Mount Juliet, TN 
Mundy Park Share
Uploaded By: ironmike1378 Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 285ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quick and Fun

2-4    2/8/2014   2/11/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays quickly all 9 can be finished in 40 minutes or less. Great for those times when you want to play but can't spare much time. This course is great for anyone starting out as the shorter distances lends to improved putting and approach skills. Targets are easier to reach for players just beginning and my kids are always up to playing here.
Cons: As stated by other reviewers course has short tees but this really only applies to the longer holes as most are short enough that the tees are not a factor. Target 9 which is the last target on the couse here the placement is questionable as it really is placed in an area that could harm parked vehicles as well as park users who are non-players.
Other Thoughts: Things to make course better would be: Multiple Basket placements. Larger tees on longer holes at least.
Course breakdown:

Target 1: Chainlinked fence runs completely along right side. Anhyzer and you will likely cross it and go on to a business private property. Recently they blocked the drive with a semi trailer and when this happened I was warned to not come onto the property again. I mean really! Just picking up my disc.
I use a fairway driver here and usually make a stable enough throw to have a short putt to the target.
Hysers will leave you in the woods with an uphill approach to the target.

Target 2: Very reachable with a putter slight anhyzer can get an Ace but the wood here usually makes most settle for birdie.

Target 3: Downhill with slight anhyzer. I use a midrange here and can reach the target or have a short putt. However it is wooded and hyzers get you into a low rough area.

Target 4: Putter will do it. Single tree in middle of fairway and just in front of the target. I use a hyzer throw here and have rattled chains nearly aceing this one of several throws.

Target 5: Downhill but straight I prefer a midrange here the target is somewhat guarded by a large tree which is slightly offset to the right of your approach. You use a stable shot and get a good chance for an Ace but most usually birdie here.

Target 6: Six is likely the most technical target on this course. Small island of trees and rough inthe middle of the fairway forces a left or right throw off the tee.
A stable throw to right will get you through an opening but keeping the throw low avoids the canopy. Too much anhyzer and the disc finds a small stream which is embedded in some tough stuff.
Throw too long here and your disc can end up at the tail end of a large tile system where mud, water and rocks are plentiful.
Going left is longer but a good anhyzer here can set you up with an open throw to the target.

Target 7: Here again the use of cedars to block the way to the target is used. Midway in the middle of the fairway is a large cedar. You must again go left or right. If right too much anhyzer will put your disc in someones backyard. There is a row of large pines which could help deflect an anhyzer throw.
Throwing to the left will require a slight anhyzer but maybe a better path. Too much hyzer can cross the fence into a baseball field or land on a paved pathway. Most likely your second shot will be a reasonable putt for birdie.

Target8: Eight is an open target that is positioned just off the edge of a bottom area that runs along the entire left of the fairway. If you throw too much of a hyzer the disc will end up in the bottom of a thick rough which will require an uphill throw to recover. Right is a wide open fairway so an anhyzer throw shouldn't affect you much unless it crosses in to the baseball field or paved walking path which are way on the right. If you land short watch the approach shot because an over throw again will put you in the bottom area.
A fairway driver or even along midrange disc will work here.

Target9: The final target on this course begins open off the tee and continues to narrow as well as curve to the right around a fenced baseball field and paved walking pathway. To the left about midway and slightly uphill is the disc golf course parking lot.
Throwing a hyser could crash your disc into someones vehicle. Throw too much anhyzer and your disc could take out walkers/runner/bicyclists on the paved trail or cross over into the baseball field any of the right or left options are not a way to go. So a slight anhyzer with a fairway driver will get you close and at least set you up for the birdie.

It's a little like the putt-putt of disc golf. Just a fun course to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course to relax on

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Coast
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: As most have pointed out this is a course with very little traffic, therefore you are going to be able to take your time and enjoy each hole with multiple throws or having little need to rush.

The holes are well taken care of and it is easy to follow the signs from hole to hole. If you get off to the rough your will have a easy time locating your disc and just about as easy a time getting towards the basket with your next shot. Each hole plays very short with the exception of 1 and 7. These holes are not monsters though.

With the mix of wooded holes and open holes you won't be burned out after one round and could easily play 1-3 round in about 2 hrs.
Cons: It is a little tricky trying to find this park, but it might have been my bad planning going into Mt. Juliet. (It is right off the interstate down the road that runs parallel to the Providence shopping center. There is a sign for the park on down that road.)

Once I was there it was tricky to find the first tee from the parking lot, but if you go up to the flag pole and walk down the path to the white picket fence you will see it easily.

The first thing you notice are the small tee pads that are about 5'x3'. Its a little awkward with one's normal steps but there is room behind the pad for more of a walk up. Once you get down to the basket you'll see that they are a bit smaller than most baskets and only have one ring of chains. These chains will not necessarily grab your putter, so no banging it home.

There are some fences along a few of the holes that if you go over them it would be a pain to retrieve your disc. I would say keep it low and know how your disc will fly with your throw type (RHBH, RHFH, LHBH, LHFH)

There are a few holes that you have one ending right into the next fairway or putting area of another hole. This would actually only be a problem if there were alot of people out there and then you might have to wait around or keep an eye out for the others playing not to hit you or vice versa.
Other Thoughts: As a whole I would go back and play this course, but that is knowing what I'm going to get for the drive there.

Hole 1: dogleg left with fencing off to the right

Hole 2: short-slightly uphill curved shot to the right for a putter or a easily thrown midrange

Hole 3: downhill slight dogleg right

Hole 4: narrow fairway, shortest hole on course

Hole 5: good RHBH natural hyzer shot with minimal arm put into it

Hole 6: great hole to go over the top with a Thumber, easier I say than trying to get through the ground level opening

Hole 7: maybe most challenging hole with large coniferous trees down middle of fairway. RHFH might be easiest way but turning one over just right is a good challenge (just be careful it doesn't come out of it early or you could be in the baseball field)

Hole 8: level open shot with tree line and thick growth down left hand side

Hole 9: Careful not to get into the baseball field but keeping a sidearm low or putting your backhand our far enough can be a fun challenge to park it

I heard mention that they may try and turn this into a 18 hole course. I say put a little bit more into what is already there and it would be just as good as adding on. Maybe multiple tees from longer distances or different angles and there is always the possibility of multiple basket placements being added.

I'd recommend playing this course cause it offers something different than all the other courses around town and it is very well keep up.

 Better than nothing

5+    12/18/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You will have this course all to yourself. There are no other courses in the area that can be played through as quickly as the 9 holes at Mundy. The parks commission does a fine job of keeping the course clean and in fine shape. The over the top shot on #6 is unique to the area and the highlight of the round. The course is very new, so all of the baskets and tee pads are in excellent condition.
Cons: This course is comically short. The tee pads are just as tiny to match and the baskets are the cheapest permanent targets available. The section of land granted for a disc golf course would normally hold 4 - 5 average holes, but 9 were squeezed in. There are fences that are always locked around the baseball fields that come into play on the last 2 holes. Should a drive cross the fence, you will be fence hopping, or crawling under the 10' menace.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that there is a course in the Mt. Juliet area. It is very convenient to those of us that get dragged into shopping at the nearby Providence shopping center by our wives. If you consider that you can drop loved ones off and get in a quick 20 minute round while they are shopping, then Mundy Park is a fine addition to the area. Unfortunately, as a stand alone disc golf course, it's just not up to the standard set by other courses in Middle Tennessee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I'm on top of the mountain!!!

5+    10/5/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent signage. Never crowded. Lots of skill shots. The thorns on 6 are quite challenging. Good use of OB.
Cons: Older baskets have seen better days. Child sized tee pads make for awkward drives.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. We drive from Nashville on a regular basis and play through 3-4 times (usually about 30 min. per round with 2 people) Look forward to the day I can finish at -9... Check it out if your near the area!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This little 9 hole course is perfect for: 1) introducing the game of disc golf to people, 2) for beginner level players to work on their game in an unintimidating setting, 3) for families to get in a fun round without taking all day, 4) for experienced players looking to work on their short game and have some ace runs, and 5) getting in a quick round or two after work.

The course has concrete tees, small but all you need. It has 9 nice baskets, although they are the cheaper Instep kind. There are also nice and effective tee signs.

The real strength of this course is the hole design. There are some really fun holes out there. No two holes are the same. #7 is one of the most gorgeous holes I have seen on any disc golf course- about 280' protected by a steep grassy bank with tall pines on the right and 2 isolated pines and a creek down the middle- you can't play a wide hyzer (RHBH) or you hit the hill, you can't play a high hyzer because of the trees- this hole is challenging as well as aesthetic pleasing.

Although most of the holes are short there is still a lot of trouble on each hole you have to avoid. On hole #1 it is easy to sail your disc over the fence to a warehouse. The short wooded holes in the middle have dense rough. The thorns and creek on #6 are a place you do not want your disc to land. The outfield baseball fence comes into play on #8 and #9.
Cons: This course is very, very short and really easy for the experienced/advanced disc golfer. If I had to play here everyday I would eventually get bored.
Other Thoughts: This course is right off of I-40 in Mt. Juliet. The road to the park ends at the park (trust yourself as you pass the industrial places- it seems like you are going the wrong way down a dead end). The gravel road to get to hole #1 is IMMEDIATELY to the right as soon as you enter the park (just past the road to the warehouse). It is very easy to miss the first time you are here, as most people do. There is a small disc golf sign right at the entrance, but it is easy to miss.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 practice course

5+    4/28/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is close to my work so sometimes I go out there and play a quick nine on my lunch break. It is a short course that is really, really, really easy. There are some woods and some open holes. There are some nice benches and the tee signs are also very nice. For the small land they had to work with it is laid out decently.
Cons: This course is extremely short! I throw a putter on 5 of the 9 holes. A couple of the holes can interfer with a previous hole so be careful of other people playing as you could easily hit somone on a next pad or next fairway. The baskets are the instep cheapies and for some reason they made the catching area even smaller on then when they put them in. The tee pads are also extremely small. The longest hole is maybe 330. This is strickly a pitch and put course. I have never shot over par on this course (it really is hard to finish nine over par on this course) and a good player that gets hot could very well shot 9 under or mayber even lower with several very ace freindly holes. That is if the baskets will catch an ace.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a very small area and the holes are actually decently designed. Just the designer obviously did not know much about teepads or baskets. Lots of ace chances and lots of birdies to be had.

This is a great place for kids or beginers to learn the game. It is OK for practice or if you want to feel good about yourself by shooting really low : ). Don't go out of your way to play here though. Definately not worth any drive when you consider the other courses in this area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Juliet's 9 hole secret

5+    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: ironmike1378
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For only 9 holes this is a great course that you can play over and over.

Cudos to Mt. Juliet for keeping this course clean and maintained.

Hole 1:
Bench and trash cans
gives you the chance to rip it with a wide open area

hole 2:
trash can
nice start in the woods with ability to birdie

hole 3:
challanging straight away down hill

hole 4:
nice short range throw for birdie but will punish you if you go into the trees or over throw

hole 5:
bench
my favorite hole, thight fairway with dangers on bothsides. forces you to not mess up

hole 6:
great challange that gives you 2 directions to go on ether side of a group of trees. if you can slice your disc just right you have a shot for a birdie

hole 7:
bench
one of the hardest holes on this course. you will have to navigate around large trees that will block your view of the tee.

hole 8:
allows you to rip it (but beware not to hook it or it will go into the woods)

hole 9:
no pro about this hole other than good luck keeping it out of the ball field
Cons: First and for most is finding the entrance for the course. as soon as you drive in the main gates you will not see the 6inch sign.

All Tees are too short!

hole 1:
wind can be a problem here. if you can go straight it will be in the woods or on the other side of the fence that you will have to jump.

hole 2:
no cons here

hole 3:
could use some trimming back on the high branches

hole 4:
no cons

hole 5:
fence on the right side with barbwire. if it goes over in to back yards you will most likely not get it back

hole 6:
thick brush on right side that can be hard to find disks

hole 7:
barbwire fence again

hole 8:
wind usally is bad here

hole 9:
way to close to ball field ( almost hit a kid playing little leage )
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and beautiful course to play. great for a after work course with its short amount of time it requires. I usually play it twice if not more in one day.

Make sure to bring bug spray(ticks).

Worth the trip!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Mids/Putters

2-4    3/24/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: brattenj
Played: 286  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to follow with great signage and flow. The course starts with a 325ft hole followed by holes 2-5 which are all under 175 ft. Holes 6-9 finish up the course with a bit longer of hole but none over 275 feet. This course makes great use of the available land and will test your mid range and putter game. There are a few small streams that flow through the course but retrieval of discs is not an issue.
Cons: Two of the only cons are that the concrete tees are a bit on the short side. I realize that when holes are so short you don't necessarily need a longer tee pad but I just like the run up space. The other con is the instep baskets. These are single chain catchers and blow thrus and spit outs will be common.
Other Thoughts: I for one am glad to have this course. I have played in over 20 states and enjoy cities that have at least one real short course so that I can work on my putters and mid ranges. This course is also a great way for beginners to learn the game without the frustration of the other local courses that are much longer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short 9 Hole Couse

1    3/22/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mt. Juliet's first disc golf course is a short course with pee pads that are very small and most holes are very short. It started out very promising on hole #1 with a 327 ft hole, but went down hill from there with a bunch of less than 200 footers in the woods. They also have the cheaper baskets with 1 set of chains. There are benches, good signs and trash cans.
Cons: Can be muddy, too short but good for beginners

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.