Port Angeles, WA 
Lincoln Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: waxwing Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 153ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 'B' Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lincoln Park DGC

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a heavily wooded park next to the fairgrounds in Port Angeles, Washington. The park sees quite a bit of use from non-disc golfers, however they seem to be out of the way most of the time. The terrain is mostly flat with a few hills. A few holes utilize this feature of the course quite well (hole 2 comes to mind). Each hole had two different tee pads and at the very least a white/blue wooden sign with the hole number. Some of the holes had a small metal square with a hole map on it showing the distance and each tee. It's a shame not all of the holes had this type of sign. There are also white signs visible from the tee that point to the basket which are extremely useful. Yellow signs point you to the next tees as well as orange zip ties on the baskets. The course has natural tee pads on most of the holes, but sometimes there are some patches of carpet or even the occasional concrete tee pad. I don't really like natural pads, but these really weren't too bad. The course starts out with four open, moderately long holes. Good warm-up for what's to come. Holes five through eleven are heavily wooded. Each hole still had a clear way to the basket unlike many heavily wooded courses. Holes twelve through eighteen were more of a park-like course. There are still a moderate amount of trees to provide some challenge.
Cons: Navigation. Oh my word. If those yellow signs that I talked about earlier weren't on the course, this would be totally unplayable. Long walks to the next tee on almost every single hole. You're greeted with a long walk between one and two, the walk between twelve and thirteen is absolutely ridiculous, and paths to holes even cross over each other causing some very confusing situations. I highly recommend printing off the course map AND taking a picture of the map on the small building in fifteen's fairway. Natural tee pads are never fun. Unfortunately those nice tee signs were only on a few holes and the other tee signs are quite lacking not even showing a distance for most holes. Some holes cross park roads which can be busy at times. I did happen to find a sleeping homeless man on seventeen's fairway with his dog barking and running at me the entire hole...
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a really fun time at this course. It's got wooded holes and open holes and it's a nice addition to the beautiful city of Port Angeles. Bathrooms were also on the course and it's easy to find the park. The main thing keeping this course from being a 3.5 or 4 is the lack of tee pads. I'd love to see them added sometime soon!

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Great new course under construction

1    1/12/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: ScottyZ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Friendly regulars showed me around. Brandon (Bubba) and his two buddies. The course is very challenging and has a variety of doglegs, heavy trees, water hazards, buildings and varied distances from hole to hole. It basically consists of paths that navigate through the park, using the natural obstacles to make it interesting. The course layout is nice with few long walk outs and some of the holes were just pure legend. The walk through the heavily wooded areas, that are pretty much undeveloped, were beautiful and refreshing. It was really a joy to play this course!
Cons: The course is going to be changed due to a future dog park and tree removal by the neighboring airport, so the course is still not perfectly focused. The tee pad areas are not pretty and need work, but it's still a pleasure to play. Some of the baskets are just stuck in the ground and loose, but considering the future changes it's understandable.
Other Thoughts: The DG community is developing in Port Angeles and it's obvious that a lot of hard work and care is going into this course. Everyone I met was helpful and friendly, encouraging me to want to come back and play this course again. The guy who owns the store across the street was awesome and not only very helpful, but a pleasure to chat with. If you can make it up to PA to play it would be great to support this young course and it's great club members.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will Be Better With Pads And Additional Holes!

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through Lincoln Park which is right in front of or otherwise connected with the fairgrounds. There are ballfields, picnic areas, a pond, a rodeo yard and about 20 acres of untapped potiental here. The P.A. Disc Club is obviously on top of this course and are working to make it better. The first two holes play across a field to baskets guarded by trees and some brush. The next two are wooded, then are a couple playing through and around the pincic area. # 8 is the shortest and most technical hole currently on the course. Two more holes are in, #'s 10 and 11 and more are planned through the woods as $ is raised. The baskets are mostly brand new. The signs are great. They were made by the local high school shop students and are engraved on 6" X 6" pieces of metal. They are pretty much indestructible. OTHER COURSES-TAKE NOTE! These are the way to go! They give the #, par, distance and show some trees, buildings and the best route. The teepads are natural. Some are pretty good, a couple are kinda rough. I was shown part of the course by Roger, one of the developers of the course. To me, this course is an excellent example of a well thought out plan. The club is working closely with the Parks Department. We all know how frustrating that can be.
Cons: I have very little criticim for this course and what I do have is being remedied. The pads could use some work and I'm sure that will be happening. There are some longer walkouts. The course is currently 11 holes, 9 of which are on the map. The rest are coming. The park is nice but it's mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: The description of the course says it starts with two ACE runs. # 1 is 310' to a basket with trees and some brush on more than three sides. # 2 is 303' (418' from the longs) to a basket that's partially guarded. I have always thought ACE runs were like 195' to a basket with one tree in front or 245' downhill. If these first two holes are ACE runs, then more than half the holes in America are ACE runs. Port Angeles must have the next Ken Climo writing the course description for them.

I'll jack my rating another 1/2 point when they put in the rest of the holes and get some teepads. The club/designers are definitly making the most out of what they have to work with here. My hats is off to you P.A. Disc Club.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: tag_27
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a fun and difficult course. I have played it twice and have enjoyed it both times. i am new to disc golf. looks easily maintained. I would like to get involved with maintaining it and helping out.
Cons: the first time i played this course I had trouble figuring out which is the A tee box and B tee box. not every tee off had stakes in the ground.
Other Thoughts: I think having disc golf in this area is a great thing. great course for someone new to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: Slim458
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a good course that is completely maintained by volunteers and the local club. The holes were varying in difficulty and used the natural surroundings well. There is plans in the works for expanding and improvements to the current course.
Cons: With it being new to the area and not a lot of people knowing about it sometimes people will walk into the fairway and stand there.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a good start for more courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln Park DGC

1    3/24/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Port Angeles Disc Golf Club has their first course in the ground and so far so good. There are currently nine holes with a couple of secret ones back near a pond and there is talk of expansion to eighteen holes. The course is easy to find, right across the street from the convience store that sells discs and has free course maps.

Each basket has two tee placements, which you can see by the wooden stakes in the ground that say either "A" or "B" tee written on them with sharpie and have different colored little ribbons tied around to be able to see them and help navigation. The land is being used fairly well at this point with lots of obstacles including trees and log cabins, and a creek guarding one basket and looming over another tee pad.

Holes one, three, seven, eight and nine were the best of the bunch that obviously had a ton of thought put into them with excellent uses of obstacles and cool basket locations. Hole eight is the shortest hole on the course and possibly the easiest to bogey as there is barely a route through the dense trees here but if you can get it through it's an easy birdie.
Cons: One of the flaws with this course is navigation, it is crucial that you bring a map the first time you play as the walk outs alone would make it almost unplayable. The stakes that locate where to throw from are missing on holes six and seven so you just have to use the map and throw closest to where you think they are. The tee pads are all natural but most of them didn't bother me to do a run up on them on but if it's been raining I can see where they could get slick. I was there during the middle of the week in the morning and there was no disc golfers but there were people camping out near fairways, a park ranger and other people working on the park and the baseball fields which is a good sign that the park will stay nice but it makes me wonder if playing here on the weekends if non disc golfers would get in your way.
Other Thoughts: A nicely done first course by the club out there and the people around that I talked to sounded very enthusiastic about having disc golf around them which is awesome. The club has had a couple of fund raising tournaments here now to raise money for baskets and they already have nine in and maybe nine more are on the way. I would be glad to have this place here as it's the only place in town and not a horrible course by any standards.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.