Monroe, GA 
Criswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 9 hole lunch special

5+    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: Zhugs546
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - You have the course to yourself, giving you an opportunity to play in large groups, or to work on your putting/approach game for hours.
- You can easily finish a round in a half hour.
- A good mix of open and wooded holes
- Innova Discatcher baskets are in great shape
Cons: - Not challenging for anyone who has been playing for more than a year
- The right-hand side of the trees on hole #9 is often unplayable during baseball season due to parking overflow
- The course ends at its furthest distance from parking near hole one.
- No trail maintenance done in the woods at all. Trees are strewn across the fairways haphazardly.
- If you don't know where tee #2 is already, it will take you 15 minutes to find (from the first basket, go the opposite direction from the first tee and a bit right [think northeast relative to tee #1] into the entrance of the woods and down the railroad tie steps).
Other Thoughts: Look, this is the course closest to my house. For that reason alone, I enjoy playing here as it is the only place I can start a round at 5:30 and finish before dark during February daylight hours. Having said that, there is a bit that Walton county could do to improve this course. Criswell doesn't have enough room to facilitate 18 holes. I am appreciative of the 9 that are there.
- I would like to see holes 5 and 6 lengthened to take advantage of some surrounding woods that are underutilized.
- Stop letting horses on the fairway on 5. Often the manure blends in with the leaves and you end up with a green cake on your shoes.
- Multiple pin placements could get this up to a 3, maybe a 3.5 if other things are improved.
- Make hole 1 a 550' hole with the basket tucked into the woods near where tee #2 is now. That would be a pretty sweet signature hole for any course. Little bits of imagination like this could elevate this course to attract more than just a local like me.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Criswell

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This fun little 2360' nine hole course features a good mix of longer open shots to short, tightly wooded fairways. Hole one starts you on a 425' wide open shot but will quickly introduce you to the trees on holes two and three. Four will give you another open shot but five, six, and seven quickly puts you back in the woods for what are the most crowded fairways on the course. While crowded, they are short so a good tee shot will have you getting easy birdies but they certainly aren't granted. Eight and nine finish with what was a couple of my favorite holes on the course. Eight requires an accurate shot down a left sweeping tunnel or you can risk it on a few of the "local routes". Nine finishes on a relatively lengthy 340' shot around an island of pines with the basket tucked in some trees beyond. A few of these holes have some slight elevation changes with six and seven being the most pronounced. I think overall you'll find the course favors RHBH throwers but still leaves plenty of options for those who throw other shots as well.

It has decent natural tee pads with a couple of them being on paved walking paths which was nice. Nice tee signs with arrows and distances lead the way through a course nicely. The new DISCatchers were in perfect shape and easy to spot in the woods. A course sign with a mailbox stocked with scorecards was a nice touch. There is even a drop box to drop off lost discs. The course was maintained well. The grass was mown on the fairways without the annoying thick clippings which tell me it probably is cut often. The wooded fairways didn't have a lot of fallen limbs and is pretty much free of trip hazard stumps.
Cons: A couple of the holes still need to be broken in a little. There are some areas along the fairways that still have thorns and vines to be removed. Hole five near and to the right of the basket and hole seven behind the basket come to mind. Some selective pruning would also be helpful in an area or two. Also there are some trees that look like they fell sometime after the course was installed that block/hide the path from six's basket to seven's pad. Orange ribbon tied to trees helped blaze the trail but it's one area that could give you the hardest time finding the next pad. Hole four could use a next tee sign to point you back into the woods too.
Other Thoughts: This course could potentially be too short for pro/advanced players to thoroughly enjoy. This might also be true for the big arm players who love to throw big shots one after another. On the other hand, folks with less than average arms can compete with their long armed friends as the trees will be the equalizer.

I hope plenty of local enthusiasm for the course keeps it maintained and it continues to break in nicely. Being a wooded course fan myself, I had a great time and really enjoyed the wooded fairways. As mentioned in previous reviews, Criswell paired with nearby Matthews Park makes Monroe a good destination for a disc golf day trip. Even with a 1-1/2 hour drive I was pleased with both courses and will return again. Definitely put these on your list to play. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Criswell Park

1    9/24/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fun little 9-holer that is great for a quick round
Mix of open, tightly wooded, and semi-wooded holes
Natural tee pads are level, well defined and in good shape
Good signage, easy to follow flow without a map
Shiny new DisCatchers
Wooded fairways well defined and cleared; open hole fairway grass mowed low
Somewhat challenging considering the shortness of most holes and the available land
Clean multi use park with walking trails, baseball and equestrian
Family and beginner friendly; almost zero chance of losing a disc
Cons:
Natural tee pads, no amenities
A few NexT signs would be very helpful
Long walk back to parking lot from final basket
Probably not very challenging to the pro-level player
Other Thoughts: Great little course to get in a quick round. There is enough variety that makes this course a good candidate for practicing a variety of shots without having to invest the time and effort required with a larger course. I would not recommend making a trip just to play this course, but if you are in the area or playing the nearby Matthews Park (which is worthy of making a special trip), check out Criswell and have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 9-holer with potential for more

1    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: bk_ching
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice opening hole with lots of room for a boomer arm. Good mix of open and woodsy shots. You can be creative throwing hole #8 with a forehand throw or roller.

Nice tee signs provided by Walton Co P&C, which were relatively easy to find.
Cons: After finishing #9, it's a bit of a walk to get back to tee #1 if wanting to play another round.

In peak of baseball/softball season, lots of kids around, but none of their activities outside the ball fields interfered with the fairways. The closest would probably be the playground behind tee #4.

Fairway #9 did have several cars parked on right side, but they did not interfere with flight path (short of a major griplock). As course gets more established, I'm sure the parking situation will improve.

Still very rough in spots - Holes 2, and 5, 6, 7 in deep woods through back of woods. Lots of shule and disgarded junk to left of #2 fairway. Poison ivy around base of pin #2 (which can be dug out I'm sure) - just be careful playing the woodsy holes, still lots of P.I. around, some thorns and vines, but not any heavy underbrush.

(Great tip: A friend of mine brings rubbing alcohol with him to courses. If you get in contact with P.I., apply alcohol to spot up to 20 min after contact and skin will not rash or bubble.)

Holes 5, 6, 7 need to be cleared out more on sides, but as stated before, it is still in early stages. Once more foot traffic comes around, the terrain will get worked in nicely. But overall, the worst shule on course is on left of #2 fairway, and hopefully the junk and clutter (lots of metal and crap) will be removed sometime.

When at tee #3, I did end up also throwing to pin #4 (like somebody else who posted did earlier). Still I thought it was an interesting forehand shot, but upon my discover, I re-threw on tee #3 to the real pin #3 and put it 30 ft away (though missed putt lol).
Other Thoughts: A little bit of shule and P.I. also to wide left of pin #4, and also a low-hanging tree can interfere with an approach/putt from left of pin. Even if branches were pruned, you could get on knees and putt low. But ultimately, I think that little tree should be removed.

The way course is laid out currently, there's not much room to put alternative pins on every hole (unless in shorter positions).

I know pins are more or less in place now, but I think that if pin #3 were moved more to the right (about 70-80'), there could be at least one (maybe 2) more holes after hole #9, which would make for a better transition back to tee #1. However, I do know space is limited and safety for kids and pedestrians is of utmost concern.

I also think another hole could be 'burrowed' out adjacent to hole #2, and then maybe another one in back of woods (in direction of hole #5) where after hole, you could walk out to left and out to tee #3. It would of course involve renumbering the remaining holes, but would be worth it.

In just that back area, there can definitely be an extra 3-5 more holes (within reason). Not sure about a full 18, unless many more holes are cut out in the 'wayback' and a couple extra in the open area, but definitely can be a decent 12-14 hole course.

Finishing hole could end up closer to tee #1.

I put some of my comments/thoughts in suggestion box/mailbox right along hole #1 at parking lot. The full version of my comments are here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice 9 holer

1    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: splash_4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice, technical, 9 hole course. A couple of longs hole to start and finish and a slew of short holes in between, There is a nice mix of straight, hyzer and anhyser shots needed to score well.
Cons: On the day we went, the park was being used for a baseball tourney and a horse show. This made the parking lot extremely full and had cars parking on the fairway for the 9th hole. (so many cars in fact, that the 9th hole was unplayable and the tee sign had been knocked over by a car backing into it.

Also, if you're a RHBH player, the tee sign for 6 is right in the area of your follow through and could cause a severe injury if hit.

Other Thoughts: Once this course is cleaned up and the 9th hole tee box moved away from the activity of the ball fields, this will be a nice getaway course. There were a few folks playing on the day we were there and it made for a nice, lazy day of golf.

Many of the holes are in the neighborhood of 250-300 feet but that is not really a negative as the fairways are TIGHT but not unfair.

All in all, a nice course to play if your in the area, but I would not go out of my way to play there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shape your lines or die!

2-4    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really good variety of hole types for a 9 hole course, they very from flat and wide open to shots into old growth forest to straight up in the woods both up and down and in between.

Very quiet and clean park, we were the only ones there on a Saturday afternoon, try that in Gwinnett!!

Takes a bit of skill to score well, I would say it is the hardest 9 holer in the area by far.

Either the county or fellow golfers have addressed the "next tee" problems by fashioning arrows out of sticks and if you finish 6 just follow the pink ribbons to 7s tee.
Cons: The sign for 3 points right at 4s basket, twisting the pole would fix this.

The sign for 6 is in the way of the tee shot, if it was moved 2' to the right it would make the shot a lot more comfortable, I had to concentrate on throwing over it.

Hole 6 is a little too tight to be fair IMO. I really liked the challenge of staying on the tight fairways for 5 and I liked the way 7s basket was hidden by the large mound of dirt but 6s initial fairway was a bit silly. The first round we both par'd, the second we both 5d because we hit trees straight off the tee.

On 9 a bad shot could hit the playground...it would have to be a mega shank but it is possible.

On 1 you *could* throw onto the neighbors farm...my wife caught a nasty wind and ended up over the fence. Luckily he was cool and told her to throw me over to get it.Let's keep him cool by not trampling his fence and letting his animals out!! (it does have to be a REALLY BAD SHOT but with 20mph winds anything is possible)
Other Thoughts: We played 2 rounds here today and had a blast, there are really tight fairways on all the holes in the woods and you really have to have control to do well. A zephyr is a wonderful thing on this course and saved my butt a few times!

The course is brand new and rough around the edges but I think it will beat in like a good driver and be a great destination, especially when the county finishes the other courses they are building.

I wish this course was closer to home but it actually was worth the 45min drive to play such a new course without crowds.

Get out to Walton County and show them how much we appreciate their hard work!!

While I may have listed more cons than pros it really is a fun little course, one which I would recommend to anyone driving near.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Criswell Park

1    3/24/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Most of the course is technical in the woods. You will have to be able to shape your shots around the many trees in this area. The lines are pretty tight but there are lines available. The two open holes are also the longest holes on the course to allow you a chance to show off your arm. Hole #1 is 424 feet and hole #9 is 340 feet. There is some elevation change available, nothing overly steep but enough to add some interest. There is a walking trail that winds around the perimeter of the course but does not interfere with play. For a course that is mostly on the shorter side I found play challenging and fun. Nice addition to the Walton and Gwinnett county disc golf community.
Cons: Could use a few "next tee" signs to help first timers players find there way around the course. It was hard to find hole #1, hole #5 and hole #7 tee boxes. The course was very clean and a few strategically placed trash cans would help keep it that way. Purest among us will not like the natural tee boxes, but they did not cause me a problem. A practice basket would be nice.
Other Thoughts: We have to remember this is a brand new course with improvements to come I'm sure. This parks main mission in life is baseball and softball. However the disc golf course is in a section of land separate from the ball fields. Personally I don't like holes located around the perimeter of ball fields as you find in many parks. Disc golf seems to be getting more respect that way.
Hole #1 tee box is close to the main road.
Hole #5 tee box goes in the woods from #4 basket.
Hole #7 tee box is to the left of #6 basket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center