Port Angeles, WA 
Lincoln Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: waxwing Hole #13 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 500ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good for the location

2-4    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: jhamilton64
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes.
Lots of natural obstacles.
Different tees allow for diversity at each hole.
Cons: Long walk between holes 12 and 13 (780 feet).
Some holes do not have permanent tees.
Can be hard to navigate course without map.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course. For being the only course in Port Angeles, it is a solid course for the location.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So-so

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Close to town
Nice baskets
Cons: Tee pads
Flow of course
Other Thoughts: Not the worse course ever but far from the top. Lots of good holes out here but only if you can find them!! Very difficult to find your way around, without the little yellow signs the course would be unusuable (seems that 13 and 14 were just thrown in at the last minute and given no thought whatsoever). So if you can manage to find where your going it's not bad.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: TheMonger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice teesigns
Techinical shots, favors smart golf.
The ducks
Lots of parking
Good course map
Cons: Multiuse park
Mix of teepads(permenant teepads are on the way though)
Restrooms are dubious(lots of trees though)
Other Thoughts: This winter the course was flooded and 3 holes were unplayable. Luckily this does not happen all the time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln Park DGC

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a heavily wooded park next to the fairgrounds in Port Angeles, Washington. The park sees quite a bit of use from non-disc golfers, however they seem to be out of the way most of the time. The terrain is mostly flat with a few hills. A few holes utilize this feature of the course quite well (hole 2 comes to mind). Each hole had two different tee pads and at the very least a white/blue wooden sign with the hole number. Some of the holes had a small metal square with a hole map on it showing the distance and each tee. It's a shame not all of the holes had this type of sign. There are also white signs visible from the tee that point to the basket which are extremely useful. Yellow signs point you to the next tees as well as orange zip ties on the baskets. The course has natural tee pads on most of the holes, but sometimes there are some patches of carpet or even the occasional concrete tee pad. I don't really like natural pads, but these really weren't too bad. The course starts out with four open, moderately long holes. Good warm-up for what's to come. Holes five through eleven are heavily wooded. Each hole still had a clear way to the basket unlike many heavily wooded courses. Holes twelve through eighteen were more of a park-like course. There are still a moderate amount of trees to provide some challenge.
Cons: Navigation. Oh my word. If those yellow signs that I talked about earlier weren't on the course, this would be totally unplayable. Long walks to the next tee on almost every single hole. You're greeted with a long walk between one and two, the walk between twelve and thirteen is absolutely ridiculous, and paths to holes even cross over each other causing some very confusing situations. I highly recommend printing off the course map AND taking a picture of the map on the small building in fifteen's fairway. Natural tee pads are never fun. Unfortunately those nice tee signs were only on a few holes and the other tee signs are quite lacking not even showing a distance for most holes. Some holes cross park roads which can be busy at times. I did happen to find a sleeping homeless man on seventeen's fairway with his dog barking and running at me the entire hole...
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a really fun time at this course. It's got wooded holes and open holes and it's a nice addition to the beautiful city of Port Angeles. Bathrooms were also on the course and it's easy to find the park. The main thing keeping this course from being a 3.5 or 4 is the lack of tee pads. I'd love to see them added sometime soon!

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Diverse and Challenging

2-4    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went out for the wednesday doubles and ended up playing two rounds with Roger, one of the designers. I had a great time and found the course very diverse and challenging. There was a good mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes were challenging but fair with multiple lines through the trees. The park was very nice and well maintained. The grocery store across the street carried course maps and a few discs for sale. I also played the alternate tees and felt that they were well placed to make it feel like a new course instead of a longer version of the same course. The 100 + yr old cabins on the property added a unique sense of character. The park was well maintained, very little trash and the baskets were in good condition. Overall a great course and it definiatly had the "fun factor"
Cons: The only major flaw was that course navigation was at times tricky. there was a quarter mile walk from 12 to 13 which was not quite intuitive. There were also places where the rough made it quite difficult to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: Roger was a fantastic guide and he could really rip a disc. He also indicated that he is currently working on a new course in Sequim and I hope to come back when its finished.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #1 was easy to find after that its challenging. The Innova baskets were very nice. The old fort buildings were very cool. There is a good amount of different kinds of throws needed here at this course. I didn't loose any discs which was nice. I'd play it again if I was in the area.
Cons: We could not for the life of us find the 13th hole. The sign said 1/4 mile ahead after looking for a half an hour I decided to just skip it. If there was some sort of kiosk with a map that would be helpful for sure.
Other Thoughts: I can see that there been work that people have been putting in. It would also be nice if the tee pads. Had gravel or even some sort of box.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Port Angeles FUN!

1    5/24/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Fun course even with the cons. You were challenged to throw 5 or 6 different types of drives. All back hand was not the answer. Hole number 1 was a good starting point. Hole number 14 was very hard with a major turn to the left protected by huge rhodies (which were in bloom!) You need to be able to throw some big benders, some very straight shots and have some tree love to score a good round. Will play again!
Cons: There is a Map! AND you need it! Sadly, even with the map it is hard to find the tee pads. According to map you have A and B pads. Good luck finding them. Some holes have great metal signs (see other reviews) but those really don't help you find the other tee pad. Example hole 14. Great sign, but we could only find one of the pads. Luckily there were others playing who helped us out 3 times on were we should be going and what pads we were looking for. Couple of holes you throw across the parks roads. Bathrooms were closed or least the one I tried :(
Other Thoughts: Interestingly the holes in the deep woods we were able to find the pads fairly okay except one of them I think it was 9. That was good because many locals told us they don't play the holes in the deep woods. Actually they were layed out pretty good and had the best signnage.

 Gateway to the Olympics - Lincoln DGC

1    6/29/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Located in the beautiful city of Port Angeles, Lincoln DGC was installed in 2009 and consists of 18 holes. This course was designed on a mostly flat but moderately wooded piece of land, incorporating a mixture of both very tight and more open fairways. Most holes have multiple routes to the pin, allowing players to work on a variety of shots which adds to the challenge.

*Water is incorporated on five holes (# 1, 2, 4, 12, & 18) throughout the course, but can easily be avoided with proper shot selection. Slight elevation comes in to play on several holes as well, but nothing extreme. Holes on the course range generally anywhere from 200-300 feet long, with the exception of hole #11 (153ft.) and hole #13 (500ft.) which were the outliers. Each hole includes multiple tee pads (A/B), which allows locals to have variety in both length and approach.

*PADGA has done a terrific job installing their first and only course in Port Angeles. It allows players of all skill levels to get out and be challenged while having fun at the same time! The disc golf community is off to a great start and I wish them much success.

Favorite Hole(s): #10 & #18
Cons:
*Using the course map that I printed offline, I found course navigation on most of the holes to be pretty simple. The locals have spent a lot of time installing small yellow "next tee" arrows in the trees along with large numbers baskets and orange Zipties on the cage directing players toward the next tee pad. Most holes also have a tee sign showing distance, par, and routes to take to the pin. HOWEVER… locating holes five and six in the dense overgrown forest was next to impossible. Adding more arrows and cutting back some of the foliage would do wonders for the course. Also, locating holes thirteen and fourteen. Again, clearer signs would go a LONG way.

*Walkouts from both holes four to five and twelve to thirteen are confusing.

*Natural tee pads are more than fine for now but the eventual installment of some Flypads or cement pavers will eventually be a nice addition for a course that is located in the Pacific Northwest.

*Extremely busy fairways by non disc golfers on warm summer days and weekends pose a major problem on the more open holes.

Least Favorite Hole(s): #5 & #6
Other Thoughts:
*Known as the gateway city to the Olympics, Port Angeles is nestled at the base of Olympic National Park and just minutes away from Hurricane Ridge and the Olympic Game Farm. Lake Crescent, which offers amazing camping, hiking, and fishing is nearby, and Victoria, B.C. is just a ferry ride away. If you're looking to stay the night the Red Lion Inn on the water is great. Good eats can be found at the hotel restaurant or at the Garden Cafe. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Far Out Dude

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: 211 Leprechaun
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course. 9 pads, A and B, plus 6 more holes going through a field, along a pond, and into tricky woods make for a variety of challenging shots. Convenience store across street has cold beverages and nice discs for sale. Greg will hook you up with a map if you ask nice.
Cons: Little bit of traffic from picnics and bbq's going on. It was father's day. Grass was a little long on first 4 holes
Other Thoughts: Maybe add 3 baskets so there's 18 holes like most coarses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Great new course under construction

1    1/12/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: ScottyZ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Friendly regulars showed me around. Brandon (Bubba) and his two buddies. The course is very challenging and has a variety of doglegs, heavy trees, water hazards, buildings and varied distances from hole to hole. It basically consists of paths that navigate through the park, using the natural obstacles to make it interesting. The course layout is nice with few long walk outs and some of the holes were just pure legend. The walk through the heavily wooded areas, that are pretty much undeveloped, were beautiful and refreshing. It was really a joy to play this course!
Cons: The course is going to be changed due to a future dog park and tree removal by the neighboring airport, so the course is still not perfectly focused. The tee pad areas are not pretty and need work, but it's still a pleasure to play. Some of the baskets are just stuck in the ground and loose, but considering the future changes it's understandable.
Other Thoughts: The DG community is developing in Port Angeles and it's obvious that a lot of hard work and care is going into this course. Everyone I met was helpful and friendly, encouraging me to want to come back and play this course again. The guy who owns the store across the street was awesome and not only very helpful, but a pleasure to chat with. If you can make it up to PA to play it would be great to support this young course and it's great club members.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.