Disc Golf Store
Orange, CT 
High Plains DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aubin Hole #7 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: 320' dogleg left. 220' uphill, 100' left



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/25/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: connecticutsfinest
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough pin positions super fun very pretty
Cons: Bad signage the teepads were poop
Other Thoughts: I liked the course a lot my girlfriend almost aced three so I'm glad it was beginner friendly love the straight on shots on one and nine. Hole six was an awesome hole I found some of the local routes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My training ground

5+    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: markfohara
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: A very fun and interesting course with lots of challenging shots. With only 9 holes, if you get frustrated, you don't have to play a whole 18 set, but if you play through twice (9th hole ends near the 1st tee) It's almost as fun as playing a real 18 hole
Cons: Some of the holes are hard to see from the tee, and there's no real good map anywhere. The course would be more fun if there was an easy to understand guide of some sort. It's also hard to find the first hole if you've never been there before
Other Thoughts: I've seen this entire course change it's location from the big open field to the woods in the back. This is the closest course to my home, and one i frequent, but i feel it could be beter. There's even one hole where if you're good enough, it's an easy hole in one.

 Fun Little Course

5+    3/8/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: jcardozo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes make for easy pars and a few easy birds along the way. That's not to say that this course is not challenging though. Very tight fairways. Good elevation changes and a clean course. Also, the course has a wide open area right by the parking area to work on some distance shots.
Cons: My biggest complaint is that some areas cross streams/brooks and there's not always a clear path across without getting wet. That's obviously not the fault of the course, but just know you may end up with a wet shoe or two...
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great little course with short holes. On a few of the holes, I drive with my Roc (midrange) so as not to overshoot the basket.
Despite most holes being in the 150'-250' range, the tight fairways make it very challenging. Miss a fairway by too much and you can easily end up with a bogey or even a double.
I've played this course upwards of 10 times and have never seen multiple tees or even anywhere other than the tee box to consider shooting from. It's nice that the box has a marker of where the basket is as you may not always be able to see the basket from the box.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  high plains drifting

2-4    2/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: mzoro
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its been a while since my last round at High Plains DGC...well since i helped install the remaining baskets with Matt Aubin, the course rep. This is a long overdue review. This course recently underwent a complete redesign. What was originally wide open within the community center's walking paths, is now tucked into the outlying woods. This course now has nine WOODED holes, with two sets of tees on many of the holes. The majority of the holes are shorter in length, but test the throwers full arsenal of shots. While the course is more geared for novice and intermediates, it'll keep everybody honest, and is a fun play. There are no free-bees to be had. Pin-point accuracy and mid-range control will be rewarded, but don't worry if the occasional shot ventures off line into the rough. The course is nestled into an established forest resting on ledge. There are not a lot of small brush or prickers to worry about. Expect to play large elevation changes, tight tunnel shots, and one huge spike hyzer. Very cool pin locations on the majority of holes; #2 pin is 65' lower then tee with OB on the left, #3 is a killer ace run, #4 is long and straight with the basket perched on a tall mound, #6 is the really fun spike hyzer, #8 requires a long anny or flick to cross the gully. Other holes look easier then they are. #1 and #9 are fairly straight, but don't let anything hyzer to much or you'll be looking at a long uphill putt. The ground falls off quickly left of both those baskets, and its not really noticeable from the tee. The town of Orange has strict "passive land use" requirements, so don't expect any fancy tee-pads, but most have been leveled off and are clear from roots and rocks.
Cons: The course is still a work in progress, and it's a little unfair to mention any cons until its completion.
Other Thoughts: Matt has had a lot help from local pros while designing this course, as well as help with trail work from the local boy-scouts. it was the scouts that helped level the tee-pads and define the path from #7's basket to #8's tee, a once tricky route. i gave this course a 3.5 because there is still more work to be done. Tee-signs, defining rec/pro tee's, kiosk information and more are in the works. All will get done soon. In all, Matt deserves a huge pat on the back for a job well done.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.