West Fargo, ND 
Rendezvous Park - North 9 Share
Uploaded By: dawatbay   (Taken 8/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
"Skill Development Course"

2-4    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It exists
Has nice DISCatcher baskets marked with hole numbers
Is nowhere near a river, so won't flood
Cons: All signs except map at beginning are missing
No shot variety at all
Very short (about 20 mins to play)
The tees are small and a weird soft rubber that as the ground beneath them has warped, so have the tees
Other Thoughts: Ok, so this course says "Recreational and Skill Development Course" on the main sign, and that's really all it is, a place to practice your game if you're a new player. The distance varies on each hole, but that's about it, otherwise it's always 150-250' straight shot with no obstacles other than low hills. Oh, and if you're playing with overstable discs, good news, every basket is about 10 feet to the left of the tee, so basically each one is an ace run for a competent player. Personally, I'm not there yet, I'm lucky to get pars at Woodlawn, but here I got pars and even a couple birdies using just my putter.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

plant some trees

1    7/1/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 64  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you just want to practice the same shot over and over in a spot that can challenge you with wind, this is it. They had very nice baskets and i have to say I loved the rubber tee pads although they could have been a little longer.
Cons: lack of anything whatsoever to make a shot challenging. Good place to learn to throw a disc i guess.
Other Thoughts: Plant some trees :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

it has potential

2-4    5/28/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: kungfubear
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a good one for introducing new players to the game. it is also the only course payable while the other local courses are flooded or too muddy to play on. and its a good one to take the kids to.
Cons: no trees and very short drives.
Other Thoughts: if you want to get better at throwing on windy days, this is the course to practice on

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The wind is the obstacle

5+    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Znarf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course isn't very busy in the Fargo-Moorhead area due to Oak Grove and Woodlawn being the main attractions. This course, being in the outskirts of West Fargo, is extremely windy. This course will test your ability to throw in every possible wind situation. If the forecast shows 20 mph winds, expect 40 mph gusts out here. The only real pro for this course is that it isn't wet from the last spring flood this area is prone to. This is the only course that stays dry.
Cons: Where to begin. Every hole is between 180 and 250 feet. Bring a putter and maybe a midrange and you're good. The layout is bad. BAD. There isn't a lot of potential, but it could actually be moderately ok if there was some fun factor to any of the holes. There is a line of trees on the east side that could possibly be used. There is an entire football field sized field that isn't being utilized. There are some "hills" that could be used more. The tees are the worst I have seen. I you go to this course, make sure you use the grass or you might roll your ankle. Quite honestly, I have only played this course because of the current state of the good courses in Fargo. I only use the targets for putting practice and if I want to practice my throws, I find an open field instead.
Other Thoughts: There is some frustration factor here. I usually average 3 under and I feel like I should be getting 6 or 7 under each time I play. The wind really screws with you on this course. I have recently been using this course as putting practice since it is pretty empty.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/20/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course for beginners
Cons: -Very generic course, basicly baskets set in the middle of a field
-Not challenging at all
-Can be very crowded at times
-No signage at tee boxes
Other Thoughts: If you are just learning this might be the course for you, otherwise you shouldn't waste your time here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extra, Extra: Fifteen Minute Round Option.

1    5/19/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a clean, short, and simple course with wide-open holes. This course looks to be designed for the teens. They have nice baskets and the grass tee areas are in great shape. There is a nice information sign and navigation is not a problem. There is a restroom, but no trashcans, however it is such a short they are not needed. The park seems to be well kept up and was even getting mowed when I showed up.
Cons: The tee markers have nothing, but a hole number on them. Some of them have some damage, however easy to see. The layout is a bit stretched out in a couple of spots to make sure they had enough room to get all 9 holes in here without them being too crowded.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is without the word fun. This course is short with no challenge. Throw, putt, throw, putt, tedious and boring is the name of the game. There is another 9 hole course in a different section of this park that has more of a challenge. This will be a great beginner course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 North 9

1    9/18/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice little layout for newbie to lean the game. The course sign is always great to see.
Cons: The rubber tee pads are dangerous. They are to small and a tripping hazzard. The baskets are not straight, they tilt to one side. Hole # 9 basket is broken. Even with the course sign, I still had to ask where is the next hole on # 8.
Other Thoughts: Next park for the family. Clean.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A joke...and a bad one at that.

2-4    5/20/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: DJMJ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Innova baskets to shoot at. This course is now the closest one to my home and yet...I can't be bothered with it. Perhaps a nice place for small kids and families to be introduced to the game. Worthless to any sort of experienced player.
Cons: Weak, stupid, awful and a total waste of the 9 Innova baskets that used to grace the sweet little 9 hole at Armour Park.
Other Thoughts: This 'course' must have been thought out by a monkey. Its one straight shot after another...featuring NO challenges, obstacles or elevation changes. 9 holes in what used to be a wheat field...weeeeeee!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: CaptainAwesome
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners
Well kept fairways
Map with hole information
Cons: Every hole can be reached in one throw
Often packed with small children
Woods directly beside holes 2 and 3
Other Thoughts: This is the first course that I ever played, which was nice because the only real threat that I had was the woods on holes 2 and 3. That being said, though, it offers almost no challenge- and after playing for only a few weeks, I'm confident that I could come out well under par for the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 better than nothing, but barely

5+    3/30/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too many pros, if any at all. I guess they have some outdoor plumbing? There is a course map at the beginning of the course. Also, while every other course in Fargo and Moorhead are flooded, this one is dry. Uhhh that's about all though.
Cons: The course itself is set up so that there is a lot of wasted space in the middle of the course. The longest hole is 255' with quite a few less than 200'. Only 9 holes when there is a ton room. No elevation change at all really, except for a few mounds in front of tees.
Tees are made of rubber, only about 3 feet long, so we didn't tee off them. Not a single tree in the way on the entire course, no obstacles whatsoever.
Hole 6 plays near a skate park, which seems a bit dangerous, especially with 20+ winds that come up all the time.
Literally 0 trees on the course. 0,
Other Thoughts: The only reason that this course gets 1.0 is because it is always windy in Fargo and hence a course in the open makes you think about how you should putt and drive with wind. Today there was 20+ mph wind, and even with that, I still managed to shoot a round of 6 under.
Another part about this course is that it might be able to improve someday, the tees are rubber and there are cement blocks next to them and the baskets look movable. Perhaps they will be able to redesign it in the near future.

If you do ever play here, be sure to bring super understable discs and super overstable discs, as the wind is always strong enough to flip most of your overstable discs.

I guess this course is designed the way it is because it is near an elementary school, which probably uses it for P.E., and they don't want it to be too difficult for the youngsters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.