Beaver, PA 
Two Mile Run Extension Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #9 (Taken 5/2010)
5 / 608ft.   5 / 755ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Another Pittsburgh Gem

2-4    11/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
- A relatively new course in the Pittsburgh area that is home to so many other top-10, top-20, top-50 courses in Moraine, Deer Lakes, and Knob Hill), this course is nine holes and somewhat out of the way, though at the same time only about a minute from the exit off the turnpike.

- The course is well groomed, as other reviews have mentioned, with benches and even brooms on all or most of the teepads. The brooms come in handy in the fall when leaves are down and slippery. The teepads are rubber and so long as you brush the leaves off, they grip reasonably well.

- 2MRE offers multiple teepads (two) so beginners aren't overwhelmed. They're white and red, but the white tees often feel like they've got a little blue tint to them, so they offer a reasonable challenge. I don't know what the course record is but I have a hard time imagining someone shooting nine down. There are just too many tiny tunnels.

- The course has new Discatcher baskets and ample, good signage on the teepads and pointing you towards the next tee. Everything is in good shape. The course also has a practice basket near the parking area, though it's set on top of an area with some roll-away, so it's probably not going to see as much use as it could. The practice basket would make a great CTP to settle a match that finishes even.

- There's a good variety of holes here, and a good use of elevation, and terrain. Holes include uphill, downhill, and valley throws. They include very narrow tunnels to wide open, windy fields (and the ninth has a combination of wide open fairways with devastatingly thick rough). You'll likely throw a surprising variety of plastic and shots for a nine-hole course. You can still play reasonably well with five or six discs, but that assumes you don't put yourself in any situations you didn't anticipate.

- The first hole is a true, albeit short, par four that requires good placement off the tee, leaving an easy upshot. The second is a tight par three over a valley. The third plays from the trees to an open field, and back into the trees. The tee shot on the fourth, a par five, requires threading a needle AND getting good distance to set up a shot into the woods. Then you have a long but downhill par three, then the seventh, a unique par four that will rewards a GREAT forehand (something I don't yet have) second shot. The seventh plays across a field to a basket protected by thin trees (going up and over may be the best approach, if you have that shot), and the eighth is an ace run par three downhill with nasty bushes long. The ninth is again a true par five, with thick schule left and right (and a trickling creek that's four feet below the fairway to the left as well), through a narrow gap at 150' out, to a reasonably well protected basket.

- None of the approaches - either on par threes or second or third shots on par fours and fives - are boring. They all play to protected baskets of varying degree, with different sorts of terrain. On the sixth you have a steep drop-off left and short. On others the green is flat but well protected by some thick guardian trees. On others, roll-away potential exists. Leaving your upshots in good positions might determine your putting success more than your actual putting abilities, and a good approach game will go a long way towards scoring well.

- The targets are easily visible, and the practice basket near the parking lot is in the open. The tee signs are adequate, visible, and new enough that they're still in great shape. Pars are appropriate, with no easy birdies. There's a map at the beginning, but as mentioned earlier, the flow is relatively simple and aided by "next tee" signs.
Cons: Cons:
- The flypads are sometimes lumpy or angled. Footing becomes a weird issue then, when you'd like to run up on a par five tee shot but don't want to twist an ankle doing so.

- There don't appear to be any alternate pin positions (yet?). This could change things up. Though I think you can easily play 18 or 27 in a day and be fine, alternate pin positions would make the course worth more of a stop if you could look forward to a slightly different layout and more repeat visits. I imagine the locals feel similarly.

- As other reviews mentioned, there are no bathrooms or other amenities on the course (drinking fountains, shelters, etc.). There is a bike path that wanders through the park, but I haven't seen anyone using it except one woman walking her dog once, and an older couple on a stroll.
Other Thoughts: I'll tell you right now - I don't take off points for being nine holes. You can see that it's nine holes in several places on the information pages for the course, and you're welcome to factor that in to how you read these reviews. I can only review the nine holes that are there. Yes, to get 18 in, you have to play them twice. Some people like it, some don't. It's not for me to judge THAT - just to judge what I think of what exists.

So, all that being said, I'd truly rate the course about a 3.75. It's very good, but not quite to the level of the other Pittsburgh area courses. It's well worth a stop if it's not too far out of your way, but I think it's tough to justify fitting it in if you're not passing near by.

In the end, I'm rounding up, because it's probably closer to a 4.0 than a 3.5, and I'm comfortable with that.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worthwhile 9-holer

2-4    6/4/2014   7/9/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, well-groomed wooded setting. I can't think of a nicer place to play disc golf at. Lots of benches along the course, and even brooms to clear the tee pads (!) on most if not all of the holes. Tee pads themselves have all been installed at this point, and they're awesome: more than large enough, and they provide good grip in a range of conditions. They continued to provide excellent footing even after a light rain halfway through our round.

Elevation is used very well: besides the extremism of 6, it's integrated well enough to factor in and influence the shot without taking over and dominating the experience of the hole. Arbitrary/pervasive threat of roll-aways is not a concern, which is an achievement with this much change in elevation. Hole length is similarly varied in a successful manner.

Basket placement seems particularly well done, creating an emphasis on approach shots as much as drives. Many of the holes are defined by their overall experience rather than a single shot, which is a plus, and the holes are parred to reflect this. While an errant drive will surely punish you, the longer length of many holes often allows you to redeem yourself on your upshots (which I did at several points, including an absurd anny approach shot from down in the creek bed on 9 to save par).

There's a great flow from one hole to the next. Never a doubt as to where the next tee is.

The practice basket at the course entrance is a welcome, thoughtful touch.

The yellow-rimmed DISCatcher baskets help in spotting the basket in the woods.

Benches allow you to enjoy the scenery and rest a bit.

The proximity to the airport makes this course a convenient destination for those traveling through.

Most memorable moments: near-ace on 2, the welcome openness of 7 after the preceding woodedness (loved its pin placement in the copse of young trees, too), and 9's long gradual climb into the woods.
Cons: One of the drawbacks of such a consistently tightly wooded course in my mind is that the lines are so strongly defined. This reduces the room for creativity and shot variation on a single hole. With only nine holes, it gets harder to establish a sense of variety: the open sections are so few that they become lost amidst the predominant woodedness. I feel that the tightness of the lines coupled with the low number of holes really constricted my shot selection: I basically had only one choice of disc/shot to throw on most holes, and there weren't enough holes to allow for a wide variety of lines over the course of the round. This detracts from the mental game which I find to be such an integral part of the sport. Expanding the course to 18 holes and throwing in a few with multiple possible routes would go a long way to bumping this course from good to great.

Alternate pin positions would be a great way to increase replayability.

There's a serious lack of amenities: no bathrooms or access to water. We came prepared and were fine, but I imagine no bathrooms could be a problem for some.
Other Thoughts: I found this to be a difficult course to rate. The holes range from solid to superb, the setting is beautiful, and the equipment (tee pads, baskets, etc) is top notch. However, the lack of amenities and shot flexibility and the brevity are all major detractors for me. In the end, I feel like the negatives keep this course from maximizing its substantial potential. Adding a back 9 could elevate it to among the region's must-visit destinations, providing an intermediary between Moraine to the north and Orange Crush to the south. As it stands, however, it's well worth the visit for a quick and enjoyable 9.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another 9 hole gem

2-4    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A big variety of shots
-Very well maintained course! Grass is cut short all over, brooms to sweep tee pads at almost every hole
-Discatcher baskets
-Nice rubber tee pads
-Unique shots I've never experience before
-Awesome blend of tight, technical fairways, wide open shots, wooded holes with trees surrounding tees, ace runs, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-No simple hyzer or anhyzer bombs for an easy birdie
-Course map at the beginning
-Very nice, new-looking tee signs
-Next tee signs, one of the easiest courses I've been to for finding successive holes
-Even with a lot of the rough of the woods, I did not have much trouble finding discs that flew from the fairways. Always a plus! Again, part of the great maintenance of this course
-Trail after hole 9 takes you directly back to parking lot
Cons: -Only "natural" rest rooms, which I don't mind at all if no one's around. However, this can be a problem if you're traveling a good distance to get here.
-The stream to the left of the entire fairway of hole 9 is about 4 foot below the fairway, making a muddy mess if your disc falls that way.. It's got to be a nightmare getting your disc out of there, I was pleased that I didn't have to discover what it was like.
-No tee pad on hole 6, and I saw only one tee sign. The sign said distances from two tees, so I'm not sure what happened here.
Other Thoughts: This course is very easy to get to as it is only half a mile from 376. Make the right before the police, park at the end of the gravel lot. Walk to the left of the gate and the trail will quickly take you to hole one.

Played from red tees:

Hole 1-Slight hyzer in a tight fairway. Easy if you hit the line, a rough one if you hit a tree on your drive. I would rate the red tee a par 3, the white tee looks to be a lot harder.

Hole 2-A slight anhyzer line. If you throw even a slight hyzer on the drive you will most likely hit trees.

Hole 3-Straight shot with hole protected by trees. You can air your drive out here.

Hole 4-Beautiful long hole. Very tough. Throw a bomb to drive it close to the trees then a big dogleg right to the hole, which is protected by number of trees.

-Hole 5-Straight shot with a tight fairway

-Hole 6-I've never seen a hole like this. Very tough off the tee. Super tight downhill left then tight uphill right. Looks like one of the easier holes to lose a disc

Hole 7-Great hole with a long, wide-open fairway with the hole surrounded by thin trees.

Hole 8-Very fun (and scary) ace run. Downhill about 200 yards with a super tight fairway. You got to throw it just right to make it all the way down to the hole, but it is beautiful if it makes it down in one shot. Almost had an ace here. As a previous reviewer stated, the bushes and trees behind the hole make it unlikely for the disc to go far past the pin.

Hole 9-Super long hole! Pretty tight too so it's tough to make it down the fairway in only 1 or 2 shots. DO NOT let your disc go to the left. You'll regret it. You can't see it until you're close, but there's a stream to the left that drops down about 4 feet.

This course is well worth traveling to. It is very easy to get to and only takes 30-40 minutes to play a round by yourself, so you're able to play a few in a row in little time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Two mile

2-4    12/9/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a nice tight technical layout. It is one of the more challenging courses in the area. You encounter many tunnel shots and a fair bit of distance on holes that do not force you into tunnels, which presents a lot of variety. The course seemed well balanced between right, straight, and left turns. To me, a number of holes really stand out as gems.

Number 1 is a nice lazy hyzer tunnel left that if you hit just right with a driver can really give you some birdie rewards for your effort.

Number 3 let's you drive up through some well placed trees, again rewarding a strong shot.

Number 5 gives you a nice 300 ft tunnel to drive down that really rewards a very accurate shot.

Number 7 is a nice break from tunnels, letting you air out a big driver for some distance.

Number 8 gives you a 260ish ace run down a tunnel that is very exhilarating. With the bushy backdrop behind the hole, you can really power a shot into there and it can't really travel too far by if you over throw it.
Cons: Having just 9 holes is always a con, especially when they are this good. It just leaves you wanting more and feeling disappointed. With 18, this course would be a major destination, like the big three in the area (deer lakes, knob hill, moraine).

A number of tees need to be leveled. Hole 2 and 8 both have down hill tilting tees that seem to cause shots to come out way too low. Be aware of this if you throw and adjust for a high shot. Hole 4's tee needs to be leveled side-side as it is on quite an angle.

The hallway out of hole 4 needs some work to open it up a bit more. As a right handed player, it is somewhere between a standing under stable mid and an anhyzer putter. When you step up to a 742 foot par five, it is a disappointing thing to not be able to at least step into a throw.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 6 is just weird, memorable, but weird.

Add 9 more holes and make a few minor tweaks to a few tees and you are sitting on a nice tournament course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first and last holes are right near the parking lot. The signs throughout the course are great and it is easy to go from one hole to the next. The rubber tee pad on hole 1 ( need to install 8 more).
Cons: The tee pads for the rest of the holes were awful. They were very short and awkward. The gravel inside made me feel unsure as I was running up if i was going to slip or not.
Other Thoughts: This course can get frustrating at the beginning because the window to drive through is very tight and hard to hit, but if you do get through you will be rewarded. Would be an even better course if somehow 9 more holes could be added but very solid with the 9 that are in place. Do not go to the left on hole 9 because i threw my disc into a 6 foot deep river bed thing and it was awful down there so try and stay in the middle or to the right.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky course

2-4    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. The signs are pretty good and its easy to get from hole to hole (good design), It is a very challenging course, especially the first few holes, where you have to hit a very tight fairway to suceed.
Cons: The biggest con would be the tee-boxes. The first hole has a longish rubber mat (i think they are planning this for the rest too) which is a good tee. The problem is the other 8. They boxed them in with wood, but it sticks out of the ground a bit and they are a bit short. The gravel poured into the frames makes for some unsure footing. Probably would have been better off tossing one board across the front of the tee and leaving it at that until investing in the mats for the rest. Other than that, the only real con is that it is only 9 holes, because it is a very nice course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, there really isn't much to complain about this course. I did kind of fall in a trench with a stream running through it, but thats really my fault for a bad shot. Don't let your second or third shots on 9 go to the left or there could be trouble!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver's Two Mile Run

1    7/6/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 discatcher baskets with multiple pins and dual tees. There are flypads on hole 1, and looks like the rest are going to get them as well. Practice basket by parking lot. Excellent use of elevation and terrain. Great variety of uphill, downhill, turning shots, and hole distances/pars. Good signage and navigation was fairly easy.
Cons: Lacks amenities like restrooms/water. Lacks pin position locator for baskets. Couple holes have some rough off the fairway where you could lose a disc, but it's not too terrible. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: You'd be crazy to run this course even though its only 9 holes. The course is scenic and there are are some really great holes here on par with the other great courses in the area. It feels like a blend of the other courses but some opposite turns. I was rather surprised of the quality considering it's a 9 hole course, but it's definitely worth checking out if in the area!

My GPS had me turn on the wrong side of the road. The correct turn into the park is by the police station and you will see the sign for Two Mile Run Extension. It's a little weird after you drive down the road because it doesn't look anything like a parking lot for a park, more like a gravel pit and maintenance shop. Go to the end of it and hole #1 is down the path to the left of the gate.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Play It!

5+    1/10/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: jbischoff
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well designed. There is quite a bit of elevation change on this piece of land, but the design uses it well. Most steep uphills are walks between holes, leaving flats, gradual uphills, and downhills for the golf shots. The course is a 9 hole loop leaving you finish near the start (although about 20' lower). There is a good balance of tight placement shots and open shots, but an emphasis is placed on accuracy over distance. There is an appreciable difference in playing experience between the white and red tees. The park seems well cared for, but sees little use. The course offers some very fun and challenging holes. Navigation is rather easy with next hole arrow signs (after the 5th hole, turn left along the walking path, 6 will be on your right after a short walk).
Cons: The teeboxes are small and gravel-filled with landscape timber borders. The gravel is often displaced leaving a trip hazard. The rough is punishing in the spring through fall, so keep it in the fairway. Bugs and other nasties are prevalent in season. The course can be very wet in places well after any precipitation (5, 6, 8, and 9 especially).
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - from the whites your first shot of the day will be a tight woods placement shot; from the reds its a lot closer and a bit more open. The fairway lists lazily to the left through the woods and slightly uphill to the basket. Beware of the rollaways at the basket! It should be a birdie start if you don't get greedy.
Hole 2 - from the whites it is a line-shaper through the narrow-ish up and down alley to the green where the woods open up; from the reds it is again a shorter shot on an easier line.
Hole 3 - from the whites there is a gap to hit, then some trees downrange to navigate to set yourself up for the approach; from the reds you can think about splitting those trees and going for the green. The basket is tucked in the woods.
Hole 4 - This is my favorite hole that I have played to date. From the whites it is a tight drive initially into an open field (if you click a tree here you are in for a long hole); from the reds you tee at the start of the open field. Either your drive or your approach needs to be well placed as the hole dives and turns hard to the right while entering the woods. And I'm talking dark in the middle of a summer day kind of woods. From there, it is a tight but straight woods line to the basket. A bogey feels like an accomplishment to me on this hole, from either tee.
Hole 5 - from both tees it is a gradual downhill tight-ish but straight line to the basket with trouble on both sides. Feeling confident?
Hole 6 - Another beauty! The white tee is on the path past the red tee box. From the whites it is a downhill drive with a sharp left at the bottom; from the reds it is a straight downhill drive. The hole then turns up and to the right all the way to the basket. There is again trouble on either side. And if you play RHBH like I do, be sure your anhyser approach shot has room to flatten out, or prepare to putt from the woods after your approach rolls.
Hole 7 - From either tee it is an open field drive so let it rip. The basket is tucked into a grove of trees with a couple of alleys into it, or try the aerial approach.
Hole 8 - From either tee it is a downhill open-ish drive into the woods. If you try the ace run, prepare for a long return putt.
Hole 9 - From either tee is is an open gradually uphill drive with woods to the right and a stream to the left. Outcroppings of tree groves and overhanging branches make the stroll up the fairway interesting. The wind always seems to be into you; couple that with the gradual uphill and it seems longer than its listed length. Hit the gap of trees at the top of the fairway, and have your approach fade hard to the basket.

There are a few breath-robbing climbs - from 1 basket to 2 tee, and from 9 basket to the parking area.

The park has a gravel walking trail throughout with benches, but no real other amenities including bathrooms.

The entrance to the park and the course is well marked from the road, but it is back behind the municipal vehicle maintenance building (it may seem like you are not in the right place on your first visit).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-holer in Western PA!

1    6/10/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - SOLID par 4's and par 5's that are genuinely challenging due to terrain, elevation, and technicality.
- Nice tee selection (red and whites that are both challenging)
- Easy navigation with well-defined paths and easy-to-follow "text tee" signs
- A lot of long holes (>400ft.) for a 9-hole course.
- Very technical shots that are balanced out with long bomb drives
- Very steep elevation changes that go both up and downhill.
- Practice basket!
- Excellent signage and benches parked throughout most of the holes
- Right off the parkway (I-376) and not really that difficult to find

Best holes:
#7: long bomb across a field and then you have to park it in a grove of trees. Almost begs for a roller
#4: a tightly wooded drive that requires a sharp hyzer dogleg across a field into a thick forest. Once inside the forest, you still have about 150-200 feet to the basket. Incredible.
Cons: - Dense vegetation; as such, if I play here again, it'll most likely be in the winter or early spring
- I wasn't impressed with the teepads. They were really short compared to most tees I've been on; and worst of all, they were really deep (presumably from the loss of gravel) so it felt like teeing out of a short sandbox.
- I came across two snakes, a lot of poison ivy, and a few ticks as I played. I'm not sure if this is typical of the area, or if I hit the jackpot of adverse flora and fauna that day.
- Only 9 holes; I felt like I was just getting warmed up on the last one!
Other Thoughts: Well, by playing here, I've now completed all of the PFDS courses. This one's pretty typical of the rest, especially Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, and Moraine. The only difference is that it's only 9 holes and definitely doesn't have that "broken in" feel that the aforementioned ones do. I didn't scout the area too much, but it seems like another 9 could be feasible--which would be another great addition for people living in the NW Pittsburgh metro area. Like the other great PFDS courses, Two Mile Run kicked my butt; however, I really enjoyed myself and will come back if in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great 9 holes but not much else

2-4    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: aussieshs89
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is definitely a well planned course that is constantly challenging you on every shot. There are many occasions when you step up to throw and immediately go back to your bag to switch to another disc. The course has about 6 of the nine holes as mostly wooded holes with finely trimmed fairways. These requires tough shots and planning on how to set up for your next approach. The greens are trimmed out giving you a nice clearing in the middle of the woods to land your discs. The designer really used elevation to his advantage. Some holes curve around the side of the hill, while others shoot down through a tunnel on one side and up a path on the other. Hole 5 and 8 give you a chance at an ace run but can also give you an easy bogey if you stray off the fairway. Hole 4 plays out of a tight gap into an open field then weaves its way back into the trees.
Cons: The park has very little to offer. There are no actual restrooms or water fountains but that is not too big of an issue.
The course is very rough which some may say is a pro and others would say it s a con. I played just after rain and the majority of the course was a swamp but it was still fun to play in. For the most part the course favors RHBH players. There are a few left handed approach shots, but as a lefty I was constantly relying on anhyzer to even get the disc playable.
Other Thoughts: With a little touch up on the tee pads and possible extra pin placements this nine hole course becomes a must play. The drive out was nice and easy from Pittsburgh and in the end, it is really a great course that is often overlooked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.