Beaver, PA 
Two Mile Run Extension Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worthwhile 9-holer

2-4    6/4/2014   7/9/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 74  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, well-groomed wooded setting. I can't think of a nicer place to play disc golf at. Lots of benches along the course, and even brooms to clear the tee pads (!) on most if not all of the holes. Tee pads themselves have all been installed at this point, and they're awesome: more than large enough, and they provide good grip in a range of conditions. They continued to provide excellent footing even after a light rain halfway through our round.

Elevation is used very well: besides the extremism of 6, it's integrated well enough to factor in and influence the shot without taking over and dominating the experience of the hole. Arbitrary/pervasive threat of roll-aways is not a concern, which is an achievement with this much change in elevation. Hole length is similarly varied in a successful manner.

Basket placement seems particularly well done, creating an emphasis on approach shots as much as drives. Many of the holes are defined by their overall experience rather than a single shot, which is a plus, and the holes are parred to reflect this. While an errant drive will surely punish you, the longer length of many holes often allows you to redeem yourself on your upshots (which I did at several points, including an absurd anny approach shot from down in the creek bed on 9 to save par).

There's a great flow from one hole to the next. Never a doubt as to where the next tee is.

The practice basket at the course entrance is a welcome, thoughtful touch.

The yellow-rimmed DISCatcher baskets help in spotting the basket in the woods.

Benches allow you to enjoy the scenery and rest a bit.

The proximity to the airport makes this course a convenient destination for those traveling through.

Most memorable moments: near-ace on 2, the welcome openness of 7 after the preceding woodedness (loved its pin placement in the copse of young trees, too), and 9's long gradual climb into the woods.
Cons: One of the drawbacks of such a consistently tightly wooded course in my mind is that the lines are so strongly defined. This reduces the room for creativity and shot variation on a single hole. With only nine holes, it gets harder to establish a sense of variety: the open sections are so few that they become lost amidst the predominant woodedness. I feel that the tightness of the lines coupled with the low number of holes really constricted my shot selection: I basically had only one choice of disc/shot to throw on most holes, and there weren't enough holes to allow for a wide variety of lines over the course of the round. This detracts from the mental game which I find to be such an integral part of the sport. Expanding the course to 18 holes and throwing in a few with multiple possible routes would go a long way to bumping this course from good to great.

Alternate pin positions would be a great way to increase replayability.

There's a serious lack of amenities: no bathrooms or access to water. We came prepared and were fine, but I imagine no bathrooms could be a problem for some.
Other Thoughts: I found this to be a difficult course to rate. The holes range from solid to superb, the setting is beautiful, and the equipment (tee pads, baskets, etc) is top notch. However, the lack of amenities and shot flexibility and the brevity are all major detractors for me. In the end, I feel like the negatives keep this course from maximizing its substantial potential. Adding a back 9 could elevate it to among the region's must-visit destinations, providing an intermediary between Moraine to the north and Orange Crush to the south. As it stands, however, it's well worth the visit for a quick and enjoyable 9.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky course

2-4    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. The signs are pretty good and its easy to get from hole to hole (good design), It is a very challenging course, especially the first few holes, where you have to hit a very tight fairway to suceed.
Cons: The biggest con would be the tee-boxes. The first hole has a longish rubber mat (i think they are planning this for the rest too) which is a good tee. The problem is the other 8. They boxed them in with wood, but it sticks out of the ground a bit and they are a bit short. The gravel poured into the frames makes for some unsure footing. Probably would have been better off tossing one board across the front of the tee and leaving it at that until investing in the mats for the rest. Other than that, the only real con is that it is only 9 holes, because it is a very nice course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, there really isn't much to complain about this course. I did kind of fall in a trench with a stream running through it, but thats really my fault for a bad shot. Don't let your second or third shots on 9 go to the left or there could be trouble!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-holer in Western PA!

1    6/10/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - SOLID par 4's and par 5's that are genuinely challenging due to terrain, elevation, and technicality.
- Nice tee selection (red and whites that are both challenging)
- Easy navigation with well-defined paths and easy-to-follow "text tee" signs
- A lot of long holes (>400ft.) for a 9-hole course.
- Very technical shots that are balanced out with long bomb drives
- Very steep elevation changes that go both up and downhill.
- Practice basket!
- Excellent signage and benches parked throughout most of the holes
- Right off the parkway (I-376) and not really that difficult to find

Best holes:
#7: long bomb across a field and then you have to park it in a grove of trees. Almost begs for a roller
#4: a tightly wooded drive that requires a sharp hyzer dogleg across a field into a thick forest. Once inside the forest, you still have about 150-200 feet to the basket. Incredible.
Cons: - Dense vegetation; as such, if I play here again, it'll most likely be in the winter or early spring
- I wasn't impressed with the teepads. They were really short compared to most tees I've been on; and worst of all, they were really deep (presumably from the loss of gravel) so it felt like teeing out of a short sandbox.
- I came across two snakes, a lot of poison ivy, and a few ticks as I played. I'm not sure if this is typical of the area, or if I hit the jackpot of adverse flora and fauna that day.
- Only 9 holes; I felt like I was just getting warmed up on the last one!
Other Thoughts: Well, by playing here, I've now completed all of the PFDS courses. This one's pretty typical of the rest, especially Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, and Moraine. The only difference is that it's only 9 holes and definitely doesn't have that "broken in" feel that the aforementioned ones do. I didn't scout the area too much, but it seems like another 9 could be feasible--which would be another great addition for people living in the NW Pittsburgh metro area. Like the other great PFDS courses, Two Mile Run kicked my butt; however, I really enjoyed myself and will come back if in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great 9 holes but not much else

2-4    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: aussieshs89
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is definitely a well planned course that is constantly challenging you on every shot. There are many occasions when you step up to throw and immediately go back to your bag to switch to another disc. The course has about 6 of the nine holes as mostly wooded holes with finely trimmed fairways. These requires tough shots and planning on how to set up for your next approach. The greens are trimmed out giving you a nice clearing in the middle of the woods to land your discs. The designer really used elevation to his advantage. Some holes curve around the side of the hill, while others shoot down through a tunnel on one side and up a path on the other. Hole 5 and 8 give you a chance at an ace run but can also give you an easy bogey if you stray off the fairway. Hole 4 plays out of a tight gap into an open field then weaves its way back into the trees.
Cons: The park has very little to offer. There are no actual restrooms or water fountains but that is not too big of an issue.
The course is very rough which some may say is a pro and others would say it s a con. I played just after rain and the majority of the course was a swamp but it was still fun to play in. For the most part the course favors RHBH players. There are a few left handed approach shots, but as a lefty I was constantly relying on anhyzer to even get the disc playable.
Other Thoughts: With a little touch up on the tee pads and possible extra pin placements this nine hole course becomes a must play. The drive out was nice and easy from Pittsburgh and in the end, it is really a great course that is often overlooked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A 9-Hole Gem

2-4    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great mix of well-designed Par 3's, 4's, and 5's requiring a variety of shots. Really a triumph of shot-making oriented design.

The course is mostly wooded but has very good fairways or throwing lanes through the woods on most holes. A couple S-shaped holes help make things interesting. The greens and pin positions stand out and lead to some fun approach shots. #7's green allows a ~200' approach shot from a grass field to a basket in the middle of a grove of young locust trees. There's a clear but difficult RHBH anhyzer lane, but it's fun too to go over top.

Very nice secluded feel to the course with a mix of old and new trees. Throwing lanes, greens, fairways, etc., have a very natural feel like the course belongs there.
Cons: It's only going to be 9 holes at the site. Tee pads are problematic, some branches need trimmed, and underbrush can get bad off the fairways. It would be fun to have a more difficult blue/gold set of tees, too.
Other Thoughts: I'd guess white tees would be about 930 rated, so advanced players should still feel challenged. Assuming all pins are now 'A' pins, add a little more difficulty in pin positions (I can't wait to see them added in the future), and you might be able to approach true blue tees. 18 holes of this qualities would probably make this my favorite course in Pittsburgh.

Brighton Township should be very proud of this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Two Mile Run You Smile Fun!

1    5/5/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Surprising use of Public Works Land below an Interstate. This course provdes 2 sets of tees to one basket location. So you are never confused regarding where to shoot but still caters to both experts and amateurs as the pro tees are longer and at times require a different shot of the tees altogether. There is good variety in length with 250 foot technical par 3s and 750ish brutal uphill par 5s. For 9 holes there really is a bit of everything here: with the traditional long wooded lane to start your day #1, short downhill screamers through the trees #5 & #8, open bombs to basket in jail #7, slightly uphill through sparsely wooded field to allow for R, L, and over the top lanes #3, and the long uphill struggles up wide fairway #9 to end your round, What makes this course particularly special are the following 3 holes:
#2-A short technical delight as your required to shoot a tight but reasonable anhyzer through a plinko gauntlet stand of trees with zero undergrowth over a small undulated valley to a refeshing open green on the other side. Could be a birdie or double bogey here.
#4- Every elite Pittsburgh course has one of these long journey type holes with dramatic changes in environment and hole type..this one fires from typical woods downhill to a sparsely wooded field then dives abruptly into a dark hardwood forrest and requires a hyzer, then anhyzer, and a few technical approaches to get par 5...you feel like you played 3 different landscapes on this one..J Gary somehow creates this same dive into the deep dark forrest from the field on all of his elite courses..Love it!
#6-Perhaps the most unique hole a valley shot with significant fall and rise but theres a twist yes an actual twist in the valley that rewards a flex or S-turning shot...so yeah how often can you throw down and up while turning 3 times...plenty of room to make the shot work as well...creative stellar unique hole.
Course is near a noisy highway but the drone of vehicles is background buzz that is well worth the isolation such a great piece of land affords. Plenty of room in these woods to play big.
Cons: Some No trespassing signs here and there break up the pleasure of the woods. This course has a Championship 18 Hole layout feel and you feel let down after just 9 holes. Not beginner friendly, but it's set in an out of the way DG locale so it's not as though beginners will go here. The 2 downhill short holes seem to be missing something compared to the rest of the course...required fillers to link the incredible 4 to 6 and the wonderful 7 to finisher 9 but they do feel like filler holes. I wish the practice basket below the retention basin was a hole. A shot from the lot area down over the basin to the perfect green and basket would instantly be better than holes 5 or 8. This would be a great way to warm up your arm and kickstart the round with a fun hole. 9 is a tough way to finish your round uphill hucking par 5...brutal.
Other Thoughts: I have heard rumors that this course will expand to 18 and be a Championship quality 18...I have also heard its stuck being 9 due to lack of space. Either way it is worth a play and far superior than most 18 holers out there. Be aware that hole #1 is actually accesible from the lot by immediately taking the path to the left and not going all the way down to the practice basket area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.