Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Rexburg, ID 
Nature Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Valktastic   (Taken 9/2010)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Could be better

5+    4/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Good variety of obstacles
Has a nice mixture of short to long holes
Grass is always mowed
Park is well kept
Cons: People feel that it is okay to picnic in the middle of fairways. There is a picnic shelter which is almost never used.
Baskets are old but work great
No official signs or tees
Other Thoughts: This course plays really fast and can be a lot of fun. Usually isn't busy, except for the picnickers. Course is all really tight so there isn't much extra walking.

 How did they fit 9 holes in this park?

5+    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Grass is well kept, some holes are fun and challenging. Makes for a good course to just come out and practice on for an hour.
They did manage to put 9 holes in a park that is super small, that is good I guess.
Cons: I am updating this from my first review, mainly because I have found this course to be fun to play. It is short yes, but it gives you a variety of holes to test a wide range of skills. I plan on playing here a few times a week if I don't make it to IF to play.
Other Thoughts: If they only put in some sort of permanent tee sign for every hole that would increase this course to at least a to 2.5. Grass tee pads are okay, but it would be nice to know where to start the hole at.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but confusing until someone shows you the ropes

5+    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
Pros: 1) Convenient. This is my hometown course. While it's not fantastic I'm very glad we've got it. 2) This course favors the finesse player over the strong-armed long driver.
3) Good use of the space available.
4) It's really an executive course - all par threes. If you are playing alone you can complete the course in less than 30 mins.
5) It's usually not very busy, though a group or two are usually someplace on the course.
Cons: 1) The baskets all have only single chains, so they don't stop the discs as well as double-chained holes I've played elsewhere.
2) Signage is a joke. Unless you already know the course the best you can hope to do on your own is make up your own course as you go along - which is very frustrating to players who know the course.
3) If anyone is doing anything else in the park - playing catch, strolling, picnicking, you just can't play about half of the holes.
4) It's only nine holes, but it's sure better than nothing.
5) There are no tee boxes - either gravel or cement.
6) The city workers pull up and replace the tee signs (which you can barely read anyway) apparently at random if they get replaced at all.
Other Thoughts: Until this spring (2012) Hole #1's fairway (if you can call it that) was the west sideline of a soccer field. This spring, however the lines for the soccer field have been painted farther to the east, allowing soccer and disc golf to happen at the same time.

 

2-4    7/7/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too hard. Grassy, well maintained, not too many places to lose your disc. A good beginner course, one I would also recommend if your date has a short attention span, and you don't think they'd be up for more than a half hour. A lot of friendly locals.
Cons: No real tees, signs were hit and miss. I found it hard to navigate the first time, but ended up following some friendly locals, and the second time through was no problem.

Short distances, but you can extend a little by backing up on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: It's a small area, but for what they had to work with, they really made the best of it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nature Park Course

1    11/4/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: John_Masulonis
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept course grounds. The holes are nice for a beginner.
Cons: Course layout is hard to follow with missing signs. The baskets are missing hole designations in many cases.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to take a picture or copy the course layout for navigation.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 About Time

5+    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great atmosphere
-Easy to navigate with signs
-Lots of trees used to make it technical
-Some elevation
-Well maintained park
-Restrooms on site
-Rexburg finally has a disc golf course
Cons: -The baskets have thin chains
-Signs probably won't last long
-No tee boxes
-Some overlap on holes
Other Thoughts: This is a family friendly course in a beautiful setting. It's easy to access and there are other things to do (skate park, duck pond, BBQ pavilion) for those who don't disc golf. The course is a bit tight and technical and that keeps it fun.

I would give it a 3 disc rating if the baskets and tee boxes were better. The sign for hole 5 is already missing and the others probably won't last long. They will need to put some type of permanent marker in for the tee boxes soon. With these baskets just plan on 2 or more putts passing through the chains per round. This adds a little more stress to putting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.