Roanoke, VA 
Fishburn Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 227ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Dah, Dah, Daaah...Dah, Dah, Daaaaaaah!

1    8/14/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 998  Reviewed: 948  Exp: 38.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just in case anyone recognizes the tune of my Review Title. That would be taps.

I found out later, as I was off playing courses 30 miles away, Roanoke had been hit that morning by three heavy rainstorms. But regardless, this course is located in a flood pain and I think will always have drainage issues.

But I won't apologize for the Roanoke Park's Department not owning a lawn mower. The grass down by the creek was 6" tall and obviously very wet. Trudging through this deep, wet grass was in no way an enjoyable experience.

The round, metal tee signs which look like man hole covers are terrible. Many are overgrown with grass and are hard to locate. On the day I played Fishburn, three were completely submerged, like sunken treasure!

The course starts above the tennis courts and plays five holes heading out and then the last four coming back. There are no tee pads. I don't think you're supposed to be teeing off the man hole covers, are you? The baskets are Mach III with the red numbers.

I did like # 4's basket placement. The basket is set under a large tree beneath the gurgling creek. However, this creek is probably dry this time of year and there would be no gurgling. # 8 was also a cool little downhill shot through the trees. Unfortunately, I was never able to locate the man hole cover tee.
Cons: Grass needs cutting!
Too many holes playing over walking/running path.
Man hole cover tee signs are extremely hard to locate.
No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Like other reviewers before have noted, this course probably isn't a great idea in the first place and has definitely seen better days. My best advice would be to pull the baskets, sell the man hole tee markers for scrap and relocate this course to somewhere above ground.

And then petition the Roanoke Park's Department to save up their tax dollars and maybe buy a lawn mower.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Needs overhaul

1    6/9/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: plubbs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of open fairway space
* Mixed terrain
* Varying play heights and hills
Cons: * Large patches of unmowed land in the middle of the course from lack of funding
* Old/bent holes
* "Natural" tees that are hidden under grass
* No par/course information at tees
* Standing water throughout
* Illogical flow to hole progress
* Crowded design
Other Thoughts: A lot of the cons are related to being a smaller/casual 9 hole course designed in 1992 and just sort of left there as disc golf isn't huge in the area. However, I played this as a kid regularly and after ~10 years away it's pretty shabby even for a casual set. I couldn't even find three of the holes anymore which seem like they may have been removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Need an 18 in Roanoke

5+    5/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: hobo
Played: 82  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful creek and lay of the land. Like holes #1, #5 and #8. The concrete tee signs are a good idea.
Cons: The flow of the course is choppy at best. Par is way off, i have never seen a clear 350' be a par 5. Tee pads are mud pits after a little rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is screaming for a new design with an additional 9. Roanoke is ready for a Pro 18 hole course and Fishburn has the land to do it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK Beginner Course

5+    9/22/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 1, 4 and 5 are nice driving holes that make good use of the creek as a hazard
- Can be played in about 30 minutes, convenient for a quick round on a lunch break or after work
- Hole 8 is a unique shot over a hill to the basket
- Decent beginner course, holes are all wide open
Cons: - No tee pads, tees markers are concrete disks in the ground so may not be easy to spot at all holes
- Located in a floodplain, so parts of the course turn into a swamp after any significant amount of rain
- All holes could easily be played as par 3 instead of 4/5 as several are marked
- Poorly maintained
Other Thoughts: This course has definitely seen better days. A little maintenance would be nice (weedeating on holes 7 & 8, fixing broken basket). I think tee pads, even if they are just compacted gravel, would go a long way. Drainage seems to be a major problem.

Overall, the course layout isn't bad, they make good use of the space available. The course provides an opportunity to practice open drives and some shorter placement shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.