so far ALLSTARS!!!
Cons: Course still has a lot of work ahead of it
Other Thoughts: Lovely course!!! Once we can get 18's basket in proper place and put 1's tee-pads in and trees on 1-5 it will be great. Come visit us at www.allstarsdiscgolf.com

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Love the New Course

5+    7/1/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: pluto126
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of play, love the am/pro pads on several of the holes, allows for change of pace and difficulty. Fair share of right and left handed shots.
Cons: Still under construction
Other Thoughts: Course is looking good, AllStars has done a great job in the redesign. Can't wait to see what the front 9 will be like once everything is in place.

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Funnest course in Louisville

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: jdallgeier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The brand new tees have to be the best in the state. There 12' long and 5 'wide with a heavy brush so they dont get slick in the rain. Before the Allstars adopted the park it was very difficult to play because of all the flooding ploblems that ocurred after it would rain. With the help of the Ohlmstead group and parks department the course has done a complete 180% turn around. Now you can go out right after a down pour and play with out getting your feet wet. This course is challenging for even the most seasoned of players while accommodating the unseasoned player as well. There are 6 centrally located am tees to accommodate these players. when you first start out your thinking this is going to be a duece or die course. This is until you get to hole 9. Ounce you reach this point you realize its anything but a deuce or die course. All of the suddden it becomes a par to survive course. This is my favorite part of the course because of it's peaceful surroundings and shade. Now you're just hoping to hit the wooded tunnels that lye ahead of you. Ounce you get towards the end of the wooded shots your then greeted with a 30' high by 40' wide mound that the locals nick named the Nipple hole. This hole is a deceiving 180' hole. This hole is very deucable but make one mistake and your likely to leave with a bogey. My suggestion, lay it up for a three and leave. The last two holes play beside OB while taking you back to were you parked. The course is located in the middle of town for easy location. When you play this course you feel like your on a nature walk. Simply put this course is beautiful and perfectly laid out.
Cons: Course is still under construction. Plus due to its popularity this course is full 99% of the time.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1-5 are still unfinished. There will be trees planted on these holes in the fall in order to make these holes more challenging. Although with all the OBs these holes are no walk in the park. Great job Allstars
If you would like to learn more of the great things the Allstars are planning this year go to www.allstarsdiscgolf.com

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Still under construction

5+    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: CRS620
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: This course is beginner friendly as well as being challenging enough for the pros. Iroquois has a great balance of right and left hand shots, as well as short and long. It also has the best tee pads in the state. If you want to have fun, Iroquois is the course for you.
Cons: Still under construction.
Other Thoughts: the open fields on the front nine will have trees planted this fall to line the fairways. This course is under construction and is already a great course to play. Can't wait for it to be finished.

4 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Better Than The Old

5+    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 235  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new layout provides a better challenge and a more balanced course for the most part than the old layout. The course uses the available land better and lowers the chance of having to go into the pond/wetlands. The tee pads are excellent examples for other courses to follow. Starting with hole nine a variety of shots are required to have a chance at birdie. Several holes stand out as signature type holes. Number 14 is a 370+ foot tunnel dubbed the Tiger Woods hole and number 16 is from an elevated to a basket placement on the top of a mound dubbed the nipple hole.
Cons: The first eight holes are only a slight variation on the hyzer for RHBH throwers. The only difference in these holes are the distances that you need to throw. Once construction on other parts of the park are completed, there will be restrictions on retrieving discs from the pond and wetland areas. This will be discouraging for beginners and golfers with few discs to spare. Several holes cleverly use OBs and mandos but there is no indication of a drop zone for the mandos currently.
Other Thoughts: This layout is better than the old layout with the back nine more challenging than the front. Beware of poison ivy although work is continually being performed on the course and more underbrush is cleared. Also consider bug spray for evening rounds, as that is when the bugs are the worst. Consider labeling your discs for in case you're unlucky enough to lose your disc in the wetlands/pond.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.