Roanoke, VA 
Fishburn Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fishburn Park

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice. (in a lazy afternoon kinda way). Just relax and throw a few rounds. Not the most challenging, but they have a few that are slightly memorable and interesting. #1, #7 & #8 are kinda cool shots.
Cons: It rained the day before. Pretty wet. Could use signs and markers for the tee boxes, but they do have those circular concrete slabs with the info on them so they do beat Walrond Park to death in this category.
Other Thoughts: If your choice is one or the other, play this course over Walrond, great course for the beginners like me.
I thought this way last year, but after a few more rounds there, I have changed my mind. Walrond and the new course layout will easily eclipse this course. This course is one that is just there and seems as though it will never be improved. Walrond's designers, though recreational in thought, are seaming to really make it a nicer, better coure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A good beginner course, but still fun for the more experienced player.
- Makes for a quick round, can be played in less than 30 minutes.
- Holes 1, 3, 4, and 5 make good use of the stream as a hazard.
- Nice use of elevation change on holes 1, 8, and 9.
Cons: - Pars are incredibly over-stated. Every hole can be made in 3 shots.
- Holes 5 and 6 are right next to the road. An errant shot could potentially become roadkill.
- Hole 7 has very thick brush (increasingly thick as the summer progresses) on each side of the fairway. Can be nasty to sort through for errant tee shots.
- Course does not drain well. Most holes will be very soggy after a hard rain.
Other Thoughts: - Another 9 holes would be great, and would have to go up into the woods. Would make for a great blend of open and wooded holes. I don't forsee this happening due to the fact that it would interfere with the trails which are frequently used by the local park-goers.

Score Breakdown:
Variety:2 Balance:2 Strategy:2 Character:3 Fun:3 Avg: 2.4

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy after rain

5+    12/2/2009   12/5/2009
Review By: jerrycdundan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Water and brush hazards are interesting. #8 is very unique, Can be challenging for beginners if you play all par threes(the tee markers can be confusing for some people where some are listed as par fives and fours) this shows the courses age. Very convenient for a quick game.
Cons: Dirt/grass tees, swampy after it rains, too short, city doesn't mow the grass consistently, road is close to the edge of the course.New walking path goes though the course.
Other Thoughts: Ive found the wind plays a big role in the difficulty of this course. It seems the narrow low lying area the course is on funnels the wind right though, its very unpredictable at times.

Since the city has built a fenced dog park on the other side of town, there aren't as many people with dogs. They also have planted a ton of new trees and cut down a few old ones, this has changed the dynamic of the course a bit ,some for the better and some for the worse

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The better of the two in Roanoke....maybe

5+    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Vicarious
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has many good shots that can be challenging for the moderate player. The park hardly ever has people but when they are there they usually have dogs. Considering this is Roanoke's Dog Park. The course should be played as a pro if you aren't too bad. Interesting course for a 9 hole.
Cons: The course is terrible if it has rained at all within a couple days of playing. The course is designed below Brambleton Road and is a flood plane if it has rained too much. I have played this course many times and still have yet to find tee to 8.(Found the tee for 8 and Love that hole now due to the location of that tee) The pars are ridiculous for the moderate player to play the standard par. The tees can be hard to find at first if you have never played here before. Also the natural tees play right next to each other on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is located less than 5 minutes from virginia western community college which is a plus for me. This course offers more difficulty than walrond park but this course is often too saturated. If you really want a pick me up you can play the true par and easily go under par.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I agree with jimb

1    10/19/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Did great with creating some variety with a mostly open area to work with. Pin placement was key in creating difficulty. Great for beginners because it is fairly open and there is a low chance you will loose a disc. Hole 8 the up and over was a really fun hole.
Cons: my biggest grip was that the tee pads were not really defines. nice big markers but no other definition to the pad. A few of the teepads were right next to one another which i would find annoying if i had to wait to tee because the pads are so close. The grass was thick and wet which put a holt on anything i put down that would have had a chance at rolling or skipping.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little rec park, great for beginners or if you live near by. The first is at the right side of the tennis courts, and shoots down the hill. works back around to the parking lot again. Great job for what they had to work with.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Personally, I enjoyed Fishburn.

2-4    11/4/2007   10/15/2008
Review By: Jimb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park setting with bathroom, playground & tennis facilities on site. The first tee and the 9th pin are both close to the parking lot.

Shots are mostly open, so unless you get wet in the creek that lines holes #3-5, you shouldn't lose any discs. And the stream didn't look to be too deep in case you do need to go "fishing."

The length isn't overwhelming by any means, but unless you consistently throw accurately over 300', then the length is adequate. #1 is a nice big down hill opener. The peninsula pin on #5 is nice and requires an accurate approach or you will get wet. And although #8 is just 156', it plays totally blind over a hill which is a lot of fun. And both #6 & #9 play considerably longer than their "footage" as they're both up hill a good bit.

There's just enough shot making strategy needed to keep the course interesting for an experienced player. It would also play well for a new player to learn the game.
Cons: Hole #5 does run into a dead end. Then you just have to walk back beside its' fairway to get to the #6 pin. This part of the park is quite narrow between the woods and the road so I don't really see any other option for the hole configuration here. Holes #3-5 do seem really similar to each other. They're basically open holes with a creek running down the right side of the fairway. The holes are open enough that you should be able to stay dry, though.

The tee for #2 is potentially in play for errant drives from hole #1.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend playing the course as all holes being par 3... and I don't have a big arm.

I didn't notice any shared tees as was mentioned in another review. Maybe that has something to do with why they didn't enjoy the course as much as I did. The idea of carrying the course over into the woods that was mentioned in the other review is a great idea too. If they could expand this course to 18 holes, that could really increase the variety. (Although I believe I read on the course website that they did have 18 holes at one time but had to remove 9 because of "neighborhood concerns?"

As far as I'm concerned, this is really "the average course." It's not worth travelling a long way to play. But if, for example, you've travelled to play Golden Hills, down the road near VT, then it's worth the 30 minute drive for the variety. Trust me, once you get out of the trees at GH (not that there's anything wrong with that), you'll be glad to air it out a little at Fishburn. Just take it easy and have a fun little round.

***1-1-09***
Updated score to 2.5 based upon changes made to descriptions of course scores on the site after I did my review.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.