Disc Golf Store
Roanoke, VA 
Fishburn Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Needs serious work

5+    9/3/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 80  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the available land in the park, Fishburn utilizes it ok for probably 2 of the 9 holes (1 and 8). The other holes all felt contrived.

Hole 1 gets you off to a fun start with a downhill shot to a basket tucked safely behind a tree. The only other fun hole on the course is hole 8, which is pretty unique I must admit, but forces a semi blind shot over a walking path which is in use every time I've been out.

There is water in play, both in the form of a river and surely in your shoes as well! That does create a mild risk/reward element, but no other real challenge to speak of.

The length of the holes are actually long enough that, despite the low rating of this course, requires you to pull out a driver on. Usually courses rated this poorly will be pitch and putt deals, but you'll at least get to let a few rip on a few holes.

Other than the other amenities in the park, there are very little pro's to this course other than holes 1 and 8.
Cons: Where do I begin?

First off, the tee "pads" are merely circular concrete markers, often times overgrown so much with grass they are hard to spot. Forget throwing off of these, they simply serve as a starting point.

The baskets are old and in extreme disrepair. Several of the baskets are bent or are angled awkwardly and simply need to be replaced.

The entire course is located in a flood zone and any little amount of rain is sure to saturate the ground on every hole. This also attracts the mosquitoes rather fiercely in the summer and makes for an almost miserable experience.

I know this course was made a while ago, and I have no idea how the park was set up during its inception, but nearly every hole has the walking path in play. (In fact I'd say only holes 1,2 and 3 are the exception). This is not only dangerous for the other park goers, it's frustrating for the golfers as well as they are forced to wait at nearly every hole for the walkers to pass.

There are zero signs, either tee or navigational. Be prepared to stumble about in the swamp to find a bit of concrete marking the "tee area".
Other Thoughts: I know the back story of this course and I realize it was the only local course for many years. I know there is a lot of emotional ties to the course but that simply doesn't excuse the disrepair it is in.

Someone should really go in and overhaul this course. I wouldn't advocate removing it entirely, mostly because I think any course is better than no course, but it doesn't represent our sport well and would be a complete turnoff for a beginner golfer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs overhaul

1    6/9/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: plubbs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of open fairway space
* Mixed terrain
* Varying play heights and hills
Cons: * Large patches of unmowed land in the middle of the course from lack of funding
* Old/bent holes
* "Natural" tees that are hidden under grass
* No par/course information at tees
* Standing water throughout
* Illogical flow to hole progress
* Crowded design
Other Thoughts: A lot of the cons are related to being a smaller/casual 9 hole course designed in 1992 and just sort of left there as disc golf isn't huge in the area. However, I played this as a kid regularly and after ~10 years away it's pretty shabby even for a casual set. I couldn't even find three of the holes anymore which seem like they may have been removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Need an 18 in Roanoke

5+    5/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: hobo
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful creek and lay of the land. Like holes #1, #5 and #8. The concrete tee signs are a good idea.
Cons: The flow of the course is choppy at best. Par is way off, i have never seen a clear 350' be a par 5. Tee pads are mud pits after a little rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is screaming for a new design with an additional 9. Roanoke is ready for a Pro 18 hole course and Fishburn has the land to do it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Fan

5+    5/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The tees show par and distance.
2. Good course for beginners.
3. Playground for the kids.
4. Hole 8 is a unique blind throw over a small hill.
5. Used the creek as a water hazard.
Cons: Baskets are old and worn.
Tee 8 is hard to find.
1. The pars are too high.
2. Very buggy because of the nearby creek.
3. Course floods with any amount of rain.
4. Walking path through the course which can be annoying.
Other Thoughts: Installation of better tees would be great. Baskets work but could be better. I really don't like when courses play across walking paths, it just makes it annoying for players as well as people walking the path.
If you have been playing for a while this is a great course to make yourself feel better after a rough game somewhere else. If you're just starting this is an excellent course for you. Try playing as all 3 pars for a better challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK Beginner Course

5+    9/22/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Holes 1, 4 and 5 are nice driving holes that make good use of the creek as a hazard
- Can be played in about 30 minutes, convenient for a quick round on a lunch break or after work
- Hole 8 is a unique shot over a hill to the basket
- Decent beginner course, holes are all wide open
Cons:
- No tee pads, tees markers are concrete disks in the ground so may not be easy to spot at all holes
- Located in a floodplain, so parts of the course turn into a swamp after any significant amount of rain
- All holes could easily be played as par 3 instead of 4/5 as several are marked
- Poorly maintained
Other Thoughts: This course has definitely seen better days. A little maintenance would be nice (weedeating on holes 7 & 8, fixing broken basket). I think tee pads, even if they are just compacted gravel, would go a long way. Drainage seems to be a major problem.

Overall, the course layout isn't bad, they make good use of the space available. The course provides an opportunity to practice open drives and some shorter placement shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good pitch and putt

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: BlueRidgeMtnMan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation in holes.
Nice quiet park; no one else was playing.
Nice creek comes into play on a few holes.
Nice concrete tee markers, noting hole # and distance.
Cons: Course doesn't flow very well from one hole to the next. It's very confusing trying to find the next tee. There are no tee pads or stakes to identify next tee, you basically have to walk over the tee markers to find the next tee. The bottom of the course was very soggy. The basket on hole one was damaged pretty severely.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a top quality pitch and putt course. It needs some TLC. Concrete tee pads with markers. Maintenance to the damaged basket. And perhaps a little tweaking to the layout(hole 5 and 6 come to mind).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun

1    4/4/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: wvu1867
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy access.
Good course for newer players or recreation for couples.
Relaxing fun
Cons: Tees are not well marked for first timers.
Wouldn't be challenging for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: I met three groups of people and all were helpful and friendly with any questions I had. Nice for relaxing game yet allowed me to practice different types of shots. Need course map at board in parking lot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fishburn Park

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice. (in a lazy afternoon kinda way). Just relax and throw a few rounds. Not the most challenging, but they have a few that are slightly memorable and interesting. #1, #7 & #8 are kinda cool shots.
Cons: It rained the day before. Pretty wet. Could use signs and markers for the tee boxes, but they do have those circular concrete slabs with the info on them so they do beat Walrond Park to death in this category.
Other Thoughts: If your choice is one or the other, play this course over Walrond, great course for the beginners like me.
I thought this way last year, but after a few more rounds there, I have changed my mind. Walrond and the new course layout will easily eclipse this course. This course is one that is just there and seems as though it will never be improved. Walrond's designers, though recreational in thought, are seaming to really make it a nicer, better coure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A good beginner course, but still fun for the more experienced player.
- Makes for a quick round, can be played in less than 30 minutes.
- Holes 1, 3, 4, and 5 make good use of the stream as a hazard.
- Nice use of elevation change on holes 1, 8, and 9.
Cons: - Pars are incredibly over-stated. Every hole can be made in 3 shots.
- Holes 5 and 6 are right next to the road. An errant shot could potentially become roadkill.
- Hole 7 has very thick brush (increasingly thick as the summer progresses) on each side of the fairway. Can be nasty to sort through for errant tee shots.
- Course does not drain well. Most holes will be very soggy after a hard rain.
Other Thoughts: - Another 9 holes would be great, and would have to go up into the woods. Would make for a great blend of open and wooded holes. I don't forsee this happening due to the fact that it would interfere with the trails which are frequently used by the local park-goers.

Score Breakdown:
Variety:2 Balance:2 Strategy:2 Character:3 Fun:3 Avg: 2.4

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course in Roanoke

5+    7/26/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: DrewHunsley
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of a small park without much in the way of natural obstacles.

Hole 1 is very nice with a drive coming down a hill and around a large tree to the basket.

Many holes make good use of a stream that runs along the side of the course. Holes 3-5 all play very similarly as they bend around a few trees and toward the stream. Shots require good control of distance as one long shot will get you wet.

Hole 8 Is probably the most unique hole I have played. It uses a hill brilliantly as you have to throw a blind shot over the hill and around a tree. Very unique and hard to explain, but well worth playing.

Cons: Holes 6-9 are set up around a walking path. There are occasional walkers or bikers who can interrupt a round.

Grass is occasionally long and can disturb your throws.

If there has been ANY rain in the past few days, water will be a problem. Drainage is horrible here and water can be found standing in the middle of about 4 fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course could be better with an additional 9 holes. Overall, it utilizes the space it has very well and is worth playing if you are in Roanoke. I would not recommend a long drive to come see the great fishburn park, but if you're nearby, it is well worth the time to stop by and play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.